Reviews for Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City

74

You should have known better...

DeaD | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all DeaD's reviews »

Let me start with this: I loved Operation Racoon City. Even so I agree with the critics. The graphics are ok, you really have some weapons to purge the city and the idea of having skills is nice. The problem: uncut. The game had so much potential in my honest opinion, and somehow just don't seem to use it.

If you can get over the part where you're a bad guy, there's still the matter of this levelling up thingy. Getting XP for killing more infected, picking up some this and that? Nice. But getting all the skills after the first level? Nope. Don't get me wrong you can upgrade the character after that too, but loses it's magic.

Next: Covering system. Looks good. uhm... automatically? It's ok but sometimes being in cover while walking along a narrow floor, flattening against the wall? … Ok, next. Different weapons? Pretty, but you won't get the feeling of one weapon: "This is my boomstick!". And well try this game and you'll see one part...completely unacceptable. Just beacuse. You'll get it when you reach it... Despite these a huge point should go for this: This is Racoon City! (yup, no Sparta...) The game offers 4 player coop too, which you'll need trust me. The AI is...dumb, that simple. If you get over it, it's funny...but you, you won't. Even so Resident Evil: ORC (hehe) is a nice one, next time just give it more time Capcom, please.

53

Prelude to new RE style

y1985 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all y1985's reviews »

This spin off is like a beta version of how RE6 will look like. That's good thing because Capcom would take all the flaws and improve RE6. Sadly, they don't do enough.

The game is Action shooting base game. There isn't much story line here just a straight forward action game with not so useful skills.

"It's not a RE game" just keep this word in mind and you might enjoy the game.

One of the worst thing is allied bot. They just suck and can't do much even sometime they stuck and force you to back track yourself.

Good thing is co-op is still fun.

Overall, the game is slightly above average.

80

Welcome to Raccoon City - Population: You

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all PeppaJ6's reviews »

The overall impression I was left with from playing this one was Resident Evil 4 in multiplayer. I loved that title, and love playing this one as well! My favorite part of it has to be the fact that you're able to play as members of Umbrella's special forces unit. This puts the player in a unique position where they're pitted against both the zombies ravaging the city, and the more positive cast members belonging to the RCPD - characters we've played as ourselves in the past which must now be eliminated. It's a unique feel because the player gets to see parts of this blast from the past that were never told before. I find the gameplay itself enjoyable, and being able to kill zombies in a Resident Evil title with friends online is unbeatable as a time killer.

65

You sure my team aren't zombies?

DeltaBladeX | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all DeltaBladeX's reviews »

Set in Raccoon City during the events of Resident Evil 2 and 3, this game has you taking your team through streets, alleys and masses of zombies in order to complete your missions.

Story -
You are part of an elite team sent to Raccoon City by Umbrella to retrieve samples of the G-Virus created by William Birkin. Later missions will have you taking down the power in the city and destroying any evidence about what Umbrella has been doing. Along the way, you will meet some characters you should recognize if you have played the older games. The events of this game are not part of the series though, which does make sense.

Presentation -
This game is looking great. For a ruined city, this place is perfect. Raccoon City is wasted, just as it should be. Destroyed cars, dead bodies and burning wreckage all over the place. The indoor locations like Umbrella labs also look perfect. Moving onto the enemies, these are also as they should be. The zombies themselves look perfect for what they are.

Now we get to the sound, and that isn't so good. Forgettable music, poor voice acting and lacking sound effects all make me wonder if they tried here. Even the moans just aren't what they could be.

Controls -
As a game developed with consoles in mind, it is best to stick with a gamepad. Even the HUD features a DPad to select your grenades and healing items. Playing with the pad, most of the controls worked decently, though attempting to make headshots with the analog stick was aggravating. More than once, I'd use my mouse to aim for those bits.

Gameplay -
This game takes a massive departure from most of the other titles in the series, being a team based third person shooter with plenty of ammo to let lose at your enemies. Most enemies are bullet sponges though, and it will take time to clean up the mobs in your way. Nothing inspired here, it plays like many other team based shooters, such as the Left 4 Dead series.

