Reviews for Dead Space (NA)

69

Controls and bugs hinder game play in Dead Space

yngdr | Aug. 15, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

Controls are laggy and various bugs in both the game and Origins client hinder game play. The story is great but also lacks a voice to the scene. The graphics are decent but nothing compared with DS2 or DS3. Weapons mods are more scarce then in DS2 but that also leads to greater feeling of dread while playing, to enhance the horror aspect of it. I would definitely wait for a sale or pass on the game and just watch the movie version.

85

Scary fun

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

The game that started it all. Dead Space is a blast to play. The level design was great and the aesthetic design of the ship was really cool. Combat was intentionally frustrating. I mean, you play a miner and not a space marine. He specializes in mining tools, not assault rifles. The weapon selection was a lot of fun, with many different options for slicing up the necromorphs. The story was well put together, I was at the edge of my seat wanting to learn more about what had happened. I've replayed this game dozens of times and I still jump from time to time.

76

Starts out scary, but quickly becomes a shoot-em-up

BlockAgent | July 3, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

I'll start out by saying that this game is fun. I enjoyed playing it and got into it. The graphics are great, the gameplay is good, and it has alot of unique and inventive features. The story is a little thin, but good enough to keep you going. The game starts out as a terrifying experience where you are afraid to look around every corner. I loved that. But then after about the first hour of play, the game quickly became an action oriented shoot-em-up. For me that stripped away all scariness to where even the jump scares that the game was trying to do didn't spook me at all. I wish it could have been scary all the way through, but it was saved by being a good shooter too.

90

Dead Space Review

Darkpeing | April 14, 2014 | See all Darkpeing's reviews »

The Great: -Atmosphere.

The Good: -Story. -Occasional scares keep you hooked up. -Good leveling system.

The Bad: -Some clunkiness in controls. -Occasional bugs and technical flaws.

95

Best Survival Horror in Years

Grenadeh | April 11, 2014 | See all Grenadeh's reviews »

Dead Space is what companies should look to when they want to make a survival horror game. While RE4 allegedly revitalized the genre, Dead Space took the RE4 formula and actually did it right. The story makes sense, whether or not you can draw comparisons to popular science fiction and horror (Event Horizon, Aliens, The Thing, System Shock 2 obviously) unlike Resident Evil at this point. The sound design is absolutely phenomenal and will do more to scare you than the game itself. On top of that, Visceral Games excels at environmental design so every last area you go in will seem natural, and the environment will do plenty to sell you on the story - not to mention it's pitch black in most areas unless you cheat and turn up your brightness. Gameplay is pretty close to the RE4 formula - going so far as to let you upgrade your suit and weapons and buy stuff at convenient stores, but with a focus on "strategic dismemberment" meaning you can and will need to aim correctly at enemies of different types to do the most damage and have the most fun.

There are two flaws with the PC version of this game: It does not have achievements on either Steam or Origin, and the other flaw is with the game itself. Just like RE4, once you are able to upgrade your guns and abilities to a certain extent, the game no longer remains difficult and thus is no longer scary. For that flaw - which makes the game more of an action horror shooter - and for that flaw alone, the game doesn't deserve a perfect score.

86

Scary but in a good way

BlockAgent | March 17, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

This game is wonderfully scary. The kind of scary that makes you creep slowly through the hallways in it and afraid of what could be lurking around every corner. It also is a blast during the action scenes. The graphics are great and the gameplay is great as well. Using v-sync, there is some lag in the controls, but using a keyboard and mouse instead of a gamepad makes the lag alot more bearable. A very fun game and recommended by me.

90

the only one that is worth it

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

i had gotten all the dead space games for pc in a bundle recently, and this was the only one that was good play. the second one has a game breaking flaw about halfway through and the 3rd one has to run through origin, AND has a terrible sound bug in it.

Given all that, i loved this game. it could have been a little scarier in places, but it did very well for its time (enough to spawn 2 sequels at least) its a simple you vs aliens 3rd person shooter with some unique gameplay elements like a hud that actually makes sense looking like a projection display coming from your armor.

the controls were a little slow and i found it much better to play with a mouse, but other than that it ran like butter on my laptop and gave we very little trouble (it did keep crashing at fist but i just updated my drivers and all was well)

a great game (better than the newer ones for sure)

87

Promising

chataolauj | Jan. 23, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This game is a very promising game. A mixture of shooter and horror makes this game worth it. I love horror games, and I love this game. This game got my heart pounding several times. Aliens tend to pop out of nowhere and scares the shit out of you (not literally). This game doesn't have machine guns or anything like that to kill aliens if that's what you're hoping for. The storyline to this game is okay in my opinion, but it's definitely worth buying. It doesn't go on sale much unless it's Black Friday or December because almost every great game goes on sale during those times, so that says a lot about this game.

