Reviews for Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken

70

Really fun game, with a lot of kinks!

toshexy | May 9, 2014 | See all toshexy's reviews »

This game is a real love-hate one.

I love the art style, and how feathers fly off of the enemies you shoot. PLUCK EM ALIVE! :D

I like the puzzle elements and the co-op ability.

What I don't like about it is the fact that it didn't try to do better action. Take metal slug for example - you probably think that kind of action platformer style is perfect - and I do too. This game is 10 levels below that. You can only shoot left and right and duck which most the time does not difference. You don't see the gun trajectories and most the time if you just allow something to shoot at you you are hit.

But this game is primarily intended to be a puzzle platformer, not an action platformer. Also it is very well thought out in term of characters and it is very funny too.

I give it a 70/100 even though some may grade it much higher or much lower, i think this is the highest and most realistic grade for this game. It is definitely a ton of fun when played with friends, otherwise it's very much decent, but in any case well worth the price. You should definitely give it a shot.

90

I feel like chicken tonight.

DeViLzzz | April 2, 2014 | See all DeViLzzz's reviews »

Definitely something different to play. The art direction is perfect. Voice acting and sounds for this game .. perfect. I really don't think I can do this game justice with the review I will give. Cut scenes make you smile, laugh and even tug at your heart strings. A perfect combination of puzzle and 2D shooting. The mechanic of hiding in the shadows when you want to is extremely cool/well done. The flying portions of the game are exhilarating and yet easy to control unlike other games out there. Like Shav mentioned in his review it does feel like you are playing a chicken version of Rambo. Another cool mechanic in the game I have seen is taking control of the penguin guards with some sort of chemical. Very cool but I can say that getting control of them initially is a little annoying so I guess if someone wants me to knock points off this game I will knock 10 off for the annoying controls for this part of the game.

I wanted to give this 100 but I guess for some parts of the game controls can be an issue.

I definitely would recommend this to any person interested in playing a really good 2D action/puzzle game.

60

Awesome OST but broken online.

crusader8463 | July 3, 2013 | See all crusader8463's reviews »

Rating: 60% Time to Completion: 3 Hours Date Completed: January 4th, 2013

Thoughts: I really want to give this game a great score for the amount of fun a friend and I had playing this game coop, but the online is just too broken to do so. No matter who hosted the game the non host player lagged so bad that in certain parts of the game I had to have the host literally carry my guy over jumps because I just couldn't make it and I was all but useless in combat beyond spraying and praying my gun. Now ordinarily this would have ruined the game, but somehow the constant lag made the game a ton of fun and we couldn't stop laughing as my friend constantly ran into laser beams because my guy lagged off the pressure plate that was deactivating them or I ran into sentry turrets because my guy would lag past the safe zone into firing range. There were times I literally thought I was going to pass out from laughing because we were having so much fun.

The game itself however was pretty simplistic as far as gameplay goes, and if you don't have someone to coop with you on this game I wouldn't recommend playing the single player. The game shines in coop, but I found myself getting extremely bored with it while I was playing alone. The game consists of simply running around a very simple 2D world as you hunt for keycards to open doors while fighting extremely easy and simple enemies that go down without much of a fight. The most complex the games combat gets is when they introduce guys with a shield that require you to run behind them to kill them as they charge forward.

While playing online you get the choice of picking a character to play as, but the only real difference with them is the weapons they carry and the look of the character. In single player however you play as one guy who gains access to different weapons that you can cycle through to get different play styles through the story. The big difference between online and single player is that single player does have a bit of a story that it shows with little animated cut scenes ever few levels that progress the story. As well there are these short 2D flying sections where you jet pack around fighting guys. Sadly it's not all that fun and is really just there to break up the corridor crawl the rest of the game is. The last big difference is that certain parts of the map have more of a puzzles aspect to them then they do in multiplayer. When online it's more of a platformer kind of puzzle solving to get to the end of a level, but in single player you have access to a mind control bug that you must use to throw at enemies and take control oft hem to hunt down switches to open doors for your guy to get through.

If you find yourself really loving the game I could see trying to replay the game online with one of the weaker guys for more difficulty could be a thing you try, but that's not a thing for me personally. As for the single player, I didn't really see much reason to play it more than once unless you are the type who wants to hunt down a hidden collectible in each map.

While I really liked the art design and animation of the characters -and thought the idea of fighting what are clearly Nazi themed birds entertaining- the games story itself is about as deep as an original Mario game where in the only context for why you are there is basically just to save the "princess". In this case a nurse. The story is bookended with two short little animations that set up the plot and conclusion but during the game itself it's just chat bubbles with Charley Brown style gibberish for voice with the only real voice acting being in the above mentioned cut scenes.

Despite all the flaws I had a ton of fun playing this game online with friend. Even if that fun only lasted a little over an hour and a half I had a blast the entire time. While I would give this game a personal Great rating for the fun I had with it, I just can't justify giving it anything higher then a Good because of the simple gameplay and technical problems. If you can get a friend that can appreciate the mayhem that comes from one guy being basically a bumbling fool that needs to literally be carried on the other guys shoulders over the large majority of the game, then I think you can have a ton of fun. If you can only play this single player I would probably pass unless you can find it on the cheap.

