Reviews for Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams

92

Brilliant!

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Captivating graphics, sharp controls, inspiring mechanics, intriguing world, awesome music and sounds. Challenging levels.

Not much can be expected from a platformer, but Giana Sisters goes ahead and exceeds them. A brilliant platformer and recommended for any fan of the genre.

65

Good graphics and gameplay, but boring

BlockAgent | April 25, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

This game is designed to make you feel like you are playing very pretty version of an old-school super nintendo side scrolling platformer. From collecting floating jewels that serve no purpose to jumping onto bad guys to kill them, it is old school gameplay completely. If that is what you like, then this will be a great game for you. But while I do enjoy some side scrollers such as The Cave and Trine 2, this game was very boring to me because it didn't present any new ideas or takes on anything. I felt like I had done all of this already back when I was a kid. Nothing struck me as clever. The game also barely has a story at all. Hopefully this review gives you an idea as to what you should expect from this game.

89

graphically superb platform

icnivadodranoel | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all icnivadodranoel's reviews »

very challenging gameplay and well articulated ... nature is hardcore, you keep that in mind.

many secrets to discover. There are three worlds with a total of 23 levels. I recommend you play it with a gamepad.

plot without pace, but it is not an important trait of such securities

good rock music, excellent technical sector, level design well done

updated at theme during most important festivity

77

Great platformer

jkyle | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all jkyle's reviews »

The original Giana Sisters game was an Amiga game that was pulled from shelves as it was a blatant Super Mario Bros. ripoff. This game distances itself from that seminal title, and in doing so leaves me feeling that it isn't part of the Giana Sisters universe, instead trading on the value of the name alone to retro minded gamers.

Well, the good news is that it is a decent game in its own right. I almost wish that they had not used the Giana Sisters name as I am disappointed that it is not closer to a Mario style platformer.

84

Great game, don't let the name scare you away

johnnyt305 | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all johnnyt305's reviews »

This game might not be known to some people because they see the name and maybe the art and think its just girly or something.

PLEASE TRY THIS GAME!!

This is one of the best platformers of the year. It has excellent top notch graphics and animation. It has a wonderful soundtrack of rocking music. It has excellent gameplay which is most important.

You can switch between 2 sisters as you jump and fight your way through levels. Each sister has different powers and abilities. So, in order to get through some areas you must switch to the right sister and figure out which is best for each situation.

When you switch between sisters the graphics totally change from bright to dark and the music from light to heavy. It is awesome!!!!

Again, GET THIS GAME if you are even a small fan of platformers, you will not be disappointed.

70

Good Challenging Platformer

zachprkr | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all zachprkr's reviews »

Being a huge fan of old school platformers, I really wanted to love this game. After sinking a lot of time into this game, I realized it frustrated me more than I enjoyed it.

The gameplay is quite simple. It is Super Mario brothers with a twist. You controller a single character that can be switched between two sisters, each with their own special ability. The controlling of each one works flawlessly. And the game has excellent controller support

The beginning levels are a blast. They are simple and the puzzles are not too difficult to figure out on your first play through. It is the later levels where I was really losing my mind. There are parts where there is no way other than to die multiple times to figure out what to do. There are checkpoints you revert to and you have unlimited lives so it is not the big of a nuisance but it can still be frustrating.

The jumping on top of enemies is also very finicky. There are countless times that I felt I land directly on an enemy or a little off to the side and the game would register it as a death. I got to the point where I would ignore killing enemies and just jump over them because I was too worried of hitting them in that small sweet spot that guaranteed a kill.

Also the collecting of all the crystals is almost impossible. In the beginning I really wanted to try my best to explore everything and find every crystal. With multiple routes to take and levels being quite large, It became clear after the first of second level this is not a possibility without making it a chore.

Overall it is a decent game. A very challenging platformer, but is probably not for everyone.

75

Challenging Platformer with Pretty Graphics!

