Reviews for Scribblenauts Unlimited (NA)

80

A worthy PC entry in the series

Locke | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all Locke's reviews »

Own review, copied from Steam and SteamCritic.

A polished and full-featured offering to the Scribblenauts series. Being on PC and having access to things like the keyboard and the Steam Workshop greatly improve the game. It is somewhat annoying to have to figure out what the game wants you to say, as its understanding of words can be limited at time. For instance, one puzzle needs you to evaluate a piece of art and typing "art expert" doesn't work, but "expert" by itself does. A mechanic can't repair a robot because a mechanic repairs cars, but a scientist can because science. Little things like that. Luckily those issues aren't usually a huge barrier to progress.

85

Fun & Creative!

LtValerii | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all LtValerii's reviews »

Scribblenauts is one of the more fun games I've ever played. You can create almost anything you could imagine which continually keeps it interesting!

It is basically a puzzle game where you create objects to solve the crazy number of puzzles. You can go for the obvious option or create something completely insane to fix the problem. This option of game play makes Scribblenauts endlessly fun.

Even outside of puzzles you can make anything. I tend to ride around on a rainbow, flying megalodon (giant shark). There are tons of puzzles to complete, though, (some difficult and some longer) to keep you going for awhile.

Scribblenauts is great for all ages. Anyone can have fun with it, if you let yourself. I recommend playing this, even though it is more casual in the eyes of most. It's great for just relaxing and having a laugh at the craziness you can create!

92

Great Game Suitable for All

Percyro | Jan. 8, 2014 | See all Percyro's reviews »

I'd heard many good things about these games, but it wasn't until I got this that I knew what it was really like. I must've spent an hour or so in the beginning just making items appear and changing my character. I love how you can summon almost anything by just typing it. That has to be my favorite part about the game. The graphics are cartoon, but that fits the game. Even though this game seems kind of like a child's game, I'm fascinated by it. I greatly enjoy this game and recommend it to anyone looking for a game to put some hours into.

100

Fun for all ages

haider786 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all haider786's reviews »

Perfect game. Took over my life for a while. Bought this for my little brother but ended up getting addicted to this. The 5 dollar deal on GMG and Steam is amazing. What a steal! Dont let the kiddie graphics fool u. This game has no limits. Use your notebook to make anything. The steam workshop makes it lots more fun to add mods and its free and easy to do so. You can never really beat the game. I like the story and the comic book graphics. 100/100 Fun for all Ages

80

Creative but not Big Enough

TCass29 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

The charm of Scribblenauts is that it's a very innocent game that allows you to solve puzzles and problems ANY WAY YOU'D LIKE. You can type in any item or adjective and the game will recognize it and add it instantly. You can hover around in a jetpack and turn zombies loose onto a town of people minding their own business.

I understand that profane and "inappropriate" items weren't added to the game as options because this is kid-friendly, but there are some items and adjectives that I thought were hilarious and perfect fits to some puzzles that the game didn't recognize. Damn shame, that.

Still a good game and a raucously good time alone or with friends or kids.

72

A Fun Game, Yet a Step Back for the Series

taythib | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all taythib's reviews »

Scribblenauts is a very deceiving game. The graphics look like they are made for children, but allow for much deeper mechanics to surface. Puzzles must be solved by putting together any combination of words that your imagination can produce and the game creates it. Unfortunately, unlike the older games many of the puzzles are overly simplified, meaning that your imagination doesn't have top reach very far to solve anything. In the end it makes for quite a short game, but a fun one nonetheless!

88

Creative, Improved, and the most diverse programming yet.

cup99 | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all cup99's reviews »

This game has a fun and exciting soundtrack. You use your mind to think of objects that help solve the puzzles.Other than puzzle solving, you can just create something (anything) whenever you want. Adjectives added on to already existing objects are a new feature as well as a sort of "world map" I hope the newer versions will live up to this games standards!

90

Casual Fun

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

The premise of Scribblenauts is to collect "Starites" to stop Lily from turning to stone. You start the game as Maxwell, her brother, however as you progress other characters become available. It is a puzzle game, and requires you to create or alter objects in order to solve them. As you help people, or do quests (which you'll see objects/people highlighted while using Starite Vision) you earn Starites which ultimately lifts Lily from her curse.

The graphics are cute and cartoonish - something that is suitable for all ages. The puzzles are amusing, so even the very easy ones are not boring, but there are a few that make your head scratch. There are so many objects in the game that you can spawn that the possibilities seem endless and sometimes allow for multiple ways to solve a puzzle. You can even go into an object editor and customize objects.

Scribblenauts is suited well for the casual gamer, or for someone who doesn't have much time to put into a game. You can easily pick up the game and play for 15 minutes if you're short on time, but you can also spend hours doing puzzles or creating havoc in the Scribblenauts world.

