Reviews for Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

96

The game that we both want and need!

RyanFitz | May 28, 2013 | See all RyanFitz's reviews »

Before I even start the review proper, let me just say that I am not really a big fan of DC at all. Batman is probably the best of the lot, primarily thanks to the eccentric cast of baddies that Batman must go up against - I find the vigilante hero himself a tad on the boring side.

But boy oh boy, this game is amazing.

Combat is beautifully fluid, with easily executed sweeps, leaps and counters. Most of the boss fights are epic and gratifying. Exploration is highly addictive, with a bunch of things to find over the course of your journey. Sound and voice acting are both top notch.

You need to pick this game up, don the cape, and become the Dark Knight. It's one hell of a ride.

99

Arguably the best Batman game ever made

artigkar12 | May 24, 2013 | See all artigkar12's reviews »

This game is pretty good. Even if you are not a fan of Batman there is a good chance that you will like this. The only fault I can think of with this game is the GFWL (Games For Windows Live) requirement. For some that will be a huge negative and for these people I say that you should consider the console versions as a possible alternative if you have a PS3 or xbox 360. Now why would I do that? Because I think this is a game really worth checking out at least once. The rhythm based fighting mechanic, the metorid/catlevania SOTN inspired progression to the game (places are unavailable to you early on until you get equipment that opens it up), the really done stealth mechanics. None of the stuff that is being done in this game is unique, but they are really well done here and for a license game that is not something you often see.

The game also has these Riddler trophies that pad out the gameplay, I honestly thought it was fun to do these so I did all of them within the game. But I did not bother with the Challenge room stuff after spending over 20 hours on the game. Game looked amazing when it came out in 2009 and still holds up. The "detective vision" that Batman has been criticized for being too useful, but honestly I thought it was a minor flaw.

88

Playgrounds for old Bats don't get any better than this

japanac522 | May 19, 2013 | See all japanac522's reviews »

It's true what these fine folks are telling you: Batman Arkham Asylum GOTY is a great game. The game tells a story about the eternal conflict between a caped crusader and the embodiment of chaos, the Joker. And inside this bloody chess match, the old sanitarium Arkam Asylum is a chess board and the poor souls trapped in here are figures ready to be sacrificed or saved in order to achieve victory. Batman AA GOTY plays like a 3rd person action adventure/platform with a game progression borrowed and excellently implemented from Metroidvania style of games. Batman will use all manner of gadgets to dispatch enemies, solve puzzles and open passages to new areas. He is also a master of cracking skulls, which game brilliantly and effortlessly shows with a fluid combat system that looks like a ballet dance when you start stacking combos. The game also looks wonderful, with beautiful architectural set pieces where our hero will slide, glide and fight his enemies, thus making the entire sanitarium feel like a living character in a story. The music and sound effects are top notch with outstanding voice acting and memorable dialogues. The only minus that I can think of is the Game for Windows Live monstrosity that will actively try to impede and stop you from enjoying the game. And let's not forget the ridiculous "limited number of installations" DRM. In conclusion, get this game now and be mesmerized by its story, the characters, great game mechanics and the wicked sense of humor: "Come on boys! He is just one man! One man dressed like a lunatic and armed to the teeth. BWAHAHA... Go get him!"

93

The Start of a Franchise that Recreates Super Hero Gaming

Norriven | May 15, 2013 | See all Norriven's reviews »

Batman's bone-breaking combos are fluid and combat is challenging. Control configuration is convenient but slightly easier to use on console controllers. The gadgets found progressively throughout the game give a good learning curve. Predator mode shows the terror Batman's prey feel as they are picked off one by one. Excellent voice acting brings the characters to life. The island changes as the villains take control. Arkham Asylum's story feels like it is right out of the comic book and fits nicely. Riddler trophies and puzzles are entertaining to discover. Challenge mode is a nice addition along with the models and biographies of each character. Boss fights vary with mechanics, though some are simple and repetitive. PhysX bug on PC can cause BmGame executable to crash.