90

Chicken version of Rambo

Liverpool1971 | June 19, 2013 | See all Liverpool1971's reviews »

I have bought this game on gmg sale some time ago. knowing absolutely nothing about it before the purchase. And guess what? It was totally worth the risk. Rocketbirds took me back to the old platform days. Here you have challenging gameplay, astonishing art style and the best of the best… soundtrack that you will listen to repeatedly (IT’S AMAZING!). There are so many great reasons to own this game (multiplayer mode included). You definitely won’t regret buying it. I highly recommend it!

90

Very Cool Game!

Plasros | June 10, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Having obtained this game on Steam recently, knowing absolutely nothing about it prior to purchase, I've already gotten 10 times my money's worth. Rocketbirds takes me back to the old platform days with challenging gameplay, great art style and, as most have already stated, a kickass soundtrack. There are so many great reasons to own this game. Let me say that it was astonishing and an enjoyment to play Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken since it is very rewarding and challenging. With a cartoon-styled graphic and a indie rock playlist it can entertain the casual gamers. You should definitely check it out.

85

Shank made of poultry

Shav | May 31, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Oh, how I love this game! Bought it yesterday and had a blast playing it.

Rocketbirds is a platformer mixed with shooter - like Shank, however it is set in different theme. You are playing as a hard-boiled chicken (yes, the egg was actually put in boiling water), and you have to fight your way through enemies, while going for your goal - getting rid of an evil penguin.

Btw - this game looks AMAZING! I never expected that a 2D platformer could look that good. Also, it is very cinematic, sometimes i felt like playing a chickenish version of Rambo. ;)

Definitely a well spent 3$! I highly recommend this game to all fans of action platformers with humorous plot.

77

Short, but fun

MarkDeejay | March 16, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

A short (around 3 hours long) action platformer starring a chicken. What's not to love ? There are 15 missions, and three of these missions will have you flying around with a jetpack (don't worry, you'll still be shooting). There are a few puzzles as well, but thankfully that's kept to a minimum. The game itself has the perfect length; any longer and it would've overstayed its welcome. The graphics look sharp and detailed; the blood splatters on the wall look quite amazing for example. You really can't complain about the art direction here. The gunshots and other sounds are pretty good and the little voice acting there is is average, but passable. All in all an enjoyable game.

73

Good shooter with hilarious characters

panz3r88 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a good old style 2D shooter with also some puzzle. Hardboiled is a strange bird similar to Rambo and it's only the protagonist of a story with many crazy characters. In each level you must fight the enemies that try to kill you and sometimes solve some enviromental puzzles that introduce a good variety in the game. You can play the adventure in singleplayer or in coop with a friend. Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a fun shooter and you can also get it for a low price

71

Beautiful 2D platform, good soundtrack but very short Campaign.

fable2 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a beautiful 2D platform with an amazing soundtrack. Unfortunately it's very short (2-3 hours a bit more if you go for the platinum)), so when you finish it, you'll wish there were more levels to play.

The game puts you in the shoes of the bada*s Hardboiled Chicken (called that because it's egg was boiled before it was born). You join a Rebellion against the bad penguins who want to destroy the world. Basically you have to solve puzzles to progress in the game with the occasionally gunfight. I say occasionally because even though there are many enemies to kills they don't really pose a treat. There are also three levels with jetpack action that are really cool and breaks the pace of the game a little.

There is also a local co-op option for the game, which puts you in the shoes of two small birds that have to rescue the general's daughter. You basically play trough the same areas of the single player game, but with some co-op puzzles to solve.

94

Goooood Game!

kalil | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

At first is rare but is very good game with a great soundtrack and a well-implemented learning curve. For all that we like 2D games Flash type Shank, Mark of Ninja, Limbo etc, you will like this also. I'm surprised how little publicity has been given and the few notes that you are putting deserves more recognition.

80

A weird but fun platformer

DukePaul | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

This game is a blast of concepts, I never saw a game with this humour and dark setting, sometimes is hilarious but other moments are really cruel, you can't imagine that a penguin mafia and our main protagonist Hardboiled Chickend can be so bloody and sadistic.

The action on this side scroller game is very high and the controls respond very good for this, the graphics are amazing even sometimes they look very realistic and you can enjoy the great Co-op mode with a friend

The price now is very cheap and I recommend to buy it if you want a funny challenge.

79

Reminds me of the flash game days

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

Classic feeling side scroller with enough new additions to keep it from feeling like it should have been released 15 years ago. Co-op is a blast and this is one of the few PC games that allows local co op so you can play with friends if you are like me and have a few controllers attached to your PC

71

Finally on PC

danteveli | Nov. 24, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is interesting title that was released on PS3 some time ago. it is a side scrolling platforming action game based on browser title Rocketbirds. It tells the story of penguins bloody regime and one hardboiled chicken trying to stop it. Game has crazy characters with funny story and really good presentation. Graphics looks really nice with that cartoony style to the characters Its really cool tilte for people wanting some side-scrolling without that difficult stuff that is popular ever since Super Meat Boy was released. This one is nice and easy. Worth checking out.