Reviews for Fallout: New Vegas DNS

70

Another great Fallout

Jimmysil | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

It is pretty much the same as Fallout 3, with some improvements, but it includes whole new world, new characters, and DLCs. If you liked Fallout 3 and you want more of it, this is exactly for you. Personally I liked the story of Fallout 3 more than this one, but that is just my opinion. It's still a great game that is worth buying.

95

Truly a masterpiece.

thresher3253 | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all thresher3253's reviews »

Don't believe them when they say that New Vegas it's an expansion pack for Fallout 3 - it's much, much better. New Vegas is the REAL Fallout 3 and one of the best RPGs of all time, along with Planescape Torment and Ultima. Tons of quest, secrets and dialogues, lots of choices, good storyline and a much better combat system that is not totally unbalanced like F3. It's difficult to understand why people keep pointing at New Vegas like is just a watered down version of F3 while it's exactly the opposite. They probably played the game for 2-3 hours, otherwise i can't explain that. Just play it and see for yourself.

90

A Fallout closer to its origins

MarcoCav | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

New Vegas is the 3D Fallout closer to its origins. "Slower" and more reasoned than its predecessor, it is better focused on relationship with other human beings, while maintaining the exploration and combats. About most of this interaction goes to Las Vegas, which is much more lively and complex than Megaton. Definitely recommended for those who loved the Fallout series.

89

Fallout New Vegas is still a Fallout and we still love it!

ccroatian | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all ccroatian's reviews »

I started to play Fallout 3 a few years ago and I still love it. New Vegas is very similar according to the appearance, but in a way completely different. I mean of course the story, the characters, weapons are different but I am glad that they did not changed the gameplay's RPG elements and the slow motion showdowns. Maybe the graphics could be better a bit but I like as it is.

87

Not an expansion, it's standalone!

EDP | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all EDP's reviews »

I've had hours and hours of fun with this game. It was a lot like Fallout 3, so if you like that game, you'll like this too. New Vegas is another look on how Fallout 3 could have been: different state, different game.

The game reminded me of good old Morrowind (another Bethesda game, but much older), despite the games being very different. I liked that a lot, since Morrowind will always be one of my favourites.

100

Fantastic Game

Kevduit | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

This game was a really great game! It wasn't as amazing as it's predecessor Fallout 3, but it still had a ton of stuff to offer! Fallout New Vegas has so many new weapons and loot to find, areas to explore, and people to meet. It's even just a lot of fun to just roam the world searching for enemy outposts, and then taking them for yourself. The game is very open world, so you can roam the world completely freely, and just keep walking until the two headed cows come home. Ever just really wanted to explore a vast Post Apocalyptic world? Well then, Fallout New Vegas is your game!

60

New Vegas is Less new then just an expansion

Generic_Dude | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Generic_Dude's reviews »

Fallout New Vegas is feels to me like a great big bundle of mods, it neither strays far from the old formula of Fallout 3 nor does it try anything new. In-fact it has taken away for me much of what made Fallout 3 so special and trys way too hard to be the previous game.

The game is based on the old and lets be honest here, way past its expiration date engine which built Fallout 3. I usually dont like picking on the graphics when a game has good features but it just feels sloppy. There is very few graphical improvements here and what could have been a beautiful walk through New Vegas city (or whats left of it) was washed out brown and boring. The visuals just feel lazy and unpolished and to me is a reflection of the overall game.

Gameplay is almost exactly the same as the previous game VATS remains unchanged, the shooting feels a little floaty but serviceable. There is still the creepy dialogue encounters and for the most part all the quests are serviceable. The additions are some gambling which feels like a nice fit into the Fallout universe and generally works well, although with luck boosted up to 10 they are essentially ATM machines and are less fun and more of an exploit. The iron sites are a nice edition to improving the combat system.

The map is much smaller then the Fallout 3 map and while that can be argued that it creates a more concentrated and reactive world i just felt confined and to be honest i feel like the rate of encounters were about the same as Fallout 3 and unfortunately lacked those amazing set pieces and beautifully desolate landscapes which was served in spades in the previous fallout.

Now im not saying Fallout New Vegas isnt a good game, it is actually quite fun, but its more of an expansion pack on old content rather then a new game which can stand on its own two feat. For someone who has never played fallout before or who hasnt played Fallout 3, this game is still an excellent purchase though it lacks the magic of the original and epic story and climax of the original.

97

Amazing aside from the bugs

thevectro | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all thevectro's reviews »

I love the Fallout series. Aside from the few bugs this game has, it is just as good as Fallout 3. I recommend this game to anyone who was a fan of the 3rd installment.

100

One of my favourite games

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

I absolutely love the Fallout series, I started off by playing Fallout 3, then played through all of the older games- before eventually playing Fallout New Vegas.

There are just so many quests and things to do in this game, I have never got bored from playing- so far I've racked up 160 hours on it and there's still plenty left to do.

One of the things I found to be most... interesting in this game is the moral system. You can decide whether you want to be good or bad, and your actions determine this, and it's not like in Fable where you can be 'evil' and nothing happens, the people of the wasteland actually react differently to you and more opportunities are unlocked.

Many people complain about the game, saying it constantly crashes and that it has loads of bugs- I do not find this to be the case. I am running it, admittedly on a high spec PC, but you don't need to, I ran it on one of my older computers and it very rarely crashed. Sure there are a few bugs, but the HUGE modding community has sorted the large majority of them out.

