Reviews for F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

90

very short

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

this could have easily been an extension of the first game... it was pretty much the same with a few graphical enhancements. the story however was interesting and very scary at times. the add-ons however make this game and allow you to really get into the lore and extend the game quite a lot.

it feels like a very standard fps with military style gameplay. that being said the engine runs very smooth and it is very immersive at times (a little too much at some scary points) the controller support is iffy and is best played with a mouse and keyboard. i would also suggest to play on the hardest difficulty if you can because it makes the gameplay more constant. otherwise you tend to have to wait a while between enemies. other than that, tons of fun and would play it over and over again if i could :D

74

A good sequel

Sganotak | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all Sganotak's reviews »

As the name implies, FEAR 2 is an origin story which provides the explanation for the events that took place in the first game. Despite being a continuation of the first game's FEAR 2 offers an entirely different point of view, as you control Michael Beckett, a member of a tactical force that after being assigned with a simple task is starting to encounter mysterious foes and witness paranormal events. The story may feel shallow and boring at first but it gets a lot better as the game progresses.

Gameplay-wise FEAR 2 fixes some rough edges that the first game had and also adds some new features, like a dynamic cover system, which can be used by you or your foes and drivable mechs. It is also a much easier game since you will come across medkits,armor and ammo a lot more often. Use of the slow-mo system is still the most fun way to play the game, and the damage feedback of the various weapons of your arsenal is great. There are also a lot of different foes with various abilities that add a spice of variety to the game

Unfortunately the game's atmosphere isn't that dark and gritty like the first game, but more sci fi. There are still some creepy levels but don't reach the quality of those found in the first FEAR.

The game's also pretty short and it will take you around 6 hours for a run on normal. There's also multiplayer, but I doubt that the community is still active

FEAR 2 is a solid follow-up to FEAR. While it may not be as groundbreaking as it's predecessor, it's still a great and atmospheric horror shooter

89

Short but excellent

Schizofrenic2 | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all Schizofrenic2's reviews »

I haven't played the first game but I certainly enjoyed this. F.E.A.R. 2 isn't really scary, but exciting and good FPS. Sometimes action is pretty easy because of the slow motion but the player is quite vulnerable so it will come in handy. I liked that there is a health bar. Not a bloody screen like many FPS tend to have nowadays. Big minus is that the game is very short. But it's a good game and I highly recommend it.

80

Great shooter

lok0812 | Oct. 22, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

FEAR 2 continues the story from the previous game, FEAR. FEAR was probably one of the best horror shooting game when it was released and it was very ground breaking in terms of gameplay and story. FEAR 2 hopes to continues that and it did. While everything pretty much remains the same so nothing really ground breaking on this entry but nevertheless it is still a very solid entry game to the series. The game constantly trying to scare you with creepy elements and sounds. Definitely must get for another who enjoy a horror shooter.

87

Not my favorite part but it´s up there.

AlbusDlx | July 17, 2013 | See all AlbusDlx's reviews »

Perseus mandate is my favorite f.e.a.r. But this is still an awesome game. It has been 4 years now and it still looks pretty good. Something to know, you can´t map mouse button 4, 5 etc. Only 1-3 works. F.E.A.R 3 might have some tessellation but this game still beats it visually. Hell of a lot scarier. So, if anyone reads this and only have played the last installment and if you happened to like it. F.E.A.R 2 Project Origin will buy the game for you and you should but it immediately. MP is pretty much dead by now, but SP well worth the 10 quid.

70

Didn't Play the First One

YggdrasilsSword | July 6, 2013 | See all YggdrasilsSword's reviews »

FEAR 2 is an interesting blend of FPS and horror game. I notice that many say it compares unfavorably to the first game, but in my opinion, it still compares favorably to the laundry list of generic FPS and horror games out there. I guess that's the risk when you change too much from the original to the sequel, but I think it's possible that many fans set their expectations too high.