100

the 1st of the batman series, probably the greatest action game

maddocks2379 | May 13, 2013 | See all maddocks2379's reviews »

Batman: Arkham Asylum is simply amazing, i missed this the first time around. I purchased Arkham city and fell in love with the story, Characters and gameplay.

AA was recently discounted on steam so i grabbed it and started playing and found the game is virtually identical to AC just in a more compacted playing area which probably plays better.

In my opinion The batman games are possibly the finest games made in recent times

90

This Is The Second Best Superhero Game Ever

ronburgundy | May 11, 2013 | See all ronburgundy's reviews »

The only reason this is second best is because it is slightly behind Arkham City. Rocksteady has made such amazing Batman games, and they are now my absolute favourite superhero games ever. They do Batman right in combining awesome combat mechanics, a great story, amazing voice acting, and best of all, kick ass gadgets. Arkham Asylum starts off a little bit slow, but quickly escalates into a game of epic proportions as you really feel like you are the Dark Knight. Some of the puzzles are a little lackluster, but that is made unimportant because of the fighting system in this game. It really makes you want to achieve higher and higher combos because its unbelievably enjoyable. The best Batman game ever, bar none.

85

Sets the standard for superhero games

Antix | April 28, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

Often regarded by many as the better of the two Batman games by Rocksteady, Arkham Asylum takes place in a smaller area than Arkham City but perhaps this creates a more focused adventure and a bigger sense of urgency. It plays very much like a Metroidvania game, i.e. you gradually keep finding gagdets that open up previously closed areas of the place you're exploring. The combat is intuitive and fluid, terrorizing the inmates from the shadows is well implemented and the classic Batman atmosphere shines through the whole game.

An excellent adventure, recommended even for the people who are usually not fans of fiction involving superheroes.

94

Soooo good

MarkDeejay | April 24, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Ah, I've finally managed to upgrade my original Arkham Asylum to the new GOTY edition. Now I could write an entire review explaining how great this game is (which it is !), but since I've already upgraded my existing version I see no reason why I should do this. Actions speak louder than words in this case. This is a game that should be played by any serious gamer, comic book lover or Metroidvania lover. An amazing experience. I envy the person who's going to be playing this for the very first time.

95

I am Vengeance, I am the Night! I am Batman!

Kaieh1234 | April 24, 2013 | See all Kaieh1234's reviews »

My absolute favorite Batman game for sure, the fact it has an essentially linear story, I thought this would put me off playing it, but I bought it on it's release date and I was definitely not disappointed.

The range of enemies that actually appear in the game is not exactly astounding, but while you're exploring Arkham Island, you'll find little traces of all your favorite Batman villains, especially while doing all the little riddle collectables, this was by far my favorite part of the game, the detective side of Batman!

The fighting aspect of this game was pretty solid for me, as I was playing on hard, trying to show off to myself, and my timing is absolutely rubbish, mashing Y on cue wasn't my strong point, but the story is what kept me powering through the game.

This game is definitely painting Batman in a more sinister light, but that's what so many people found charming about this title, the fact Batman wasn't just a detective in his own right, all his martial art training finally shines through with this game.

I absolutely adore this title, and for the amazingly cheap price it stands at today, and if you haven't had the pleasure of playing this game, BUY IT.

The last fact I wanted to point out, goes to Games of Windows Live players, this game does actually come with Xbox Live achievements, which was a massive plus for me, as it gives me a little more incentive to play harder and find collectibles within a game.

93

A great action game, bonus if you watched the 90s cartoon

mugaro | April 6, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

A lot of games now are copying this game's combat system, and with good reason. Great story, great voice acting including a lot of the original voice actors from the 90s cartoon, Batman: The Animated Series, great gameplay, interesting puzzles and some challenging moments.

Recently, steam achievements were added to go along with the GFWL achievements, but they aren't active yet as of 4/5/2013.

A lot of times, you do some detective work and follow a trail to the next clue, which is a lot better way of pointing you toward an objective rather than have a big blaring arrow on the screen or a waypoint marker like in Call of Duty.

The challenges can be pretty fun and really hard, they usually take you to a specific point in the story and have you repeat the fight there only with a bit of variation or set objectives for a gold medal.

