Reviews for Doom 3 BFG Edition Pre

84

Doom 3 plus stuff

doubttom | Dec. 29, 2013 | See all doubttom's reviews »

Doom 3 was the type of game some people rave about and others hate. I had a good time with it. I liked the dark and the gun designs. There were some cheap scares but the Co op was made cool by each player getting their own health and ammo. We'd take turns holding the flashlight until those moments where things got real and two shotguns were called for. Bfg adds expansions and older games.

94

The ultimate Doom experience

Matthew_Lumie | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

If you've played the doom games in the past, but haven't given Doom 3 or at least it's expansion a try, get this! It is a lot more enjoyable too, now that the flashlight is integrated into your weapon. The gameplay is pretty good, albeit not the best, however it gets more interesting in RoE. You now posses the Artifact: a heart like device that has the power to stop time, go beserk, or become invulnerable, largely depending upon the situation. The Grabber gun is like the Gravity gun in Half-Life2, but a bit more palpable of a tool, both of those sound boring to you? Well lucky for you there is the Super Shotgun returning from Doom 2, with all it's might. The graphics are also given a nice revamp, truly beautiful now!

85

Heart Attack : ON

simodeso | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

Doom 3.. the first horror game of my childhood. I remember how many times I jump scared till the end. If you haven't played Doom 3 Do IT! It's awesome a TRUE SURVIVAL because you won't have a lot of ammo and you will use your fist a lot. Doom 3 is fantastic and the BFG Editions adds "The lost Mission" so even if you have played it you can buy it for re-playing a fantastic game+ a new mission.

65

The base game with new missions..

Hunork | July 29, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

I'm somewhat surprised Bethesda and id Software chose to market this release as DOOM 3, since the inclusion of the original two titles makes it far more akin to a full-on DOOM collection and, in my opinion, would have made it a lot more marketable. Nevertheless, this compilation of titles and additional content works most adequately in celebrating three classic shooters ... provided you're not a PC gamer, that is. The star of the show is, by virtue of name, DOOM 3. You've got at least ten hours of gameplay from the solo campaign, alongside a fully functioning online multiplayer mode, and while it's clear that the game has aged considerably since 2004, I still find it not only gratifying in its combat, but still highly effective as a scary horror game. Say what you will about "cheap" jump scares, but DOOM 3 had it mastered, and it can still make a player jump when it wants to.

90

Great DOOM Bundle to pick up

ADUAN | July 23, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

Having never played DOOM back in its prime, I picked this up, and well, it does live to being known as one of the best shooters of all time. The original DOOM and DOOM 2 plays quite well, having weapons and powerups which make the game continuously fun and challenging. Meanwhile, Doom 3 and its expansions get a update that manages to address some the problems with the original (ie: the flashlight being a separate weapon in the original).

Overall, I had lots of fun playing this, pick it up if you want to relive some old-school memories, and even newcomers can enjoy this.

86

One of best games

iamkyo90 | July 19, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

Hd If you want to relive one of the best games in the history of PC, Doom 3, with achievements, new missions, the truth is your choice. Includes games Doom 1 and 2, also with achievements. They say there modds very good for doom 3 original, but if you like what I mentioned, do not hesitate!

95

NOSTALGIA!

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | See all xAFBx's reviews »

It's DOOM. it's really fun, gory, kinda scary at times, and a classic. This comes with all the DOOM games and expansions so it was definitely worth it. Works surprisingly well with a controller too, for when you're lazy and want to lie in bed in the dark slaying demons.

Definitely would recommend this.

I'd recommend playing it in the dark with headphones, late at night. It's the best experience (if you like getting creeped out)

91

Everything DOOM!

grandmaster_b | June 28, 2013 | See all grandmaster_b's reviews »

Tthis is a bundle of all Doom games and official expansions!

All of this is a lot of fun! Doom 1 and 2 are some of the best retro shooters, maybe the best, I found it as addicting as 20 years ago, these games will be epic for eternity! The gameplay is just great and will ever be!

Doom 3 is also very good, but does not stand out so much these days, its -just- a good horror shooter, however, the expansion and the "Lost Missions" included here is really worth your time and I enjoy every piece of it.