Azralynn | July 22, 2013 | See all Azralynn's reviews »

Think back to the days where games were actually challenging, and it took some effort and practice to beat a game. That is Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams! The game looks great, the music is well done, and most importantly the game is challenging! If you are looking for a game that is easy and will beat itself, this game is not for you. However, if you are looking for a game that will not only give you a challenge, but the sense of satisfaction when you finally beat each level, then this game is definitely for you! Don't worry though, the game eases you into the difficulty, as you become more familiar with the playstyle.

89

Beautiful, artistic & great platformer

spycid | July 22, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

It is indeed a beautiful and artistic platformer. What gathered my attention is unlike any other indie platformers it's not at all an easy. It proves quite challenging at times. So if you wish to try a challenging platformer, get this game, it's definitely worth your money & time.

80

Another one of those difficulty platformer

lok0812 | July 7, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

If you have played Super Meat Boy and enjoyed it because of its difficulty then you will most likely enjoy this one as well. The difficulty of this might not be in par with SMB but it is there. The player can switch between from the two Giana Sisters each with different ability that you can use to transverse through the world. With each switch the background and the music changes give it a vibe of quick sensations. The graphic is pretty good for a 2D platformer with rich colorful world similar to Trine series. Definitely pick this up if you enjoy a hard to play puzzle platformer.

80

A really fun platformer

unowndanger | July 6, 2013 | See all unowndanger's reviews »

Plot and Gameplay (WARNING: SPOILER. GO TO THE NEXT PARAGRAPH IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO READ A BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE PLOT LINE.) It should also be mentioned that the game has no dialogue of any sort. It is all sound effects and visual animations. The game starts off with Giana's sister Maria pulled into a dream and Giana attempts to go after her. As you progress through the first level, you see Maria being eaten by a dragon. This essentially sets of the plot and you are given your goal, the save Maria. It is very reminiscent of the Mario Bros. series where you are Mario and you have to save Princess Peach. There is very little to the plot besides this, but no one ever said that a platformer game had to have a large plot line.

The gameplay and the mechanics the game offers are what really make it stand out. Due to the fact that Giana is in the "dream world", she is able to manipulate her physical form. She has two forms, "Punk' and "Cute". These two forms both have their own special abilities and ultimately affect the visuals and audio of the game. The two 'worlds' have stunning visuals that contrast very well with Giana's two forms, giving the game a much more vibrant and intriguing appearance. Each of Giana's forms also get their own version of the soundtrack. Cute Giana's soundtrack reflects her girly appearance and elegance with piano ballads and strings arrangements, whereas Punk Giana's soundtrack has a hard rock and metal feel to it. Both soundtracks are the same in composition, but the instruments used are different, causing the player to get a different vibe with each character.

"Cute" Giana is the more feminine of the two forms. She resides the nightmare world, where everything is much more grim and frightening. The plants are dead or rotting and the water is a putrid green. Other levels have flowing lava and molten rock while the player uses cute Giana. The enemies are portrayed as upright lizard creatures with wings. They look quite ghoulish, but like all the enemies in the game, they move in a pre- determined path. As far as her special ability is concerned, she is able to twirl and glide in the air. Although it sounds like a slightly useless ability, it works very well for this platformer. With this ability, Giana is able to glide across long distances and during the time she glides, she falls down at a slower rate. When it comes to making large jumps or avoiding spikes in rapid succession, I prefer to use Cute Giana because she is easier to manage than her Punk form in these tough situations.