As you get all the moves and upgrades for Batman by levelling up, the game increases challenge with you. The upgrade system is very similar to the one used in Deus Ex, or I should say Deus Ex's system is similar to this.

All of the moves are useful, the Riddler challenges can be hard, but well worth the time invested as you get a lot of extra content to look at (ie: comic covers, models, concept artwork) in the main menu.

Overall, great game and well worth the price on sale.

85

Good After a While

ROKET | March 31, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

This game took me forever to finish. I liked it at first but then took a break after losing a bit of interest. Months and months later I went back and forced myself to play and finish it and man was I very pleased with the outcome.

Story: The story here is actually pretty good. You get introduced to many familiar characters and over time build a sense of care for the different characters. The game does well to make sure no character is overbearing and fits well into the small spaces of Arkham Asylum.

Gameplay: The gameplay and animations have a tendency of being ridged from time to time but no other game has had a more solid hand to hand combat system. It was satisfying and you really got a sense of force behind your attacks. You also get a nice variety of gadgets and while some gameplay can be limited and repeated the game did well to mix things up when necessary. You also get a variety of nice upgrades to choose from.

Presentation: The game was very good looking for its time. I liked the voice acting and liked the visual presentation but wasnt blown away. I cant complain about the presentation much and it was great for a hero game like this.

An okay 85/100

90

The Return of the World's Greatest Detective

Jelley | March 25, 2013 | See all Jelley's reviews »

Batman Arkham Asylum is simply an amazing game, combining fluent responsive combat with elements of problem solving, to create and atmospheric and engaging game that is an absolute joy to play. From the start of the game, the player is thrown right into the story, which instantly is reminiscent from to the classic comic books. The joker begins an elaborate plot to hold Gotham City to ransom, and once again it is up to batman to save the day. Along the way, Batman unlocks more combat and stealth options, but also meets more of the inhabitants of Gotham city, many of them classic comic book characters. These unlockable allow for more in-depth combat and puzzle solving scenarios which help to keep the gameplay fresh throughout the play through. Combat is a major strength of the game, which feels responsive to the touch and has just the right amount of user input to seem fair. It is a blast to swoop down from the ceiling, quickly dispatch a thug, and then return to the shadows before a sound is heard. This solid combat is accompanied by an atmospheric art style which amplifies shadows and negative spaces, as well as satisfying sound effects that fit the tone of the game well. The game is paced through a combination of problem solving tasks as well as well produced cut scenes, that showcase the effective graphical style, as well as the stellar voice acting cast, who for the most part reprise their role from the tv show. Batman Arkham Asylum is a must play game for anyone with even the smallest interest in the franchise.

96

A must buy game

zeruz | Feb. 19, 2013 | See all zeruz's reviews »

The game is just awesome, if you are a fan of Batman you'll enjoy this for sure. Even if you're not a fan you'll enjoy it. I think this is the first REAL Batman game I have ever played. If you like action, heroes, and this kind of thing you'll love this game. If you like achievements well, you'll enjoy this game even more. If you like challenges take all the riddles in this game. You must play this game, play it. NOW.

100

I'm Batman!

Stebsis | Feb. 16, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Batman Arkham Asylum is definitely one of the best superhero games ever made, only overshadowed by its sequel, Arkham City(and somewhat by the original NES Batman game :D).

Batman is taking his old enemy Joker once again to the Arkham Asylum, but something goes wrong and inmates are let loose, including all the old enemies of Batman, like Harley Quinn, Killer Croc, Poison Ivy and my favorite Scarecrow. Batman Arkham Asylum is definitely made by Batman fans to Batman fans. It doesn't dumb anything down for people who haven't read Batman comics or watched the movies. It's a real fan treat like no other.

Combat is one of the best parts of the game, the punches have some real weight and you feel like Batman taking down dozen baddies in couple of minutes. Stealth is another big part of the gameplay, and it's really fun. Batman can't take much hit, he's human after all, so if you attack blindly at people with guns you'll get killed quickly.

Boss battles are also really fun, they're varied and reflect on the villains abilities, for example you don't even really battle Scarecrow, but rather try to survive his hallucinations.

