Reviews for Chivalry: Medieval Warfare PRE

90

For Agathaaaa!!!

Stebsis | April 9, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Chivalry is the best medieval multiplayer game ever. Come to think of it, it may be almost the only one, except for War of the Roses that I haven't played. It's refreshing take on competetive multiplayers, and it takes real skill.

You choose a side between Mason Order and Agatha Knights, and choose a class you want to use. Knight, Man-at-Arms, Archer (these can get annoying sometimes) and Vanguard. They all play differently, have really tight attacks and take some time to learn and master, and they also feel balanced and have no clear advantage over each other, though archers can be a pain in the butt sometimes. Vanguard has its long reaching lance, Man-at-Arms his shield and sword, Knight has big claymore and Archers of course have bow. You can modify these a bit and don't have to use shield or claymore as specific class if you don't want, there's fair amount of room to find your own playstyle and what works.

As I said, this game takes skill especially if you want to master it. You make different attacks with your mouse, left and right button and also mouse wheel which takes a while to get used to. This isn't a button smasher or hack and slash game, not by a long shot even though it might seem like it. Friendly fire is always on, and you can chope the head or arm off your fellow mate as easily as your foes if you just go in hitting attack, and people will vote you out as they can see how much friendly damage you have given. There isn't a lot of health and it doesn't regenerate, you need to skillfully block enemy attacks and wait for an opening.

Chivalry is like medieval version or Red Orchestra 2, it feels realistic and definitely isn't for everyone, but I recommend at least trying it if you have a friend or someone who has this game, I bet you will get hooked.

90

LOVE This Game!

ROKET | April 2, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I dont know about everyone else but this game is awesome. I have yet to find a game with more responsive and satisfying controls and melee combat. Its just great.

The game is broken into a few different modes. The most common are Team Deathmatch or Team Objective modes. In TDM you flat out just kill each other in wonderful grizzly combat. In TO mode you are given a task and have to carry those tasks out while also pushing back the enemy forces.

The player can also choose from 4 different classes who in turn can choose from about 3 different weapon styles that are also broken into different types. As you get kills you unlock different and arguably better weapons and lord is it satisfying.

The visuals are also great. Armor metal looks amazing and the environments and outfits really give you a good sense of atmosphere. The effects are also really nice from great sound to sparks when weapons clash. You also feel the force behind your weapons and that only adds to the satisfaction.

The game is currently populated well and grows with every sale. You can always find a good server and connection issues are few. Buy this game - you wont be disappointed. :D

90/100

100

Best Game, I have ever played.

airlancelot | March 19, 2013 | See all airlancelot's reviews »

I know you won't pay attention to this, and you shouldn't. But after years of gaming, this is the most fun I have ever had, gameplay, graphics, community, all are spot on, the booting system, what other system tells you the players' idle time and team damage? the gameplay is immense, accurate.

It's not just some unskillful hack and slash, I've been playing for 2 days and I picked it up within the first hour or so, it's all in the timing and mouse movement, it's like mount and blade, but made of rainbows, the community and player base are for the most part amazing, I feel there is a real team spirit etc, just buy this game, I got it on sale for £6.20, best purchase I have ever made.

85

medieval battles!

Neapolis47 | Feb. 28, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a multiplayer combat simulation game, set in a loose medieval setting, an atmosphere full of charm and charisma. We can say that the game mechanics are standardized to the canons of the first person, we can approach the enemy with different moves: slash, thrust, parry and attack from above, which are essentially movements at the base of medieval fencing. The combat system works very well, but it is a great pity that it can not assume the role of fearless warriors with a wider range of moves, as well as regret not to use the double blade, as happened in some traditional disciplines medieval weapon white . In Chivalry can play four different roles, all properly customizable in the equipment and weapons, classes are very well balanced. Chivalry graphically looks like a game of excellent quality, unfortunately soiled by a design that shows some element of the scene of poor workmanship, in a well-made and almost always cured.

99

Great online fun.

paulp146 | Feb. 18, 2013 | See all paulp146's reviews »

This is alot of fun online, i can say with hand on heart it's one of the only games that makes me laugh out loud almost every time i play it, the sound effects are fantastic with alot of humor mixed in, and don't be put of by the price, it's cheap and worth every penny.

85

NEW UPDATE MAKES GOOD ON PROMISES:)

Colt2911 | Feb. 1, 2013 | See all Colt2911's reviews »

HOLY COW!!!

This game just went from fun diversion to, CANT WAIT TO GET HOME TO PLAY THIS!

