Reviews for Omerta: City of Gangsters

74

Nice Setting, But Gets Old Quick

Wolf_Bronski | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all Wolf_Bronski's reviews »

Despite the problems that published reviews pointed out, I gave this game a chance after I read about patches that gave the game a somewhat of an overhaul. The combat is easy to learn but can be a little difficult to master for novices, while gang management is simple yet encourages a little bit of thinking on the part of strategy. It was addicting early on, but after awhile, managing your criminal organization in this title starts to fall a little flat with repetition.

88

Infinitely playable.

FreakDeity | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all FreakDeity's reviews »

What struck me most was the potential. Omerta is a good game but if it succeeds, it has the potential to be a great game. Add opposing AI gangs and allow for turf wars to occur, shrink the building sizes on the strategic maps and give players control over many more buildings, and you have a strategy title that has no equal and is infinitely playable.

80

Nice mix of Xcom-esque combat and Tropico.

tallonkarrde23 | July 11, 2013 | See all tallonkarrde23's reviews »

I think the biggest problem this game faces is XCom fans expecting it to be Mafia:Enemy Mobsters rather than an entirely different game by an unrelated company, which is exactly what it is.

The game itself is a mix of both running the gang as a whole and combat missions alongside that. The main focus is the former - buying new joints, taking over businesses, and generally bringing in the cash while expanding your control out further. For me, the balance of this larger aspect along with the more focused henchmen control and combat feels nice, and I actually really enjoy playing. You can't just randomly make buildings and toss whatever upgrades on them that there are, especially not early on. Along with that you have to decide on how to expand - do you do a drive by or a buyout? This actually does matter and will often drastically change important aspects of your gang, and of course the most important thing that could end up in trouble for this; the income. Kalypso is known for the Tropico games which can be pretty challenging compared to others in the genre, I'd say some of that has carried over well into this game and gives a good level of difficulty so that you feel like you get something out of playing it and progressing.

The combat is strategic (albeit starter guns feel almost based on random chance to hit sometimes) especially after you start buying better weapons and getting new henchmen - and the town gameplay takes a good amount of planning to get down right and is surprisingly pretty addictive. The actual combat can be pretty challenging on a good level at times too - rather than feeling like things are too easily or unfairly difficult.

*Recently there was a large patch that actually added in a lot more to both phases; the combat is much more cleaned up and a lot of stupid bugs are fixed (like shooting through some obstacles before by the enemy AI) - but more importantly are the updates to the mob operations side of things. I haven't yet played with the patch, but there's been additions of rival gangs also spreading into your territory, attacking/taking over your businesses, and so on. This new aspect really sounds like it's made that part of the game miles better than how good it already was.

Overall, I'd say it's great if you don't mind a slower paced strategy game, and even moreso if you like the mafia at all. It's got a nice laid back pace while also keeping you thinking about your next move - but if you're looking for a lot of exciting action and combat you might want to go to XCom.

61

Uninspired game

Beta21 | July 9, 2013 | See all Beta21's reviews »

The idea for the game is definately engaging. But it fails in so many levels. The voice acting makes you cringe. You never really build a base or a criminal organization. Money is way to easy to come by.

The combat is very dry. There's no connection with any of the characters even your main character.

81

gangstars meet Jagged Allaince 2

malagchonga | July 7, 2013 | See all malagchonga's reviews »

This game is great, its similiar to gangstars from the 90s with better graphics and a more smooth gameplay. The fighting is a roundbased version and with skills similar to jagged alliance 2. ITs still fun and great to paly the missions or sandbox, just try it out.

60

Disappointing game made somewhat better by updates

Scorpy | July 6, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

I was looking forward to Omerta so much. The promise of a mix of Tropico and Mafia was a match made in heaven for me. I preordered it almost instantly, then I played the demo... there's a reason why they don't let you do much in the demo.

The turn-based combat, meant to mimic XCOM: Enemy Unknown, is sloppy and difficult to control. Enemies spawn in the worst places and the AI is damn near stupid. Classes can use different abilities effectively, but in the end it does not change much due to the reliance on chance. Although XCOM relies on the same factors, a soldier's abilities will often come first. That's not the case in Omerta.

The combat is the most fleshed out part of the game. The rest of the game, where you manage your mafia business, is best defined as "playing monopoly against yourself". There is no challenge, no personal motivation, it's just an empty void of clicking things and watching numbers go up with no interactions or repercussions on screen.

