Reviews for LEGO Lord of the Rings (NA)

91

Easily the best Lego game

cocoawolf29 | July 25, 2014 | See all cocoawolf29's reviews »

I've played most of the other LEGO games, and this one is easily the best. It has split screen, a very important part of two player mode to make the game less frustrating. When not playing a level, one can explore the entire world seen in the Lord of the Rings movies, though the map is of course not to scale. There are hundreds of things to collect and a lot of great characters to buy. There are great weapons and toys to make, my favorite being the disco phial. One of the greatest aspects of this LEGO game is that, unlike other lego games where the characters speak in almost Sims like language, this one actually uses noises and lines from the movies. The levels are great, though sometimes there will be irritating parts where it is difficult to see what should be done. However, overall, it is a very fun experience.

86

A Pleasant Surprise

Pwnclub | April 15, 2014 | See all Pwnclub's reviews »

I've played quite a few LEGO games over the past few years. These include LEGO Indiana Jones, Star Wars: The Complete Saga, and more. I've really enjoyed playing them, and I was excited when the announcement for Lord of the Rings. I happen to be a huge fan of LOTR! And, in my opinion, this game delivered.

It was fun, the main campaign took me about 8 hours to complete, and it was filled with small bits of humour in between. Gameplay was solid, and it felt awesome using LEGO versions of my favorite LOTR characters. If you're a fan of Lord of the Rings and LEGO in general, I highly recommend this title!

94

Must have for any LOTR fan

cup99 | April 15, 2014 | See all cup99's reviews »

Although it is similar too many of the other Lego games this one seems unique.

It follows all the fellowship, and you get to play every last event that happened in the movies. The graphics are a great mix of Lego blocks and 3-D visuals. This game features voice acting from lines taken straight from the movies.

Of course it is a funny, fun, and light mood game so I recommend it for all ages.

100

Absolutely Amazing!!!

Percyro | Jan. 8, 2014 | See all Percyro's reviews »

This game is phenomenal. Period. Yes it is LEGO, but that doesn't' detract from the gameplay at all. I've played older LEGO games, and at the time those were amazing, but this just blows that game out of the water! You get the whole world of Middle-Earth to explore and the story is like 12 hours if you search some extra stuff, but mainly focus on the story. It sticks pretty close to the movies, just LEGO style. The graphics also surprised me for a LEGO game. I don't think I can name any flaws about this game, if you like LEGO games or are a fan of the Lord of the Rings, I highly recommend this game.

93

Incredible LEGO Adventure

Matthew_Lumie | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

As a kid I always wondered if Legos & Lord of the Rings would ever collaborate, now they have. This is a cute Lego game that places you in the Lord of the Rings Movies with naturally everything and everyone being made of LEGO pieces. It has a very solid campaign, and it's even more fun if you play it with a friend. This game felt rather like playing Zelda or a good adventure game like that, but with all the cool things you can do in other Traveller's Tales games. Great game, worth it especially if it's on sale!

86

Interesting LEGO game

rgasher | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all rgasher's reviews »

If you are a fan of lego or LOTR you will enjoy this game. I really enjoyed playing the campaign through and if you have a buddy replaying it with different characters can also be fun. Beyond the story missions I didn't find much else to do but exploring the land can be fun on its own.

91

Impressive and fun!

Turambar29 | July 2, 2013 | See all Turambar29's reviews »

If you've played a LEGO game, you know the drill; collect the special bricks and items to unlock special features while playing through a farcical version of the source material. In this case, the assets of the LoTR movies is on hand; the incredible music, voice-work, and visual design (adapted for the LEGO aesthetic) are all present, upping the quality significantly. This does produce some dissonance, as result of the combination of serious elements and mockery. However, the game remains light-hearted and fun, with lots of replayability as you solve the quests and unlock new items and characters. My kids love it!

93

An excellent addition to the LEGO realm of games

Laxaem | July 2, 2013 | See all Laxaem's reviews »

LEGO The Lord of the Rings is a fantastic addition to the lego franchise and anyone who loves the Lord of The Rings trilogy should seriously consider this game. This is a free roam game where to go to a mission you have to travel to the place in middle earth where it actually happened. For example, to get to throw the ring into Mount Doom you have to travel to Mount Doom. A new edition to the franchise is instead of the usual mumbling of the characters they take voice clips from the movies and you will forget the characters are lego figures and think you're playing through the journey to destroy the ring to rule them all. The story takes about 5 hours to finish, which is a little quick but including the collectables, 10 mini kits, one blacksmith recipe, and three treasures a mission, plus the red bricks for quests giving you special abilities will add tons of hours onto it. There's not to much wrong with this game except for the few glitches that happened to me in the middle of missions where I couldn't get out of a space and made me restart the mission. I also wish there were checkpoints, since in some missions mini kits spawn in places where if you miss it there's no going back. In all LEGO Lord of the Rings is a spectacular game and well worth the price.

