Reviews for Swords and Soldiers

86

Chinese Monkeys, Mayan Zombies, and Vikings

untitled36 | June 16, 2014 | See all untitled36's reviews »

This game is ultra simple. You collect gold, build units, and try to destroy the opposing castle (usually). Besides Gold, you also have to manage mana. Three civilizations add some variety to the mix, and the single player mode has a goofy yet charming story about the various characters looking for the ultimate meal. Personally, I loved the game. Overpriced Ipad port, sure! but still charming in it's own way. I've beat the campaign, and I had a blast the whole time. A few games become "memes" in my personal life, and this game does that for me. Anytime I get money as a gift, my mind echoes the women miners of the game: "I loooove gold!" 10 bucks may be steep, but if you can get this for sale, snap it up quick. It's worth it!

70

An iPhone port

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all magusonline's reviews »

When I had first played this game, it was on my iPhone. The touchscreen controls felt tight and were responsive with the interface as well as the general interaction with the game.

It falls under the myriad of other RTS side scrollers that exist in the App Store to date. The options are simple, play against a computer/story or against another player.

The learning curve is little to none, so picking up the game and completely ignoring the dialogue will not offer you much in the way of punishment. Youll discover and learn quickly what things do and what works best through a small series of trial and error (regarless of the rules).

Pattern recognition helps a lot especially against the ai, as they follow a fixed functioning formula that makes them and the game, a relative breeze. Relative.

86

Nice minigame which will keep you playing for hours.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

I've already seen this kind of games on mobile devices - and they're great, but mostly based around microtransactions which kind of made me stop playing them. This game, however, is on PC, and it has just 1 DLC. It's a lot of fun, and if you enjoy RTS games, then you'll love this one. It's a nice minigame which will keep you hooked for a while, but it's also great if you want to play for a short time because you're in a rush.

85

Simple, Fun, Polished 2D RTS Game

premixedpie | July 7, 2013 | See all premixedpie's reviews »

An easy to pick up well paced 2D side scrolling game. Elements are introduced slowly making it easy to learn. Graphics are minimalistic but clean and high quality. Gameplay is well done and reminiscent of web based flash games. There are 3 separate factions in the campaign making a lengthy and varied single player campaign experience. Some humor thrown in help keep it light and entertaining. Overall a fun, family friendly, well made indie side-scrolling RTS game! Well worth the price!

80

What a Fun Game!

Plasros | July 7, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

A lot of fun awaits you playing Swords & Soldiers. Easy game-play, nice graphics, funny sounds. I really enjoyed playing this cheap game. Sometimes there's no need of use of super 3D and DTS sound to produce quality

80

Simple yet fun.

CrysisX | July 2, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

A great, simple and funny game. Thought it was boring, but now I play it from time to time trying to finish the campaign. I like the cartoon-ish graphics in this game and the environment is nicely done for me. Looking forward to trying the multiplayer soon!

80

Challenging

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Swords and Soldiers is a blast from beginning to end. It DOES feel a little contrived at times, with the formula not changing very much from mission to mission (Get new power. Use it to beat this mission. Cue cutscene). However, the action doesn't ever really feel like it stagnates, and missions can be completed quickly allowing it to be digested in bite-sized chunks, also making it a great mobile choice. It's an interesting spin on the RTS genre, with the 2D perspective

70

RTS in form of a 2D side-scroller

Shav | May 31, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Swords and Soldiers is a very unique game. Even though it looks like a 2D side-scroller it is RTS at heart.

There are 3 different nations to play - vikings, aztecs and chinese. Each of theme has different units and skills that you can use to obliterate your enemies.

The campaign features over 30 different levels, full of humour. Sometimes they can get a bit hard, especially if you are aiming for achievements, but nevertheless they are fun to play.

Also, if that isn't convincing enough, there is a multiplayer, where you can play few different gametypes with your friends.

Swords and Soldiers is not the best indie game ever, but it is a nice timefiller.

82

Swords and Soldiers - review

carlyle | Feb. 4, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The game gives us three single player campaigns involving rich and thick, which will keep us busy for quite a while 'together with the excellent multiplayer mode, both local as well as online. The gameplay of the title Ronimo Games is simple and effective, does not engage in excessive complications and goes straight to the point, allowing us to understand the mechanisms involved right from the start thanks to a control system to the occasion. The graphic, colorful and comic strip, complete the picture of a very high quality product, which should be tested especially by those who have never experimented with this particular branch of the RTS. Recommended.

74

Enjoyable simple Strategy Game!

DonVercetti | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

This title has everything it should have. It looks amazing, has humor and a solid build. It also has a very charming graphic style, one Romino is famous for as seen in they're other games aswell like Awesomenauts. There's a little storyline in the game, which has some variation and is worth playing!

90

Ronimo has done it again!

MorphineBear | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all MorphineBear's reviews »

I played this on my friend's PS3 and I was able to get this game on PC. My god, it's amazing. It has humor and strategy all mixed into one.

Definitely a must have if you're a fan of games like Age of War on Addictinggames.

The only down side is the replay value. Once you finish the game, there isn't much playing, unless you want to do multiplayer. But multiplayer is the same exact thing as single player (except you're not playing against an AI!).

Included is 3 minigames which is fun, but hard.

80

2D Strategy

DukePaul | Dec. 17, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Swords and Soldiers is a game from the developers of Awesomenauts (a fantastic 2D MOBA) and they did a great job with this original game.

This time the gameplay is like a sidescrolling real time strategy game, with three factions, Vikings, Aztecs an the my favourite, the Chinese, when you choose one faction you will need to gather resources to add more soldiers to your amy, research for new powers and then attack the enemy base or sometimes you will need to survive for a certain amount of time, the objectives are different in each mission.

The cartoon style graphics are great, you will smile and laugh with some expressions from the characters.

Also if you buy Swords and Soldiers you will get a free Voltar Skin for Awesomenauts! so buy it!

85

A good strategic game

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 17, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This strategic game is fast and funny to play. There are three campaigns to beat, and it will require you about 8 hours. Then, there is skirmish mode and multiplayer mode that will chain you forever! Graphic is 2D and very stylish. Basically, if you love strategic game you will be enslaved by Sword & Soldier.