It's an amazing game with endless hours of fun, hundreds of available mods and just a great game to play.

75

Buggy but immersive

MrScavenge | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all MrScavenge's reviews »

Fallout NV is a buggy mess full of glitches... But it's also one of the best Post-Apocalyptic Role playing games ever. The incredible sense of immersion you get from wandering around the Nevada desert is stunning.

But as stated, the game is buggy and full of glitches. But it's evened out by the story and atmosphere. Don't go into this game thinking it's a shooter with roleplay elements. It's a fantastic role-play game with shooter games.

75/100

/MrScavenge

100

Great game from greatest game series.

Piospi | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all Piospi's reviews »

Great game by the makers of Fallout 1 and 2. Good graphic with awesome post-apocalyptic story. This game is a great investment for several hours!

80

Very good game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

Well, this game is "must" buy for anyone who enjoyed the first and second Fallouts, back in 90s.. Great atmosphere, interesting quests and storyline where you don't play the role of savior of Universe (at last). The main thing for me was that Fallout New Vegas feels live, while Fallout 3 felt more like an empty world. Anyway, my verdict - good game, worth buying and worth playing.

90

Mixed reactions but still a winner

envail | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all envail's reviews »

I'm in two minds about New Vegas, it feels a more distant from an apocalypse than Fallout 3 did. Water is generally clean and the colour pallete is A little too vivid and a bit confused to satisfy my post apocalyptic visions. However with no shortage of visual mods available I soon had the game looking just how I liked it, think in atmosphere and forbidding.

The stories are well written even if sometimes the subject matter is a bit corny, generally I enjoyed the side missions more than the actual main story. New Vegas tends to deliver in more ways than FO3, bar the visual setting I would recommend it over the previous rendition, although both are worthy.

The Fallout series is one of my favourite franchises and this is definitely worthwhile picking up.

95

A great part of the series for newcomers and older fans alike!

FhexSans | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all FhexSans's reviews »

Fallout New Vegas is simply a great combination of an RPG and a shooter. The story is pretty fantastic, but has its holes, but fans of the original isometric games will be pleased to know its a direct continuation of that storyline and not, as like Fallout 3, a completely new story. The game itself plays a lot like Fallout 3 but a lot more refined, with better gunplay and better RPG elements. Traits are back from the original games as well. In fact, many of the locations are very unique and memorable, the quests very enjoyable, music very fun to listen to, and so forth.

Most of the game's problems stem from technical issues, like the engine's dated graphics and its tendency to glitch and crash a lot, plus the game's many bugs. At the core, it is a very good game though.

However, what makes the game shine even more is the absolute plethora of mods that you can get for it. There's basically anything and everything you may want! And if there isn't, modding the game itself is fairly simplistic and straightforward compared to many other games, making it easy to help create more content even for your own personal needs!

All in all, it's a great game at its core, but it's kinda rocked by its technical problems. Nevertheless, the modding community makes this game so much better. You won't regret getting it.

95

You know you want it!

Gawaine | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all Gawaine's reviews »

Fallout New Vegas is the post-apocalyptic game you need to have in your Steam Library. It consists of a huge open world with tons of exploration, NPCs to interact with, quests, equipment and through the developer tools, mods to help make the game what you want it to be!

100

From someone who considers Fallout 3 to be one of the best.

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

Fallout New Vegas is not just great, it's grand. Following Fallout 3 is definitely not an easy task, but New Vegas gets it done. An entirely new world to explore is just what I wanted after playing Fallout 3. And what better than Las Vegas and its surroundings. What I love about this game and Fallout 3 is the environment. There's so much to explore. So many monsters to find, so much loot to be had, so many quests to solve, and so many characters to meet. The companions are great in this game, they each have their own quest they'd like to complete. The companions run a little deeper than Fallout 3, and the quests also have a little more depth. If you liked Fallout 3, you'll definitely like this game, if you've never played Fallout, try this or Fallout 3, they're both amazing games.

94

As a huge fan of fallout series i had to check it out

chakad | July 30, 2013 | See all chakad's reviews »

played fallout 1+2, and spent hours on hours with fallout 3, so i came with a high expatiation for this one, and to tell the truth? i wasn't disappointed at all, as usual great title some would say its even better the fallout 3 (i myself own them both and cant really decide which is better).

this game is so great that you actually lose time in it, your going to play "30 min top" and you find yourself 2h later at 2 am in the morning ^^

one of my favorite - open world games, great graphics great story and environment, a lot of choices to make and you can always start over (finished it 2 times already, 1st as ranged character then as stealth-melee character)

long story short - worth any penny!

91

Excellent post-apocalyptic RPG

zipnox | July 29, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Welcome to Vegas. Or what's left of it anyway.

Fallout: New Vegas is an open world roleplaying game set in a dystopian future where every man fights for survival. It features a grim world to be discovered and experienced, a great story with tons of side quests to guide you through the wasteland, all while listening to the radio jangle in the background. That or the awesome musical score that is available when the radio is off.

The game does suffer from some bugs but I found it to be a minor nuisance that could in no way hinder my enjoyment. You have a lot of different skills at your disposal, allowing for various solutions to the problems set before you. The combat is great with a wide variety of guns and other goodies for you to experiment with.