100

Epic!!

mathcat | June 10, 2013 | See all mathcat's reviews »

Great game. I love this game. Funny and fun. Best with a friend or loved one.

80

Perfect for fans of fantasy, lego, movies or just fun games

literalage | May 28, 2013 | See all literalage's reviews »

One does simply walk into Mordor, unless you own LEGO LOTR! Buy now and experience one of the greatest fantasy worlds, as it has never been presented before. Definitely the best Lego game available, jam packed with stuff to do and the ability to explore it with a friend! Simple yet fun game play, great design, an open world of middle earth, filled with levels, secrets at every turn and recreations of the LOTR movie experience with a lego twist. Here is hoping for the Hobbit version in 3 years!

90

You shall not pass on this delightful game

Lunk | Feb. 12, 2013 | See all Lunk's reviews »

I hope you'll pardon the cheesy title, but (a) I couldn't resist and (b) it's advice you really should take.

Lego LOTR is a mostly faithful retelling of the Lord of the Rings story (the movie version, anyway) with some minor departures for the sake of brevity, comedy, and gameplay. This was my first experience with a Lego game and aside from the fact that the story was always amusing and at times downright hilarious, I was shocked at how well some of the more epic moments and large battles in the story translated to the more cartoony Lego medium. The sound is also excellent, with almost all of the voice acting and music taken directly from the movies.

The game is not without its flaws. It's incredibly easy, with no real consequences for the rare deaths you do suffer, and even the puzzles tend to spell out pretty explicitly exactly what you need to do before you've even started on them. Combat very rarely means anything more than "mash X until everything is dead," and on the few occasions when it does deviate from that it does so in a very repetitive way, requiring you to perform the same action 3 or 4 times to defeat a boss and then recycling that same mechanic with different props on subsequent bosses. However, these flaws all fell into areas that weren't critical to what I was looking for in the game and were mild enough that they didn't significantly detract from the experience, and I suspect others will feel the same.

The game lasted me about 10 hours from start to finishing the story (in other words, about as long as the movies), but I should note that my final completion percentage according to the game was only about 30%. There's a metric ton of unlockables, crafted items, and secrets to explore if you're so inclined. That content focuses more on the pedestrian gameplay than the excellent story though, and most of the collectibles are hidden in such a way that rewards not thorough exploration of a level, but replaying that level much later after you've acquired new characters with necessary abilities. That didn't really appeal to me, but if you find yourself loving the game and desperate for more, you can squeeze a ton of gameplay out of it.

This review has gotten a little long-winded, so allow me to summarize: if you like Lord of the Rings and laughter, I can't imagine how you'd have anything other than a great time with Lego LOTR. Highly recommended!

80

A match made in heaven

Scorpy | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

LEGO and Lord of the Rings are two things that just go so well together. LEGO's tongue-in-cheek humor and LOTR's trademark lore are a fantastic combination.

This is by far the best LEGO game I've played to date, and also the best port I've played. There are many graphic options and it even supports Steam achivements and controllers.

Pick this up if you're a fan of either series, you won't be disappointed!

85

Play it with a friend!

Coolicy | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

If you're a LEGO game fan, you'll like this. If you're a fan of the LOTR movies, you'll LOVE this. Like all of Lego's previous games, this is a game that is designed for coop. I love this part the most as the dialogues are taken from the movies, so Gimli and Gandalf sound identical to their awesome movie-counterparts.

This game has a surprisingly deep unlock system, it takes a while to unlock every characters, and you'll need to be smart about which character to use to access all the secrets. This was my 2nd LEGO game played, and I'm surprised at how much I like this game. As a 25 year old male, I was concerned that this game would be too kiddy-focused for my taste. I came out pleasantly surprised.

Sure, being a huge LOTR fanatic helped this game's case. It was awesome to relive my LOTR nostalgia through a cute, funny and still epic journey.

The most important point to enjoy this game, however, is to play it with a friend. It adds much, much more enjoyment to the game.