Reviews for Mass Effect Trilogy (NA)

95

An Unparalled Sci-Fi Epic

fuzeblu | July 22, 2014 | See all fuzeblu's reviews »

From the creator's of acclaimed RPGs comes a gripping, immersive saga staged around Commander Shepard and crew as they journey through a galaxy drenched in mystery and suspense. The story is top notch with great voice acting and consequential player choices. Party members each have unique personalities which adapt to the player's alignment and interactions. The universe and environments are wonderfully built throughout the entire trilogy. The combat can be feel standard in some instances, and combat customization changes some between ME1 and ME2, but the ability to customize your loadout effectively is still present and the gunfights are still enjoyable. When nearing the end of Mass Effect 3, I highly suggest downloading Bioware's free Extended Cut DLC before finishing. It clears up most confusion and any frustrations the player might have. Overall, a fantastic game. You will not regret playing it!

92

One of my favorite gaming experiences ever!

BigPaxDaddy | Feb. 16, 2014 | See all BigPaxDaddy's reviews »

I have never played Mass Effect but I played Mass Effect 2 and 3 and they are some of the most fun gaming experiences I've ever had. Mass Effect 2 might be one of the top 10 best games ever made. It's story draws you in and engages you from start to finish. Mass Effect 3 while the story isn't as strong, the gameplay is much improved over Mass Effect 2. Both are lovely looking and sounding games and suck you into the setting with ease. I would highly recommend this if you can find it on sale (even if you can't but if you can it's obviously better)

92

Great story and gameplay

lok0812 | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This package contains the Mass Effect Trilogy. A great RPG that have story and gameplay all in one. The game provide a deep character progression in each installment of the game giving the player a sense of deep RPG element. The story is done top notch and the actions provided in each of the game will not disappoint any action fans since it will never feel like you are playing another generic shooting game. In addition, the 3rd installment also have multiplayer mode that allows co-op play as well as DM form of play. This is a must get no matter you are a RPG fan or action fan and you will not be disappointed.

97

Best Sci-fi RPG ever made

spycid | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

The Mass Effect series is a true space opera full of interstellar battles, irreversible decisions, sprawling story-lines and so, so many defining moments. The events of the trilogy could fill twice as many games and novels as there already are.

The first game introduces you to the universe, characters and concept of Mass Effect which is easy to comprehend even if you are not a science fan.

The second one is a well successor to the original one and keeps you glued till the end.

The third one draws an epic conclusion which some might not feel justified or liked by many but still it truly sticks to the things which made the franchise famous.

This trilogy does not contain all DLCs, but it will definitely not break the storyline of the trilogy and you will not miss a thing even if you don't play the DLCs.

84

A very detailed game

Fazbott | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Fazbott's reviews »

Probably one of the most detail intensive games I've played with lots of quests and customization. Might be too much for some people, but if you enjoy spending lots of time going through items and customization then this is the game for you. Fighting and story is great as well.

80

Pretty Good

legatoJR | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all legatoJR's reviews »

The Mass effect Trilogy is a solid set of games. The story builds upon itself throughout the trilogy and comes to a climax. While some may have complained about the ending, I enjoyed the ride.

100

The Hero or Villain We All Needed

noobboy191 | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all noobboy191's reviews »

This trilogy has captured the hearts of scfi nerds everywhere. From the complete world packed to the brim with explanations of why and what something or someone is, to the great gameplay with tactical and heated gunplay, to the well written dialogue. Have the world fear your combat prowess and harsh demeanor, or inspire the world, make every problem your problem, let those who can't carry the heavy burden take a break, not even counting the crew and fighters at your side, from your stalwart krogan friend, to the beautiful gunnery sergeant. Make every moment yours, live the game, fight the war, be the commander you always wanted to be.

92

You're crazy not to get this

fredward93 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all fredward93's reviews »

If you like anything sci-fi or 3rd person shooter, you are going to like these games. The immersion into the story is fantastic as the game really makes you care about your decisions. I remember feeling sad about certain consequences to my choices. It is not easy for a video game to grab you like that. The story of the first two games is stronger than the third, but I think the third has the best gameplay features. It is really cool to play them in order, especially since each one ties into the next, and is really worth the money.

89

The Ultimate Sci-Fi Videogame

literalage | May 28, 2013 | See all literalage's reviews »

Though there is a lot of negative talk about the mass effect trilogy conclusion, and some may find the first game not as engaging game play wise as its sequels, its worth playing these games as a whole. Nothing else stands up to the Mass Effect Universe in the world of games. Fantastic depth to loose yourself in the lore of this fictional setting. well written for the most part with some of the greatest characters in any RPG, this trilogy While not complete, is the easiest way to dive into what deserves to be known as video games first, TRUE science fiction epic, at least when compared to the sci-fi movie epics.

95

Sci-fi action RPG at its best

sapanp | April 24, 2013 | See all sapanp's reviews »

A sprawling epic story across three games, in which your actions in a previous game can affect how the story unfolds in a subsequent game. The ability to customize your character not only via gameplay, but also through social interactions with other characters on your team. These are the aspects of the game that truly make it an immersive experience.