Punk Giana exists in the normal dream world. This dream world strongly contradicts her punk rocker look. It is filled with bright flowers with vibrant colors and greenery. The flowers are in bright bloom, causing the level to appear pleasing to the player. The enemies Punk Giana enemies are brightly colored owls which are quite puffy. They add a very distinct visual aspect to the forest like levels and world that Punk Giana must go through. The size of these owls are a key factor to the game because it makes it easier for Giana to hit them using her ability which is a fiery dash. She is enveloped in flames and moves very fast in the direction of the player's choice. Again, this to me at first felt like a useless ability, although the visual depiction was very cool. I at first felt that I would never use Punk Giana and her ability because I preferred using the twirling ability of Cute Giana. As you progress through the game though, there are certain walls that are very close together that Punk Giana can bounce off of in succession to reach new heights, literally! Punk Giana is useful for me when I need to make large vertical advances such as jumping to a platform that is out of reach of a standard jump. Overall, both of the Giana Sisters are well balanced characters and are both useful in different scenarios.

Enough about the plot line and the characters, let us delve into something that can define a game for some, the controls. As opposed to most platformers for the PC, this game uses the arrow keys for control. They feel very natural and they work very well for this game. The A,S,D keys are also used to control the abilities and forms of Giana. A switches between the two characters, whereas S and D can be pressed to use Cute Giana and Punk Giana's abilities respectively. One thing that I was really impressed with was how fluidly the game is able to switch between Giana's two forms. There are no hiccups in the transition and the scenery and music change effortlessly without any lag or latency, something that deeply impressed me since I have seen games that have hiccups where there have to be character switches. The game is also compatible with an Xbox 360 Controller, but to me personally it did not feel as easy or natural as the keyboard, despite the fact I am an Xbox LIVE member, and have played games on the Xbox 360 for five years.

Game modes and Extras Giana Sisters offers a variety of extra game modes for the player to enjoy once they finish the campaign. They are offered Score Attack, Time Trials, Hardcore and Uber Hardcore modes. Score Attack and Time Trials are modes we are all familiar with, and their names practically give away their purpose. In Hardcore mode, there are no checkpoints, so if you die, you go right back to the beginning of the level. Uber Hardcore takes it a whole step further. If you die, your are taken back to the first level… of the whole game. For example, if you were at the end of stage 3-7 and you died by a spike, you would go right back to 1-1. Although very heartbreaking, these games modes are meant for veteran players and those who enjoy a challenge.

Final Thoughts This game feels like a modernized version of Super Mario Bros. Many people I have talked to have said that they draw various comparisons between the two such as the plot line and the abilities, but I personally do not see it all. Yes, a girl is abducted in the game and it is your goal to save her, but that is only one similarity. What was the most refreshing to me about the game were the soundtrack and the visuals. The fact that they could change were amazing and the soundtrack was stunning and fit the game perfectly. I did have a few gripes with the abilities of the characters such as Punk Giana's Dash because it seemed to have directional issues. But all the issues were little and I learned to adapt with the game. Overall it was very fun and it brought be back to the great days where people didn't need to purchase $20 of DLC to have the full game experience. Whatever came with the game was what the customer got.

(I wrote this for my blog and copied the review here. All content is my own)

76

Great platformer.

drafek | June 20, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game is a great platformer, the background is done well, I mean it does look unique, the art style of the graphics are done well. The music is amazing! Unlike any other game this song is unique not just a repeating tune, but real music. The game is cheap, I recommend picking it up, it's worth full price.

84

Best plattformer in years personally!

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | See all McDoenerKing's reviews »

This game is very challenging at later levels, but due to the difficulty you get this feel of accomplishment I haven't experienced often in todays games.

The world changes whenever you switch the sisters and this works pretty pretty well. The game has a great atmosphere and good graphics.

The only negative things I have to say about this gem is that the options are only available outside of the game in the game launcher and some parts are just too brutally difficult for casual plattformers like me. ;)

If you call yourself a plattformer, then this game should already be in your game library! If not go grab it you will otherwise miss out something great!

90

A good surprise

Lekes | Feb. 14, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

What a pleasant surprise! I was fully expecting a run-of-the-mill, neither-here-or-there indie platformer, but I was absolutely blown away (and I'm a hard one to please too). The controls are incredibly solid, the gameplay is fun, the dual worlds mechanic doesn't become a tiresome gimmick, the difficulty is just right... the bosses will make you gouge your eyes out at times... which makes it so much more fun! All in all, congratulations to the dev team on this gem. The game is especially a treat if you've played the original Giana Sisters in 25 years ago, the musical score will bring you more than a little nostalgia.