79

A uniquely scary experience

mugaro | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

With the FPS market growing stale, this game takes to 3rd person shooter with some unique controls. You have to hold right click (or left trigger on a controller) to aim your gun, and most of them have laser sights, as opposed to first person perspective with crosshairs on the screen. The HUD is a unique idea and keeps the immersion in the game by having it be something that your character is looking at.

Basically, the game is a zombie/monster outbreak in space with little to no survivors. You're Isaac Clarke, looking for survivors, and most importantly, your girlfriend. Each chapter is its own hub area, with a halfway point boss and a final boss. By exploring, you get credits and nodes. Nodes can be used to upgrade weapons & armor, or open doors, which sometimes give even more credits/nodes. The credits buy ammo, medkits or nodes.

Give a lot of credit for creating a new IP that was different and took a lot of risks. If you like 3rd person shooters & are a horror genre fan, give this one a try.

94

Everything it promises...

Codename_Bravo | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all Codename_Bravo's reviews »

I recently was given a copy of Dead Space by a friend. Now I'm not normally a horror player, but I continued on any way. This game is simply astounding. The story is compelling, and rich, with twist and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat. Though! I will say some of the characters are annoying, and the story, though rich, had a few predictable elements to it. As for horror, the mere atmosphere is enough to scare even veteran players. The monsters are grotesque and horrifying as well. There isn't enough I can say about this game. Its a classic!

98

In Space, No One Can See You Bleed

rahnborshko | Oct. 1, 2013 | See all rahnborshko's reviews »

Dead Space is everything an Alien, Aliens, The Thing, Resident Evil 4 fan would ever want. The terrors of being secluded in space on a derelict ship full of nasty deformed humans whose only purpose is to rip you apart in many delectable ways are fully fleshed out in this fresh survival horror game. Everything is top notch from the sound, level design, setting, gameplay, and story. As Resident Evil 4 was fun to pick up and play over and over again, Dead Space will leave you wanting to come back to the horrors of the USG Ishimura over and over again.

90

Scary and Frightening !

Sinjin | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all Sinjin's reviews »

I have always been in search of a good thrilling experience, and I can say I found it with EA's Dead Space. I have heard negative things about EA as they "ruin" games (Which the don't) but i gave Dead Space a try and it got my heart racing as I got plenty of scares from playing the story. Keeping track on your oxygen level, as well as keeping you body together, along with fighting necromorphs is very suspenseful and scary, especially when you play the game at night. Highly suggest you pick this game up and add it to you inventory as you won't be disappointed.

87

Horrifying, but I love it!

BlockAgent | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

This game gives you chills while you walk your character down the darkened halls of the space station. You aren't sure if you want to continue down the hall because you are afraid of what might be around the corner..but you can't help but look anyway. That's when this game grabs you and scares the heck out of you! The game is alot of fun because of that. The game has alot going for it, great graphics (even by today's standards), great sound effects and creepy music, fun gameplay and good voice acting as well. The controls and functions take a little bit to get used to, but then they are fine and become second nature. If you are looking for an intense game that will keep you creeped out and on the edge of your seat, treat yourself to this one.

91

A terrifying experience

Shanti | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all Shanti's reviews »

This game is NOT for the weak hearted! Be warned :P I can't describe how brilliant this game is for any horror/action fan. The best part of any horror game/movie/series is the build-up and wow does this deliver that. For someone like me who goes at a slow pace looking into every nook & cranny, this is our nexus: randomly placed scribbles which add so much to the atmosphere, carefully laid doodads (bodies, items) which all tell a silent story of their own, and the eerie voices singing sweet lullabies which will chill you to the very bone. The combat deserves praise on its own: Innovative mechanics of decapitation and dismembering utilising an awesome physics engine so that every body part has its own animation making the enemy specifically weaker for that part (cut the arms and it will still come at you with a wide open jaw ready to gnaw you to shreds). Varied enemies each with their own mechanics and an ammo conservation approach make combat always new & refreshing. Know which weapon to use when and where. Add in special modules of Tele-kiinesis and Stasis, for even more varied combat.
All of this is done in a very intuitive manner, there is no huge wall of information thrust on you, you learn as and when you need to learn while doing it. Aside from combat there are numerous other mission specific mechanics, from Vacuum oxygen aided combat to using Ship defense cannons and not to forget Zero-gravity basketball, you will never feel repetitiveness.
The only downside is some PC porting related issues which can be solved easily, but still lower the score for objectiveness :)

92

Survival Horror back to its roots

Zilly01 | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all Zilly01's reviews »

Dead Space brings back the survival horror elements that Resident Evil has started to lose on its more recent games. The ambiance and environment really help to make you feel like you are fighting for survival as you make your way through the spaces of the USG Ishimura. The camera angle and controls are very similar to Resident Evil 4, so if you enjoyed that game then you will definitely enjoy this one. The biggest cons are that the PC port has no achievements and the camera can be confusing at times in the zero gravity areas. These are very tiny cons for such a fun game.