Latest patched added the greatly awaited Duel mode, and it is almost flawlessly executed! The new maps are huge and more varied than the release maps and are very well made. Played this for 3 hours straight tonight and could not quit!

If u love medieval combat or good combat in general, GET THIS GAME!

47

Sadly hyped up

auronkast | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all auronkast's reviews »

I bought it on a promo for pretty cheap but I actually regret the purchase... I tried to get into it more than once and all I found was a hack game, it looks like a mod, high profile graphics but the gameplay feels uncomplete. The movements are spammy and instead of a directional swing system like M&B, a staple of the genre, it binds the different attacks to various keys. The game modes are pretty straightforward and there's not much depth to what I found regarding the battle's composition. The fighting system itself is clunky and unresponsive, connecting blows and knowing when you'll actually hit is counter-intuitive and complex. I believe with insistence you can come to understand the combat system but the game failed to grasp my interest for that kind of skill to develop.

The graphics are pretty and the unreal engine's an excellent choice but the game's combat system and modes are just uninteresting, it seems to be really popular though so I might just be missing something, whatever it is as hard as I tried to get into it I just couldn't. I'm given to understand it's a work in progress and perhaps in a few patches the combat will improve but until then I'd stay clear of Chivalry.

82

Chivalry - The true excurse to the Middle Ages.

DWCZ | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all DWCZ's reviews »

Seriously, the only reason, that would force me to write review in English (which is not my mother tongue, just to clarify), would be an extreme quality (or at least controversy) of the „soon to be judged by me“ gaming title.

I’ve searched the precious GMG store back and forth, simply to find a game worth writing about, and my eyes finally focused on one of the last year’s sensations of the computer gaming world – online, (primarily) team based carnage, set in the „not that peaceful“ medieval times – named Chivalry: Medieval Warfare.

First and foremost – this game is not your average huge budget AAA title. In fact, it was developed by a rather small indie company called Torn Banner Studios, which partly consists of the team formerly working on the Half-Life 2 mod called Age of Chivalry.

This mod used to be quite popular back in the day, probably because there aren’t (and I think it’s safe to say, there never really were) exactly tons of medieval warfare focused online games.

Torn Banner Studios wanted to picture the cruel, bestial, savage nature of the medieval combat, so expect severed hands to fly in the air and limbs to be crushed.

Players with weak stomachs and hippie pacifists, you have been warned. Go play Carmageddon or something.

At the end of the day, knights were all splattered with blood, instead of kissing hands of ladies, saving them from their towers.

Gameplay wise, Chivalry actually plays pretty much like a medieval Counter Strike.

You too have different classes to choose from, be it a slow, but rather mighty Knight, slightly faster, but a lot more fragile Man At Arms, or ranged based, amongst the players rage-quits inducing Archer, who stays away from the honorable man-to-man combat, just to shoot unexpected arrows of death to painfully unguarded backs of his opponents. If you are unsure about what you want to play, you can always choose a gladiator-like Vanguard, in case you are a fan of those „know it all“ balanced classes, that are a little bit of everything. Yeah we all know those ones.

During my play through, which clocks at around 35 hours so far, I thought the balancing of the classes was brilliant – in case you’d find (usually) melee combat avoiding Archers annoying, you can always equip your character with handful shield, which serves as a protection against those unexpected arrow blows. You are also able to kill a heavily armored Knight, playing as an Archer in the close combat, if you are clever (and/or experienced) enough. So the odds are even.

Cleverness and the sense for good timing, when it comes to blocking and striking, is the essence of the Chivalry combat. Although every class has its responsibilities on the battlefield when the bloody carnage starts, you can easily be a pillar of the team with pretty much anything you like. It really takes just your skill, patience and will, to overcome the opponent’s defense and claim his head for yourself and your team (or king- if you are an RP player, haha).

Sometimes, you can also take advantage of the ongoing scrimmage and just kill your enemies rather stealthily, by surprise or charge into the battle screaming on top of your lungs. No seriously, you can do that –in this game – with a press of a single button. How you kill them then, is just on you to decide – just like in the real Middle Ages. Trust me. I was there.

I must, atop of my position, strongly recommend new-to-the-game players, that successfully passes the necessary tutorial, to start with the free-for-all game mode, so that they will get hang of the basic combat mechanics, which are quite sophisticated and reminds one of the War of the Roses or Mount & Blade franchises.

I’d say tho, that melee combat in Chivalry is a bit more dynamic in comparison of the above stated, for example you can always choose from different attacks, being it executed horizontally, or vertically, you can bash nearby hostile enemy with a shield or simply kick him, rendering him defenseless for a few precious time, which is all it takes to finish him off. Pacing of the combat is splendid and is a pinnacle of the games’popularity. Auto heal is present, yes but trust me, you won’t even notice it most of the time, because if, and when you make a mistake, it will cost you your head. Literally.