Gameplay-wise, ME1 plays a bit differently than the other two. ME2 and 3 gameplay is closer to that of action games; think Gears of War gameplay with RPG customization. ME1 plays a bit slower; reminiscent of older Bioware games, like KOTOR or even the first Dragon Age. Personally, I prefer the gameplay of ME1 on the hard difficulty, where you have to pause during fights and switch between all of your characters and strategically decide which ability to use and when. However, the greater consensus was that ME1 gameplay was a bit too slow with not enough action, so Bioware ramped up the action for 2 & 3 and took out some of the strategic element. Regardless, I found all three games to be enjoyable gameplay-wise.

If you're a fan of sci-fi gaming, I highly recommend this trilogy. If it's on sale, it's a no-brainer. Prepare to lose yourself in the world (universe?) of Mass Effect for at least 75 hours (not including DLC's), double that if you're a completionist like me.

N.B. This trilogy comes with SOME of the DLC's, but not all. If you want the full ME experience you will need to purchase some DLC's. However, the DLC's are not required for story cohesion; i.e. you won't be lost if you choose not to play the DLC's.

94

Recap the greatness

slevink88 | April 19, 2013 | See all slevink88's reviews »

This may seem like a tough choice, as these games are older. If you haven't played them yet though (at least on the PC) this may be a great bundle for you. The story is nothing short of great, especially if you have the time to complete all three. The PC has great control, and it is not something that will destroy your computer while playing. If you love a great story, smooth controls and a experience that few can match, this collection is worth every penny.

90

Be Commander Shepard.

Coolicy | Feb. 6, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

I would definitely recommend this package for new-comers to the Mass Effect universe. As you can expect from a Bioware game, the universe is diverse and extremely interesting. Each alien race has an extensive history, which can be either studied or ignored, as is with most of Mass Effect's lore.

The three games are all great in nature, and the decisions are carried over all the way from ME 1 to ME 3. Despite what some may rave about the decisions Bioware choose to tackle ME3's ending, I've had a great time throughout the whole journey, and was left satisfied with the ending after seeing the FREE Extended Cut dlc.

Mass Effect 1 was more about the story, as its combat is definitely closer to an RPG more than an action game. Mass Effect 3 feels like an action game with RPG elements. Mass Effect 2, however, is more like a hybrid between the two, combining the perfect elements of combat and RPG.

The story is absolutely amazing, creating moments and fights both memorable and challenging, and partnering your Commander Shepard with interesting allies and foes. Mass Effect 3 is actually my favorite of them all, bringing my encounters from ME1 and ME2 with a full stop. You will build attachments to characters, and will feel strong emotions as they come and go.

If I were to criticize this package, it would be because it doesn't include all the DLC's. It includes the DLC's for ME1, some DLC's (that come with new copies of the game) for ME2 and the online pass for ME3. The description tries to sell the multiplayer component for ME3 a lot, and deservingly so. The multiplayer is great, fun and has received a lot of support post-launch. It is very addictive, definitely give it a try if you own ME3.

The trilogy combines all 3 installments of the ME series into one convenient and economical package. If you're new to the ME series, this is a great starting point. If you've played one or two of the ME series, this is a good place to start revisiting the worlds you encounter, and make the meaningful decisions that you missed. If you've played all three games, then why are you still reading this? Buy it!

95

A must-play sci-fi trilogy

DaiMonPaul | Feb. 5, 2013 | See all DaiMonPaul's reviews »

The Mass Effect series has received much critical acclaim over the years, and all of it is well-deserved. BioWare has created not just a video game, but rather an entire universe full of characters that spring to life, events that will shock and surprise you, and an overarching story that will grip you and not let you go until you have finished it. The game itself meshes together the RPG, Action, and Third-Person Shooter genres, and it does so quite effectively. The controls work well, the graphics look great, and the game plays smoothly, even on lower-end systems (although you may need to turn down some of the settings).

In this pack, you get all three of the main games that integrate together to form a comprehensive story. Your actions in each game impact what happens in the story, which gives the games an immense amount of replayability. You can make different friends or enemies, specialize your Shepard in different areas, romance different characters, complete different missions, and get different endings. Replaying through each game is almost a must. As a bonus, what happens in ME1 affects what happens to you in ME2, and ME2 in ME3.

ME1 and ME2 offer only single-player campaigns, while ME3 adds multiplayer. This multiplayer option is nothing ground-breaking, but it's fun and it works relatively well. There have also been complaints about the ME3 ending, and while I would have ended the game differently, it doesn't take away the enjoyment had from the previous 99% of these three games.

The only real drawback to getting this trilogy pack is that it does not include all of the DLC, and there is a lot of it. There are several pieces of important story DLC that are only found online for ME2 and ME3, and these are NOT cheap. Having to buy them from the BioWare website and then download them separately is an annoyance... ME3's integration into Origin makes this easier to deal with, but it's still expensive. Overall, though, the value you get in this trilogy pack is incredible. Any fans of the sci-fi, action, or RPG genres will enjoy these games and should pick them up. Great gameplay + a unique universe = a winning combo!