Reviews for Mortal Kombat: Arcade Kollection

73

For diehard MK fans

DragosLoL | July 16, 2014 | See all DragosLoL's reviews »

This game really brings back memories of when I played MK when I was little. However, the game is small but don't underestimate it, it really goes back to its foundations. I wouldn't recommend this to a player just starting out in the MK series because of right now, MK 9 or the upcoming MK X would be a better choice for them as they would be looking for a more current game. But if you've played MK for years and just want to go back to its retro state, then you will enjoy this game. Not really competitive, but just a game for friends to play around with and having fun with your favorite MK characters.

80

Childhood memories.

Furrek | July 5, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

Not exacly a great memories for a child but remember, that it's just a game. I often played this game with my friends. We liked to beat each other (in game) and see liters of blood coming out of fighters bodies. My favorite was always Sub-Zero. It's great that I can play these games once again, after many years. It's almost flawless pack, but one thing... Games for Windows Live. If you don't mind going a massive troubles with this sad service, then get this pack. You might enjoy once again this great fighting game, and sequels. New players, that missed era when Mortal Kombat was something you just must have played, will probably not enjoy old fighting games at all. But still, if you are interested what's Mortal Kombat is, there is a new one, that will probably suit nowaday players more.

92

Hop it. Let's go back in time.

MafuMafu | June 23, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

Choo, choo! Everybody to the feels train! It's impossible not to feel somewhat nostalgic with this epic kollection. (Yes, the K is on purpose) It's like jumping inside Doc Brown's DeLorean and travel back in time to your childhood/teenage years. They are exactly as you remember them. Beautiful and unique. Choose your destiny and free the world from evil in the Mortal Kombat. With your adquisition of this game, part of the earnings are donated to the families of the defeated/dead fighters. So, you're doing a good thing if you buy it.

77

FIGHT!

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all InsaneHien's reviews »

3 games in one package. You get Mortal Kombat, Mortal Kombat 2, and Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3. Great games, I say.

This brings back memories. I used to play these games on my SNES all the time when I still had it out. I had some very good times playing with my friends. With the Arcade Kollection out, I can play on my PC. without pulling out the SNES.

Now back to the Arcade Kollection. These games are based on its original arcade versions. It's a port, so expect some flaws. The addition of online play was enough for me to purchase this, but the inclusion of GFWL is annoying. A good buy for the old school fans. The full price for this package is $10. It usually goes on sale for $2.49 so for that price, I can't complain much.

90

Finish Him!

Mscigniew | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

Oh the memories...Mortal Kombat is one of my favourite fighting series,and boy for that price MK1,2 and 3 is a bargain.For those who know it...well you probably already bought it,for those unfamiliar with MK,its a 2d fighting game overflowing with gore,the fight is fun easy to handle and after you win a fight,you are presented with possibility to finish your oponent by crashing his head,rip off his arms or take his heart.Its a piece of awesome old school fighting,buy it!

90

The Time Machine!

cujoe | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all cujoe's reviews »

This game plays extremely well on the unreal tournament engine. I feel like a kid again back in the arcade putting my quarters on the screen saying " I got next!". The fact that you can also play online takes it too a whole new level. I can play with people all around the world which would have been mind boggling back in the early 90's. All around an amazing collection of one of the greatest American made fighting games. Controller and fightstick friendly.

80

The Kombat Continues!

Numbi | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

I picked this up because I thoroughly enjoyed the Mortal Kombat titles on my old Sega Genesis. Time has not been kind to the games in this collection but the visuals are still serviceable. What caught me by surprise however was the difficulty. It would appear that the games are based on the original arcade titles that were a tad harder than the home conversions so I am having a hard time even on the easier settings. If you are a fan of these titles and want to relive the nostalgia then this package is worth it. I only wish that they included some extras like the unlockables that the latest Mortal Kombat title has.

80

Not so flawless victory but still good

anx | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all anx's reviews »

The port itself has some flaws as mentioned in other reviews. For me the greatest flaw is that you can't customize the keyboard configuration freely in the game you have to modify the game's configuration file. But if you can ignore these you will have a good time with the game.

Aside from the flaws the game manages to bring back the original arcade versions of Mortal Kombat games. I like the fact that they didn't touch the games (didn't try to remaster it or make it "HD") they are the same arcade versions which were released many years ago.

If you are a fan of the MK series and played MK1-2-3 a lot don't hesitate, buy it.