This is no doubt a game I'd recommend to just about anyone, I had a blast playing through it.

90

A great addition to the Fallout franchise

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

Fallout: New Vegas is made by Obsidian Entertainment, most of which were involved in the original Fallout series. As a result, it feels almost like the original Fallout.

Even without the original games, however, New Vegas is very good. While I have heard that the game is buggy, for the most part, it has been patched, and I hardly experienced any game-breaking bugs while playing it. With weapons that are fun to use, characters that are both funny and interesting, locations that are fun to explore, and a modding community that can expand your game, this game is a fun experience.

70

Buggy, but Fun!

Dimbark | July 21, 2013 | See all Dimbark's reviews »

Fallout 3 was a well-crafted story that let you wander an open world with a villian and hero, but Fallout: New Vegas is more of an open world built around deciding which of the warring factions you want to become a part of. The world seems less broad than Fallout 3, carries over the same engine and most of the same everything.

It's a fun game, incredibly buggy, much like Fallout 3. Nonetheless, it's an interesting roleplay experience and you'll probably have more fun of it than your average modern game.

100

My Favorite Game of this Decade

IchiVanilla | July 20, 2013 | See all IchiVanilla's reviews »

Despite Having an almost 10 point lower score on metacritic than Fallout 3, this game is by far the best of the modern fallout series. The reviews suffer from the "oh its just more of the same" complaining that alot of sequels suffer from.

I'd argue that this game is not more of the same, obsidian did a much better job than bethesda in making this a truly open-ended world you can explore without penalty. In Fallout 3 you were much more confined to the storyline quests, and the sidequests were not as fullfilling and not as plentiful as in NV. Persuing multiple endings was also a big plus to new vegas, as well as the introduction of hardcore mode. Companions are much better (i.e. not complete wastes of time like in F3).

I might be biased as i've lived in the southwest my whole life but the overall "feel" of the game felt so much better than F3. I loved the music, environments, and general art direction.

I've played through this game 4 times now and just bought it AGAIN for PC (great mod community, just like in the elder scrolls games). I cannot reccomend this game enough. buy this if you have not already!

The only shortcomings of FNV are some of the DLC's being a bit silly/unpolished, but i won't include them in my review's score since this is for the singular game.

95

Best of the Fallout series

logicbomb | July 20, 2013 | See all logicbomb's reviews »

Great storyline with plenty of diversity and replay value. Fallout 2 was my previous favorite in the series and I feel like New Vegas followed more in it's foot steps than in Fallout 3's. Which was a smart move. If you enjoyed any of the fallout games, this one will become your new favorite.

90

Highly Underrated Game

koningrowan | July 17, 2013 | See all koningrowan's reviews »

This game is superb. If you're a fan of games like Skyrim, Borderlands, dystopian futures, or just plain fun, this game could work for you! Improving on the game play from Fallout 3, New Vegas allows a much more malleable world that the Fallout series has never provided. Hours of fun included. However, if you get a bit impatient with slower games, this game might not be the best for you. Still, plenty of time can be put into this game and has high replayability due to the openn world structure of the game.

91

Great game to roleplay with.

Saggy1 | July 6, 2013 | See all Saggy1's reviews »

This game is great to to use to role play especially with all of the mods that there are to use. If you have a great imagination and are willing to learn how to install mods (which are very easy to do) this game is for you.

Now if you don't have the time to mod nor the patience the game in its "vanilla" state is still great as it has a great soundtrack such as many fallout games do because of the era that Bethesda chooses to use (late 1950s - 1960s)

95

Wonderful world, incredible game

erbaut | July 3, 2013 | See all erbaut's reviews »

In my opinion Fallout New Vegas is better than Fallout 3. It is my favorite game because there are many side quests, lots of enemies and Easter eggs.

If what you want is a game that will entertain you for hundreds of hours and you like rpg with lots of action, this is your game.

90

Fallout is my Favorite!

jmillcag | June 30, 2013 | See all jmillcag's reviews »

Fallout 3 is my favorite game of all time and this title does not disappoint either! The weapon and crafting has been revamped in a good way with lots more customization and mods for your weapons. I love the fact that you can add scopes and different mods to all your guns and the follows that you acquire are a huge help. ANYONE WHO BUYS THIS ON PC SHOULD GET THE WILLOW MOD. Willow is a follower mod that was made by a fan of the game and is the BEST mod for this game. She carries a ton is super accurate and has her own set of quests and dialog. With this mod the game is a 95 out of a hundred for sure!

90

Great Fun, Tons of Playing

DocNuka | June 26, 2013 | See all DocNuka's reviews »

When it comes to FPS Fallout games, New Vegas is truly a great game. There is just so much to do, so many sidequests to undertake, and so many guns to admire, it's hard not to enjoy this game purely with those values. However, beyond that is a gameplay system vastly improved over Fallout 3's slightly clunky and less-than-intuitive controls. Iron sights have been added, which actually makes it possible to kill people without VATS, and the gun variety has been given a much-needed boost from Fallout 3. Overall the gameplay is fantastic, but the graphics and facial animations are distinctively sub-par to many games out there. IF you're looking for a good RPG and don't care too much about graphics, here's your game.

97

Great role-playing open world game!

auroros | June 22, 2013 | See all auroros's reviews »

If you've played Fallout 3, you basically know what this game is all about, but I actually prefer the story of New Vegas where you start of waking up after being shot in the head and nursed back to health and up to pursue the man who did it.