85

Great but the Original is Better

thegaminglyfe | June 20, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

After 4 anxious years of waiting for a sequel, we finally get it. People really didn't like this game because it didn't meet the expectations of the original F.E.A.R but that doesn't mean it isn't a great. The graphics are much better and the game sounds very good. Most of the main features of the original game are still here like the slow motion. There are some new features like iron sights and making cover with the environment. The game is still scary but the problem is that you seem to expect it to happen. In the original F.E.A.R it happens at random times. You would be going down a ladder, you fall into water and suddenly Alma's right in front of you. In the second game, the game gets darker, scary music comes on and it gets too predictable. If you like the original F.E.A.R I recommend you get the sequel but don't be expecting a better game.

91

Totally Awesome

mekplus | June 11, 2013 | See all mekplus's reviews »

I purchased this game when it's on sale! I have to say that you may not want to play this game at evenings. Awesome game.

70

So much wasted potential...

RoninRaven | June 4, 2013 | See all RoninRaven's reviews »

The first F.E.A.R game was and still is considered a masterpiece of the medium. Monolith Production tried to alter the formula by inducing more action into the mix probably to make the game more appethisa very anticipated sequel. Fans of the series where harsh in describing this game and the media wasn't pleased either. The biggest drawback of Project Origins is the fact that is looked upon as a failed sequel. Given any other name and free from the burden of living up to what came before it, FEAR 2 is a decent FPS with some horror elements thrown in the mix.

63

More of the same? No it isn't....

britishlad | May 12, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

The first Fear had excellent gunplay and AI....what happened? The first thing I didn't like was the way the character moved, it felt too slow and the melee attacks were rather inaccurate, mostly the slide kick. I played it on the hardest difficulty straight away and it was still rather easy, I played FEAR 1 on hard and that was on the PC and that was just as easy to. The weapons were weak and the smart AI from the first game was gone...

On the plus the graphics were pretty good - The game has some awesome level settings such as an underground hospital, creepy school and a dead city and many more. The story was pretty good but it's just the gameplay was a big step down from the first game.

Not bad as a stand alone game but as sequel its rubbish

64

Meh

jimsteryo2 | April 29, 2013 | See all jimsteryo2's reviews »

I'm not sure why, but i found the first and third f.e.a.r. games much better. I just didn't like the setting in the game and everything just felt way too linear. The story wasn't the best either. But what really saved the game is the slo-mo power which enables you to slow down time. This is why the game was so much fun for me. I personally think everything else was just...bad. To top it all off, there were random lag spikes which kind of ruined the game for me overall and i have a pretty good computer.

88

Decent sequel

onewinged90 | April 13, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

After the absence of nearly four years, Monolith returned to grace us with the highly acclaimed sequel to F.E.A.R.

The silent protagonist psyche makes a return, but only this time we were presented with a different character. Out of the trilogy, I have to say Project Origin my favourite. Graphically, it is a huge step up compared to the original's rather bland environment colour.

Most of the core mechanics of the game were retained, such as slo-mo and martial arts attacks. The gunplay are more enhanced now, where you could aim down iron sights and creating cover by pushing objects. The use of mechs during firefight are well received, although fans of the original may criticise it being too overpowered.

Alma is all grown up now, which makes the game's atmosphere even horrific and creepy. As Alma now could directly interact with the protagonist, signifying her interest towards the new hero.

New enemies such as the Abomination will keep you on your toes as they are fast and brutal despite not wielding any weapons. Specters ambushing you in dark places are a welcomed addition to the paranormal atmosphere.

If you loved the original FEAR, why not give this a try? Worth getting.

83

a restless child

Neapolis47 | Feb. 20, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

F.E.A.R. 2 is a collection of ideas and quotes winking peacefully at all the clichés of action games and horror Made in Japan, unfortunately, is repetitive in terms of gameplay (it is still to get from point A to point B, without no deviation) but thankfully never boring, title sponsored by WB Games, is a new cornerstone for what concerns the first-person shooter. Superior in many ways to his illustrious predecessor, FEAR 2 has been able to bear the criticism received on the first episode, knowing how to renew but without extracting its true nature. Compelling, disturbing and poignant, able to inject into our veins of gamers bitter and creeping murmur of fear, coupled with the nectar of fun and passion. Violent enough without resulting in splatter ridiculous, subtle and engaging, this title will give to all those who play, regardless of tastes and favorite genres, hours of fun and healthy fear like few other games have been able to do before.

83

A good enjoyable sequel.

Xgoesrawr | Feb. 9, 2013 | See all Xgoesrawr's reviews »

This game tries to have frightening moments but you can tell when they're coming however it still got me a few times.