88

Excellent

kowen | July 16, 2013 | See all kowen's reviews »

This game it's a masterpiece collection of the epic first three Mortal Kombat games in their arcade versions. But I don't like some things, like you need connect to Games for Windows Live for play this game. Also, you can play multiplayer, but you need other PC and game, and playing this online is disappointing due to the lag. No local multiplayer, so forget about playing with a friend on your PC like old times. The worst thing is that this game isn't compatible with most of game pads, only works with Xinput controllers such as the 360 controller. And seems like this game will not have development work anymore. Moreover, I recommend buy this game, especially for MK fans and/or nostalgic people.

75

Could be better

bartvader | July 5, 2013 | See all bartvader's reviews »

This is a game that old school gamers will like (as is my case). This collection contains the original arcade version of the games MK1, MK2 and UMK3. But it is not so perfect as well. They were not remastered. The games were not turned into widescreen. Can not change the resolution. There options filters, but are dispensable. Well, it is a great choice for people who lived at that time can recall the times of arcade. For the younger people, do not know if them will like it, because this is a not remastered version.

91

Outstanding Kollection

jazzelmejor | June 9, 2013 | See all jazzelmejor's reviews »

This is only for oldschool fans. MKAK gives you the opportunity to play the first three klasic games of mortal kombat.

That and a new implemented multiplayer option, that is flawless, and a user-friendly interface, you can select what to play (MKI, MKII or UMK3) or if you are playing and you dont know your character special moves / fatalities, you can access your character controls with the menu.

This is a must-get if you like old mortal kombat games, or if you like fighters.

75

A sentimental time machine

Shav | June 3, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Even though Mortal Kombat series is certainly not a game for kids, I actually spent a huge chunk of my childhood playing it, mostly MK 2 and 3.

The Arcade Kollection was a great way to relive one of the greatest experience in gaming ever. This game certainly has a lot of flaws, especially now when the 2D graphics and gore aren't anything spectacular, but it is still one of the best fighting games available on PC. Seriously, there isn't almost any competition. Sure - you can play SF4 or SFxTekken, but actually i had lot more fun performing fatalities as Scorpion, Sub-Zero, Noob Saibot and rest of the characters.

If you like old-school, fighting games, and you aren't afraid of challanges (trust me, these games are haaaaaaard!~~), then you should give it a go. Also keep in mind, that you can get it for as low as 2$, and you are getting 3 games instead of 1, all of them have very lively multiplayer and stuff. Worth it.

70

Only for the hardcore fans

videopower77 | May 6, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

I have loved Mortal Kombat ever since I was a little kid. It is also one of the few fighters I enjoyed. When this was announced for the PC I was extremely excited but the quality of this port is poor. The game uses GFWL so it is a pain for matchmaking and uses the Unreal engine to emulate which causes the game to use a lot more memory than you would think.

The core games are still there and it is still the good fighter you know and loved but the package itself is a little sloppy.

100

MORTAL KOMBAT!!!

FreeMan85 | March 4, 2013 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

There's anyone here who spend his/her teens at the '90s and don't play Mortal Kombat? I guess not. Mortal Kombat was a cult classic the '90s and a real nightmare for the parents. MK is maybe still the most violent video games ever made. Of course you can turn off the blood, but fatalities still gory. The new Arkade Collection is contains the first 3 games. 1992 Mortal Kombat, 1993 Mortal Kombat II and 1995 Mortal Kombat 3 Ultimate. Yeah, no Mortal Kombat 3, which in my opinion the weakest, since it was lack of playable characters. Ultimate technically the same game, but with more maps and more characters. The PC version was updated to Unreal3 engine, no joke. Also make sure you install the latest PhysX driver. The game graphics looks good, sadly it using a curtained aspect ratio. But you can choose various monitor setting. TV, arcade or normal view. The game also has a hint system, you can press Esc and check the move lists. Anyway, it's still hard to make even the easiest moves. The game uses Games for Windows LIVE! For achievements and matchmaking. Since the PC version has a multiplayer mode too.

If you ever played any Mortal Kombat game or saw the 1995 movie you must buy this! Since not much MK game get a PC port.

66

Unpolished port

Bigshrimp | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

I played all 3 games and it brought back nostalgia but the network code and graphics engine seem to be the worst aspects of this game. It still has the original gameplay but it just doesn't play like the originals.

It also has GFWL which makes it buggy compared to other online clients, which may be the reason that it lags so much in online play.

Overall I still like the game, just seems they could have done a lot better, like real widescreen support and smoother online play.

74

The Hardest Games You'll Ever Play

angruss | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all angruss's reviews »

This collection is amazing, and is worth it for UMK3 alone, but I have to complain about the difficulty.

The learning curve is sharper than Kabal's hooks and twice as deadly. At no point will you say "This is too easy, lets go turn up the difficulty." I've owned this collection for a year and I've still not beaten any of the games.

But that hasn't prevented me from having the funnest times of my life with it. I love every minute of getting up to the survival mode and then dying.