If you've played Oblivion, Skyrim or any of the Elder Scrolls game, it's much like it, but in a post-nuclear war environment. Apart from the Elder Scrolls games, this game actually has a good Role-playing experience. I've spent 100+ hours playing fallout and I don't regret a minute of it.

85

Fallout 3: Episode 2

Demadizz | June 16, 2013 | See all Demadizz's reviews »

Exactly like FO3 in everyway, adds a few more ideas, but they are easily overlooked to be honest. It wasn't as gloomy and taking you through massive train stations that constantly were dead ends. It a more open area and has multiple endings which is neat! It is more looked as an expansion to FO3 and i will agree, but alas the ulitmate edition just came out! So get it on sale! It's worth it. Hours of gameplay and a fun concept. FPS/RPG elements done well with achievements! Stamp of Approval

95

Fallout godness

brenker99 | June 4, 2013 | See all brenker99's reviews »

In this game you got everything. An epic map to explore And a HUGE one as well. Various ending that makes you want to Repeat the game a few times. A lot of guns and items!. Amazing DLC, Each DLC is like playing a new game with new map and new story line new weapons and in the same old great gameplay. Fallout new vegas is one of my smartest purchases. it would get a 10/10 if there weren't random crashes or glitches.

94

Excellent for fans of the firsts.

LordBale | June 4, 2013 | See all LordBale's reviews »

This is one of my favourite Bethesda games I own. The story is great, with multiple endings and hours of enjoyment, plus the side quests. The DLC for the game is great as well, with each telling another great story. Also a great game to mod.

82

Fallout at its best

TBTheBritish | June 3, 2013 | See all TBTheBritish's reviews »

I'm going to flat out say it now: if you like Fallout 3, you should already own this game. This is almost an improvement in every way (barring a myriad of bugs). Some classic Fallout humour mixed with all the usual drama and choices, multiple factions to chose from, a brand new disguise mechanic, hundreds of new weapons, new styles and characters and a brand new story starring The Courier. Highly recommended.

90

Great Story Telling

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | See all ExpiredJordan's reviews »

If you have ever played Fallout 3 you know what to expect, nuclear waste with robots and mutants all over the place. The thing is New Vegas is much more than that. It made me realize what Fallout 3 could have been if it was made by the original developers.

The story of New Vegas is pretty simple at first, you are shot in the head and you want to kill whoever was responsible for this. This is a great start because of the blank slate with your memory loss, giving you the ability to Role Play to your heart’s desire. As you go on the story brings up some major moral choices. The thing this game does great is how all of these choices are neither right nor wrong only your own interpretation.

The graphics and sound are the same as Fallout 3 which to say is getting pretty dated, but if you can look past these faults you will find a great game with a wonderful story.

Overall I give this game a 90 out of 100.

80

More Fallout 3, But is That a Bad Thing?

Echoingmoon | May 24, 2013 | See all Echoingmoon's reviews »

If you liked Fallout 3, you'll likely enjoy New Vegas.

The game itself is more of a standalone expansion than a sequel in terms of engine/graphic improvements, however, the world and storyline are as large as you would expect from a fully flushed out sequel.

Although personally, I enjoyed the story and characters from Fallout 3 more, the game-play in New Vegas is definitely a winner. In particular it is now possible to actually kill things with guns in first person without resulting to using VATS as accuracy seems to have been tweaked, a large improvement in my opinion.

High replay value, a good time sink and plenty of free-roam/sandboxy shenanigans to be had.

The only thing worth mentioning on the negative side is that the graphics haven't aged overly well - but at least the bugs have been fixed (for the most part!).

80

It's more then good, but not great

allcapsrage861 | May 13, 2013 | See all allcapsrage861's reviews »

After extensive hours put into this game on console i finally decided to get it on pc and test it out with mods and just the overall different feel from console versions. Basically for the quick review its fallout 3 with some improved mechanics in a even more bland looking world with some new places to explore. However with that said if you're a fallout fan you should purchase this game because even though it is more of the same fallout you love and for that I cant give it more than an 8

93

Onward into the wastes

Joeru | May 11, 2013 | See all Joeru's reviews »

Fallout NV much like its sibling Fallout 3 if an FPS/RPG in which you play the role of a delivery boy in the Navada wastes.

After being left for dead delivering a chip you find youself being nursed back to health in a nearby town.

The story continues and you are off on your way throughout the wastes helping or hindering the populace and slaying mutant creatures left and right.

The gameplay for Fallout is incredible and is much the same as Fallout 3 so if you enjoy Fallout 3 this will bring the same levels of joy.

The graphics are splendid and should last another 3 or 4 years without too much degradation.

One of the biggest highlights of this game is the music, pulled from the early years of the 1920s through to the 1960s you will find some classics which add a great deal to the ambiance of the Nevada wastelands.

The overall gameplay can be slow at times but very rewarding all of the choices you make will affect the story and how it plays it and the way in which people interact with you. This attention to detail gives this title a great deal of replayability.

Overall a fantastic game and well worth every penny, the DLC's also add a great deal to the length of the game and if you haven't played Fallout 3 it is well worth picking up the GOTY edition and if you don't mind some jaded graphics the Orignal Fallout games which can be picked up as a bundle are worth your attention.

85

Unpolished, but a ton of fun!