The story isn't perfect but I didn't mind and I found the voice acting to be good. It also has a welcomed graphics increase from the first game so that is a plus.

Also the AI in FEAR games are well done as they do some crazy stuff which can make combat quite fun.

I have to say its worth playing.

85

The Return of ALMA

ButLeer | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all ButLeer's reviews »

While F.E.A.R. could never truly be classified as a horror game, I must admit the final moments of the game had me rather worried and tense.

The sequel to the first game, set right when the events of the first game come to a climax. You are on a routine mission, when a power plant explodes and all hell breaks loose.

Now it turns out the mother of all nightmares has set her eyes on you and unless you can find a way to fight her off, she will eat you whole.

Featuring updated graphics and the very well made and fine tuned enemy AI, F.E.A.R. 2 is a balls to the walls action horror game for the ages.

You will tear your way through ghosts, clones and PMC's on your mission to stop all hell from breaking out even worse than it already has.

Definitely worth a buy.

82

Good sequel

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

This game continues the first in a great direction. Instead of the more psycological horror from the first game the scares here are more in your face which isn't a bad thing. The interspersed action sequences are very well done as things crumble and fall around you. Then you get to fight through a destroyed city. You don't play as Point Man this time around but the character you do play as has an important role to the story. The story again is pretty well done, topped off with a messed up (in a good way) ending. In short, if you like FEAR, you will love FEAR 2.

71

F.E.A.R. 2 - review

carlyle | Jan. 5, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The second chapter of the horror shooter, created by developers Monolith followed the legendary FEAR The AI ​​is definitely excellent and incredibly versatile for any room: the frequent tight spaces seems to react more aggressively, preferring direct assaults compared to the tactics of avoidance and coverage, and that leads us to a frequent use of slow-motion. It 's still this slowdown the mechanism of action tip, said the explosions of blood and hollow the hook at critical moments, but it never really necessary and shows you do not have the freshness of a turn, pushes FEAR to portray himself as a game built generically above to a couple of mechanisms, archaic and derivatives, and the quality of the fun does not rise more than a certain height. The scenarios differ, even if they remain unoriginal. The technology shows fluctuating: a system of checks and fluid with excellent animation and particle effects are opposed in contrast framerate constantly fatigued, the texture resolution really low polygonal objects and some little complex, to which is added a segment of music and sound effects rich, but a little 'standard.

70

Not flawless, but a highly enjoyable sequel.

boris73 | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all boris73's reviews »

I'll come right out and just say it... I enjoyed it. I think when you hear "sequel", you tend to get a bit worried, and while this definately feels more action and less horror than its scare-focused predecessor, and it has that console "mainstream" feel about it, I just couldn't help but still find a lot to enjoy about it.

If you've played the original, slipping into a new character in this game makes it feel like less of a continuation and more of a reboot - it did have a bit of a disconnected feel about it, but I found the gameplay to still be a lot of fun, the action was wonderfully intense - a real blast to play, and most importantly it still had that spooky element to it which I enjoyed so much in the first.

All in all, a good looking game, with great combat, atmosphere, wrapped up in a story delivery that keeps you interested until the end... and in games like this, there is little more than you can ask for. What it does, it does pretty damn well.

Not flawless, but well worth playing - especially in today's generic shooter market.

90

Not really scary but good to play :D

kalil | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Although it is not nearly as creepy as Amnesia, F.E.A.R 2: Project Origin is still a great horror game and an excellent sequel. The atmosphere is tense and the story is downright disturbing at times. In my opinion, it is even better than F.E.A.R.

My biggest complaint about the first game was how repetitive it was. F.E.A.R. 2 is much more varied. Unlike F.E.A.R., you don't spend 90% of the game in an office building. There is a much larger variety of locations than F.E.A.R.

F.E.A.R. 2 was definitely designed with consoles in mind and there are a couple of awful quick-time events, however, the gameplay is still more fun than the average modern shooter. The combat if F.E.A.R. 2 is definitely above average.

Project Origin may not be as horrifying as Amnesia or Penumbra, but it is still an excellent game and definitely worth buying.