Arkham island is a great place, they've made awesome job creating the whole island and the indoors like cells etc.

The only bad thing that really sticks out that enemies don't spawn back. If you take them all out, in the end when finding the hundreds of Riddler quests, you'll just be running all around the place not fighting or sneaking at all which can get a bit boring, but the main story and the journey itself are great experiences. If you like Batman you probably already have gotten this gem and also Arkham City, but if not or you're not that big Batman fan and are still thinking wheter to buy this, definitely get both of them. You'll be a fan after these superb games and they can serve as a great introduction to Batman.

94

Batman Begins

Guardian412 | Jan. 28, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Batman: Arkham Asylum is a stealth action game with a perfect, dark atmosphere, a powerful gameplay and a great storyline set in one of the iconic place of the Batman universe; Arkham Asylum itself. Batman: Arkham Asylum is an excellent game where you truly get THE Batman experience - from playing the predator and hiding in the shadows, through taking down the villains on a non-lethal way, snatching them or knocing them out from above, to using great BatGadgets to investigate scenes or to distract and lure your enemies into a trap.

The memorable and long storyline was written by the Batman cartoon veteran Paul Dini. If you was young in the 90s, you may remember some of the great adventures of the cartoon adventures of Batman, played by the talented voice actors, Kevin Conroy as Batman, Mark Hamill as The Joker and Arleen Soarkin as the blondie Harley Quinn. Now they're all back to give their great voices to our favorite protagonist and antagonists, and they're better than ever.

The visuals of the game is perfect and very detailed, regardless the game is few years old. Every character is recognizable and memorable, every tiny bits is well developed. The action is great, the control is fluid, easy to learn, but you have to practice a lot to master it, especially if you want to be THE Batman, the invisible, silent knight of the night. Batman: Arkham Asylum is the finest comic book game adaptation up to date and the Batman Begins of the video games. It is a game which is highly recommended to those who love the Batman universe and always loved the comic books or even the cartoons.

99

this is the bomb

diecub | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all diecub's reviews »

it's not often that I'm conflicted about a game. Don't get me wrong, review scores are in the eye of the beholder so I'm sure there are plenty of times that you've read something I have written and not agreed with me. I mean that it's rare for me to play a game during a demo and not have a solid idea of what the final product is going to be. I played bits of Batman: Arkham Asylum a few times before I finally got a copy to review, and I always found myself coming away with mixed feelings. I enjoyed the combat and attacking from the shadows, but the pacing seemed off and Batman's movements seemed stiff. Could Rocksteady really pull everything together to deliver on one of DC Comics' biggest franchises?

After having beaten the game, I can tell you the answer is most certainly "Yes."

90

Awesome

captainstark | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

This is the single most powerful video game I have ever played.

Let us start with game-play. The stealth, action and gadget aspects are all top notch. The only flaw here is that the combat is somewhat repetitive. This is the only mark against this otherwise perfect game.

Every villain in this game has been realized and used to the utmost effect. In particular Mark Hamill's Joker is a terrifying beast, who's constant chatter over the megaphones is at the same time disturbing and hilarious.

The single most powerful moment in the game, however, is during one of the confrontations with scarecrow. The reliving of the murder of Bruce's parents genuinely affected me, and made Scarecrow's presence more than another another villain spot.

The points above, combined with beautiful graphics and animation and an engaging, dark storyline, make Batman: Arkham Asylum game of the year material for sure. A must play for anyone.

90

Get this game now

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Jray264's reviews »

I was taken by surprise when I played Arkham Asylum. It manages to blend action and stealth so well and manages to make them both equally as fun. But it doesn't end there, AA also manages to bring a good story, excellent voice acting, and thick atmosphere to the table. The only part this game doesn't do well are the boss fights. They are all the same boring fight. Heck, even the final boss is like the first boss. There are two other bosses that don't take up the same pattern, but are equally as bad. Overall, you need this game. Get it. Like it. Buy your friend a copy.