Graphics are still great, I wish they had updated the engine and textures a little more though, if you own vanilla Doom 3 you probably don't notice a difference.

The sound-effects of the weapons are my only real complain with Doom 3 but this does not ruin the overall experience.

If I would rate only Doom 3, that would be a 83/100, but all the stuff included here makes this a keeper! Quantity and quality in one package, what else could you want?

85

A Fine Remodel

TheEcaminer | June 24, 2013 | See all TheEcaminer's reviews »

The Doom 3 original title was an incredibly innovative and creative game; it was one of the few games that could actually horrify a user whether it be the dead of night or the middle of the day. Doom 3 BFG edition takes the elements of the original, sparks up the graphics (as well any new mod can), adds a few new missions and kicks you on your way. In doing so, Doom 3 BFG has surpassed the original and kept an iconic series up to date superbly. Highly recommended.

85

Doom 3 BFG Edition - review

Neapolis47 | June 14, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

You play a Marine assigned to the security of a property located on Mars. Your daily routine will be stopped due to the unexpected arrival of mysterious demonic forces that have taken over the minds of human personnel, facilitating the incursions of these horrible monsters. Doom 3 is the classic fps for pc with a long tradition. The arsenal at our disposal is the classic shooter: pistol, shotgun, assault rifle without forgetting the inevitable grenades. Obviously there are the legendary weapons, true hallmarks of the series as the gun rotating barrel, the saw and the BFG 9000, a powerful plasma cannon capable of disintegrating multiple opponents with a single blow. New to this edition is to be able to use the flashlight and weapon at the same time. The BFG edition is recommended especially to those who have never played the original version and intends to play a true classic.

70

Nothing much has changed since 2004

britishlad | May 8, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

Doom 3 BFG is the same good game that it was 8 years ago -- and that's exactly the problem. At the time it represented a milestone in the FPS genre, sound design and graphics. It was one of the creepiest games I've ever played and it's still fun. However, it's exactly the same game with a few small but important alterations: the game is no longer as dark as it was, and there's a flashlight available at all times. One of the key elements that made this game so scary was the darkness plus you could only use a gun or a flashlight, but not at the same time. So there's no longer that sense of dread and doom that made me jump out of my seat 8 years ago. The game did not improve by these changes in my opinion.

More Importantly, the graphics have not improved at all and they show their age. While awesome that the time, they are now laughably primitive. The excellent level designs as well as the sound design were already great and withstood the test of time, however. To sum up, it was a good game, and one for the gaming hall of fame, but there's really nothing here for veterans of the first version. In fact, this is the inferior one of the two, and I recommend that people who have never played this game should stick with the original - it's cheaper and better. For people who already played the original, there's nothing of value here. The so called lost missions is only 2 hours long and not worth playing to be honest.

84

A Worthy Addition to Your Collection

videopower77 | May 5, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

For the few people that haven't played Doom 3, then now is the time to pick it up. The graphics have been tweaked a bit and there is now the heavily requested always on flashlight. For those who have played Doom 3, the new campaign gives reason to give this one another go around but it probably wouldn't be worth the full price.

Doom I and II are nice bonuses as well as Steam Cloud saves and achievements.

For best entertainment value, play the game in complete darkness with headphone volume up. Thank me (or curse me) later.

70

Awesome but...

Lekes | March 7, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Quite honestly, I am a little bit disappointed. I simply expected more. There are completely free (!) mods by the community, that offer better graphics than this. So for your bucks, you get slightly better graphics and wide screen support + some minor game tweaks that make it a tad bit faster. I really love the whole Doom series, but this seems to me like just like an attempt to milk players for some more money. Had this been free for people who bought the original Doom 3 + RoE, it would have been really awesome. But this way, its just the old good Doom 3 with some minor graphic additions and missions, that could have been easily added via a patch and completely free of charge.