There are six different character classes to pick from, each with their own active and passive skills to level up and use during gamplay, allowing different gameplay styles in your team. You have a Assault member, great with their guns, Demolitions who can set traps, a Medic for healing all your woes, a Scientist who can infect and control enemies, the Recon is all about stealth and finally the Surveillance member for boosting your ability to detect items and enemies.

The only problem with your team is that they are incredibly stupid, with me left wondering if even the zombie AI is smarter, since that lot don't get lost when attempting to hunt. This is easily fixed by having friends play, but unlike more popular titles, there isn't a lot of players around.

Lifespan -
With a total of six levels, I found this game to be rather short. Once you have beaten the game, you have a few things to do, such as trying to get higher ranks in each level, powering up each of your six characters and finding enough intel in the levels to unlock all images in the Gallery.

There are a number of multiplayer modes, but like co-op, you aren't going to have many people willing to play with you. I wouldn't depend on that unless you want to gift out several copies to people on your friend list.

There are also a number of DLCs available, though I'm only going to mention the important ones here, the Echo Six content. This adds additional missions to the Free Play mode, in which you play as another group, working against Umbrella. This group is nothing more than reskins of the original team though, with the same skills available, but the missions themselves are different. If you care for the gameplay, these are worth purchasing.

Closing -
While this game is nothing special, I enjoyed it enough that my purchase during a 75% off sale didn't feel like a rip off, as any early buyers would have felt. It has uninspired gameplay and isn't popular enough to fill a team for co-op, but it isn't bad.

52

Certainly not resident evil

metalrulz | July 27, 2013 | See all metalrulz's reviews »

This game has glimpses of what made resident evil the best zombie franchise for many years but in the end the it just wasn't enough.The over the top action isn't what made RE the best it was the puzzles and story line,this game has neither going for it.The generic story line is all to familiar with it's story being told about 10 different ways now by over more than a dozen different survivors from raccoon city.What happened to the days where the puzzles made us rage for hours until we figured them out and said OMG that's all i had to do.

This game is an action game not deemed worthy of the title resident evil.It could have easily been called zombie squadron elite patrol or some other non specific name that would never catch your eye and demand a (when released)50 dollar usd price tag.

In summary it's another failed attempt to grab your money by putting the t-virus,raccon city and zombies together.Save your money and wait until they start really trying to put together another decent resident evil game.Which in my opinion hasn't happened since re4.

This game got a 52 because if you play with your friends and joke about how bad they messed this game up you'll have fun trashing it for a while until you realize how much money you spent on it.

91

Awesome Coop and Multiplayer Fun

Knollex | July 8, 2013 | See all Knollex's reviews »

This is a great game to play with a group of one or more friends. The Coop is fun, but the Multiplayer Versus is even more intense. Highly recommend this game if you like zombie games. The only downside is GFWL, but it is bearable.

72

It's a good tps but not a good Resident Evil game

spycid | July 8, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Despite being a good tps game, this game has almost non-existent horror. So you can't call it a horror game at all. It's a very good tps game and best played in co-op. It's more of a spin-off and less of Resident Evil game. Get it only if you intend to play co-op mode.

60

Wasted potential

tuecer | July 8, 2013 | See all tuecer's reviews »

I remember hearing about this game and thinking "awesome, can't wait" since I lamented the move away from "classic" RE to what the series is now, which while not terrible, isn't the same.

Sadly this game squanders the potential it had with clunky controls, terribly AI, and repetitive missions.

I understand that this game is meant to be played with people, but what if you don't have 3 others to play with? You're stuck with an AI squad member that doesn't even know enough to take cover and just aimlessly follows you around. The enemy AI isn't much better in most cases.

The missions more or less are "find this and bring it here" affairs which have alternating sections of gun enemies and then infected. The infected combat is actually not bad, but the gun toting guys just feel so alien to RE, like they were plucked out of CoD and dropped into Raccoon City like Mr. X.