90

The best Batman game by a long shot.

lushteinas | Jan. 18, 2013 | See all lushteinas's reviews »

I didn't expect much out of Arkham Asylum. It looked like your average action game, but this time involving the caped crusader. And boy was I wrong. It's a perfect mix of stealth and action, with rhythm based combat with the addition of a lot of Batman's gadgets. The story keeps you interested the whole game through and you will meet a lot of the classic Batman villains along the way. The atmosphere is perfect too. My only major gripes with the game are the repetetive nature of the fighting, while the rhythm based punches and dodges are fun, they get old on the second half of the game, and nothing really spices that up. The other gripe are bosses. Most of them are just large brutes who do the classical charge and you know how it goes - you dodge, they smash into a wall, you beat'em up, rinse and repeat. Other than that, this game is really worth your time and money especially if you're a fan of Batman.

92

After Nolan's films the game could not be worst!!

abelfs | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

I heard from friends and magazines that this game was incredible. Once I played it, the high scores are well deserved. You will never get bored with its attractive gameplay and visual style (no mention about are the outstanding Scarecrow moments). The AI in terms of the enemy not being able to see batman when he's right in front of them at times, but really? It's the Dark Knight and when combined with I don't know darkness he shouldnt be to easy to spot. But there was a thing that really pissed me off, and it was that you will find the game a bit "childish" if you compare it with the original comic in which the story is based (the Grant Morrison's and Dave McKean's masterpiece is one of the most twisted and violent stories of Batman).

95

As close as you can get to a perfect game.

boris73 | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all boris73's reviews »

This game has it all, and does it RIGHT. Level design is rich in detail and wonderfully conceived and evocative. The characters are amazingly realised, both in form and some of the greatest voice acting you will ever hear in a videogame. The gameplay is rich and exciting, every combat scenario eagerly looked forward to and a blast to tackle however you decide to do it - will it be wonderfully functional stealth attacks, or wade in with fists flying for some of the most satisfying and deep hand-to-hand combat ever seen in a game?

Virtually flawless gameplay, artistic design and characters aside, you have a rich gameworld to explore with many great locations to see, a great length of gameplay to be had with secrets to find, an engrossing storyline, and utterly brilliantly dark and overbearing atmosphere to lose yourself in.

If you love action games with real substance to them, and fantastic production values, this is a no-brainer. Its a must have.

94

One of the best

Lippe1989 | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

Man, what is this game? We are all glad to receive some awesome Batman movies recently and now we are also blessed to receive a great Batman, but at this time, a Batman game. Forgot the shooters. It is some of the games that you take you from the shooters as Darksiders or Devil May Cry do and gives you an opportunity to play something different, something more. Well, this Batman is very very awesome. The villains as Joker, Killer Croc, Scarecrow and others are there doing the worst and crazy things. They are very interesting as the Batman is. The environment is not that fool and funny but something more dark, as the new Batman movies. Of course that is funny but in a different way, more mature. The gameplay is fabulous with a lot of combos and the things that only Batman has. The graphics are wonderful. You will only need to see a picture to notice that. It is a very well done game by Rocksteady. I really think that is impossible to someone to do not like this game. I strongly recommend this game to anyone. Strongly.

85

This is a must-have for anyone who enjoy action games.

Queiroz | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Queiroz's reviews »

This game was a big surprise. No one expected such a great game based on DC Comics. They have done it right! This game is absolutely amazing, and everyone who enjoys action games, must play this one too. The graphics, story, and gameplay are awesome! This game already became a classic! What are you waiting for? Buy it and play!

92

Well done Rocksteady

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Fantastic game, excellent story, very atmospheric and lovely graphics which look good even on a moderate PC. Thankfully we don't have to hear Batman's beginnings for the millionth time, the game starts with Joker in chains in Arkham Asylum and all hell lets loose from there. The fights are challenging if a little basic but do develop as you unlock more powers, great that you can tackle each area in your own way, you can glide kick in from a gargoyle in the ceiling and let the fists fly or take the baddies out one by one, picking them off silently and laying explosive gel on an in-mate so you can blow his buddy when he comes investigating or silent inverted takedowns... the choice is yours. The game of the year version can be picked up very cheaply now making this even more of a bargain. It's not a long game if you just follow the story through on easy/normal but play on hard and try to complete it 100% with all the collectibles/riddles and you have a much more substantial game, plus there are lots of extras, surviving wave after wave of baddies Left for Dead style for high scores is great fun and not something I'd usually bother with. Even if you choose not to dabble with these the game is worth it for the main story alone plus seeing one of the best incarnations of Joker... and Scarecrow is frightening good. It does use Games for Windows Live which we all know sucks but after the initial setup has worked flawlessly so far so can't complain. Not only one of the best Batman games of all time but a really polished affair that shows how superhero games can be tackled in a mature way, well done Rocksteady Studios.