75

Great work, but not perfect

chickenhugga | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all chickenhugga's reviews »

I had a few problems setting this game up to work on my laptop, but in the end it seemed to be Avast playing tricks on me.

After getting the game to run and using the 360 pad to play it, I can say that I wasnt disappointed, especially at the price point. It brought back a whole lot of memories, especially of the original MK and it's music and sound affects.

I'm not really one for online multiplayer, so the inability to connect to anyone wasnt a huge deal breaker for me. I was saddened to see that I couldnt play 2 player on a single keyboard, but i do have the 360 pad, so again not a huge problem.

The game has a whole spew of bugs and performance issues that can sometimes ruin the whole thing, is nothing TOO problematic. The release was shoddy, but not the worst remake ive ever played.

If you miss the days of playing these awesome games, then at this price, you can't afford to miss out!

80

I can't get angry at this game, only to who is behind of this

ECS | Dec. 27, 2012 | See all ECS's reviews »

Just think this, the original arcade version of the first 3 Mortal Kombat in your computer, just like you saw them in the old times where you spend most of your money playing arcade games. You will think "This is too good to be true" Well, you are right. Too good to be true. Yes, they are the 3 original games, bringing the all the fun (and frustration) you can get playing against the AI. But there is a problem... Or some problems to be exactly: The laggy online mode, how annoying is trying to make work the 2 players mode, the lack of LAN mode, you can't change the resolution and it also uses the famous Unreal Engine, so yeah, it will probably will cost you many resources only trying to navigate through the main menu. Maybe some other surprises waiting for you. On the bright side, it comes with a HD main menu with some remixed music according to which MK you have chosen. the movelist is there if you never played MK or you can't remember all the moves. Also you can emulate the arcade visor, there are other effects to try, but pixels are better than simple image filters. In short, you like to fight to death against the AI or collect MK stuff? Then you should buy it! I hope you have the patience to deal with those little mentioned problems.

71

Mortal Kombat: Arcade Kollection - review

carlyle | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Mortal Kombat Arcade Kollection is a collection containing the first three chapters of the series Mortal Kombat, Mortal Kombat 2 and Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3. The screen is cut for the 4/3 because the graphics are exactly as the original. For each of the three titles in the online mode Kollection there is recreating the wonderful atmosphere of the original bar from the 90s where a group we dealt with one at a time. You can not, unfortunately, go from one to the other Mortal Kombat but you need to leave the room, change the game and recreate every time you want to rename. The statistics online, unfortunately, are disconnected from each other and there is not a "universal" that encompasses all three games. It may seem unconventional play-today-the classic Mortal Kombat, but for all those who want to deepen the birth of this kind, or for all those who are extreme fans, I would strongly advise to download and experience, all the strengths and weaknesses of the original Mortal Kombat nearly 20 years ago. The experience is in fact faithfully reproduced: it is not and then remake the series retains all its original features, with strengths and weaknesses including IA often "suspect" and collisions dancers.

77

Classic ! Flawless victory!

Queiroz | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all Queiroz's reviews »

This collection brings back some good memories, all 3 games in one collection, with achievements and online mode is amazing, but unfortunately the game is not very optimized and they could have done a better job, but nonetheless it worth buying, even more if you are an old school gamer, this collection is a must-have and for the price of 1.75usd (thanks to greenmangaming) you couldn't go wrong. I know this is a review but i would like to wish everyone merry christmas and happy new year :) Thanks greenman, i love you :)

91

Arcade classic

Geforcer | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all Geforcer's reviews »

One of the games that brings nice memories of hours and hours spent in the Arcade. It's a really nice package of old-school violence. Bring out the combo moves, do those fatalities, animalities, bebalities, brutalities,... uh, so many "alities". Oh, just buy it and have fun! :D

78

Good Game but Horrible Port :s

kalil | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Those games (Mortal Kombat 1, 2 & 3) themselves are best in genre. They have a really good story, nice graphic and fun gameplay. Yet MKK is nothing more than attempt to steal our money, using good memories about the first Mortal Kombat titles. Developers and publisher of this trash didn't bother to optimize and support their product (they even didn't fix some known bugs when porting MKK from console to PC). Such a shame.

PROS:

classic Mortal Kombat games - best in series;
multi-player;
achievements.

CONS:

Unreal engine (!) - lazy-ass devs;
incredibly high system requirements for the formerly DOS-based games (thanks to Unreal engine and lazy-ass devs);
laggy unplayable multi-player;
unchangeable key-bindings;
Logitech gamepad problem;
inability to set player 2 controls on keyboard (necessity of XBOX 360 controller);
bugs (some of them came from XBOX version);
lack of support - the game was never updated since the release;
waste of money.