Now, the game has been updated to include rival gangs and police interaction in sandbox mode. But all this does is bid you against yourself as once again no interaction or change happens on screen. One of your business will be overrun by a rival gang. The only change is an notification telling you this. You don't see a big fight erupt, no fancy animations, just a notification.

This game could have been so good, but it ended up being so bad. At its asking price of $40 the game is a joke. As a $10 game it would have fared much better. But don't let the cool name and synopsis fool you, this game is as unpolished and bland as they come.

67

Really nice atmosphere, but mediocre gameplay

darko87 | June 6, 2013 | See all darko87's reviews »

Love the whole 1920's gangster theme to the game along with its music and voice acting but the actual game was a bit of a letdown.

I was hoping for a game focused on turn based strategy but I got a mediocre sim game with a few short tbs missions that seemed like they barely belonged in the game. The funny thing is if the sim elements of the game were as robust as say Tropico's I would probably have loved this game.

81

A good mix of lightweight strategy and combat

georgecopos | May 16, 2013 | See all georgecopos's reviews »

I'll say right up front - if you're looking for XCom meets Sim City, look away from Omerta. But, if you're into those games, yet looking for something that plays "faster" and is a lot easier to just fire up and enjoy immediately, without worrying about laying sewer lines, drawing roads, etc etc etc, this is a very fun game.

You get to be a gangster, and you spend part of your time taking over businesses, bribing informants, and expanding your business. When it comes time to "go to the mattresses", you jump into tactical combat, much like a boardgame, or games like XCom. The combat is much simpler than XCom, though, which means it's faster and more fluid, in my opinion.

If there's one really annoying thing, it's that you spend a lot of time waiting for gangsters to finish jobs they are assigned. There's no timer to let you know when they'll be done, and so you sit around waiting a little too often at times. Also, it could use more multiplayer maps.

For the price, and the content that it comes with, it's a lot of fun, and a good deal.

41

Grab it on sale

MrGrizzly | May 2, 2013 | See all MrGrizzly's reviews »

THE GOOD: A neat little storyline with some great pop culture homages and an alright combat system.

THE BAD: really boring at times. You spend a lot of your time waiting around for your money to accumulate and you are pretty much doing nothing in the meantime. You never have to brew a drop of alcohol or open any speakeasies. You can beat any mission and make a ton of money by simply opening a Boxing Arena, Soup Kitchen and a Pawnshop. The combat system can get very repetitive and boring to the point where you are simply autoplaying most of the combat instances.

THE UGLY: The game is way to easy. Even on the hardest levels with the highest police presence all you need to do is pay a pitiful 200 dollars to get cops to look the other way and leave you alone. There was not a single mission or combat encounter that I failed.

75

A Rushed Gem That's Still Worth A Playthrough!

Immunity | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all Immunity's reviews »

Omerta: City of Gangsters is brought to us by the same development team responsible for the recent additions to the Tropico franchise (both Tropico 3 and 4.) As such, you'll have a strong feeling of déjà vu for a good portion of the game if you've played either of their previous titles, at least when it comes to the management aspect. However, the developers took an opportunity to step out of their comfort zone and introduce an X-COM like turn-based tactical combat system that makes up the other half of the game. So, do both these components work well together to deliver a satisfying experience? Yes, and no.

Gameplay (Campaign): Before the campaign starts, you'll create your main persona by selecting a portrait, and answering a half dozen questions which determine the make up of your character's stats. You're introduced into the game world via short, snazzy, still frame cut-scenes (which continue throughout the main story arch), after which the game proper begins. The management aspect of the game is a heavily simplified, yet still oddly satisfying, with enough building selections to warrant multiple approaches, especially during the later maps when you're given more freedom as to how to pursue your goals. You'll be responsible for setting up supply and product chains, have the opportunity to extort politicians, scam socialites, raid independent businesses, and heist the odd bank or two should you so choose. That said, most of these actions consist of you selecting a gangster, clicking a button, and waiting until either he returns informing of you success, or getting thrown into a turn-based combat map should complications arise. You'll be doing all of this while keeping an eye on your Liked/Fear rating, which influences the efficiency of most of your businesses, as well as the Heat meter, which will have to be dealt with should it reach its maximum. You'll also need to chose your gang wisely, with more slots opening up for you as you complete the campaign missions. Each gangster has their own unique personality, back story, and class. Classes yield certain bonuses (burglars receive 25% more loot during raids, for example), so diversifying, allocating leveled perks properly, and using each of your gang members where he is strongest is key to efficiency.