90

An Action-Stealth Game Without Compromise

Shrykeabyss | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all Shrykeabyss's reviews »

Arkham Asylum does what very few games have done before. It manages to merge great stealth sections with an innovative brawling system without making either one feel forced.

The most enjoyable sections in Arkham Asylum were, I found, the times where you are swinging around a room with half a dozen of the Jokers armed henchmen looking for you, and getting more and more nervous as you take down their allies one by one. The combat is also incredibly enjoyable, where you chain together combos and counter attacks to most effectively take down your opponents.

The amazing thing is that these two opposing styles work so well together, where getting detected during a stealth section never results in an immediate game over, always giving you a chance to retreat to the shadows after knocking some sense into your pursuer, while not making you feel like you've done something wrong.

Of course, the game does have a serious downside, which is the absolutely atrocious boss fights. The game tries to find ways to raise the stakes above fighting regular henchmen, but ultimately fails. The best, if still quite bad boss fights, just involve beating up legions of goons until Batman defeats the main enemy in a cutscene, while the worst ones usually introduce a mechanic solely for that one fight, and then never using it again. The worst offender has to be Killer Croc, where you beat him by walking around very slowly. I feel the boss fights would have been much better off if they had attempted to focus them around the initial mechanics for combat and stealth.

But none of that is enough to stop me from recommending Arkham Asylum, with it's great cast of villains led by an excellent Mark Hamill as the Joker, to anyone, even if you've never been interested in the Batman franchise before.

92

Great game in its own right

CJV | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

Batman Arkham Asylum is probably the best comics adaptation to videogame yet (ignoring the sequel). A must-play for any Batman fan and highly recommended for any action/adventure fan. The story is pretty entertaining, though it may not please people who don't know the comics. The combat is very engaging and satisfying. The graphics look gorgeous. Bottom line, just play this.

90

It's like a brand new way of playing

MorphineBear | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all MorphineBear's reviews »

This game is one of the best I've seen, visually and gameplay wise. The attack styles are near-perfect and combos are easy to connect. The story is decent and even the voice acting is pretty darn good.

I'm really not surprised that this game has scored well with other game critics.

There are some small glitches that don't affect the game but make some scenes look weird. Nonetheless, a very, very good game.

89

great game

derangedboar | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all derangedboar's reviews »

Batman has some great controls and pretty decent setup for the story. Has some great twists and some great hidden parts. I wont give anything away but its a great game and a must buy for the price.

95

One of the best action games ever!

hannibal_king | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all hannibal_king's reviews »

We waited a long time for that kind of game for years and finally it arrived. It was totally a suprise for all of us because Arkham Asylum is almost amazing in every directions. Game has a great combat system. It's funny because it's a very easy system. When you play you just realise that how nobody did that before. Thanks to unreal engine graphics are amazing too. And when you put a great story too, you just got that kind of amazing game. Thank you Rocksteady.

90

Batman Kick ass!!!

crazyspike | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all crazyspike's reviews »

This is one of the game you thinking "another STUPID move conversion". Well this game is Awesome!!!!! Very good history and lots of hours to play (30h for main quest, about 50h or 60h to get all achievements). You play as Batman and must stop bad guy Joker. You see Batman from behind, nice slasher/combo system, sneak or go assault your choice! Very good graphics and sounds. In clean mind i can recommend this game. Buy it!!

84

Nice Game

Angeluzian | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

I can really see what the fuss was about this game when I first saw it. I played it. I loved it. It's simpler than Arkham City, and it's not bad. Good voice acting, and good setting. Batman fans will love it, fighting fans would aswell.

