Reviews for ArcaniA: Gothic 4

55

Ruined.

arkantos | May 1, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

Not one of the best Gothic series episode, i was expecting an awesome game like the previous but it turned out to be a "Linear mediocre" you can't even re-visit past locations just because the way get locked most of time, this game is not worth full price but if you are a fan, and have a bit of time free is nice to to be played

70

Disappointing if you expect a proper Gothic game

Johnnsen | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all Johnnsen's reviews »

The graphics are really nice, I give it that. But sadly the aspects that made Gothic great have been scaled down: Open world and discovery. The levels are narrow and restricted, not a vast open world to travel like in the others. There is not much deciding going on, the choices are limited and it feels pretty linear. I recommend you check out Two Worlds 2 here on Greenmangaming instead. It delivers the actual Gothic feeling better than this game.

86

Game that does not disapoint in most aspects

ShinedBrass | Aug. 16, 2011 | See all ShinedBrass's reviews »

Thoroughly enjoyable RPG with beautiful graphics, the game draws you into the fantasy world that the developers envisiged, in saying that there are a few little niggles, the cut scenes don't always work and the crafting ability feels underutilized but if your looking for a thoroughly enjoyable story line with an amazing environment and some RPG elements with some hack 'n slash then this ones for you, my only warning is that the ending is not what you'd expect and is bound to disapoint.

66

not as good as the previous games

fable2 | Aug. 6, 2011 | See all fable2's reviews »

First off, this game is totally to linear. There may be some choices in quests but in the end the outcome felt the same to me. Also the game is not a free form as the old ones, each area is limited and you must "pass" it to go to the next. The storyline is also uninspired. I really enjoyed the previous games ability to be totally different each time you played.

The graphical effects are quite good but gothic was never about the graphics, it was about the story and role playing. Also the new leveling system is not bad, it is very understandable and costs no money like before. But the challenge of training was part of the fun from last time, and that no longer exists.

I recommend just rebooting the old games instead of trying this one. Or go get something really good like Arcanum.

While I did try to give this game a chance it was just not possible. If I wanted to play a game without a storyline and that was pretty I would just play Fable.

70

Fantastic gothic game that finally works out of the box

SaadKhawaja | Aug. 3, 2011 | See all SaadKhawaja's reviews »

I have tried all Gothic games and honestly, I couldn't stand the bugs. This game, however, is absolutely wonderful and works straight out of the box. Graphics are also very good and some great sound work. I couldn't stand Gothic games but on this one I am quite far in and plan to finish it. Also no bugs for crying out loud. Gothic games always had game breaking bugs but this one doesnt. I give it a solid 7/10

65

Go for Gothic 3

Arthan | June 21, 2011 | See all Arthan's reviews »

Here we have a new Gothic. It's not as good as the previous one but it can be played. Go for it only if you have played at least Gothic 3 and The Witcher, if you have finished these 2 games and you liked them, then you will enjoy Arcania and it has tons of gameplay hours for just 25€ or so if you buy it in a good deal.

75

Different

peldik | May 24, 2011 | See all peldik's reviews »

It's different from other Gothic games, but it's still a nice game. The fighting system is good, the story is interesting and there's a lot to explore. Also the graphics are beautiful. Still the previous Gothic games from the original developer were better, which had a more thrilling story and better RPG elements.

85

It's not a typical role playing game! And that's fine.

moomphas | April 11, 2011 | See all moomphas's reviews »

The reason I write this short review is that I cannot agree with people comparing this game to a "brick". Their disappointment surely results from their expectations. They wanted another instalment of Gothic. But it's not a RPG anymore. It's an action adventure game with a touch of RPG elements. Don't launch this game until you agree with this fact. Once you agree to that then I'm happy to announce that a breath-taking adventure awaits. The atmospehere, gameplay, graphics, dialogues and the length of the game are definitely pros of Arcania. Unluckily it's a bit too easy and doesn't give you much freedom. And some publishers (yes, for example you GMG :)) don't allow the buyer to choose the language they want to play in (btw english voiceover in this game is poor). To sum it up - it's really worth buying, but only when you want an action adventure game, not a RPG.

46

Lots of potential...hoping for an extensive patch.

wahidasoldier | April 5, 2011 | See all wahidasoldier's reviews »

As a lover of the Gothic series (with the possible exception of the rather buggy Forsaken Gods), I was very disappointed with this game. The storyline was OK but linear, side quests were mostly kill/find x number of y. There were some difficult battles but a large use of magic ended most fights before the enemy even got near me, magic was too overpowered and once again, missile weapons were way underpowered.

The thing I hated most was the teleport system. You couldn't go back to a region via teleport, but you could spend several minutes running there. A linked teleport system would have raised my interest level.

I had been looking forward to this for several months but was sorely dissapointed with the final product. In my opinion, the game was delivered too buggy and graphics intensive.