81

Fine sequel (just fine)

abelfs | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

It repeats the same concepts as the first one. Unfortunately, it's not enough to be as good as its predecesor. Yes, the graphics are better (but not enough), the storyline is good (but worst than the other) and the scary moments are frequent (more than the fist part but less effective).

76

Not a bad sequel.

Explorerbc | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Explorerbc's reviews »

F.E.A.R. 2 manages to capture the feel and atmosphere of the first game while progressing the storyline further. It might not be groundbreaking compaired to FEAR 1 but it follows a similar formula and if you are a fan or simply enjoyed the previous title in the series you should give this a try.

75

Not as spectacular as the first one.

digitalpunk | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all digitalpunk's reviews »

As it happens in most cases the sequel of a great game it's a bit of disappointment. With that said it's clear that it's not on par with the first game on any level but it's well worth a try. The combat is not as challenging as the first FEAR, the atmosphere it's still scary but with a lot more cheap scary moments and F.E.A.R's 2 biggest plus: the story.

75

FEAR 2 Less fear, more cheer.

cavalcade | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all cavalcade's reviews »

This is an improvement on FEAR 1 in a few ways, but a step back in others. Firstly it looks better - technically FEAR 1 is starting to look a little dated now. Secondly it has more colourful environments (none of FEAR 1's grey office rooms + filing cabinets repeated for 8 hours) and thirdly it's arguably a little more accessible than its predecessor in terms of balance and challenge.

But, it does sacrifice some of the spookyness of the first. FEAR 1 had a couple of moments which were genuinely unsettling, FEAR 2 doesn't - though it tries hard. The AI isn't perhaps quite as impressive either and the weapons don't have quite the heft of the original. Combat in FEAR one was nuanced and occasionally surprising as the AI pulled off some quite spectacular moves. There's less of that here, though the combat remains brutal and visceral.

The overall feel is that FEAR 2 is slightly less innovative than FEAR 1 - where the first time out you felt this was a game series destined to forge a unique brand identity the second begins to cadge ideas from other games and seems a bit more desperate to fit in. E.g. it's hard to retain a nuanced, unsettling ambience of horror and suspense when you're in control of a mech with machine gun arms.

That said it's certainly not a bad game and has a lot going for it. If you enjoy shooting a lot of things then FEAR 2 does that sort of thing very well. It's empowering, brutal and tightly put together. It just isn't that scary.

74

A good game, but the predecessor is better

panz3r88 | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

FEAR 2 is a linear FPS with a lot of action and less horror with respect to the first title. The game is quite good, but it looks like an expansion pack of the first FEAR. There are exactly the same elements of the first game. The story is not really original and the only interesting character is Alma, especially when she sometimes appears to scare the player. The possibility to slowdown time during fights is still present. There is only one real new addition in the game is the possibility to use mechs in some parts of the game: this section are quite easy and repetitive. If you loved the first FEAR you'll probably be disappointed by this sequel, probably the worst title of the series.

85

F.E.A.R. is return!

FreeMan85 | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

F.E.A.R. 2 Project Origin is the sequel of FEAR and it's expasions. Well, maybe can't fit for all expansions, but can be a direct sequel of Extraction Point. This time we play a new character then Point Man - like in Perseus Mandate. We dispatched for a different case to act with extreme prejudice. Sadly the explosion known from F.E.A.R. 1 distrupt our mission. After that we learn about new conspiracies and enemies. We must fight through the explosion damaged city, a school, laboratories, hospitals. Most of the locations are pretty nice and feels fresh after the previous FEAR games similar and dark maps. The game graphics use a large amount of film grain effect and more orange/yellow colors tone then blue/black/white tones. For me it's work fine, feels the game more life like and less monotone. The sounds and music are good, but doesn't exceeds F.E.A.R. 1. The voice-acting is great, especially from Jen Taylor who play a a team member of yours - and look very similar to Left 4 Dead's Zoey. The gameplay utilize cover system, you can push tables and other obstacles for cover. It's not totally needed, but you can use it when you need it. And it's less scary game then the previous titles. The fully naked Alma try to grab you all the time. some weird visions hunts you time to time. And yes, our hero is silent in the whole game.

F.E.A.R. 2 Proejct Origin is a nice action game, if you played or not played with previous F.E.A.R. titles you can't miss it.