The turn-based combat portion of the game plays like a largely simplified X-COM, albeit with iconic Tommy Gun's instead of lasers. There's a heavy emphasis on using cover, though cover itself is not graded, other than being either destructible or not. There's no over-watch function, most likely to keep the combat itself moving forward rather than degenerating into a camp-fest (although the AI opponents are a bit on the suicidal side, admittedly.) You won't need to worry about reloading, but you will need to keep an eye on your team's health, as healing (and revive) abilities are exceedingly rare, with most being usable only once during the encounter. The maps are not randomly generated, and there's roughly 8-10 of them that get reused throughout the campaign. Every armory you raid will have the same layout, as will banks etc. The lack of content here is a shame, since the feeling you get as you cut down multiple coppers in a hail of bullets is second to none.

Visuals: The overhead campaign map view is gorgeous, and the engine seems to run extremely well on even decent systems. There's a great deal of attention to detail, ranging from the signs in shop windows, to advertisements on the side of buildings, to pedestrians crowding rain slicked streets with their umbrellas in tow. It's a shame then that most of the time you'll spend playing the game is zoomed out, having to settle for a bird's eye view to effectively manage all of your properties. The turn-based combat maps are a bit rougher in terms of looks (in part due to the boring settings they take place in), but the same attention to detail is present, with dead characters slumping against their cover, and casting larger than life shadows when indoors and illuminated.

Audio: The voice-work is top notch, with everyone from the main character to gang members, to the NPC's you encounter delivering dialog that brings life and uniqueness to their persona's. The music is also worthy of mention, fitting the time period perfectly. It may be a bit hectic for some, but fans of the era won't be disappointed in this regard.

Gameplay (Sandbox): With less than a half dozen non-randomized maps that you've already played through if you've beat the campaign, and no opposition to speak of save for random turn-based combat maps, the Sandbox mode of this game is largely a throw away feature and not worth mentioning.

Gameplay (Multiplayer): Much like the sandbox, at this point in time the multiplayer is not worth mentioning, as it consists of only 4 (2 co-op, 2 vs.) non-randomized maps. In its current state, it's more or less a throwaway feature tacked on so that they could list it as a bullet-point on the box.

Final Word: Despite the shortcomings of the game in terms of simplification, and the utterly insulting sandbox and multiplayer modes, Omerta is a game that ends up being more than the sum of its parts. The singleplayer campaign took me roughly 14 hours to complete on the hardest mode, though this will vary depending on how thorough you decide to be in seeking out the special weapons purchasable on certain maps and accomplishing secondary objectives. It may be simplified in most regards, and lacking in quite a few others, but the attention to detail along with high production values in this game elevate it in score above what it should rightfully receive. Also of note is the fact that the developers have, via the game's Kalypso based forum, promised to address the shortcomings of both the MP and Sandbox mode in roughly two months time (April'ish 2013) in an upcoming patch. Whether or not they follow through on that promise remains to be seen. All that having been said, if you're a fan of the classic gangsters era, and enjoy turn-based combat coupled with light business management, pick this gem up, capiche?!

60

Lot of potential wasted.

tommyrotten | Feb. 20, 2013 | See all tommyrotten's reviews »

The other reviews tell pretty much everything you need to know about the flaws of the game. I haven't played the new versions of XCOM or Jagged Alliance yet, but from what I've seen the turn-based combat is very similar. I really like it and after about 10 missions I still find it enjoyable. There are still a lot of stuff the developers should've worked on, though, and here's some of my biggest concerns: 1. the same combat environments seem to repeat really often. It gets a tad boring to play the same warehouse scheme four or five times. 2. The weapon mechanics suck: molotov and grenade (especially the latter one) could've been designed in a lot better way. Now you just throw them into a desired spot, they never miss that spot, and the grenade takes ages to explode. Oh, and other stupid thing is that it doesn't matter whether the grenade explodes outdoors or indoors - it always has the same circular damage field which even passes through solid walls. Well, I guess it's only a minor problem but it makes the gameplay unrealistic for that part. 3. Every mission seems to follow the same path: Gather money, rent buildings, establish random businesses, gather more money, bribe police when needed, gather more money etc. Eventually you will start making more money than you need and at this point the mission is usually over. It seems that all you did was for nothing. I like the concept of how different businesses increase certain other businesses' efficiency, but sadly it doesn't really matter at all what you do because eventually you will start making enough money anyway.