88

Crazy.

Xillion | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

Dead space gives a true definition to horror. It has been the best third person shooter i have played so far. The death scenes are very brutal. It's best to prepare to what would happen in game before playing. You will be scared.

86

A Truly Intense game!

TheRyGuy | July 7, 2013 | See all TheRyGuy's reviews »

Dead Space starts off seemingly tranquil, and Isaac Clarke and his team are trying to find out what happened to a space station that has stopped responding. Then there's a turn for the worst: the ship crash lands on the huge space station and you need to find the parts on the space station to fix the ship. Then you find out what happened to all the people on the space station...they turned into Necromorphs, and they're hungry for blood!

There are a lot of scares. If you are jumpy, you've been warned! I enjoyed the game a lot, and it paced well to me. Once you kill the enemies, they're dead and they don't respawn. The only gripe I have with this game is the poor execution of the mouse controls. With V-sync on, looking around is fine, but when you need to aim your weapon, it get's sluggishly slow. There's a workaround for it, and that's to turn V-Sync on your graphics card's software for Dead Space, and keep it off in-game.

All in all, it's a great first entry for the series. I recommend it, it's a great buy for under $20!

100

An Original Well-Executed Horror

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Dead Space is one of the most frightening games I've played in a long time. There are monsters that pop up randomly that are terrifying at first because when you start the game you have no idea how to kill them. The deaths are gruesome with lots of blood that makes you feel guilty for letting your character down. The controls are spot-on, responsive and smooth. The story is immersive and interesting. The graphics and sound work perfectly with the game and will help you to stay immersed in the game. The whole game is unpredictable when the monsters will come. Highly recommended for horror fans.

92

Horrifying

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | See all mostnatebe66's reviews »

I played an early demo of this game and was shocked when I saw the many different ways Isaac could die throughout the game. It took me a few years to work up the nerve to play this game because I'm a wimp when it comes to scary games.

The game did not disappoint. Great visuals, great upgrade system, and a great feel with the weapons. I love the creativity in destroying the Necromorphs (limbs first). The story and world of this game is something I got into as well. What is behind these markers? Why are you seeing these visions of your girlfriend? These questions are answered throughout and everything culminates on the planet in the denouement.

The way the story is presented through audio logs and text logs adds a lot. The overall feel of the ship is just horrifying, with messages scrawled in blood throughout. This game was a definite surprise for me and I would recommend it to anyone that wants a good story and scare.

95

A true horror shooter

acloggedtoaster | May 10, 2013 | See all acloggedtoaster's reviews »

Many games call themselves "action horror" but very few are truly that. Dead space however, is a terrifying shooter that will make you jump countless times. The atmosphere was nailed in this game, with dark, foreboding corridors on an abandoned space ship. The game features extensive character and weapon upgrades, and the story serves to push the game along nicely. The visuals are sharp and the sounds creepy. This game is best experienced while playing in the dark.

96

The scariest game I've ever played

sl1ck | April 24, 2013 | See all sl1ck's reviews »

I am somewhat of a horror fps fanatic, and for me no game has been scarier or better than Dead Space. Every moment is tense and frightening. You almost feel worn out by the end of the game.

This is also the best game in the Dead Space trilogy. Dead Space 2 and 3 may have slicker combat, but they aren't nearly as scary or unpredictable as the original Dead Space.

86

Great beginning of a horror shooter series.

Bigshrimp | Feb. 7, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

I can only say good things about this game. You start the game boarding a planetcracker (a ship that mines planets), when things go horribly wrong. You soon discover that you are now in a claustrophobic environment with creatures trying to kill you called Necromorphs.

Overall if you like being scared and dispatching your enemies in gory ways, this game will fulfill those wishes. It keeps a tense feeling as you progress through the game and its myriad of small puzzle elements. It is hard to get lost, since you have the option to find your way with a feature that draws a line to your next destination. It isn't a really difficult game, but it draws you in after you get passed the middle part of the game, which kind of drags out.

Graphics and audio are topnotch, and I couldn't find any bugs while playing it. Well worth the price the admission, if you like horror action games, give this game a try, you will not be dissapointed.