There are six maps and three game modes total – being it free-for-all (deathmatch), classic TDM and objective based modes (King of The Hill being one of them) – more than enough to have a loads of fun.

The only cons for me are thus loads of bugs (although understandable, the game is still being polished), occasional freezes/disconnects, server browser hangs/time outs.

Some weapons were also still bugged at the time of the writing of this review.

Overall I rate this game very positively, considering its origin and wish Torn Banner studios well deserved success. See you on the battlefield lads! For the Order!

81

Great amounts of fun online!

MalekTaktak | Jan. 28, 2013 | See all MalekTaktak's reviews »

Chivalry is a bloody medieval FPS that heavily relies on combat and skill online, since the only game modes are deathmatch, free for all or team objective. The melee system is well elaborated, simple to handle and works well with the type of the game.

You can switch to third person at any time by pressing a button if you'd like, sometimes it's easier this way and more appealing to the eye.

The lack of campaign is a huge downside, which really disappoints me since the training session is done well and demonstrates how good a story mode would be. Then again, the story happens in the multiplayer game so it leaves the players to imagine what actually happened.

The soundtrack is nice and very ... medieval and the voice actors are often laughably terrific. The guards sound just like the stereotypical hilarious medieval characters.

While I am addicted to this game and play a lot of it nearly every day, I recommend you to wait for a sale since it isn't worth it with no single player.

80

Hack and slash, with style

Rochard | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Rochard's reviews »

Being so focused on multiplayer you really need to be prepared to get your head chopped off, your torso slashed and your... well you get the point. It takes a while to get into the game and it's actually surprisingly advanced for being such a basic medieval first-person-slasher.

Graphics are on par with todays standards, audio is sufficient and the game seems to have been properly optimized as it runs smoothly even on older computers.

A few bugs are still present in the game but patches are constantly being delivered by the publishers and developers.

85

Brutal entertainment

Kradath | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Kradath's reviews »

Being a great Mount and Blade fan I had to get something new in that area. Somehow War of the Roses didn't appeal to me that much, so I tried out this title and it was a good choice.

The combat is brutal but so extremely satisfying. The feedback of a hit is massive and every attack has to be planned in a split second which decides over life and death.

For medieval multiplayer fans it's a must get, very high recommendation.

75

Mmmmkay

Lirks | Jan. 18, 2013 | See all Lirks's reviews »

This game is pretty sweet. I've been waiting for a good first person slasher. The gameplay is a bit slower than other FPS games, but it gives it a more realistic feel.

It's a bit glitchy at times, but I hear a patch is coming out in January, 2013. It doesn't affect the actual gameplay, just the leveling is a bit wacky.

93

Would happily pay full price

RoundRogue | Jan. 18, 2013 | See all RoundRogue's reviews »

I picked this up at a discounted price but I would happily pay full price for it! It takes a bit of a while to master but once you've put about 4 hours into the game you can do pretty well in 1on1 combat. Don't take my word for it, just buy it while it's discounted!

75

Great multiplayer combat game

Scorpy | Jan. 17, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is first and foremost a multiplayer-only game. There is little to no single-player (aside from bot games and such). That being said, it does what it sets out to do very well: simulate medieval combat.

Fighting is fun, and watching the chaos unfold on massive medieval landscapes is something to be admired. However, at its steep price of $25, and its fluctuating online activity, it is hard to recommend Chivalry unless you can get it at a reasonable price.

90

Great game, but not for everyone

BlueFireGaming | Jan. 15, 2013 | See all BlueFireGaming's reviews »

This is just an awesome game! I love this type of games, where you really need to have the skills to win, not just luck or something.

Although many people love this game, it's not for everyone. It's a pretty hardcore game, and also it's a bit too mature for some people, because it has a lot of blood and stuff in it.

All in all, I really like this game and I would really recommend it to other people who like good hack 'n slash games.

65

Interesting

tmd748 | Jan. 15, 2013 | See all tmd748's reviews »

I can see why many love this game. Combat is not spammy nor twitchy, and it requires a great deal of timing and strategy.

This game has a very steep learning curve. It can be frustrating dying left and right at the beginning.

In terms of looks and polish, the game is solid and it runs well even on my old computer.

Content-wise, there isn't a whole lot. Every player is mostly pre-occupied with slaying the heck out of each other.