UltraJake | May 10, 2013 | See all UltraJake's reviews »

While many of the bugs have been fixed since it's infamous release, the game is still buggy. This is to be expected from any Bethesda (Or Obsidian) game, unfortunately, so you'll need to look past them. There exists a mod that fixes hundreds of bugs and errors all in one package, and I recommend looking for it on the Nexus if you are interested. But back to the game! Your character build can be whatever you wish it to be. You can be a Hulking idiot, a long-range stealthy character, and everything in between. It doesn't take itself too seriously, and for that reason I recommend the Wild Wasteland Perk for extra fun. I feel like they could have done so much more if not for the fully-voiced dialogue, but the game is much bigger than Fallout 3 when it comes to content. If you liked FO3, you'll love New Vegas. (Or not. There is quite a bit of debate when it comes to the two games.)

88

Brilliant game from brilliant series

d0nk3y2010 | May 5, 2013 | See all d0nk3y2010's reviews »

Fallout: New Vegas expands on it's fantastic predecessor with new features that improve the Fallout series. The most promising new features in the game include the new hardcore mode which, as stated, makes the game more realistic and significantly more difficult - great if you want to play the game again but want a different experience. Being able to modify guns and change the way you use them and the ammunition you use is also a new interesting feature meaning you can upgrade your favorite gun to suit your needs whether it be a better sight or a silencer. Overall Fallout: New Vegas is definitely worth purchasing particularly if you enjoyed Fallout 3 or just want to explore the Mojave Wasteland.

83

Open world that ROCKS

TCass29 | May 4, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

This game can take between 15-20 hours to go through the main story...but you'll want to do so much more than that.

Everything about this game ties back to the central theme of this desert post-apocalyptic world that you're trying to survive through. The soundtrack, the dialogue, the weapons, the world itself; it all creates a very whole and fleshed out feel that absorbs you into the world you're exploring.

The replay value of this game is very high because there are many different ways to play it. Without going into too much detail you can be a tank, you can be a robot's best friend, or you can basically swindle everybody into giving you what you want.

It's a great game and if you haven't given it a shot, you should...with a laser rifle.

85

Fallout 3? Is that you...?

Kaieh1234 | April 24, 2013 | See all Kaieh1234's reviews »

Well...this is essentially Fallout 3, with a few new small additions, it feels essentially like a Fallout 3 expansion, although, as I am a huge fan of Bethesda games, that means it is a good thing.

The world is absolutely massive, the array of weapons is impressive, the monsters are essentially the same as Fallout 3, the story is not exactly thriving, but I don't think that is a strong point in the Fallout or Elder Scrolls games, these games are all about Gameplay and they most certainly deliver.

Alot of people have gave this game hate because of it's similarity to Fallout 3, but I see it as a "don't fix what isn't broke" sort of deal, oh? what's that? I can't hear you over the sound of this game being awesome. Pick it up, it's worth it.

86

Fallout 3.5

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Jray264's reviews »

Have you played Fallout 3? Did you like it? If so, you can now buy the expansion pack, Fallout New Vegas, for $20! Okay, so it's not an expansion pack but it kinda of feels like one. It honest to god is Fallout 3 with an orange tint instead of green one. It does fix some of the issues that Fallout 3 had. For example New Vegas has way better voice acting and a more balanced leveling up and combat system. Regardless, it's an amazing game and I had a lot of fun with it.

85

Addictive

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Fallout: New Vegas is a solid game with intriguing characters and a more vibrant landscape than Fallout 3. The re-use of building material skins and lack of new hairstyles feels lazy, but this is only a disappointment, not a major detriment to game play. Factions provide a new dimension, although the faction system is not as in-depth as players may like. Some have complained about the ability to carry faction armor, but it's enough of a drain on your weight limit you're unlikely to lug it around "just in case The new ammo system feels bulky at times, but offers new avenues of strategy to veteran players. The game has many annoyances that make me wonder how hard Bethesda was trying, especially in regards to invisible walls that make travel unduly difficult, but the writing is top-notch. If you loved Fallout 3 you'll be pleased with New Vegas, although it takes longer to immerse yourself in than it's predecessor

85

Don't think of it as a game with a story; think of it as a world

alexxkkapricorn | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all alexxkkapricorn's reviews »

As Fallout New Vegas came to be, I was really excited to play it. After all, even though I'd never played Fallout 1 or 2, I just loved Fallout 3 - still one of the best games ever, in my humble opinion. However, I must say that New Vegas had a major flaw that just frustrated me a bit: its story. Not to say the game doesn't have one; it does. It's just not as good as the previous... You just wake up, after being shot in the head, and want to find out what happenned to you. Not the deep Vault-dwelling fugitive who needs to find his father to understand what went wrong. You are just a messenger who got caught on some drab scheme... Needless to say, though, is the fact that the story is kind of secundary here. The game allows you to explore a really vast world, in the typical Bethesda-like open environment. And here lies its greatness! With a much larger pack of expansions than Fallout 3, New Vegas - on it's ultimate format - lets the players explore so much, with so many customization options that it is bound to grant you several hours of awesome gameplay. It's so enticing to just play it, that you are very likely not to remember the lackluster plot. Once you get used to the whole "V.A.T.S" attack system, you'll find yourself wondering the wastelands just for the kicks of doing so. Exploring just because you can - and want to -, not because it's imperative that you do so. With control schemes, graphics and sounds just like those of Fallout 3 - yeah... there wasn't really much of an improvement here... but why fix what isn't broken (and I use the term "not broken" very loselly, considering the buggish nature of these open world games) -, this follow up to that great FPS RPG maintains the same amount of fun that the previous one had. If you enjoyed Fallout 3, you must play this one. Just remember that, if you want a good story, go read some Dickens...