85

Fresh and innovative.

fable2 | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

A new star is born in the platformer genre with great gameplay, visuals and level design.The controls are great with a gamepad. The soundtrack is awesome, it took me some minutes to be comfortable with the music switch, but at the end it's so great. It's been a while I haven't seen a fast paced platformer of this quality on PC, and the price is very low. The first levels are very easy, but the difficulty grows rapidly.The boss fights are epic, the last one very challenging. More you progress in the game better and longer the levels are. The last world of the game is for sure the most interesting. It's not so common that games are more and more fun during level progression. There's also replayability with the different game modes (score attack, hardcore,uberhardcore....) The game has nothing to do anymore with the original mario clone I played when I was young on amiga, it's fresh and innovative I want more of those kind of games,really great job. Waiting for a dlc or a sequel.

80

It's decent, but too repetitive.

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 18, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

I recently checked this game out as it looked to be very intriguing and cool at first. I enjoyed playing it for roughly a good 10 minutes and then I quickly got both bored and aggravated with it. The challenging portions are really well done, the graphics are incredible for it being a platformer (reminds me a LOT of Playstation 1 platformer games, but with HD graphics enhancements) and the music is nice as well.

The downsides are that it's way too repetitive & the music is the same throughout (eventually makes one feel as though they're stuck in an elevator). If you can get a great discount deal on it, it may be worth it, however even still it may not be worth it for some people. I personally wouldn't even toss $5 USD at it to be honest.

80

Great game with awesome music

tixepower | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all tixepower's reviews »

This platformer is pretty, challenging and has some awesome music from Sweden!

If you like platformers and melodic metal music, this game is for you! The swedish band that made this awesome mix of good and evil music is called Machinae Supremacy.

It's hard to describe soundtrack of this game but it's a true music art unlike any other music used in a game before.

60

Good potential, but lack it.

Angeluzian | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

Giana sisters twisted dream is a game that "changes" the world when you switch sister. It's a nice idea, but it can get quite annoying that you have to switch them and use them exactly then. I would like more multiple solutions and harder platforming. Overall it's a dull game in my opinion, but I like the graphics. If you do like platforming, this may be for you.

85

Epic platformer

DukePaul | Dec. 14, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Giana Sisters is a special platformer, you need to switch the personality of the main character, when you do this, the happy world changes into a dark one, for example lovely plants will change into spikes, even the soundtrack is amazing because it changes too when you switch sides.

The game offers a lot of replayability because find all the hidden areas in both worlds is very difficult, also it has some puzzles and a Time Attack mode. The gameplay is a challenge but you will beat the game if you master all the levels and if you want more, you can unlock a hardcore mode.

If you want an old school platformer with modern tricks, beautiful graphics and lot of hours of fun, buy this game,

90

One of the best platform at the moment

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

The young Giana must retrieve her sister from the evil, fat dragon. Well, this is the whole story of Giana Sister: Twisted Dreams, a sequel/remake of the original The Great Giana Sisters for Commodore 64. The game is a platform: your goal is to find the exit from every level collecting gems and a series of collectibles, using Giana powers (she can turns herself in a ball, or a dark version most powerful). Plus every level has two faces: the normal one and the silent one. At the end of every level you will gain some stars, that are used to open the boss room. These stars will be achieved due to your highscore, deaths and gems acquired...and if you will not gain enough stars, the boss room will be locked. The game is not simple at all: death is behind the corner and some passages may be frustrating, but the game is very good. Graphic is wonderful (it remembers Trine 2 in some ways) but the soundtrack is nothing special. If you want a solid platform, Giana Sister is one of the best at the moment. Plus if you buy it now you can enjoy the free christmas update that developers are releasing these day.