Don't get me wrong - all in all there is a lot of things I DO like about the game (soundtrack, the 1920's atmosphere, graphics...) but because of some major flaws and (mostly) the repetition I usually find myself playing only a single mission in one sitting and taking a long break from the game before starting a new one.

30

Not as interesting as expected

zah | Feb. 10, 2013 | See all zah's reviews »

I was really excited about this game, but the more I played the more I was let down. I played with hardest difficulty level and this game was too easy.

I was hoping that building an empire was going to be the most interesting and hardest part of the game. Defending businesses from rival gangs and avoiding police attention would've been interesting. Unfortunately there isn't anything like that. Every business is profitable and you don't have to be afraid of other gangs attacking it. There is possibility that police may shut down your empire, but it's not very likely to happen, because you always have loads of money to bribe them.

The combat was fun at first, because this turn-based combat was all new to me. I had to think few steps ahead or else I wasn't going to win. As soon as you got your gang up to 4 members, combat wasn't challenging anymore. You could just walk into warehouse and kill everyone in there.

After few missions there wasn't anything new to discover and it got really repedative... build busnesses, bribe police, kill few gangsters and start all over again. If you still want to play this game, I suggest you to wait until price drops.

70

Lots of promise but many missed opportunities.

fable2 | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

I really looked forward to Omerta coming out. I have been looking for something similar to Gangsters for quite some time. There is some fun to be had with the game, but I think this just scratches the surface of what this game could be.

You fight for territory by buying up properties and establishing businesses in the neighborhood. This is rudimentary at best and could be expanded greatly. Money flows in and out in a seemingly random fashion and once you own a business you really do very little with them.

You constantly move to new territories and lose your progress from previous missions. Cash and influence disappear and you start basically from scratch.

The combat is fun, but minimal in the game really. It can be pretty easy at times, but its still enjoyable. I'd like to have more background on the gang you recruit as well. Its all just too....shallow. Its hard to get involved.

55

Misses the shot on a crime world classic.

Lurion | Feb. 1, 2013 | See all Lurion's reviews »

Let me preface this by saying I haven't completed this games campaign mode, rather that I have played sandbox mode instead.

Omerta: City of Gangsters isn't a game that is a mix between turn-based combat (X-COM style) and empire building (Gangsters series). It throws in a little bit of RPGness for those that want to see their mob boss grow, as well as their army of gangsters. The concept looks and sounds nice, the write up makes it sound like the game gangsters should of been, the actual product? A dismal and dry game that is neither gangsters or X-COM, it is rather a pitiful attempt at making a mob game without any real thought.

ECONOMY / EMPIRE BUILDING: This is why I bought the game, I love games like Mob Rule, and Gangsters, they have combat, but it is really about the Empire Building that I like. Buying buildings and creating businesses, blowing up opponents and having muscle patrol your properties.

Omerta doesn't do any of this to any real extent. You have your team of gangsters, and they run off somewhere and buy a building that you've found through spying. In reality this is click the send button, and wait 1-3 minutes. You build your business, click 2 upgrade buttons to get it working and leave it. [There are other factors, however this is the crux of 'Empire Building'

There is no territory to speak of, no guarding your properties, and police just investigate you once you have high heat. Sure you can bribe the police, again that is a click of a button.

COMBAT: Think X-COM with less graphics, less moves, less fun. In essence combat is not anything close to what I was wanting. Turn-based combat can be an absolute blast if done right, and something you really need to plan out in advance. The problem with Omerta is that your characters seem extremely weak, are the worst shots possible, and don't act like Mobsters at all. I never got that feeling that I was a Don in charge of countless hordes of muscle and mobsters, vying for control of Atlantic City. All I got was the feeling that I was a low-level criminal trying to stop failing.

OVERALL: I could say there are some nice things about this game that keep me coming back, however I can't. There is nothing in this game that I found overly enjoyable to keep me entertained. It was as if it was pieced together from nowhere and then just released, hoping to make some quick dollars. There are things here that if developed, could make the game great. I just don't think this will ever happen.

Omerta is definitely an offer you can refuse, and something I'd recommend, from one gangsters fan to others.

70

Boardwalk Empire made videogame!!

abelfs | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

The gameplay reminds me to XCOM: Enemy Unknown. The combat is turn-based with a RPG component.When you're not killing the competence, you'll have to rule administrative aspects related to the expansion of your zone and avoiding the law. In general, the game has some good ideas. Unfortunately, it does release its potential. An overall a feeling of crudeness remains and the repetitive gameplay can't captivate.