85

As great as it's predecessor.

fable2 | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Alone, a Courier roams the derelict area of a fallen city New Vegas. The area of New Vegas is filled with despair of the the world that has lost all hope on the evolution of humanity.

If you're familiar with the previous installment in the series, (Fallout 3) you will find that they share many similarities. Some of the changes include a change in the gaming mechanics, you are now able to aim down sight, rather than zooming in. An increase of quests, a change in some of the 'Skills'- for example big guns and small guns are merged into one, a survival skill is also added.

The Karma system has been altered as well. Instead of being entirely good or entirely bad your reputation differs in every location. Your reputation with the NCR can be classed as a 'Sneering Punk' whereas your reputation in the Legion can be 'Idolized'.

Again, the dialogue is unique and well-written. With almost every line of dialogue, comes another choice, another decision. Every decision branches multiple actions that contribute to the quest or even the main story-line. This adds a unique RPG element to the game giving the player a feel of individuality.

The visuals in the game are identical to Fallout 3, textures, designs and buildings. Up close, the textures are grainy and pixelated- though I didn't find this off-putting.

The majority of the side quests involve "killing him" or "finding that." Despite this, the game will not bore you, you will constantly discover new towns and cities which introduce more characters who each have a unique personality making the AI fell human-like.

" So much remains of what made Fallout 3 special, from the ridiculous cast to the joy of exploration, that there will be many willing to overlook all the bugs and glitches in favor of the weight of content that lies beneath."

65

Disappointing

israel_hlc | Dec. 27, 2012 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

New Vegas is a good game, nothing more than that. After the spending more than 100 hours in the wastes of Fallout 3, I must confess it was a little disappointing to play New Vegas. The game begins too suddenly, and the plot is poor. There is no appeal to “see what happens next”. It is true that after some time, maybe after midgame, it gets a little better, but nothing that makes its plot really good. There are a few great additions to the game mechanic, especially if you wanted Fallout to be more realistic (and harder). But other features are missing or have changed for worse. Being honest, it is not a bad game. Just not good as the previous one.

75

Fallout, what happened to you?

999flame | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all 999flame's reviews »

In my opinion, Fallout 3 is a LOT better than New Vegas. Don't get me wrong, New Vegas is still pretty good, but fails in comparison to the third game. The setting is just too open and barren, whereas in Fallout 3 the wasteland was actually populated with a lot of stuff to do whereas in New Vegas you just find yourself wandering around aimlessly a lot of the time.

90

The True Fallout 3

CrimsonWizard | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Fallout: New Vegas is a an open ended RPG shooter which drops you off in wreckage of Las Vegas...nine feet under. The introduction leaves you shot and left for dead, a simple courier on a mysterious delivery the main quest tasks you with discovering and finishing.

New Vegas allows you to move at your own pace with the plot though. If you can weather the hazards, you're welcome go off the rails. Complete sidequests, explore the far reaches of the map, skip the main path and evade killer bugs straight to Las Vegas.

Overall combat and exploration is similar to Fallout 3, but there are some subtle changes with new weapon choices and perks, and the return of various weapons from Fallout 1 and 2. However, a welcome addition is the new Hardcore mode which tasks you with maintaining your character. Injuries are harder to recover from, and you must eat, drink, and sleep to survive, giving the game more of a realistic edge and difficulty. It never got too terribly hard, but helped to give a persistent threat in the environment, and made food and medicine far more useful this time around.

The story and setting also surpasses Fallout 3 with a tale of mystery, with a mysterious and brutal new faction, Caesar's Legion, stepping up against the expanding New California Republic. Other groups such as the Followers of Apocalypse, Brotherhood of Steel, and the various towns and bandit groups also intertwine and fight each other, letting you join and quest for them like Fallout 2, or cut them down on a whim.

Obsidian worked very hard making a new Fallout that felt like the classic 2 from their Black Isle days, and succeeded, blending the old west scenery and 50's Future look with new threats and mechanics, making a wonderful, engrossing RPG. If Fallout 3 wasn't quite your thing, try this out.

87

Great game, pity about the setting.

boris73 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all boris73's reviews »

This game improves on fallout 3 on a technical level, but I can't help (totally personal opinion here) that it LOSES something on the setting. I found the ruined cities and barren outskirts to be dripping in atmosphere as they were so evocative of a truly ruined once-thriving civilisation. In New Vegas, they've gone for what is essentially a wild-west setting. It feels like something thats been built up rather than a destroyed world, or perhaps as if we had gone back in time.

But really, this is my only real gripe about the game. It definately improves on the previous game, by bringing in a faction reputation system, weapon handling has been greatly improved, and you can now modify your weapons, there is even a hardcore rpg mode requires you to eat and drink, and the core story is much more interesting. The world is still rich in detail, full of life, and exciting to explore, and thats where most of the meat in the game is. You will be able to spend dozens of hours just adventuring out in the desert, finding vaults, exploring deserted towns and old bases.... This is definately a game for people who just love to lose themselves in an epic adventure through a big world full of exciting stuff just begging to be discovered.

