Reviews for Lost Planet 2

79

Great with a friend

gforcesa | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I think Lost Planet 2 is underrated by a lot of people, but the game is really quite good in my opinion.All the monsters that you kill are different and fun to shoot at.I recommend that you play it with a friend because it's more fun that way.If you play alone it wont be fun fighting the big bosses and you won't have fun at all.One of the best co-op games i've played in a while.

83

Deserves more praise then it gets, online is flawless

deatonis | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all deatonis's reviews »

This game should be accredited as "monster hunter in space" and it a beautiful sequel to lost colonies. Unfortunately this game never received the hype and due that it deserved. It's a mix of challenging and rewarding and is amazing when with a group of other players, especially in the co-op.

The games real appeal is not even it's story either (though it is an awesome one and very animesque) but rather it's character customization and fighting akrid, with the vital suits being a close 2nd to those two. The game's mechs or vital suits are awesome and each as it's own feel and some have their own lil secrets.

The akrid actually tie in with the story and add abit more depth as well and are also the most engaging for boss battles. With skills/abilities determining how exactly you will do those battles and also battle against the enemy factions.

This game is an amazing experience with others online and my personal suggestion is to buy the title and to love the awesomeness of this game's online experience.

70

Big gap between Single and Multi Experience

ryucchang | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all ryucchang's reviews »

Actually this game is quite good and offers a great 'multi-player' experience. The only problem I had with it is that I didn't have any friends to start off with. So I started on my own. The bots that are assigned to you aren't that smart to enjoy together. You mostly have to do everything for them which is quite annoying since the levels of this game were designed to play with humans not bots. The game could have been rather better if they just labeled it 'co-op only.' Another thing that annoyed me was that the earlier missions of the game ended so quickly. You move in, kill some monster, activate some things, end of mission. It's hard to get a grasp of the story and what you're actually doing. Overall, a great game if you have some friends to play with.

84

A co-op game no one should miss

CyberspyXD | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all CyberspyXD's reviews »

Lost planet manages to deliver a story that makes you care (At least in the final hours) and gameplay that will put a smile on your face for hours. It is best played in co-op but you can solo it if you want to. The game rewards fun and your gonna have lots of fun piloting mechs, taking out enemy's and beating bosses with your friends. Multiplayer is also good and is better then what was featured in lost planet 1 but generally is the same with some differences like character customization and loadouts.

70

Sequel made for coop

lok0812 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

If you enjoyed the original Lost Planet where you get to fight against giant huge monster chances are you will like this one where you will be doing the same thing again except on one condition, the game is made playing with another human being. The game have a 4 players coop story mode where you can team up with others to tackle the story. The AI of this game is very bad so some of the stages are close to impossible and frustrating when it is done solo with AI. The game still looks great and gorgeous and the sound effect are well done. The game also have other multiplayer modes that can increase the longevity with its unlock system. This is definitely a must get if you have a friend to play with.

85

A co-op adventure that everyone should experience.

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

Playing this game with a friend is just incredible. The environments range from snowy hills to infested forests to ruined cities to 500mph desert trains. This game is an absolute blast! There's a variety of weapons that the players can use to take on the creatures the game throws at them. And the main draw of the game are the exceptionally huge bosses the game has to offer. Some of the biggest bosses ever in video game history are in Lost Planet 2. And you're just a soldier with access to creative and intuitive weapons. With a group of people, taking on a boss the size of the empire state building is a jolt. You have access to mech-suits, giant laser rifles, huge machine guns, and bolt cannons.

If you don't have someone to play with, the game loses a lot of credibility. It's really not so fun taking on the giant bosses by yourself, or taking on different terrains by yourself. A group is best, and even just 1 friend to tag along is cool. Check this out with a friend.

87

Better with a friend and as a sequel

spycid | July 8, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Lost Planet 2 is much improved both in terms of gameplay and graphics and it's uber fun to shoot in co-op mode. It's much more improved than it's predecessor in terms of storyline too. Must play to prepare yourself for Lost Planet 3.

75

Nice little game with little flaws

kenshi_kelevra | July 7, 2013 | See all kenshi_kelevra's reviews »

Lost Planet 2 is a game designed to be played on online multiplayer, the "single player" is designed to be a 4 coop adventure and if you play alone you still have to host a server and play with bots, which are not the most useful, but still, I have been able to play the whole campaign alone in Normal difficulty, but it is not the most fun. Also, having to mash a button to activate things (which you will do a lot) is tiring and annoying after a while. If you play with a mouse be sure to crank the 2 sensitivity options that are in different menus (what?) and deactivate auto-aiming. Now the good, the combat is Monster Hunter-esque if you have played that, killing giant monsters while jumping and batclawing around the scenario is a blast, using the VS (mechs) makes you feel like a badass too and combat against human enemies can be fun sometimes too when the level is fast or different (there is a level where you advance over a train while wiping out the defending forces, plain awesome). If you buy it right now be aware that there are not a lot of people online so you will most surely play alone (the competitive multiplayer seems to have some interesting ideas but I can't find any game), but if you can get it in an offer and some friends to play with I would say it's a pretty fun time.