In my honest opinion, this game is worth a try, but ultimately not worth the full price.

87

The medieval answer to COD

rstokes | Jan. 11, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

If you are looking for a multiplayer game where you can chop off a friends head then kick his limp body to the ground, look no further. Chivalry is a fps melee hack and slash where two teams are pitted against each other to accomplish various goals. Modes range from deathmatch, team deathmatch, king of the hill, and last man standing style deathmatches. The combat is very skill based and gives you a slew of ways to trick and kill your opponents (or allies occasionally). Overall its one of the funnest multiplayer games I've ever played

92

Isn't BRUTAL fun?

Dean_Demon | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all Dean_Demon's reviews »

Chivalry is truly great fun, finally a game where i can be as Brutal and as dangerous as i want to be without the fear of getting into trouble, be brave, be aggressive and be totally violent as anything else and you won't get anywhere.

Graphics are nicely done and the game moves at a good rate, fast is good by the way and if you are a little squeamish then you will certainly have a hard time with this classic game, all those limbs flying off is a pure adrenaline rush. Sound isn't anything special but it does the job, mind you it doesn't need to be great as i found that i had plenty to shout about in game so that makes up for it.

On release it did have a few issue's and bugs but since then it's been updated many times and many things have been corrected and ironed out and is now extremely playable, multi player combat has never been so good.

75

S'okay

Damuel | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Damuel's reviews »

The game is pretty cool with the interesting combat, having small groups of friends charge in and fighting eachother, having an objective to burn down a village, it just feels great.

The game is pretty well balanced, though as you might expect ranged players have a huge advantage. The new unlocks are cool but not too unbalanced. There isn't really much incentive to play past the whole, get better as you play more the game has.

On the downside of things, the bot AI is pretty awful, with a lot of maps having them get stuck in their spawns. They don't complete objectives, they only attack the first thing in sight. This is a game you'll want to play with friends.

The graphics are nice, I believe this game is on the Unreal Engine, it has a few cool shader effects, trees look pretty awful but everything else is nicely textured and modeled for the most part. Overall the game is really interesting and all, but it just doesn't have enough incentive to keep playing, and really relies on you having friends to play with.

85

Brilliant game, but has it's bugs!

cantIntoCode | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all cantIntoCode's reviews »

Chivalry is a game entirely different from anything you've played before. After seeing all the good reviews and content going around YouTube I thought I'd give this game a go and I'm more than happy with my purchase.

Chivalry breathes new light into the gaming scene and brings something new to the table. The gameplay mechanics are brilliant, it takes a carefully timed attack to successfully kill your opponent. You use right click to block, click click to slash, scroll wheel up to stab and down for a overhead attack. Learning to block your enemies attack every time is going to take a lot of practice, you have to mouse the crosshair to the tip of your enemies weapon as they strike you (and you will/could have multiple enemies attacking you at once). The combat system has been well thought through and every kill you get is very rewarding. There is also an archery class, however is leaves very much to be desired because the arrows never seem to go where you would like them to go and before you can manage to kill someone you will either run out of arrows or someone else will kill you.

The game does have it's bugs, theres a few that I find really bothersome. When you open the server window to connect to a match, every other time no servers will appear and you will either need to restart the game, or restart your computer(this also happens with all my friends that play Chivalry) and occasionally when your in a game you will not respawn which is not due to lag as before you died the gameplay was fine.

Overall I would recommend this game to anyone who likes a new challenge and a different type of game. It's does take some time to get used to but once you've nailed it Chivalry is loads of fun!

75

Chivalry or WOTR

Lekes | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

As someone who stressed over whether to buy Chivalry or WOTR but ended up getting both, here is my review. Melee combat is great, there is a sense of satisfaction that comes with winning a fight, even when you lose you feel like you truly lost against that opponent (unless you've just been ganked which isn't fun), WOTR does however lack this sense of victory and loss when it comes to melee combat. As a game it does lack the polish that I found in WOTR which is a very well rounded game but I hope that future content will rectify this. My only concern is that its price tag is disproportionate to what the game itself offers but as most (if not all) future content is meant to be available for free this should not be an issue. While is do love the melee combat system, at the moment that's pretty much all I like; a part of me wishes if only WOTR had chivalry's combat system, what a game that would be. Chivalry does however have the makings of a great game.

91

Extremely fun but still quite buggy.

