Reviews for PID

70

A cute and challenging indie sidescroller

BlockAgent | June 25, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

This game has allot of unique ideas floating around inside it. It was a little too challenging for me though and I gave up about 1/3 of the way through it. The graphics are good, the controls are spot on and it pulls off allot of platformer elements very well. If you are into challenging indie sidscrollers, this game will suit you well.

82

Cute setting

AkiMatti | May 6, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Played this with a gamepad. Controls are responsive and exact. The graphics and sounds suit the mood. The setting is nice. Even kids can play this game until it gets too hard. Reminds me of Rochard a bit, which is a compliment. All in all, I recommend it over any mediocre indie platformer.

81

Artistic Masterpeice

IDprofile | May 2, 2014 | See all IDprofile's reviews »

Pid is a very attractive game in means of graphics. By this I don't mean that the game looks realistic, but that the game has a very good artistic appeal to it. The resolution of all the textures in the game are great, and I feel like as I play there is so much artwork to be enjoyed that has been put into the game. The controls are good, GUI is not lacking, and the game includes necessary features such as being able to map controls any way you want to. The gameplay is great, however the story does not go far into depth. But in my opinion, all that matters is that this game has great gameplay, good puzzles, and an amazing atmosphere with great sound effects and graphics.

95

Great game.

HerrDethnout | April 14, 2014 | See all HerrDethnout's reviews »

This game is awesome, despite having a simple story, I like its design, the graphic section is incredible, it's perfect, all very nice and simple. Its gameplay is simple but is not so bad, is very good, oddly reminds me of Portal, and its soundtrack is perfect, amazing. Basically, I can explain my love for this game in 4 words I LOVE THIS GAME!

75

Great puzzle/platformer

katchouni | July 21, 2013 | See all katchouni's reviews »

It was a real pleasure to go through a world so... "unique". As a puzzle/plateformer sporting a highly original dress that does not go unnoticed. It can possibly remind Rochard in its smooth and sleek appearance, all based on a aerial gameplay. Pid remains unique in its universe both colorful and creepy. There is a mood in this game, a "je ne sais quoi" that bothers. This could result in strange NPC that nothing seems to touch, or by its jazzy-lounge soundtrack. Pid offers a pleasant experience as it should be (ten hours) and game mechanics that are worth visiting. Hard mode, different challenges and collectibles are enough to fill your hunger.

84

Cute little game with a unique art style

roadman | June 7, 2013 | See all roadman's reviews »

I got a bundle around a few months ago, mainly for this game. It has an extremely atmospheric setting, with a nice touch of creativity. The enemies have simple paths that you can intercept, and destroy your robotic enemies.
There are different kinds of npcs that you can meet on your way from your planetary bus stop to back on earth and they'll probably help you or lead you to a good set of items. The graphics are simply wispy, dreamy, bright, and good. you have a cool beam that affects gravity. I'd say this game is definitely worth a buy if you have the money

65

Beautiful but tough

lucasart | June 4, 2013 | See all lucasart's reviews »

Pid is a platform game with a very special atmosphere and a high care for the style of the levels. The strong point of the game is definitely the visual part, the environments are outlined in a pleasant way from the start, with scenarios in soft colors that attract attention and gratify the eye without showing smudges or particular unappealing. The game mechanics are very simple, Pid is essentially based on a beam of light that must be used to overcome the various obstacles present in levels, these beams to apply a series of particularities and exceptions all along the game: some enemies are immune to their effects, others will suffer and can be moved to other locations or completely eliminated. Unfortunately, this mechanism has been used to with too many repetitions of the same situations and movements in too narrow passages, where a slightest movement or miscalculation involving the "death" and return to the previous checkpoint. This, coupled with the fact that the movements of Kurt significantly limited (short jump and excessive inertia, running very slow), makes some of the most difficult passages than necessary. The difficulty is not gradual but fluctuates heavily from time to time without notice: in particular, some bosses are really too confusing, even though it uses only a few seconds to understand the method to defeat them. And one of the easiest boss of all is the final one, which should make it clear the bad balance the difficulty level. Although the game can be completed in a dozen hours, which for a platform are not few, most of which is passed to repeat several times the same steps. The frustration comes into play too soon, when we realize that the Pid is not difficult to understand what to do, but do it coming out victorious from the comparison with the amount of obstacles and with a system of movement that does not forgive the slightest mistake .

75

Pid Is a Nightmare Disguised As a Dream

Ramboknife | April 23, 2013 | See all Ramboknife's reviews »

Pid is a puzzling game, and I don't mean just in terms of genre. At first glance, the aesthetic look fairly bland and uninspired, while the gameplay looks like a run-of-the-mill indie platformer. But after spending time with the game, you start to truly see how the game evolves into something unique and distinguishes itself from the rest of the field.

Pid was developed by Might and Delight, a team full of people who were responsible for Bionic Commando Rearmed, a notoriously hard game. They continue their tradition of making punishing games with Pid, and masochistic fans will enjoy what it has to offer. Anyone else with a normal to high amount of patience is going to be absolutely infuriated with Pid and Might and Delight's design choices.

The game really falls apart in its difficulty. The intent of the game is to be hard, I understand that, but there are levels of hardship that rival and even surpass Super Meat Boy (another well known extremely difficult game). Thankfully the controls feel tight and precise so that when you execute a tough section, you feel satisfied and relieved. It does just feel like they made the game hard for the sake of being hard.

I can only recommend Pid to people that are willing to put up with the tough difficulty, which is a shame because underneath all of that is a beautiful looking game with a really neat soundtrack that when combined together, make the entire experience seem like some sort of fantastic surreal dream.

80

An imaginative and well-designed platformer.

fable2 | Jan. 11, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

The studio was partly responsible for Bionic Commando Rearmed, and although I was never a big fan of that game, I love PID. Joining the ranks of Bastion, Limbo and Braid - this game is one of my favorite Indie releases to date. It's beautiful to behold, controls flawlessly (played using a 360 controller) and the soundtrack is AMAZING. The game echoes a lot of old school platformers but bring the premise to more modern standards.

80

Relaxing platfomer

DukePaul | Dec. 20, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Pid is a platformer with a great universe, the graphics are friendly and the soundtrack is jazz music, this creates a relaxing atmosphere because even if you die, you will back to the nearest checkpoint so you don't need to worry if you make a mistake.

The game offers a lot of basic puzzles, some of them are interesting because they introduce new mechanics in the game also for a 2D platformer it has a lot exploration and you will need to use enviroment to beat some enemies.

One of the best things about this game is Co-op mode, only a few platformers have this option and this game can become in a really fun experience with two players.

The controls can be better and the game is a bit short but if you like platformers and exploration games like Limbo you will enjoy this game too.