79

Don't let the kiddie graphics put you off!

ogmonicker | July 20, 2013 | See all ogmonicker's reviews »

This game is a blast, and it requires you to use your inner childhood imagination. Within minutes of playtime I was amazed by how extensive is the collection of objects you can spawn, and how many adjectives you can add on to that. Before I knew it, I was solving puzzles all while riding a blue Cthulhu wearing a crown.

Even better, is the game's object editor. You can create your favorite celebrities, your favorite fictional characters, and even yourself! With the Steam Workshop, you can download the creations of others.

It's a great game worth a purchase, if you're looking for a sandbox-like experience. As long as you don't mind the gameplay being a bit dull and repetitive, you can sink several hours into it and get your money's worth. Not to mention, it's a great game for the kids.

80

A Big Fan of the series!

jmillcag | June 30, 2013 | See all jmillcag's reviews »

I've played Scribblenauts on the DS and really enjoyed it. caught this on a good deal (everything green man does is good!) and was super happy with it. it has helped with my son's problem solving skills and reading but its enjoyable enough for me to play as well. I ploughed through it in a week or so playing off and on with a few "sessions" in there. Lots of content and I love the fact that you can solve everything in multiple ways making the replay value pretty high! i would recommend this game to any puzzle game lover!

81

Fun and creative game

lok0812 | June 25, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This game have you solve simple puzzles by creating items or interact with the background using your notepad. Player can create new object to satisfy the need of the NPCs or interact with the background like enlarging or shrinking to get through. Upon solving a puzzle within a stage you will be granted a shard of a star and it is your main objective to collect these shards to save your sister.There are about 20+ of these stages in the game and each one have 10-25 NPCs that are looking for help. How to solve the puzzles depends on your creativity and you can use different thing to achieve the end result. There are many hidden shards that you can obtain by creating and interacting with objects using your notepad that the NPC don't tell you. The game last around 12 hours for full completion, a fun little game and worth it.

77

It's What You'd Expect

Kratzer | June 3, 2013 | See all Kratzer's reviews »

This is an app development teams attempt at building a feature length and fully loaded game. I would say in that regard it falls short of goal, but it is not an attempt far out of sight. The game is definitely fun for fans of the series and it adds fun new features, like the ability to add items and people that are not already appropriately referenced by the game. This feature legitimately adds some needed depth and further allows for the advancement of ones own imagination with this title. Furthermore, it is now on the Steam workshop which means, if you can't create it, someone else probably has, and you just need to download it.

76

Creative yet simple game, Perfect for young children.

literalage | May 25, 2013 | See all literalage's reviews »

A game that begs to be explored but may not move at a brisk enough speed or have enough action to hold the attention of most game enthusiasts but has the potential to touch the hearts of people of a younger and simpler nature. A fun game, filled with great ideas yet that perfect game play hook is missing. Older gamers may find the game play lacking, but its perfect if you wanna play something with your kids. Again you may find yourself struggling to finish it.

64

Great Fun but Repetative

kennedyzak | April 26, 2013 | See all kennedyzak's reviews »

This game is a wonderful example of a game which fun factor is only hindered by your imagination and creativity. its always fun to solve simple problems with over-the-top solutions and maybe just enjoying torching an entire town with a pink dragon flamethrower you made yourself. As the game goes on though, you will find the game play gets pretty repetitive and somewhat bland. the story line is pretty dull and there really is nothing that moves the story along besides the constant reminding that your trying to save your sister. If the story line had more power too it, and if the game play had some moments of change up the game would be a upwards to a 90 in my book, but for now I will have to put it at a 64. Great fun to start, but boring later on.

55

new features hampered by fundemental misdirection

yrts | Feb. 5, 2013 | See all yrts's reviews »

Scribblenauts used to be a really special game. It reminded me a lot of crayon physics, suffered from the same quirks, and also the same great achievement of stimulating the imagination to such a degree.

Unfortunately this new installment has entirely changed the way the game works. Instead of trying to reach the star at the other side of the level, the protagonist now goes to larger town locations populated by many npcs. There you will walk around and click on npcs and they will ask you for something. Then you spawn that thing and receive a piece of star. For example someone may say they need to express themselves so you give them a pencil and they write a book.

Basically, they've boiled the puzzle out of the puzzle game and what is left is more of a spelling game.

What's left is hardly the cutesy game that could appeal to people of all ages, but rather, more like a children's game that could possibly assist non-native english speakers in expanding their vocabulary.

90

Very innovative game

Hotspud | Jan. 12, 2013 | See all Hotspud's reviews »

This game is a real gem.

Simple graphics and colorful music make this game accessible to all. The premise is that you have to solve short interactive puzzles using your magical notepad where anything you type comes into existence. You can summon people, animals, guns - essentially anything, and interact with said item. For example, I summoned an elephant and a pair of giant wings, putting the wings on the elephant I was able to fly it around the level. Similarly, you can summon a maneating pidgeon and watch the characters scramble away as it tries to eat them. It's all very good fun and it's a unique experience not available anywhere else. The game is of good length, and replayability depends on whether or not you are creative enough to go back and solve the puzzles in a more unique way.