Overall, its a decent play, but more for a die hard RE fan than the average gamer. Wait for a sale, if you get it at all.

80

A Tumble Down Memory Lane

ballisticge0rge | July 7, 2013 | See all ballisticge0rge's reviews »

I loved the original Resident Evil games, specifically Resident Evil 2 and 3 were my all time favorites. So when you say "Hey, we're making a game that goes back to Raccoon City and you play as Umbrella" I'm like TAKE MY MONEY DAMN IT!!!

But then reality sets in, and I realize the game plays nothing like those old resident evil games, it is also a huge departure from Resident Evil 4, 5 and 6. You die quickly, you need teamwork, and you are relying on skills that were never in any of the other games (like cloaking, thermal vision).

The game also focuses on multiplayer, which has never been a good thing in Resident Evil. However that all being said, I liked the game. It took me down that awesome trip of memory lane, and I had fun playing with friends.

If you have friends, love resident evil's history, and can swallow a few bad pieces of game mechanics (like poorly done chace scenes) then you'll enjoy this game. And honestly, what resident evil fan isn't used to bad game mechanics?

69

Game cooperative

iamkyo90 | July 7, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

Is a good game for cooperative play, have more fun in this mode

70

Great Story, but buggy

linguofu | July 6, 2013 | See all linguofu's reviews »

In single play, the AI were not so great in the fact that they don't know how to revive other knocked out team mate and rely on you to revive them while fighting. The AI sometime also get stuck in the lift which mean you will have to go solo.

However this game have made a different impression on RE as this is base on a team of 4 which can be played with more friend and experience the game in other ways.

But overall this game has a great story just the buggy AI sometime ruining the fun but this game is great when played with friends.

76

Underrated gem

Oblaque | July 6, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Not perfect but also not the disaster console reviews claim it to be. It does so much right on PC:

DX11 HDR Lighting, DX11 tessellation on some boss models. High & Smooth FPS, Detailed environments, revisits iconic locations from Resident Evil2 & 3 games.

Controls are best suited to mouse + KB. Wireless & Wired 360 gamepad's are supported. Mouse+kb are more accurate.T he game has no aim assist or auto aim so you need to be accurate in places.

Loading times are very fast no more than 5-10 seconds on an SSD.

Sound FX is excellent, Voiceovers are also very good. You will recognize a few familiar voices. Music is functional its really background noise (atmospheric) but the sound mixing is movie quality overall.

Game is designed to be a 4 player Co-Op experience but the AI is also good enough for solo play.

You can play the story mode in solo with 3 AI squad mates or public/private with randoms/friends.

SP is around 25 hours long. The various online game modes add about the same again but a lot more if you want to rise to the top of the leaderboards.

There are also lots of weapons/gadgets/upgrades to unlock with the XP you earn in all game modes (it stacks). Saving is via checkpoints which are fast & seamless apart from a small onscreen disk drive icon.

Steam + GFWL are the only DRM used here & it has unlimited activations as long as you use the same gamertag it was first registered to (ensure your also using a gamertag from the 35 supported GFWL regions).

It even has a multiplayer mode similar to COD Black Ops Zombies where you get infected and can turn on your squad mates.

80

Good game on it's own merits

zenbyo | July 4, 2013 | See all zenbyo's reviews »

Keep in mind most people that give the game a negative rating don't seem to be able to divorce this game's playstyle from older Resident Evils. The focus is on an umbrella commando team so the playstyle is more like a third person shooter. The game is not perfect by any means but it's got enough of it's own unique features combined with elements from the RE universe which I enjoyed. Also the enemies have been described as "bullet sponges" but seriously, what Resident Evil didnt have bullet sponge enemies? Think about it.