92

A very good game

kalil | July 5, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

At first the game did not conventional and set aside for a week. I've gone back to pick up and I started to play online along with 3 people. One word: Great game. I loved how it captures the feeling of working together from the start, it looks great movement of each character and certainly that of the enemy characters. Worst: Sometimes hard to find online matches that fit your needs, what good is that without AI players puts you about. Another shortcoming is the Liard times since the spaces are very small and sometimes a little crazy battle.

The best: the game is clear that it is online, and offers its greatest virtue in that, long guns are simply SPECTACULAR, each with unimaginable features, such as plasma cannon or all types of grenades, machine guns also have basic, shotguns .. . but the greatest potential is in the robots, are incredible, from the simplest war armor and easy to carry even larger and bulky robots seen in a video game, I liked most was one with 2 turrets on the sides where could climb companions, and all this with a fluidity AWESOME. Another aspect in favor are enemy monsters, but the soldiers are sometimes boring, there are the Akrid to leave you speechless. It's gnarly as you see all kinds of creatures approaching with some textures, movements and impressive intelligence. Having to shoot the red dots to kill makes it even more exciting.

THE BEST OF THE BEST: THE FINAL MONSTERS. just epic, they are gigantic and perfect. You get scared to death every time you see them appear out of nowhere, huge, make you feel very small in this show. Luckily you'll have to resort to weapons you get for the confrontation, especially robots. When you catch one gives the feeling of winning a battle that seemed totally lost. Teamwork. Cooordinacion and cunning.

80

Lost Planet 2 Review

milktea | July 3, 2013 | See all milktea's reviews »

This game is meant to play with co-op with other players. The whole premise and overall design of the game is based on co-op gaming. Playing the single player campaign is mediocre. The purpose of the game is to acquire experience and obtain new costumes and attachments. The game has huge bosses and many variety of monster types to battle. The environment in the game departs from the original, but provides an interesting unique approach to the series.

Overall, find yourself playing with co-op with other players and enjoy the ride.

90

Great game.

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

You want action? We got it. You want aliens? We got that too. You want loads of fun and challenging gameplay? Heck yeah we got that! Welcome to Lost Planet 2, similar to the original, but still different enough to be it's own game. Shoot, run, gun, and have fun in a little mech that allows you to be a brute force to be reckoned with. It's not just about survival, it's about obliterating the enemy by any means necessary. Suit up, strap in, check your weapons and get ready for some seriously intense action. THIS. IS. LOST PLA-NET!!!!!

82

Co-op fun

puppymang | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all puppymang's reviews »

First of all I have to say I probably enjoyed this game more than I should have but the coop was fairly addicting to me and I strongly feel like it was underrated. Lost planet 2 takes a different path from LP1 and changes completely from single player to coop play which is a neat idea but I have to say it was a bit poorly executed. The biggest cons of this game are that controls are actually worse than LP1, the mechs aren't as cool, the story isn't as interesting. On the contrary the game looks much better than the first and the multiplayer modes are more varied than along with more weapons and more customization options including silly emotions and skins for your character. Even though the story and length of the game are lacking the actual coop game play in this game is pretty well done, especially in higher difficulties. You really need to be working together with other players to get through. Another thing I also liked is that it has a few references from the first game which can be cool and then there is the mech combination which is probably the coolest thing in this game, its like the robots from power rangers. If you have friends that are willing to get this game you should definitely get it together and enjoy jolly co-operation but don't count on playing the multiplayer too much because at this point it's probably dead so you've been warned.

70

Great co-op

Lekes | Jan. 20, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

It's hard to recommend this game if you have no friends. However, if you're able to jump online with a few shooter-competent friends, LP2 can be loads of fun. True, the story is impossible to follow and the game does suffer from all the design flaws the critics gripe about, but what it does right, it does very right. The environments are beautiful, the level design is as good or better than anything else out there, and the difficulty curve is such that unless you and your buddies come up with a plan, work together, and take your time working through the levels, this game will be impossible. Personally, I like it when a game forces you to be smart about what your doing which LP2 does well.