80

A good post-apocalyptic game

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

The player takes control of "the Courier", who is hired by a delivery service to take an unknown package across the Mojave Desert to "The Strip" but intercepted, shot in the head, and left for dead by a mysterious man who steals the package. Fallout: New Vegas is not a direct sequel to Fallout 3 what add this fallout? Companion behavior and tasks are controlled using the new "companion wheel", removing the need to enter conversation to give commands. The quantity of factions prompted developers to reintroduce the reputation system The Vault-Tec Assisted Targeting System, or "V.A.T.S.", returns with the addition of several V.A.T.S.-specific attacks

and tons of secondary quests

95

A terrific, engrossing RPG experience

Scorpy | Dec. 20, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Fallout: New Vegas is by far the best of the series. The addicting and solid gameplay are complimented by interesting lore and great attention to detail.

The graphics are alright for a Fallout game, not much is to be expected here. The sound is fantastic, from ambiance to gun sounds. The dialogue is crisp and clean, and the music is non-intrusive.

The DLC is optional but fantastic, especially Old World Blues. Old World Blues alone gave me approximately 20 hours of extra gameplay and is definitely worth the price.

Fallout is a beloved series. New Vegas only heightens its impact on how RPGs are seen, not as stat-crazy grinding games, but as excellent opportunities to explore fantastic new worlds.

95

Where Did My Day Go? It's Okay, I Don't Want It Back

Beard_Whisperer | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Beard_Whisperer's reviews »

Fallout NV is quite the time consumer. It is easy to pick it up thinking you will just play for 20 minutes, to find out hours later that you spent your whole day playing it. This is not a bad thing (so long as one does not fall into the trap on days that need to be spent doing other things) by any means. Like Fallout 3, Fallout NV is extremely immersive. The level of detail put on not only the game but the stories and missions are incredible.

Customization has always been a strongpoint with Fallout, and that has not changed in NV. Character customization is extremely varied, and perks feel even more important than ever before. There are no skills that are wasted, except perhaps for Survival (except for those playing Hardcore mode or various mods), and the more points invested in a skill the more one can expect to get back from it.

Crafting is perhaps my favorite area of customization in this game. Unlike in Fallout 3 where one needed to go around and find diagrams before creating custom items, Fallout NV allows one to create items based on various skills. Repair skill allows for the creation of useful tools such as Weapon Repair Kits, and skills such as Explosives allow for the creation of some truly sick bombs!

Crafting also applies to the new ammo types. You can take your usual ammo, break it down to gun powder and the like in order to remake them as Armor Piercing, Hollow Point, or a couple of other rounds. Each round obviously has its advantages and disadvantages. Hollow point rounds devastate unarmored enemies, but will do even less damage than a regular round to heavily armored enemies. There are even different round types for heavy weapons such as the Missile Launcher.

Mods are a new area of customization, that in the Vanilla version of the game are great but not too varied. One can add mods to their weapons to make them lighter, more accurate, hold more ammo, add a mid or long-range scope, etc. If you wish to further this level of customization, one can easily find countless mods to do so.

Which brings me to this games greatest asset: it's continued support for the modding community. If there is something you don't like in the base game, it is guaranteed that others didn't like it either, and a fix or an alternative can easily be found online. Do you want to play a whole new campaign that you haven't played in the original game? You can find that in the mods. Do you want to use new weapons from fantasy style to historical? You can find that too. The level of mods made for this game makes an already highly replayable game all that more replayable.

But the Vanilla game alone already has a lot going for it. The mods just improve upon an already amazing game. The game is not perfect though, there are a few glitches (mostly graphical) every now and again that take away from the feeling of the post-apocalyptic wasteland.

Gambling in this game is unfortunately not as great as it was hyped up to be. And quite honestly except for to low-level players who are looking to risk earning a lot of caps, there is no need for gambling in this game by the time you end up making it to the New Vegas Strip. Then again, I doubt anyone is looking to buy this game as a replacement for other Gambling-based games. Personally I'm not a fan of gambling to begin with, but it would have been nice for this option to have been a more valuable asset to a game that clearly seemed to warrant it.

Other than that though, there are little problems that I could find with NV. The story line is great and easily replayable to create all different outcomes. The character ranges are so wonderful that you get lost in a world that feels quite real.

All in all, to fans of Fallout, you will not be dissapointed. To fans of RPGs, you will not be dissapointed. There is so much to be had in this game that if you can't find something to love, you clearly are just not looking hard enough.

77

Good Action RPG Game

Madafix | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Madafix's reviews »

Just like Bethesda likes to tease us with a promise of an open world full of exploration, Fallout: New Vegas follows it's predecessor Fallout 3 with a variety of perks, skills and dialogue trees.

The world is nice looking, though at first glance it seems almost empty, but it is not. Soundtrack is country themed which is really appropriate given the setting.

All in all, except a handful of bugs the game is good. At times the immersion is broken, which is not great for a RPG. Like when coming back at the town which you've rescued and nobody cars about you except for a discount on an item or two.

But other than that it is worth the price.

81

Oh Fallout...

Darder | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

I have been playing the Second and the third one, and this one is just as good as the old ones are. With the remains of Black Isle, I found back the old, Dark humor this game used to have and I am happy with it. With a large modding community, the game literally lasts a lifetime and the large number of quests will keep you busy and entertained. Good RPG, great atmosphere.

