Reviews for Towns

72

Very fun but occasionally very frustrating game

giftiger_wunsch | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all giftiger_wunsch's reviews »

This is a great game if you enjoy being creative and building things; it kept me up into the early hours of the morning more than once while excavating dungeons and having my 'townies' build themselves a nice place to live. But the lack of direct control over the townies' actions can be very frustrating when, for example, they build or dig themselves into a place where they can't escape and you can't easily find them, and then starve to death. One such incident involving 3 of my best-equipped townies is what prompted me to stop playing.

80

Creative, but...

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game has the identity to become something great, however the current customisation (or different types of blocks) isn't as large as I'd like. It's great don't get me wrong, but it could be so much better - it's just not intricate enough. I love the aspect of being able to craft houses and differentiate between different levels and using water, and the map is rather large. It is good, but there's more that needs to be added to it.

67

A bit complicated

friendbear | July 31, 2013 | See all friendbear's reviews »

When you first start the game, theres not much to it. You start a town, you have villagers. Your main goal is to just create a Town like the title says. But this game is deeper than that. You have to actually take care of everything, and its difficult to understand. You can't automatically just "get it". However, the actual game is a good, creative idea. I like the concept very much, but its just complicated.

85

A gem once you know how to play it

Vinken | July 5, 2013 | See all Vinken's reviews »

This is one of my favorite games in recent times. I have already logged in over 300 hours on this game, and it is supposed to only get better in the next few months, since the devs are still developing a lot more content. For me, this game is absolutely playable as it is now (as in NO crashes or loss of savegames), and very enjoyable. The building aspect of this village-simulation is nothing short of great. If you can manage to get something like 50 villagers, you can start building very nice and efficient towns. It made me think creatively like never before. The other aspect of the game, the part where there will be heroes coming to your town that will help you clear out the dungeons under your village, isn't as polished as the building/management part. However it is already a lot of fun, and if they can implement half of what it still planned (events, hero shops!), it has the potential to become a great underground adventure with some nice RPG-light touches. For now, I would advice anyone with patience and a craving for village building and management to get this game immediately. Hang in there your first few hours, watch some video's and read tutorials, and you will be rewarded with an excellent game at a very low price.

82

Very immersive beginning

xzenith | June 21, 2013 | See all xzenith's reviews »

Was just checking out the demo of the game and got so hooked into playing it that I bought the game!

Gameplay : The game starts out as a very interesting survival game where your townies are thrown into various environment left to fend for themselves. This gives the players a lot of freedom to learn about the game mechanics and create their own world, this is where the game stands out. As the game progress, you are force to delve deeper and deeper into the underground to find required the required minerals to propel your town much like terraria. This is when the best part of the game, being that the world is random, starts turning into its major drawback. The unstricted progression of the game maybe turn into a living nightmare for players who are too adventurous, up to the point where burying the town maybe the only option.

Visual: The visuals of the game are in short cool! It reminded me of the old school jrpg games. The different tiles are diverse enough to allow players create a town of their liking.

Overall: This is a great game for those who enjoy minecraft and terraria! The game starts of great, but is a bit lacking when you start exploring into the deeps. With a little more time for the developers to come out with extra contents, this game is most certaintly great to get!

80

Try it out it's good!

Plasros | June 14, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Gameplay: If you ever tried Dwarf fortress you should know how this game is played, and how you build a successful town on top of a dungeon while sometimes besieged by monsters and ghosts, which is hard by the way. Graphics: Looks unfinished, but well the art-style fits and it isn't entirely bad. Bad things: The UI needs some work, the priorities of the townies seem kinda broken sometimes, and some sprites look like placeholders. Great game, and despite its unfinished state, a really fun experience.

73

Alright, has potential

jerryhsiao | May 26, 2013 | See all jerryhsiao's reviews »

The game is like a combination of dwarf fortress, along with minecraft/terraria graphics. It has a nice game progression script, but the AI isn't the best out there. Within the game, certain actions/orders you place aren't placed in right priority, even when you manage them in the "priorities" panel. The game itself has great potential, if only your townspeople wouldn't keep wandering off to the forests to get themselves stuck.