Overall, I highly recommend this game for anyone, makes for a great gift especially if you have younger siblings - but the game is equally fun for adults too!

85

An Imaginative Adventure For All Ages

AkaRai | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all AkaRai's reviews »

Honestly, I was largely unaware of this series before this release. My girlfriend wanted a copy, and while I was initially turned off by the art style, I grew to appreciate the game while playing through with her, somewhere around the point she decided to create a giant, flying, super fast, ridable porcupine with a hat and mustache.

A lot of effort was put into this game, and it shows. The puzzles feel a little on the easy side, but that may be in part due to how broad your options are. If you can imagine it, you can create it in this game.

The protagonist Maxwell's parents were adventurers, and give him and his sister a magical globe that allows them to travel anywhere on the planet, and a notepad on which anything written will become reality. Essentially you can type in any object, and describe it in fairly detailed terms, and it'll poof into existence before your character. You can edit it further if needed too. Upon venturing out of their house, Maxwell and his sister Lilly play a prank on a hungry old man, and give him a rotten apple. In anger, he curses Lilly to turn into stone, and the only way to save her is to collect starites by helping people.

You help people using the magical notebook, and aside from mini-games (and within many of the mini-games as well) this is how the vast majority of the game is played. Someone has a problem, and you open up your notebook and create something that solves it.

It's simple enough, but it's open-ended and fun watching your creations come to life. It's well-crafted and fun for all ages. I can't comment on how well it compares to other versions of the game, but I thought Scribblenauts Unlimited was a quality product.

87

Simply Fun

preachingchimp | Dec. 18, 2012 | See all preachingchimp's reviews »

The Idea of being able to use a notepad to create almost anything was astounding on the DS version, but when it cam out for PC was very happy to give it a try. The game has many challenges ranging from difficulties that you must solve with your notepad to solve them. Also you collect starites and starite shards from helping people with the magical notepad. It is a great game truly built for all ages. There is still some creativity to be desired, but the steam workshop makes up for that with adding many more creations. The Game is a great game for $30 and is worth the buy for all the enjoyment.

72

Great fun for a small price

Scorpy | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Scribblenauts Unlimited marks 5th Cell's first venture into the PC market with their acclaimed franchise. The result is a fun, albeit watered-down experience. Compared to the Wii U version, Scribblenauts Unlimited for PC is not only $30 cheaper but also easier to use. The game's mechanics and features are very intuitive on PC compared to the Wii U gamepad.

Not all that glitters is gold, however, as Scribblenauts Unlimted is missing one massive feature: multiplayer. This feature is present in the Wii U version and elevates the gameplay massively. The fun of having both local and online players control your creations to help you complete levels is addictive and hilarious. The absence of this feature may be justified by the 50% price slash, but it also makes the game seem 50% complete. There is a tangible void where this feature should be.

Regardless, if you are not looking for a fun multiplayer experience, Scribblenauts is a decently priced and fun experience. Otherwise, you might want to wait until its inevitable sequel is released on PC. By then, hopefully, 5th Cell will be more confident in the PC market.

85

Creatively Challenging!

Coolicy | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

I'm unfamiliar about any past iterations of this game or anything similar as this is my first time playing a game like this, but this game is very fun and imaginative. The visuals are cute, but serves the purpose of the game very well.

My favorite of the game is to "creatively challenge" the players, as the players that think out of the box will have the most fun. You're set into this world where you have to solve different quests/tasks, to bake a pizza (or a motorcycle) or to help a guy impress his girlfriend on a date. The obvious things are of course cheese + dough and flowers + suit respectively, but many other options work as well. This is where the imagination and the creativity comes in, as you can spawn things by literally typing in the words into the game, and they spawn. Add viking helmets, bow and arrow or spawn alligators or walruses, I'm amazed at how much the developers covered in terms of options - something definitely impossible to achieve without this game's simple yet effective visual approach.

Sometimes the control can get slightly sketchy, like giving the item to the wrong person, or attaching the pair of wings to the wrong animal, and that can get a little irritating at times, but nothing that takes longer than a few seconds to fix.

I'm surprised at how much I am impressed by this game as I normally don't play games like this. If you're tired from all the explosions and kills from the other games you play, this game is definitely a good one to play to take a break from saving the world. Even though you do "kinda" save the world here too... but in a different way. Hmm.

84

All the fun of the DS version

rstokes | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

The original scribblenauts was very unique in that it allowed you to solve puzzles by using any object you please (really what the game allowed but im splitting hairs) .For example, you could solve a puzzle of cracking an egg with anything from a foot to a T-Rex, and anything in between. This game improves on that formula by allowing you to use adjectives and by significantly increasing the games vocabulary. That being said, how much fun you have in game completely depends on your own imagination, so while some people (myself included) will find the game almost too fun to put down, others may not enjoy the freedom as much.

But hey, any game that allows me to recreate scenes from some of my favorite video games and movies (look it up on google) Is worth it in my book