96

Very good surprise

antonioli84 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

I have to confess that I am becoming more and more tired of shooter games. Sometimes I really like to play something different like a Darksiders ou Yakuza. And I had a good surprise with Batman. It's a solid game and very well done. It captures the new Batman atmosphere and has a gameplay that I have no words to describe. I recommend everyone to buy and spend a lot of hours delighting with this masterpiece.

95

One of the best game with some new maps

panz3r88 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

The GOTY edition of Batman Arkham Asylum contains one of the best action games of the last years. The story is really interesting and if you are a Batman fan you recognize many of the enemies you will face during the game. There are sections where you must use a stealth approach and other where you must use all your fighting skills to defeat the various enemies. The possibility to use many different gadgets increase the variety of the game and allow to introduce some simple puzzle. In the GOTY edition there are four additional challenge maps, separated from the main game, where you can test your fighting skills.

89

The best Batman game

owned2260 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all owned2260's reviews »

Not only the best best Batman game, it's also one of the best games of the generation. The combat system is just amazing, and will make you feel like a badass, and the story is very good, and is made much better with most of the voice actors from the animated series. However the game is very linear, and the only reason to go off the beaten path is to get riddler trophies, which can get annoying after a while.

90

Great game from someone who doesn't like Batman.

overburning | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all overburning's reviews »

I do not like batman, and yet I love this game. Story is great, the world is filled with details and easter eggs, and Joker once again steals the show. The FreeFlow combat system is perhaps the best I've ever played, every punch/kick is so satisfying. My only criticism is the boss battles, which pretty much follows the same formula, and that the game sorta forced you to go back to previous area for collectibles.

84

Holy **** this is amazing!

HowieGaming | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all HowieGaming's reviews »

Just bought this game last week, and I've got to say, NEVER have a game kept me so entertained for so long. I think I just hit the 50 hour mark and it's still fun as hell. Thank you very much GMG for the cheap game.

88

How Batman should be made

Takeshi_K | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Takeshi_K's reviews »

Arkham Asylum is one of those games where I've been thinking about how cool it would be to have such a game, but I never expected it to be made. And then Rocksteady goes and makes it, and simply blow the rest of us away. It's different from Arkham City because it has a much simpler and concentrated one. If you are a fan of TAS, then definitely check this game out. If you are simply a fan of high quality action-adventure games then definitely also.Personally played through it several times because of how good it is. The gritty settting, amazing voice acting and addicting gameplay. Play it, you won't be disappointed.

98

Better than I anticipated

Irony314 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Irony314's reviews »

This game was recommended to me by a friend, so I finally bought it to make him happy; and I couldnt put it down! Firstly I have to commend the involving storyline. I have a short attention span and it keeps me entertained. The graphics, of course are quite nice. Then the gameplay, is also excellent. Varied gadgets and attacks, from dropping from the sky to front on attacks to laying explosives to stealth takedowns. Definitely recommend to any fan of batman, or dark games; or stealth; or non-lethal attacks. Definitely much better than I was expecting, and totally worth the full price.

93

Amazing Port

nintendo97 | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all nintendo97's reviews »

I hate GFWL, but it's worth it for such a great series. The world is smaller than Arkham City, but the story is really good. The Joker is a captivating villain, just like in the comics. Buy it and play it before Arkham City. They both can stand on their own, but they're better when played in order.

95

The Bat Simulator

vinelander | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all vinelander's reviews »

There is no better way to say it: This is the Batman Simulator. If you sit down, turn off the lights, and put on some headphones you truly get a sense of being Bruce Wayne. There's a certain weight to the game. The batarangs feel like you're throwing something solid. Perching up on a gargoyle gives you feeling of hunting your prey. Putting you in the mindset would already be a huge step for any developer, but they layer on even more by really making you feel trapped on Arkham. The odds are hundreds to one but it's OK. You're Batman.

In regards to controls, I think the game definitely takes use of a controller. Everything is mapped well and enables you to use gadgets in combat, though not as intuitively as I'd like. Still, the free flow combat they use has been cribbed by other games, and I think that's the best stamp of approval.

