Reviews for XCOM: Enemy Unknown – Slingshot Content Pack

25

Weak DLC

TheBulletMagnet | March 6, 2014 | See all TheBulletMagnet's reviews »

This DLC is exactly what I don't like about the new XCOM. It's a series of three missions that take place in China where a triad member defects to XCOM with a piece of alien tech. There are no weapons, soldier type or aliens and instead is based entirely around a three mission story. If you complete all three levels then you get the loot you would from capturing a battleship which can allow you to completely break the tech tree with top tier equipment. The reception of this was so bad that the planned second DLC ended up being merged into Enemy Within.

The difficulty of the missions is poorly balanced as the first mission has a number of relatively powerful enemies that have scripted spawns so it is a total breeze on repeat plays. The subsequent levels have a massive difficulty spike with the second level potentially being the hardest level in the new XCOM including Enemy Within.

65

For those looking for a little something extra

taigatsu | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

It's easy to take a quick look and dismiss this add on. A trio of new missions, a hero unit and a couple new options for appearance doesn't seem like a lot for a DLC pack. The missions themselves aren't particularly noteworthy. In the base game, they come so early that they actually provide a higher risk than some players might be comfortable with, although this has been remedied for owners of the new Enemy Within expansion. The hero character himself has unique dialogue in combat, but behaves just like any other unit.

The biggest reason to get this DLC is if you're the kind of person who bought the Elite Soldier pack; it offers multiple new ways to kit out your soldiers with new hats, helmets and armor skins. You're not missing much if you skip the missions, but for anyone who is looking for even more ways to add some personality to your operatives, this add on is worth it.

65

This DLC dosen't add much

DaranV | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all DaranV's reviews »

Having immensely enjoyed the main game, I bought this add-on to extend the fun. The problem with this DLC is that it initiates at the start of the game in exchange of the typical council missions so you cannot add this to your current game progress; you have to start afresh. The actual missions with the exception of the third mission are completely new and offer a refreshing change of pace to the other missions in the main game. The third mission you are likely to have played or to play again if you encounter a battleship UFO in the main game with the difference being in the slight change in the layout of the level. As you begin these missions relatively early on in the game, these missions are quite challenging. But the rewards are plentiful once you complete them and can offer a relatively good position to tackle the rest of the game with plentiful resources and an experienced heavy solider. The problem is that until you complete these three missions, you cannot play normal council missions even if you choose to skip it making you lose out on a good opportunity to reduce panic or gain rewards from these council missions. It would have been good if the game offered a choice between the DLC missions and normal council missions. Furthermore the game is relatively short, you can complete the three missions easily within a hour or hour and a half. To me, it's therefore not worth dishing out more than £5 for - I would suggest purchasing it if a) only if you plan on doing another playthrough and b) you can get it in a sale.

60

Take it or Leave it DLC

StormGryffen | Jan. 7, 2014 | See all StormGryffen's reviews »

Slingshot is one of those “take it or leave it” DLC’s that doesn’t add a lot of content but enhances the game a little. You get a new heavy soldier who has a unique health bonus and if he survives the final mission of the game you get an achievement. You get a little variety thrown in by way of some new missions that are each a one-time deal, and you get some UFO parts earlier than you would if you didn’t have the expansion. In my opinion, the expansion is worth five US dollars or so and adds just enough to be new and interesting but it isn’t a must-have.

Like all expansion content mission sets that have been released for the X-com reboot thus far, you can disable the new missions on subsequent play-throughs via the advanced options menu.

80

A slingshot-full of new content

RixRaw | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all RixRaw's reviews »

The Slingshot Content Pack for X-COM: Enemy Unknown adds a slingshot-full of new council missions and a recruitable unique soldier to the game. While the new missions truly stand out from the council missions that came with the base game, they are unfortunately few in number. The DLC also upsets the balance somewhat, as these new missions aren't as difficult as the ones you'd normally encounter and thus provide some fast and easy ranks for your soldiers. Should this bother you, you may choose to start a new playthrough without the DLC content. The Slingshot Content Pack definitely has a place in the library of every X-COM fan as it is a very enjoyable although slightly overpriced DLC.

85

A must have dlc.

boesgaard | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all boesgaard's reviews »

As the title states. Slingshot adds high risk, high reward senarios early on. First thing first. This is a DLC not an expansion. If you're expecting loads of new content, you'll be disapointed. When you view it as a DLC which will add a little more content and backstory to an otherwise great game, then this becomes a must have.

70

Decent enough

bills6693 | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all bills6693's reviews »

It adds 3 interesting missions which are harder than anything else you'd face at that point in the campaign, but also offer rewards above what you'd be expecting to get then too. So a good risk-reward.

However its nothing revolutionary. The 'story' of it isn't great. The missions are fun enough and a bit different, so that's good, but they replace council missions until you complete the last one of the three, which you may want to hold off on for a while, which means you do lose out on that opportunity.