55

Has Potential, But is Not Quite There

Mayor_McCheese | May 1, 2013 | See all Mayor_McCheese's reviews »

Fair warning, Towns is developed by a small team that does not release updates very often. Despite this, the game does fill a niche for those who love their rogue-likes, and this it does well enough, but there are numerous glaring issues that plaque this game.

For starters the game is very user unfriendly. I'm not just referring to the lack of tutorials, but the UI, controls, and camera as a whole is something you will need to wrestle with. If you're accustom to Dwarf Fortress, chances are you will be more at ease with the transition; however, for the average player this is going to be clunky and unintuitive.

Another major problem is the AI. It's just not very good. Expect to see your residents dash off and die to something off-screen until you learn to better control them. Expect to see your residents run to the deepest dungeon chambers to grab a building resource that you have en massed topside only to die one by one trying to recover their fallen brethren. The AI is the life blood of this kind of game and you will be frustrated with the little nuisances that eventually add up.

There's many more issues without delving into bugs, and I'm sure these will eventually be addressed. The key word is eventually. Given the nature of Dwarf Fortress-like games, these need to be updated constantly. If you're really in dire straits for a graphical DF, look to the far superior Gnomoria.

Towns has promise, but it's just not there yet.

79

A brainchild of Dwarf fortress with graphics

dawe | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all dawe's reviews »

This could almost be Dwarf Fortress with a graphics mod. The main difference being the simplificated processes and the fact that you're controlling humans. This is not necessarily a bad things if you like DF but can't stand having to restart all the time due to your dwarfs dying in fascinating ways. Anyhow, as this game is in alpha/beta stage it is lacking in som areas, but remarkably complete in others. So if you can't stand the occasional bugs and that everyones seems to get all their nutrition from eating bread go ahead and build your town worthy of some good heroes to clean up those trashy mobs!

80

A really fun experience.

fable2 | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

If you ever tried Dwarf fortress you should know how this game is played, and how you build a successful town on top of a dungeon while sometimes besieged by monsters and ghosts, which is hard by the way. Graphics: Looks unfinished, but well the art-style fits and it isn't entirely bad. Bad things: The UI needs some work, the priorities of the townies seem kinda broken sometimes, and some sprites look like placeholders. Great game, and despite its unfinished state, a really fun experience.

99

Life-Sucking Isometrix Pixely Bliss

shinokorosha | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all shinokorosha's reviews »

I still remember the games of my childhood. I remember long hours spent playing things like SimAnt, SimTowner, and of course, SimCity 2000. Oh Maxis, you and the crazy things you had us do... I remember one particularly fun Amiga-based castle building game with loading times which by today's standards would be considred abysmal but which I patiently waited through time and time again to build bigger and bigger elaborate castles and villas. All this building and I never stopped to think about the people "inside" Those castles or buildings. Sure you'd hear about them in the paper-flashes that would announce things in SimCity but you never really got to hear/see anything about them in person. Sim Tower, similarly, let you learn about people ocupying certain rooms in your tower to an extent, be them peopel who work or live there. But it still felt kind of disconnected. Where do they go when they're not in the tower? Did new neighbors just move in? I wonder how they feel about that? Nothing really mattered. The ELEVATORS mattered, but not the people.

This game gets it. In this game the HEROES matter, and your little town is there to draw them in, cater to them, and supply them with what they need to delve into that nearby dungeon. I remember playing "Holy Invasion of Privacy: Badman" and thinking "I wonder where all these heroes come from" as I built my dungeon. This game answers that question. Instead of being reverse-dungeon, or hero-based play, though, Towns is... Well it's Town-based Dungeon Adventuring!

How. Crazy. Is. That!!

Seriously. I love this game. Check it out if you like both Sim City and RPG, like most people who dig number crunching, you'll find this title to be your newest time sink.