Seren666 | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all Seren666's reviews »

I was a bit reluctant at first to buy it but now I have I don't regret it one bit! At first my aging computer had problems running it and none of the graphics settings increased my FPS so I had to manually disable some CPU intensive things from the settings file, which took almost an hour but was well worth it! Once I managed to get some decent frame rates I began the archer training then joined a game with my brother and a friend of his. My first game didn't go very well as I was constantly getting beheaded by melees but my second game I decided to get up high, like an archer would do irl and ended up 9-2. Since then I've just played archer and usually end up with around 2kdr and I've learnt to block most melee attacks properly =) This game is hugely fun with friends as you can get them to protect you as an archer or protect them in battle. As an archer you get an arrow cam which you can very the arrow in first person, it is very useful as it can help you calculate where your next shot should be. The only problems with the game are currently (after first patch): very laggy without tweaks, some graphic glitches and nowhere to view stats/leaderboards but all can be fixed in patches to come!

Gave it a 91 because the game is still quite new and the bugs will likely be fixed in later patches.

91

One of the most brutal games I ever played.

Angeluzian | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

Chivalry is amazing. Even though it's lack in graphics and ranged combat, it's melee brutality brings it all up again. I enyoy it immensly because of it. It's better than war of the roses in most aspects, though WOTR is more polished. If you are intrested in combat multiplayer, this is the game for you.

80

Verdict

Sanako59 | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Sanako59's reviews »

Lopping off appendages in gory displays of warrior aggression makes Chivalry: Medieval Warfare's up-close and personal melee combat a gritty and fulfilling on a primal level. Though the lack of complexity sometimes works both for and against it, getting caught up in the flow of battle yields many hours of man-stabbing amusement. Like its competition, Chivalry hasn't quite perfected the formula for medieval warfare, but it's a violent, fun time nonetheless.

85

Hack 'n' Slash at it's best

Baschtard93 | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Baschtard93's reviews »

For it's price this is a brilliant game. Even though it lacks a Singleplayer Mode, it just rocks. Multiplayer has lots of fun modes, lots of different weapons and options and the medieval touch seems quite convincing. As long as you have friends to play this with you, go for it. It's a really good medieval Call of Duty alternative!

86

The next step forward in melee combat!

Maniacal | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Maniacal's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is an excellent next step in improving melee combat in games and big leap from the Age of Chivalry Source mod it originates from. The combat sounds relatively simple on paper especially with only one animation per attack, but it has a surprising amount of depth and complexity to its combat system. Each kill is very rewarding and visceral with a very satisfying and possibly sickening crunch to hits and severed body parts. The archery mechanics could be a bit better, but they are still fun and certainly not bad.

While it also only has a few game modes they are quite fun and it supports up to 64 players. The graphical quality is largely good, although some maps are a bit less detailed than others (the arena one in particular seems a bit worse but you're too busy fighting ot really notice anyway).

70

Fun Multiplayer Action

Scorpy | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is somewhat unique, in that it approaches the FPS from a brutal, melee-focused perspective. It reminded me a lot of Pirates, Vikings & Knights, which was a free Source Mod on Steam.

There are objectives and deatchmatch games. Where the game really shines are the objective maps. Seeing an entire team work together to bring down another really has a way of putting a smile on someone's face.

The price is a bit too steep, so I'd say wait for it to drop. The multiplayer can at times be laggy and buggy, so until a polished update comes out you might want to sit this one out.

86

Medieval Butchery

Xibalba | Dec. 14, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Stunning graphic,and combat animation with the possibility to chop enemy arms, heads or legs , battlecry and other things for plunge in a medieval battlefield or siege very nice game if you wanna play melee combat, the ranged combat its not very nice instead you can play in first person view or third. suggested for having fun with friends online

83

Multiplayer madness

rstokes | Dec. 14, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

Chivalry is a first-person action team-based multiplayer game. The weapons range from swords to axes to mauls to bows and arrows and even a great sword. The combat is highly skill-based you are given three attacks one block one kick and a feign button to help trick your opponents. The game feels very natural and visceral, and kill animations will keep you playing for hours. Most weapons are rather well-balanced giving each class its own unique play style. From the first time you behead an opponent you'll be hooked!

90

Going Medieval On You.

foxhound1 | Dec. 14, 2012 | See all foxhound1's reviews »

I am really glad I made the choice to purchase this game over others that I had been thinking about getting. The action and the fun never stops in this game and playing it with friends make it a memorable game to play when you accidentally chop their heads off in friendly fire. There are a few gameplay elements that could still yet to be tweaked but overall it is still great to play the way it is now and definitely worth the price.

96

Revolutionizes Sword Combat in games.