88

X-COM IS BACK!

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

I'm afraid "old school" x-com fan boys are scaring away people from this game. I see so many old school fans complain about how "This game isn't as good as the original" and 0 out of 10 because the original is better and this sucks". That's not fair. I'm not bashing old school fans, but just because the remake/reboot isn't as good doesn't make it crap. Go play the original all you want! But don't drag this game down because of it. I am aware this game has some issues. Such as the bulls*it free move aliens get during your turn, and some crash to desktop bugs (which are extreamly rare.) But that doesn't make this game bad. Aside from those problems, i sit and play this game for hours at a time. Its fun and addicting. You also get attached to your soldiers, and get legitimately sad or pissed off when they die. All in all, its problems held it back from being the best game of last year, but it still one of my favorites.

65

Good things, bad things

UndefinedM | June 5, 2013 | See all UndefinedM's reviews »

The good things: You get a few new missions that look different than the others, along with some customization options for your soldiers, and a hero unit with his own backstory. The bad things: You only get that. Three missions, a new unit which you might not have the need for. Sure, the missions are nice but once you play them once, that's it. While the game itself has some replayability the DLC missions are always the same, in every playthrough.

Basically, get it if you just can't have enough XCOM and even better if you can get a deal on it.

76

Don't missed it...

myposterior | May 30, 2013 | See all myposterior's reviews »

Ok, just an advice to those who are getting to get this or already got this.

When you are playing XCOM and when the chance comes to play the mission, you must choose to play the mission. If you decline it that's it you cannot go back and play the mission. So you must accept the mission.

80

Really not as bad as people say

BurroCaralho | March 29, 2013 | See all BurroCaralho's reviews »

XCOM is easily in my top 3 of 2012 and when this DLC was released it got pretty panned. I finally bought it in a sale here on GMG and i have to say i don't know what the fuss is about. I think it adds a great deal of variety early on in the game. You get three missions on three new, excellent, large maps and considering that they happen early in the game and have some advanced aliens, they are very challenging and very rewarding. The only thing i don't like about it is that you can't customize the soldier you get from it in any way, not really sure why not. Despite this, well worth the money i spent on it and this is exactly what i expected from a DLC, i don't know what other people expected from an XCOM DLC.

80

The Good, the Bad, and the Balance

Guardian412 | Jan. 28, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

XCom: Enemy Unkown was my personal GOTY 2012, so I waited for the expansion so much and while it is expanding the already great game, unfortunately it's killing the balance as well, which is good and bad - it depends on how we look at it. It is good, because Slingshot DLC is giving greater challenge in the beginning, such as fighting with Rookies against some Mutons or even Chrysalids with standard, basic weapons. Its challening and giving the usual tense atmosphere. But it is bad, because it is killing the balance of the core game as you have a chance to get some researches much earlier as you should. Plus, you also get a powerful Lt. character into your group, who is not bad at all, but his presence is also killing the balance a bit. The DLC is giving new achivements, and new customizable options to your armors, which is good, especially if you love to play with these things. The three maps and some new cutscenes coming with Slingshot DLC are fun, the missions are great, even they're a bit short. But they're challenging, especially if you play on Ironman Classic or above.

While others say its overpriced, I won't say that, but I never used to complain about the price of a game, because I respect the work of others. People have worked on Slingshot DLC and we pay for their work. And what you may get for this price these days? Not even a movie ticket for a movie, which is shorter and less exciting than this DLC. If you'd like to get more content and more challenge for XCom, I would say, get it. Its a quality material. But if you measure the games by their price instead of their content or the experience, maybe you should wait for a deal or skip this DLC, especially if you'd like to keep the balance of the original game.

60

Too expensive...

julio77777 | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all julio77777's reviews »

While the content of this DLC is enjoyable (especially the 3 new missions and corresponding maps) this is way overpriced for so few content.

As for the new crew member he is nothing special.

Wait for a deal on this one.

40

$5 too much

Scorpy | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Although the asking price of $7 seems low for DLC, there isn't enough content to even justify a price over $2. The added Council missions are just that... Council missions. The added missions don't feel like they're a part of the game and you rarely even get to play them. The only content readily available is the addition of an asian squad member and a few new customization options.

Wait until it drops in price.

50

Not Worth The Price.

Coolicy | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

The game itself is EXCELLENT. Hands down best turn-based strategy game I've ever played. This pack, however, is extremely overpriced. All you get are some new helmets, 3 new "council" missions and a new asian heavy-class squad member.

The council missions add some freshness to the games as, if you're like me, you're bored of the existing maps by now. The maps added are fun, mostly because they're novel though.

I dislike that the new missions are council missions, as they don't happen very often. I'd much prefer adding new random maps into the mix. XCOM itself is an extremely fun game, this game adds some freshness to a stellar game. Get it only if you're a dedicated fan. Otherwise, this price of admission is a little too steep.