Reviews for Dark Void Zero

85

8-bit vintage game

yuppy | June 14, 2014 | See all yuppy's reviews »

You must really but really pleay in this one of amazing 8-bit game. It's old school game with really nice graphics - you don't need to powerfull graphics, pc to play in amazing game.

79

a humble review

Ganbito | May 29, 2014 | See all Ganbito's reviews »

My review in numbers so far (only played first level): Music: 7/10 Controls: 9/10 Difficulty: 6/10 Retrofactor: 10/10

This game feels like playing Megaman or Metroid again, as I did as a child on the NES... This game is NOT that clunky and hard as everyone else here seems to think... The other gamers probably have not played the NES games back in the 80s... The controls are awesome, sure it takes like 30 seconds to get the hang of the jetpack but then it becomes 2nd nature.

70

Nostalgiac 8-bit action-platformer

FaPaThY | May 28, 2014 | See all FaPaThY's reviews »

Nice throwback to the NES-era of balls-hard action games. It plays, looks and sounds great, especially the music.

It controls pretty well if you have a good controller with a good D-pad, but good luck if you don't. If you only have a 360 controller, you'll probably get pretty frustrated on Hard. In this game, diagonals on the pad make you stop and aim your gun diagonally and trying to be accurate, precise and fast with a 360 D-pad when there's 5 things shooting at you from all directions is pretty difficult. I can't count the times where I was trying to jump over a projectile, only to stand there like an idiot with my gun in the air.

As advertised, it's only 3 levels and they're all pretty quick, not including all the dying you'll do on Hard. You can probably beat each level in 15-25min on Easy or Medium. The levels aren't small, but they aren't particularly big either. It's mostly a lot of backtracking to a central area to unlock a door after grabbing a keycard in side wing, etc. Pretty basic stuff for a game like this. Most of the length and replayability will come from achievements, although some seem like they're just a grind for grinding's sake.(Ie. 'Kill 100 enemies in a row with X weapon', which requires you to run back and forth between screens to respawn enemies.)

It isn't mentioned here, but this game also has SecuROM DRM. I think it has a 20 activation limit or something, up from the original 5, so it shouldn't be a huge problem for most people, but it's still pretty stupid. If you uninstall, remember to /revoke the key first so you don't lose activations, which I don't know why isn't explained anywhere and only found out from a post in the forums by a regular user.

Overall, not a bad game if you get it on sale, especially if there are Playfire rewards for it also.

83

A Good retro platformer

juanrapo | May 28, 2014 | See all juanrapo's reviews »

Dark Void Zero is a good platformer who every retro gamer must have, it like the old metroids. The only change on the difficult is the vit of the monster, it don´t affect the gameplay, so it can be enjoyed equally for new and old gamers. The controls are fine and i didn´t see the need of a gamepad. It have some hard parts but you not need to be a genius to resolve it, you won´t get stuck for the level too long. Its recommended for me, it´s very cheap so it worth every cent you pay for it.

97

rocket packs and rocket launchers

damienjameswebb | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT! this is a great little platformer that feels like the metroid games mixed with a little jetpack action for good measure. the difficulty is nice and high and can really make it a challenging play. this is truly platformer gold.

its a throwback to the 8-bit era, and it does it very well, you wouldn't even know that this was actually made recently. the sound track is great and soo catchy. and even the game play is nice as it helps you along if you get lost or stuck in a certain area.

very good game and worth a play

75

For those who MUST play a 2D platformer

videopower77 | June 20, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

This 8-bit demake is funnily enough, superior to it's higher-fidelity counterpart. The controls are tight, the challenge is high, and it retains that old school feel perfectly. However, it is a short little game and highly recommended only for those who want more of these sort of games. Otherwise, there isn't much to recommend about it.

81

fun retro

tassadarforaiur | April 26, 2013 | See all tassadarforaiur's reviews »

fun throwback game, really reminds me of the good old nes days, in that I can't even beat level one when playing casually. difficult but rewarding. If you have extra cash and are feeling slightly burned out from AAA shooters, or are using a computer with lower-end specs, this game is worth considering.

75

Callback to games of yesteryear

Scorpy | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Dark Void Zero is first and foremost a love letter to retro games. It's short, sweet, and pretty concise for its low price point. The music is fantastic, the controls are tight, the graphics suitably retro. The only problem is the length. However, for the asking price, you cannot really complain about that.

76

A retro platformer

DukePaul | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Dark Void Zero is a nice twist for the franchise and return to his origins, this game combines retro graphics, 8-bit music with a gameplay based in exploration and platforms like the old 2D Metroids also some levels can be very hard, this is game is designed for old school players but don't worry because you will find hints of what to do if you are stuck.

The controls are good but I think you will play better if you have a gamepad.

For this cheap price this game deserves a try if you like new games with retro look.