91

The old Fallout with modern graphic

panz3r88 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Fallout New Vegas is really a fantastic RPG, very similar to the old Fallout titles. The best element of the game is the faction system, quite deep and complex. The player can choose to join a faction to gain some advantages, but at the same time people of some other faction can become your enemy and attack you. An other important element of the game is the possibility to have an ally that can join you during your quest. You can find different allies during the game with their own abilities and that can give you new quests and even improve your stats. Fallout New Vegas is really a long game: you need many hours to complete the main story and explore all the important places around New Vegas. An other good introduction of this Fallout is the hardcore mode, that increase a lot the difficulty of the game and transforms it in a good challenge: in hardcore mode you must drink and eat if you don't want to suffer from starvation or dehydration and healing objects don't work instantly for example

85

Fans of the classic FO1 and FO2 rejoice!

Coolicy | Dec. 3, 2012 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Fallout 3 was a great game in my opinion. In fact, it brought me so immersed into the Fallout universe and lore. I bought Fallout 1 and Fallout 2 on gog just for the story, and can see how FO3 deviates from its predecessors.

Fallout New Vegas is developed by Obsidian, where many developers came from FO1 & 2's Black Isle Studio, so the game's writing and lore feel just right at home for FO1 & 2 veterans. If you didn't like FO3, however, you won't like FNV.

If you liked FO3, however, you'll be right at home with FNV. The writing is superb, and the choices feel important. As per Fallout tradition, you'll get to see the consequence of your actions in an end game slide show. Decisions will range from which faction will ultimately come out on top (there are 4, only 3 will be obvious though) to a companion's personal vendetta.

Perks and SPECIAL are back of course, and how you select your character ultimately dictates how your game will play out. It's the freedom that makes Fallout unique, and FNV doesn't disappoint in this regard. Obsidian's games are notoriously known for being buggy, and some parts of the game feel empty. This is undoubtedly a result of not having enough development time, so this may sometimes be a little rough around the edges.

It is more important to note that the PC version of FNV is vastly surperior to its console counterparts, and I speak with no hyperbole. The modding community literally makes the whole world different and much more interesting. If you can think of something that would make FNV better, someone's probably made a mod for that.

Don't like the armors of a faction? There's a mod for that! Don't like how FNV only ultilizes 2GB of your ram? There's a mod for that! Don't like how little amount of guns are in the vanilla game? There's a mod for that! Don't like to manage (install/uninstall) all these mods? There's even a mod for that too!

Even today, years after this game's release, the modding community is still highly active. There is a generous amount of content in the base game. If you like it, purchase more DLC's is optional but definitely check out what you can do with your game by installing mods!

95

A game to get lost in

shayhidedark | Nov. 25, 2012 | See all shayhidedark's reviews »

This game is amazingly HUGE and it shows us yet again just how amazing Bethesda are in creating RPG's. The game, like Skyrim, gives you so much freedom. You could choose to join different factions such as a weird group of crazy guys that look like Romans, or not even bother with them and face the post apocalyptic wasteland alone however I wouldn't recommend this as it means that you could have less missions to do. I would say that the main missions on their own could take you around 40 hours (however I am a slow-poke) but you're more likely to find yourself lose way more hours to the game, perhaps over a hundred. The only negative I can find about this game is the fact that it hasn't improved much since fallout 3 but it still has improved as the combat is now more enjoyable and seeing fallout 3 was already great this just has to be, AMAZING!!!!

80

New Vegas review

carlyle | Nov. 25, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The gameplay is the same as Fallout 3, which is good. The only difference is the addition of iron sights, which is quite nice. There are some serious bugs though which could hinder your experience. The amount of content is really good. If you want to do everything there is to do, you'll be playing for quite some time. Visuals are nothing spectacular, but they're certainly not bad either. I had to turn on AA though. Without it, everything just looked very unpleasant. Animations are bad, but in combination with the dumb AI, it can cause some serious immersion breaking

94

After dropping 200+ hours into this game

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

I have to say it is among my top ten games of all time. You can spend weeks just wondering the wasteland finding random things to do. Then to top it off you can then reroll walk in a different direction and spend another few weeks exploring. The guns finally shoot where you aim, which makes vats less of a necessitous than in fallout 3, it also isint as slow at the start so it is far more likely to hold a fickle gamers attention.

You can fight for the NCR, Ceasar's legion, Mr house, or for yourself, All of which lead down different paths and to ultimately different endings (tho the endings are just short cut scenes, they still give a decent sense of closure)

82

good game with its flaws

cristiano171 | Nov. 23, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

pros A breath of fresh air for the franchise Vast open world to explore improved mechanical failures Game full of bugs and crashes. Need to run the patches without annoying (very) player Missing epic battles and great shooting. conclusion New Vegas is a great addition to the franchise: Can show a novel angle of the Fallout universe, brings a number of interesting characters and fun dialogue, and redeem the spirit of the original two games in the franchise - something that was lost partially in Fallout 3.

90

Epic Game

eL_Jay | Nov. 23, 2012 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

Gameplay wise an improved over the Epic Fallout 3, story wise this one is not as good. Nevertheless this game is among my top 10 games ever. If you haven't played it, buy it. (Especially the Ultimate Edition which has all the DLC)