81

Brilliant Beta

igzaustion | Dec. 31, 2012 | See all igzaustion's reviews »

Towns brilliantly combines city building with a real sandbox experience. The learning curve is steep, and the graphics are what they are, but few games offer more in terms of replayability. Additionally, this game is fairly challenging compared to its competition, and thus will not get boring for quite a while. Good buy if you like Minecraft and Dungeon Keeper, and want a similar, but different experience.

74

An hardcore game

panz3r88 | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Towns is a city builder for gamers that want a real challenge. The game is quite complex:the objective is to create a city and keep the villagers alive.
One problem of the game is that the tutorial is bad and doesn't help to understand well the game mechanics, so at the beginning you will lose only because you don't know what to do. If you play this game sometimes you will think that this is like a beta because there are many bug and many features not well developed

74

A Newbies Review

STJ | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all STJ's reviews »

So I tried the likes of Dwarf Fortress before and I was utterly confused

However recently I have found this game and here is what my first actual 'town' ended up being:

After failing to build a house (Not having learned how to properly place a roof yet) My previous town had been slaughtered by Ghosts...so I swiftly loaded up a new map.Naturally I found the first larger mountain I could and hollowed it out and from there on I had little trouble with any hostile NPCs...That is to say after I locked everyone in there..

There is one certain thing through the whole game that annoyed me.If you had a storage that allowed let's say bones (Which drop anywhere on the map once something dies there) a Villager would run across the map to get it,even when it's surrounded by monsters.Other than this the game was enjoyable and new.You can build anything from small towns,vault type shelters to a giant building housing everything you need (If you so desire and feel like giving your workers something to do for the next couple of hours) The further you dig down the greater treasure expects you...or the Hero that's visiting your town and exploring the dungeons.

I found it to be trial and error for me...but after a few hours I had a nice idea of what I wanted to do,and when I finally managed to do it,I looked at the clock and realized I should've gone to sleep a long time ago.And for me that defines a game as worth playing.

83

Good to see this game on GMG

Mikester7 | Dec. 5, 2012 | See all Mikester7's reviews »

I bought this game early in its development and had a really good time with it. The complexities of Dwarf Fortress was just too much for me, so the simpler and beautiful Towns made me quite impressed.

It is a city building and management game, similar to the economic aspect of games such as stronghold, with added sandbox elements. The game play is slow-paced, but addicting, as sometimes I find myself staring at my workers doing their chores without getting bored.

Towns becoming greenlit on Steam resulted in a quick release, which is a shame to be honest, as the game was, and arguably still is in alpha. The gameplay is still there, but there is plenty of evidence to show that the game isn't finished yet. There is a lack of music tracks and options which is a shame. I think they should have spend quite a few more months developing this game before they released it on Steam.

Either way, for the price tag there is plenty of hours to get out of it and due to this I recommend it for anyone who is a fan of the management genre.

85

A Unique, Evolving Experience

Squiffy | Dec. 4, 2012 | See all Squiffy's reviews »

I've been dabbling with Towns over the past year or so since buying it in an Indie pack in Desura.

Be warned, this game is constantly evolving and shifting, so expect to see some aspects of the game break and fix over time. But the beauty is, also expect to see lots more content and gameplay additions!

Towns works similar to Dungeon Keeper games; you say what areas you want dug, chopped, planted, built, etc and your minions follow the orders over time at their own pace with no direct interaction.

There are a wide variety of building types, and the game thrives on the oldschool strategy game production flow mechanics. Till the soil to plant wheat to grind into flour to bake into bread with water from a well. And that's just a simple resource conversion.

On top of the building and farming, there is adventure. Digging underground leads to hordes of spiders, goblins and more evil. Gear up your guards with crafted or looted armours and weapons and watch your town thrive.

It's definitely a game of patience, learning and some steep difficulty at times. Mismanaging your food production can lead to your town starving to death. But it's a rewarding difficulty, and the game is constantly improving.

Cannot recommend it enough. It's been great watching the game develop.