80

A good TPS

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Lost Planet 2 is a new chapter in this franchise, and is also a very good third person shooter. It has a "drop in, drop out" feature where you can play both single or cooperative mode anytime. The graphic is really good, expecially for giant bosses you will encounter during the main campaign. The only bad thing about the game is the single-player, very boring, so play with a friend or two and you will enjoy the title for sure, even if you haven't played the first Lost Planet.

78

Lost Planet 2 - review

carlyle | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

In Lost Planet 2 there is not really a main character and there are no "bad" to deal with, but only a series of completely anonymous people belonging to various factions in the field. Being basically a third person shooter, most of the time we fight using various weapons and the Vital Suit (or VS): are all the effects of metallic exoskeletons with heavy weaponry, but rather slow in basic movements able to make great strides thanks to the reactors supplied. The management of VS and weapons supplied is the same as seen in the first episode, and in fact did not require major changes as it is well made: each exoskeleton can be fitted with one or two weapons, and our character can disassemble and reassemble in will. Given the propensity native to the multiplayer, it is clear that Lost Planet 2 is well suited to be played with friends, or rather gives by far the best when you can organize a group of four close-knit and fairly experts who can deal with any threat with a minimum of coordination. Also because the IA of Lost Planet 2 can not be taken as an example of excellence, both as regards our comrades "virtual", and especially with regard to the enemies.

80

Different from the previous but also good

Lippe1989 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

My ears became heat because the number of people who complained about this game. But not because it is bad or something like that. But because is very different if the compare with the previous Lost Planet game. Sometimes seems that we are playing another game because the proposal is simple different. Well, the first one has a more solid story and will play alone. It something that can become boring depends on the person who plays it. Lost Planet 2 focuses on squad. It is a game with more action that gives you a good oportunity to play with your friends. For this proposal it is very good, because the gameplay is good and you will have a lot of challenges. A lot of, for real. Like the previous you will need to fight with giant creatures, but this time is good to have someone helping you. If you are looking for an action game to play with someone I recommend strongly.

80

Underrated game

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

One thing we can agree for sure: Lost Planet 2 is not as the same as the previous title. The game changed, improving the gameplay, changing a lot the style but is still a good game. Another difference is the possibility to play with our friends and it is very very cool. Through the story you will changing the sides and playing with different races different from the previous game. Lost Planet 2 is much more intense and require much more from the player than the first one. Much more action, really much more. Sometimes is insane and very difficult. One thing didn't change and it is the difficult to beat some bosses. They are giant and the life doesn't drop. But it is very funny and also a challenge. If you can play with friends I can say that is great! The game can become better as when we play Boderlands with someone. If you played the previous game, forget it a little. Play this game with a clean head. Don't force yourself to compare with it. I bet that you have a better experience. I recommend this game for anyone who look for action and co-op.

80

Lost Planet 2 is a very underrated game.

fable2 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

I Loved this game , and not everything amazes me anymore.I just loved the gameplay and level design, great soundtrack and good sound effects. Capcom can still deliver a great game, those people who say it's broken ,well.. the controls are a little strange, but you can tweak the around easy and play this game on a keyboard without any problems. Also put your mouse acceleration up to 32 and you'll be fine.

The story maybe not the most original but what is new and original in a world like this. Every 3rd person shooter is either a clone of Gears of War ,or the FPS of Call of Duty. Well before that there was Max Payne and Doom.So everything is a copy of a copy.

I like this game because it looks and sounds and plays extremely well. Retro-Sci fi all the way.The bosses will take up your entire screen.I felt i was playing an "Contra" game but in 3d with those giant bosses in the middle of the level and they keep getting bigger, the world on lost planet is pure awesomeness, the weapons and characters are really cool. I recommend this game!

80

Fun in multiplayer, boring singleplayer

panz3r88 | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Lost Planet 2 is a good game that takes all the elements of the first title of the series and create an action that is fun, especially if you play in coop with some friends. The main characteristics of the first Lost Planet are still present: there are still huge monsters that are amazing and fun to fight and there is a good variety of situations. The possibility to use various mech increase the fun in the game and allow you to use powerfull weapons in the game. If you play Lost Planet 2 in singleplayer you will find it quite boring and repetitive compared to the first title.

80

A bit repetitive but fun with friends

DukePaul | Dec. 17, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

The graphics in this game are awesome, the huge boss battles will impress you, the creatures are gigantic and they are a real threat, if your PC can run the maximum specs for this game you will enjoy it a lot.

The bad thing about this game, it becomes repetitive, It is non-stop action shooting all the time and if you are playing alone the experience is very boring, It feels like an arcade game but without depth and the AI is very bad, however if you play this game with friends, the experience is better and you will have fun sessions if you do teamwork.

If you like to unlock a lot weapons and mechs and you like customize your character with them, I think you will have fun with this game but play it in coop.