Coolicy | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

I can't go back into sword fighting in Skyrim anymore after playing this game. Skyrim was a fun game, but the sword fighting is very simplistic when compared to this game. In Chivalry, there are really only 3 attack moves: horizontal swings, forward stab, and vertical (overhead) chops. Combined with factors like Timing, Angle, Weapon Speed and Reach makes for a very complex system. You'll encounter situations such as being flanked, surrounded, and sniped by archers and must take them into consideration when fighting an opponent. When everything's combined, it makes for one amazing sword fighting game. This game has set such a high bar for me, I'm afraid of playing games that's really a game about slashing until the enemy health is out.

Get this game! It's on sale now! Get it with a friend, it is worth it! There are problems with this game, nothing game breaking or particularly troubling, and I'm sure it'll be fixed in the near future.

85

Perfect for LAN, but...

Marabon | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all Marabon's reviews »

As the title states, this game is a really really good multiplayer game, and it's a perfect game to play if you're having a LAN party with your friends. However, the server browser is somewhat bugged as it shows the wrong player count & ping. It's also good that the future updates etc will be free.

If you want a really good LAN/multiplayer game this is it!

20

Should avoid, even on a huge discount

smoothie | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all smoothie's reviews »

Unless you have a burning desire to become a knight(and in which case you would already have this game), give this one a miss. The game is quite shallow and lacks any depth, and has the 'game mod' feel rather than an actual 'game' feel(as there's no content).

Its basically a 'melee arena', you walk around(quite slowly), and just whack people to death. No objectives(apart from lackluster 'go A do X etc.'), no real team work(as the larger group will win every fight), theres nothing in there to spice up gameplay, like completely different weapons, classes or play styles (you have a choice of either repetitive melee weapons, or archers).

The games fun for about an hour until you realise that it's just a bland 'melee arena mod' with the whole 'medieval knights and swords' novelty going on. It somewhat reminds me of 'Killing Floor', with the no content 'moddish' feel and no advanced game play elements to really draw you in.

The graphic quality is quite good, however there are multilayer only games with equally as good graphics but with a lot more interesting and varied gameplay. eg. Natural Selection 2

$25 is a bit of a joke for what you get. Unless you're completely into the medieval times and love the 'ye olde tyme' theme, give the game a pass(even if it has a 75% discount).

85

Amazing Game Not optimal for Multiple resolutions

Jimmymadness | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all Jimmymadness's reviews »

Great game but the resolution as well as the graphical settings are malfunctioning with multiple displays. Seems to be updated constantly and is a riot with a group of friends. If you're looking for a great multiplayer game with friends there is no better game.

93

Pokey, Pokey. Stabby Stabby

UKnowHuu | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all UKnowHuu's reviews »

Simple game that may have a complex combat system. Systematically kill your opponent or just charge and horizontal swing; the two methods are what makes the game great. Great graphics. Updates bountiful. Great price.

89

Contender for multiplayer game of the year

Vidiz | Nov. 27, 2012 | See all Vidiz's reviews »

I'm not going to pretend this game is perfect, because it's not. Bugs, lag problems, a buggy server browser, this game has them all. However the game has some good developers and these problems look they are all going to be fixed.

Even still, the pros far, far out weigh the cons in Chivalry. The game play is seriously fun and addicting. It can be a little frustrating at times but that goes away as soon as you respawn, you just want to get back into the action straight away again. There is a huge amount of skill needed in this game, but you don't need to be a god at the game to have a blast. The combat is hugely satisfying when you manage to come out victorious in a fight. Generally I prefer team battles, however the 1v1 battles in Chivalry are very fun as well. Trading blows, blocking shots and then finally delivering the killing blow to the guys skull is an immensely satisfying experience.

There isn't a huge amount of game modes or maps, however the developers have spoke about their plans for free DLC in the future. The low amount of maps and modes isn't such a problem for Chivalry though, it's all about the brilliant gameplay. The weapon selection is huge and allows you to really play how you like to play. Archers, two handers, mauls, maces, axes, swords, etc. Chivalry has them all.

If you have to pick up one game in the up coming Winter sales, make this it. You won't regret it.

100

The only Multiplayer game worth playing!

Beard_Whisperer | Nov. 20, 2012 | See all Beard_Whisperer's reviews »

When I first saw the promotional video for this game last year, I was excited at both the concept and the gameplay. Back then I was unaware of it being strictly multiplayer. When I found out it was strictly multiplayer I was slightly turned off... until I played it. This game has completely restored my love in online gaming, and that is no short task.