85

Deserved Fame

kalil | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

A few years ago when Doom 3 came out the press called it one of the best games of the moment. Several friends recommended it to me, telling me it was great, but for various reasons could not buy it. I took advantage of this reissue to me with it and I was not disappointed at all. The graphics are a bit limited and notice the movement of enemies somewhat crude (type doll) when compared with those of the current action games, but these little drawbacks noted quickly stop because the game sucks you in completely. The sound is perfect and excellent ambiantación making immersion in that world is absolutely overwhelming and claustrophobic. Just have to think, but you spend a lot of hours with the survival instinct and spent activated adrenaline jet. I think the key that I liked so much is that there are no elements that distract you and take you out of the story. The complex puzzles or games in which one must be constantly picking up objects or things tuneando eventually slow and amodorrarte action. Here that does not happen. Each weapon only brings a type of ammunition and can not be improved. No need to press keys to collect ammo or armor, but when passing the acquire automatically. This may seem silly, allows you to focus solely on what's important: survive hundreds of enemies that attack you. Another strength is how well they are dosed attacks enemies with other moments of exhaustion and recovery, but forcing you to always stay alert. The bosses in the classic style of action games, not disappoint. The well-balanced difficulty: difficult enough to be challenging but not enough to be impossible or lead to frustration. Therefore, at least for me, all the good reviews it received this title once were deserved.

80

Nice collection

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This collection is for sure worth it. It contains Doom1,2 and 3 with all expansions. All games are compatible with a X360 controller, and Doom 3 has some improvement (like the light that can be activated without putting away your weapon)that makes it better. For this price, just try this piece of history.

85

Nice collection of solid old style FPS

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Contains 5 games Doom, Doom 2, Doom 3, Doom 3 exp ROE,new campaign Doom 3 The Lost Missions, still good looking id Tech 4 engine updated in HD graphics if you love doom you must take this if you are looking for a good and solid linear fps you are in the good place

75

Fans will love this, others will be on the fence

Scorpy | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

This is, first and foremost, not only Doom 3. The title is a bit misleading, but it's mostly a collection of past Doom games. Fans of the genre will be enhtralled by the inclusion of such classics, while others won't care much for them.

Doom 3 is my least favorite of the franchise, but if you can get past its hangups it is truly a great sci-fi shooter.

The price is a bit steep, wait for it to drop a bit. It's a fairly old game, and thus keep that in mind while playing.

75

Everything you Love About the Series in One Convenient Package.

fable2 | Dec. 20, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

Doom 3 BFG Edition contains 5 games all on one disc; Doom, Doom 2, Doom 3, Doom 3 ROE, and an all new campaign Doom 3 The Lost Missions. it's hard to pass this one up unless you own them all already. While long time fans may not have much incentive to pick this up, new-comers to the series should find this a great place to start. The updated HD graphics and sound are a nice addition but hinder the creepiness of the overall atmosphere of Doom 3. That along with making the flashlight armor mounted take out some of the stress and tension. Aside from these minor issues, the new campaign is enjoyable and the original games (Doom, Doom 2) are as good as they've ever been. This is one game that shouldn't be missed. It has enough content to keep you busy for hours and should hold you over until part 4 comes out.

85

Perfect for any hardcore Doom fan

Mikester7 | Dec. 18, 2012 | See all Mikester7's reviews »

If you're one of those people that grew up with Doom, then you will find this new remastered edition including the originals very tempting indeed. With this pack you not only get access to an important part of gaming history, but also the very good remastered Doom 3. It's debatable if it is worth the price tag for a new chapter and better audio and graphics, it will come down to your opinion. Personally, I would buy it only when it goes on sale before purchasing this game again.

The game features an interesting story, good scares and awesome interfaces while maintaining its roots from the original games.

83

A collection of old style FPS

panz3r88 | Nov. 23, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Doom 3 BFG contains all the titles related to the Doom series. For a good price you will have Doom 3 with its expansions and new missions, but you will receive also the first two Doom: even if they are very old and the graphic can't be compared to Doom 3 and modern FPS, they still remain two of the best FPS ever made. Doom 3 and its expansion are linear FPS where your only objective is to reach the end of the level and survive to all the monsters and aberration that try to kill you. The main defect of the game is that it's a bit too repetitive and after a few hours the monsters are no more scaring, but if you like FPS you should buy this title.