20

A blast from the past not fit for the present

Scorpy | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Being a huge fan of the classic Mortal Kombat games, I picked this up immediately. It was a huge mistake. You will get better performance out of emulation than this collection. Skip this one at all costs... here is the long list of reasons why:

It uses Games For Windows Live: Not everybody hates GFWL, but forcing it on a game like this is a lazy excuse for not wanting to make your own DRM.

No resolution options, even if you mofify the INI files: You need a third-party mod to change the resolution. More lazy dev work.

No local multiplayer: What is Mortal Kombat without some awesome couch competitive multiplayer?

Terribly optimized: FPS drops where it shouldn't, game locks up for no reason...

Terrible design: Sound effects play randomly or don't play at all. FPS drops constantly. Multiplayer is laggy beyond belief. There are literally no redeeming qualities for this collection.

You're better off getting the XBLA/PSN releases of the individual games, as they run much better.

89

Gore fun!

Darder | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

This classic collection of Mortal Kombat games is a must buy for sure if you love fighting games. Infinite replayability with friends, and really hard to master all the combos and characters.

They are still the same Mortal Kombat games we used to play when we were kids and they are still bringing the same amount of intense fun each time you light up the games. Incredible.

It plays like a charm, without a third party program. The violence in this game never gets old, I love just taking someone`s spine, while he is still alive!

Great game, great buy. 3 nice games for one low price!

90

Flawless victory

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Three legendary fighting games in one package. Mortal Kombat is a classic, the first "enemy" of Street Fighter, and those games are, even today, very funny and hard to complete. The graphic is pretty much the same, the only thing changed is the possibility to play online and unlock achievements. For this price, buy this masterpiece now!

80

Klassic Kombat, Minor Flaws

nairume | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all nairume's reviews »

Here they are, the first three Mortal Kombat games in a collection with online play. Were this a perfect port, there would not need to be much said about this collection other than a recommendation to buy it. Mortal Kombat 2 and 3 are already fighting games of established quality and the first game is still an interesting footnote in gaming history, leaving little to say about the games themselves. This is not a perfect collection, however. First, as a solution to keep online players from constantly pausing and disrupting the game, the developers have made it to where whoever paused the game has most of their controls locked for a brief second whenever they unpause the game. While this is already annoying enough, it also carries over to the single player side of the game. As the game's list of character attacks is in the pause menu, this makes using the single player as a training tool for the multiplayer much less useful. Of course, as the multiplayer community seems particularly dead, that may end up being a moot point. Other than that, this is a solid collection that is worth it if you have friends to play with.

81

Real Arcade in your PC

DukePaul | Dec. 3, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Mortal Kombat: Arcade Kollection offers the original arcade experience from the first three games of the franchise and this time with great online to do fatalities against your friends.

The ports are good and the classic gameplay is intact, maybe the moves aren't smooth like other modern fighting games but they have a charm.

The best game of the pack is Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 because it has a lot characters to choose, the kombat kodes, the animalities and my favourite character: Kabal.

The bad thing about this game is you can't remap keys in the game, you need to edit a file,but I recommend play these games with gamepad, the experience is better.

If you are fan of the retro pre-rendered 3D graphics, a lot of blood and fighting games, this game is for you.

90

So many childhood memories in one pack!

darkmajki | Dec. 2, 2012 | See all darkmajki's reviews »

This game was one of the best fighting games that ever came out. The pack comes with the first 3( all of them really great) which started the best fighting series(which spanned on 3 different generations of consoles) I suggest this to everyone who wouldn't mind a little bit outdated graphics) and to everyone that already played them all but want to feel a little bit nostalgia. I would kindly suggest everyone to buy it.

99

Back to the classics

ruready12 | Dec. 1, 2012 | See all ruready12's reviews »

Oh, I wish all games were still like this. The simplicity of these Mortal Kombat games yet the fun it maintains is astounding to me. The gameplay lasts for months, and the story mode is long and lasts hours for each game. The graphics are obviously nothing special, but they can run on nearly any computer. The fun thing about this version of Mortal Kombat 1, 2, and 3, is that you can play online with people and test your skills with anyone around the world! This game is a must-have for the nostalgic Mortal Kombat fans looking for a blast to the past.

90

Klassic!

danteveli | Nov. 28, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Three epic 2d fighting games on PC. Mortal Kombat at it best before it went 3d. This is collection of first 3 games in the series with 3rd one in the Ultimate edition. Its probably all you need for hours and hours of fun wit many characters. All your favorite brutalities, fatalities are there. Also some babality and even friendship. This is the complete package for fans. Only thing you can have against it is that its a bit bare bones. Some additional features would be cool. Still for that price its a must have.