63

Eh, it's ok..

nucture | July 4, 2013 | See all nucture's reviews »

It's a good game if you got a friend to play with or random people to join.. but if you are planning to play this alone well then, buy it on sale because it's a very short and lack luster game for playing alone. It can be fun at times yeah but it gets boring and that's where having friends can make it fun.

45

Great concept, not so great execution

Profoundly_Mad | May 2, 2013 | See all Profoundly_Mad's reviews »

Operation Raccoon is different from what you'd expect from a Resident Evil title. This manages to be both a good and a bad thing. The concept of working with team mates as you fight through Raccoon is good and the idea of changing the canon timeline of Resident Evil is interesting but ultimately wasted.

In single player the game is an exercise in frustration. Braindead AI, bullet sponge enemies and unresponsive controls gives a poor impression. The game does get much more fun online but sadly the online died out pretty quickly and it still doesn't really fix the bullet sponge enemies or controls.

Not really worth it.

80

Better than expected

acloggedtoaster | April 30, 2013 | See all acloggedtoaster's reviews »

This is an action game. There are virtually no elements of survival horror like the earlier RE's had, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. I quite enjoyed the game play, despite some discrepancy in enemy health. i also liked the introduction of the playable Umbrella Operatives. ORC also features many cameos of familiar RE characters, such as Leon, William Birkin, and Hunk. I experienced a few bugs that required me to restart a checkpoint and lose progress, so extra polish would have been nice. The visuals looked crisp and the game seems well optimized for PC

70

Its not a bad game

Lekes | Jan. 20, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

People looking for a Resident Evil game play experience will not get it from this game. Its a straight up squad based shooter. Its feels like a Resident Evil game but doesn't play like one. Raccoon City is rendered very nicely and as you play you will be reminded of RE2 and RE3. Fighting zombies in the streets is great but most of the combat is against other military groups. Co-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Its not a bad game.

75

It's not the Resident Evil that we are used to see but it's good

Lippe1989 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

Like I said in the title, it is different from Resident Evil game. It is a squad game that we make our squad, equip it, catch things during the stages, and all the things that we know. So, of course that people like us that are fan of the franchise will be bothered to see the game so mischaracterized. We do not feel that horror atmosphere and the story that are some of the main components to give us the experience that all of them gave. Of course that the first ones was something different, something special, mainly because was primitive. Well, some people complain about the 4 and 5 but it was a necessary change to fit in this game era. Operation Racoon City is differet because wants different goals. The gameplay is good for an action game and the graphics is algo good for this generation. So, if you are looking for a action game, give a chance for this game. It is cool to play.

80

Good game

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

Resident Evil Operation Racoon City is obviously different from the previous games from the series. It seems like Resident Evil 4 and 5 but it is more focused on cooperative gameplay, even if we compare with 5. A lot of people, mainly who miss the classic games like 1, 2 and 3 will complain about the style of the game. It is an action game like Left 4 Dead but with more options and more polish. You can unlock a lot of things during the game and it is quite interesting. The graphics is in the same level of the average games that we see nowadays and the gameplay is good. The mechanics is a little bit strange if we compare to other shooters. It is not so fluid and just a little "locked". If you are looking for a good action game and like to play with friends you must buy it and have fun. If you are a Resident Evil big fan you will not like so much the style of the game but not because is bad, but because you will look for Resident Evil things that the game does not have. So, forget a little bit that is a game from the series and have fun. You will not regret.

79

A real twist for the franchise

DukePaul | Dec. 17, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Operation Raccoon City doesn't feel like a Resident Evil game, it feels like a Left 4 Dead or Killing Floor, it is game designed for cooperative gameplay because the AI is terrible.

If you have enough friends to fill a squad, you will enjoy a lot playing the fourteen missions of the game, also the replay value is good because the random elements and a lot of unlockables like weapons and gadgets that you will earn with the experience points.

Basically this game is a squad shooter where you need a lot teamwork to find items, heal each other and defeat the bosses.

If you are looking for a classic Resident Evil game, this Operation Raccoon City is not for you but if you want a fun Co-op experience buy it.