In terms of gameplay alone, this game is phenomenal. I personally believe it achieves its goal of "being the best melee combat game to date." Unlike most melee fighting in games where the goal is to simply push buttons as fast as you can until your opponent dies, this game actually requires strategy in terms of swinging. The mouse acts as your sword, and the WASD keys act as your feet. Depending on what button you press you can attack in 1 of 3 ways: swing, stab, or overhead strike. Moving your mouse with your attack can make it more precise as this game actually factors in where you swing. Aim at their feet and (if they don't jump over your attack) you will do minimal damage, but potentially wound them (or even sever a limb completely). Attacking at their torso may do more damage depending on their armor, but may be harder to achieve if they are equipped with a shield. Of course, aiming at the head does the most damage and may very easily decapitate them.

Defending is similar to attacking. You don't just simply hold down a block button and expect to absorb less damage. You have to actually aim your block in relation to the direction they are striking from. If you are not equipped with a shield this is especially true, although having a shield does not make you immune from attacks. Aim your shield too far from their attack and they can still manage to hit your shoulder, torso, or even your head! Not to mention even with a shield your feet are virtually always exposed to attacks at all times.

The realism of the melee fighting is unsurpassed in any game I have ever played. When you strike someone, you can practically FEEL as if you yourself were actually swinging the weapon in real life. Contact actually happens, unlike in most games where your weapon looks as if it's just going into a random object that is either too close or too far away from it. Add this to the fact that skill level of your opponent plays a factor makes for a very invigorating feeling when you manage to get a swing to land. Couple that with the decapitation of heads or the severing of limbs and you get an unsurpassed melee experience.

Ranged weapons are not as fine-tuned as melee weapons are, but they are still very fun to use and equally challenging. Weapon type and arrow type play a roll into the damage they do, and to whom they do it to. Crossbows are powerful and will do great damage to any player despite their armor type. However they are much longer to load so require greater accuracy. Crossbowmen can use a shield to lodge in the ground in front of them, to grant them cover while they are aiming and reloading their weapon, which can be very useful in particular game modes. Archers will have a variety of arrows they can choose, either broadhead or bodkin, which deliver more or less damage to certain armor classes. Broadheads will inflect heavier damage to a light-armor class compared to a heavy-armor class, and vice versa for the Bodkin arrows.

There is also a variety of siege weapons that can be used depending on the level being played and what side you are on. Defenders get the advantage of ballistae which can be used to take out incoming attackers. Once the attackers reach the game with their battering ram, hot tar can be activated to fall on them from above, causing brutal fire damage to all who have the fortune of being caught in it. Attackers get the use of a trebuchet, whose huge rocks inflict damage over a large area.

These are all well-balanced however: those using a ballista are prone to being taken out by enemy archers. The same goes for those using the trebuchet. Not to mention friendly fire is always on for every weapon: hurling a huge stone could take out some enemies, but it could also easily take out 2 or 3 of your own guys. This makes for challenging accuracy and adds to the thrill of the warfare.

Friendly fire also applies to melee weapons. This further increases the strategy needed in successfully playing this game. Are you rushing a group of enemies by yourself? If so then taking a large sweeping swing with your Zweihänder to try and get all of them is a great idea. Are you taking on a few guys in a narrow passage alongside a few of your bodies? Then sweeping swings will most likely only kill or greatly harm your team mates, and thus stabbing attacks are called for. It takes time to get used to and master these tactics, but to me that is what makes it all the more fun.

Game modes are extremely varied considering the small price of this game. Team deathmatch and free-for-all game styles are what can be expected in any other online game. However the goal-oriented siege style gameplay is amazing and different depending on what map you are playing and what side you are playing on. Some modes require poisoning water supply with a cart full of dead bodies, to ultimately break through a gate and killing all heirs to the crown (cleverly guarded behind heavily defended boarded up walls). To game modes which require killing and raiding an outlying village only to break down the walls of a castle and go in to kill the king. Personally I love the objective gameplay in this game, and hope to see them continue to release new and varied levels like the ones they already have.

If you want to have a ton of fun and witness ultimate carnage than this games free-for-all deathmatch mode is the best. Imagine spending a good minute or two exchanging blows with someone only to see a second person coming in out of nowhere with a large sweeping strike! Nothing is more fun then witnessing constant bloodshed and carnage as a large number of people are seeking to destroy one another. This is all the more true when taking place in the arena level: a small level filled with a number of death traps and packed with 24+ people swinging swords and hurling throwing axes! Words cannot explain the level of excitement, triumph, and frustration that comes along with this!!!

