Reviews for Spec Ops: The Line (ANZ)

70

Great narrative held back by sloppy design choices.

Maghook | Jan. 31, 2014 | See all Maghook's reviews »

Spec Ops: The Line is a great game that is unfortunately held back by so many glaring technical issues. The most obvious one being where the audio completely cuts out randomly during certain cut-scenes, completely destroying the immersion. I'm now forced to load up a YouTube video in order to understand whatever plot point I'm missing. The second biggest issue is the squad mates' artificial intelligence; there will be times where they just stand around and do nothing or run straight into enemy fire and immediately die, leaving you to revive both of them. This becomes quite frustrating on higher difficulties.

On the upside, my favourite feature about this game is its attention to detail. For instance, I'm playing a level inside what appears to be a museum. Enemies have met us in a firefight and there's a large skeletal Tyrannosaurus Rex over in the corner. I direct my squad mates to target an enemy and, to my surprise, my character yells out something extremely specific like, "Enemy by the T-Rex!" where I'd mostly expect a very generic and vague response. This continues throughout the entire game and is quite a nice change from most other team-based shooters, showing just how the developer really put a lot of thought into their game.

99

Dispondant or tired of military shooters? Play. This. Game.

Bokoblin23 | Dec. 15, 2013 | See all Bokoblin23's reviews »

This game is essentially the "Apocalypse Now" of Video Games - both figuratively and literally.

In the literal sense, the game is a loose adaptation of Joseph Conrad's "Hear of Darkness", of which the film "Apocalypse Now" was also based.

In the figurative sense, this game has the same gravitas in it's depiction of war, violence and humanity as many classic anti-war films of our time.

Try not to spoil the plot before playing this game, though, as the narrative beats and use of choice to impact the player is exceptional.

The game play isn't perfect, but that doesn't matter, it's an intense experience that will draw you in and mess with your head.

If you consider games an art form, you owe it to yourself to play Spec Ops: The Line

100

A game for our generation.

imasquare | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all imasquare's reviews »

There are very few games I will ever give 100/100, ignoring multiplayer that is. I won't mention multiplayer as it was completely unnecessary to slap it on top of this masterpiece of story telling and self analysis on many aspects of human psyche, war and even violence in gaming itself.

That may sound a bit heavy, and it is, but you may not even notice the heavier elements of the game.

The gameplay elements of combat are fun, engaging and challenging enough to players. You won't find anything new in terms of gunplay here, but it's a perfectly refined third person shooter that will have you headshotting 'bad' guys with satisfactory results against challenging AI in dynamic environments.

The game may be short, I've played it through twice and had 10 hours of some of the most engrossing and visually impressive gameplay you will have.

If you are a gamer you must buy this to experience this masterpiece first hand and understand what all the talk is about.

75

You haven't played a shooter with a story like this before

Dez | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all Dez's reviews »

My title was going to be, "you haven't played a shooter like this before", but that would be kinda incorrect, because the mechanics of this game are in some respects pretty typical, which I believe was deliberate to make gamers feel more comfortable in the opening stages of the game and as a further point for the commentary this games story makes about modern military shooters in general. If you've seen the much publicized "White Phosphorus" bit of Homefront, imagine that sequence but with actual weight and emotional effect when this game hits its stride. If you don't feel uncomfortable and unsettled while experiencing this game, there is something wrong with you, you are probably a psychopath. Its great food for thought about what you do in Modern Military shooter campaigns and I recommend it to my friends. Also apparently the multiplier was alright but I was a bit late to get in on that, setting up a game with half a dozen fiends might net some good times.

80

It's all about the story and journey!

GeckoCox | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all GeckoCox's reviews »

I've seen some pretty bad reviews about this game,but having played the demo and liking it I decided to take a punt after seeing it on special. After finishing it,I can honestly say this is a great game. Pretty impressive graphics,awesome storyline that actually makes you feel guilty and immersed in the game,different scenario's depending on the choices you make,good main characters and the mechanics/feeling/sound fx of shooting the gun's feels really nice. The game for me is slightly unoptimised with a well known stutter through out which thankfully isn't during key moments and the cover/vault system is fussy and could've done with improvement. All in all,I will be playing this game through again because I enjoyed it that much and to unlock the relatively easy trophies and to see what happens when I make different choices.

75

Good story.

Boxhobo | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Boxhobo's reviews »

Spec Ops seems on the surface to be a typical modern military shooter, but it really isn't. Gameplay is a bit on the generic side but the story is really well done and seriously makes you think. It was a bit short though.

88

Not for everyone, but an interesting Journey

RHatcherMD | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all RHatcherMD's reviews »

It's nice to see, in this age of jingoistic multiplayer military shooters, a game with an interesting take on war games as entertainment.

Absolutely no feel-good factor here, just a tragic descent. Think of it as All the best war movies (Apocalypse now, Jarhead etc) mashed up with heart or Darkness, set in a beautifully rendered yet devastated dubai.

By the end of the short campaign, you won't feel like the hero, you won't get a power trip out of any of this. You will however be glad that you are'nt the main character.

I have'nt played any of the multiplayer, but I would recommend this game based on it's single player campaign, to any who is interested in shooters, but even more so in games that tell an interesting story, without pulling punches.

87

Masterful Story Hidden in Standard Shooter Mechanics.

papazdo | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all papazdo's reviews »

This game is absolutely incredible. It is a lot of fun to play, the weapons and gameplay all feel familiar if you are used to cover based shooters. The story and level progression are very linear although this is where the game's story really tricks you. The gameplay does not stand out, but it all holds together very well in all aspects.

The marketing and presentation of Spec Ops make you feel like you are expecting a normal standard generic shooter. You begin the game and of cause start attacking the enemy. Although this is one of the first games that I've ever played, that make you really question what you are doing and whether killing the enemy is justified. Saying much more may really spoil the experience, but completing the story is well worth the journey.

The game should only take around 5-6 hours to complete, though it can be replayed. As the story is so good it is well worth repeating to delve deeper.

The game works very well and should run well across most systems with a decent graphics card. The game also looks gorgeous running at high settings. Not because of any high textured details, but because of the excellent art direction and level design. It can be quite breathtaking at times at how pretty this game can get.

Players that enjoy story in video games should defiantly be picking this one up.

91

A Underrated Classic

Davarian | April 26, 2013 | See all Davarian's reviews »

This game is short.

You will finish it in under four hours. There is little to no replay value and you will struggle to find a multiplayer match.

Yet you will never forget Spec Ops, this game will stay with you long after other games from this era have faded from memory.

You will not look at other military games like COD or Medal of Honor the same way again and you will be personally tested by what you see and do in the game.

If you value story, atmosphere and emotion in video games that you must play this game. There really is nothing else out there that will give you a similar experience.