Now go, Dark Knight.

95

A batman adventure

insane11 | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all insane11's reviews »

An amazing game, especially when using the PC version coupled with Nvidia 3D vision. My only gripe is that you end up spending the majority of the play time in black&white (due to investigative mode). Even though, it's still an immensely joyable game with outstanding visuals, modeling, animation, etc...

Recommending that game!

96

Amazing game

fatolcay | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all fatolcay's reviews »

I loved playing this amazing thing. Even though it uses GFWL it is pretty easy to load up and play. It is not incredibly taxing to a computer and it is an amazing game. The things you can pull off with your combos and counters and interesting gadgets make this game one of my all time favourites.

96

One of best games of this generation

locodocs | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all locodocs's reviews »

Batman AA is one of the best games of this generation, in this game all surprising, since the upgrades available for your items to the characters in this game (Joker is more sarcastic than ever), many hours of gameplay if you chase collectibles and make challenges. I recommend

91

Game nearly has everything.

eMP3Danie | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all eMP3Danie's reviews »

I am not clued up on the whole Batman story and this game gave me a great insight into Bruce Wayne's world, its fast its fun and it looks great.

The combat is fluid and the story line thick with twists and turns.

Unfortunately for some this game utilizes Games for Windows Live and with that brings some trivialities but don't let that stop you from picking it up!!

95

A great game

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

The first Batman game I played, but still the best. A good graphic, a lot of gadgets, an interesting story are the ingredients for this delicious cake. The main story is about twenty hours long, taking all riddles and solving all puzzles. But the amazing thing is that you'll never be tired to play, thanks to the great plot and some nice challenges the game presents you. After you'll finish the campaign, well, there are combat and predator challenges. I beat'em all but it's hard. The Game of the Year Edition includes the additional challenges and some things available only preordering the game.

90

Surprisingly fun combat!

Coolicy | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Hit, get combos, and counter when enemies flash, sounds simple right? It actually sounds more simple than it really is, the enemy variants, the amount of gadgets you get to use make the combat very fun.

I didn't understand all the hype from the Batman Arkham City, but if this game (the predecessor) is already so much fun, I can only imagine how fun the sequel is.

Normally games from licensed properties tend to disappoint, and Rocksteady (before this game) wasn't exactly a well-known studio. I am truly glad that this is an exception from the norm. Rocksteady is now a worthy studio on my radar, and I can't wait to buy the Arkham City at a bargain price (because I'm cheap!)

98

One of the greatest stealth adventure games ever created

rstokes | Dec. 5, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

This is a perfect example of how to make a superhero game, and not make it suck. The controls are tight and responsive, the graphics are great even by todays standards, the stealth actually functions as stealth should (you dont feel like you are trying to sneak past somebody with a mental handicap or inversely an eagle eyed henchmen), and the replay value on this game is among the highest of any game I have played.

Easily one of the greatest games I've ever been privileged to play

97

Unexpectelly great game

oginer | Dec. 4, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

When I tried this game I wasn't expecting much, to be honest. I tough it would be an average superhero game, but oh how wrong I was. It's one of my all time favourites games. The story is engaging, the graphics still hold up today, superb voice acting, and great game play. Special mention to the combat system, one of the best third person combat systems ever. It's fast, very good looking, and very responsive. Batman is able to do tons of different movements, based on relative position between you and the enemy, and also making use of the environment.

There's also a good amount of thing to do besides the main story: from collectibles to riddles, some of them quite hard.

Very recommended game.

90

The predecessor for Arkham City

darkmajki | Dec. 4, 2012 | See all darkmajki's reviews »

As many of you know it, Arkham Asylum is a predecessor to Arkham City, and I advice you all to get them both in order to fully enjoy this series. Arkham Asylum features a small gameworld but a lot of interesting missions, riddles and has a really good story that can suck you in from the beginning. Boss fights are a lot of fun too and some of them are a bit challenging(but not much).Although it is great there are some cons like: it uses Windows Live, and it isn't so great port. Other than this I really reccomend you to buy this game. You won't be wrong if you do!