There really are no complaints that I have about this game, at least those that pertain to the game itself. The only complaint I have, which is the same for any online game, is in the players you may come across. Some people take the game way too seriously, and are needlessly cruel to players who do not perform the best or who manage to suck at their try on ballista or trebuchet. But there are also some people who are extremely nice and fun to play with. Of course, as said though, these things are expected in any online multiplayer gaming experience.

As such, I think for the very cheap price of this game and the tons of hours of enjoyable playing you will get with this game, I have to give this game no less than 100 out of 100. Something I rarely feel the ability to do with games. I hope this game continues to sell well and catch on, because I can only imagine the high quality material that will come out of this team if they get the fortune to release in even bigger budget game! And if they ever do anything with single player... I will be waiting with bated breath (and unsheathed sword!)

85

Awesome Medieval Warfare

IganX | Nov. 11, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

This game on its own has managed to take First Person Combat games to another level. With a dynamic combat system, great animations, and friendly fire, this game can provide tons of hours of fun. Its graphics are great, it doesn't have many bugs, and I would recommend it specially to play it with some friends.

85

Most fun I have had in Multiplayer in years

KnaveSkye | Nov. 9, 2012 | See all KnaveSkye's reviews »

Im going to get the negatives out of the way first. The server browser is does not show accurate player counts in servers and inaccurate pings. Team balancing just grabs the top scorer from the opposite team if teams become uneven, so a losing team can lose its best player if someone on winning team leaves. Some maps are designed to give a significant advantage to a team that stacks archers and can make a match very unenjoyable.

With all that said, this game is one of the best multiplayer experiences I have had in years. The Melee combat is very responsive and encourages timing and skill over wildly swinging. You can initiate attacks and then cancel them to trick your opponent into blocking at the wrong time. There are servers dedicated to a rule set where players fight 1v1 without interference. Deathblows can sever legs, arms and head...and a blunt weapon might just crush their skull entirely. In last man standing, you have to win 7 rounds to win the map, and a round ends when all members of one team are dead. Its very rewarding( and difficult) to be the last person on your team and manage to fight off 3 of the remaining opponents. Sometimes you even find players with enough balls to approach you one at a time.

TL:DR Game is a great value for $25 and they have already discussed additional content at no additional cost.

85

Addicting, fresh and fun, great stress relief.

fable2 | Nov. 8, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

Great game to just jump in and play, often it is hard to leave. The combat is great. The atmosphere is severe and immersive but the mechanics lend to some truly hilarious moments and comic relief is here in spades. The visuals are nice and the sound is very immersive. The voice overs are fun and often hilarious. Their are plenty of weapons to choose from and the weapon types will lend to different play styles. There is something for everybody here.

There are many game modes: King of the Hill, Team Deathmatch, Last Team Standing and Team Objective. The latter is my favorite as the objectives are varied and fun and require teamwork and strategy. Bring some friends if you can though, for the most part people run around in total bloodlust.

Can be difficult at first- be sure to run the tutorial, and look for more advanced techniques on youtube. You can control your swings to try to get around parries and shields. Likewise you have to free form aim your own blocks. The system also allows for feints, shield bashes and kicks. You can also duck horizontal slashes then pop up and stab your opponent before he has time to recover, Be careful though, and alert opponent will bring that sword down on your head!

90

Epic First Person Battles

DukePaul | Nov. 6, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare offers an awesome gameplay, First Person Combat in intense and violent battles with a great variety of swords, lances, axes, shields, bows and more, you will need to unlock them through the rank system.

The combat system is easy to play, fluid and brutal, you have slashes, overheads and stabs can be freely controlled by the mouse to try to get around oppenents blocks

In the game there are various gamemodes like: Last Team Standing, King of the Hill, Free for all, Team Deathmatch and Team Objective. This last one is my favourite, you need to complete tasks to unlock more parts of the map to take your team to the victory

Also the graphics are amazing, combat animations are smooth, the maps have elements like rain, the lighting with torchs in the walls feels realistic and great epic music for the battles.

I think is the best online multiplayer game right now, you will play it for hours and for this price is a game you must have in your collection.

90

A masterpiece

Gh0st233 | Nov. 6, 2012 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a new medieval game on the market, and it leaves War of the Roses in the dust. It can be played in first and third person, the melee combat is MUCH better, which unfortunately can't be said for the archery, which is generic, to say the least, the graphics are very satisfying and shady to represent a dark time that the kingdom is in. There are a lot of weapons to choose from, siege weapons included. And on top of all of that, there are a few very fun game-modes that are quite innovative, original, and most importantly, very fun.

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a game like no other medieval game. It may not be as good as Mount and Blade, in my opinion, but to be quite honest, for the price it's great! Recommended!