Reviews for Battlefield 3: Premium Edition (NA)

90

Great fun and stands up.

iltamies | Nov. 3, 2014 | See all iltamies's reviews »

I picked up the premium version for dirt cheap and couldn't be happier. This game has given me hours of enjoyment and stands up well even with the releases of BF4. I'm not a super high skilled player or anything but on my R9 280X or my laptop's AMD 8770M (don't ask), it looks pretty solid and is playable.

85

A Solid Team-Oriented FPS

silentthreat17 | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all silentthreat17's reviews »

Nabbed this a couple months back for $20, and I daresay it was worth every cent. I've never been a real CoD fan, so I won't go around making comparisons, but to say that BF3 relies heavily on Team-Oriented gameplay, whereas CoD clearly doesn't, would be an understatement. Sure it is a load of fun to play by yourself, but the game really shines when you get a couple friends together in a squad, coordinating as a group.

In my opinion, the Premium Edition is well worth the extra money as opposed to the standard BF3 pack. The added maps add a load of extra variety, most of which encourage team-coordination, which, when executed correctly, leaves you with a feeling of accomplishment that very few shooters are currently capable of. For fans of team-oriented gameplay, this is certainly worth a look. For everyone else, I'd still recommend a buy, but waiting for it to go on sale would probably be best.

Pros: Amazing Visuals, Astounding sound effects, Great map and weapon variety and great teamwork gameplay.

Cons: Server connecting can occasionally be a hassle. The game runs via OriginDRM, and uses Battlelog as the all-around multiplayer browser (personally I don't mind Battlelog, but Origin on the other hand can be a real pain at times.)

95

Some of my best experiences.

JonnyDel | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all JonnyDel's reviews »

Great value at this price for the amount of time than can be spent with this game. The matches are varied and there's lots of roles to play. The suppression mechanic and sound effects do an incredible job of making you feel like you're right in the heat of battle. The chaos that ensues in most matches is addictive and always exciting. The premium kit comes with all the varied gameplay types so you can change up the game at a whim. Battlelog does a great job tracking your best (and worst) moments. Highly recommend this game.

95

Battlefield 3

FairladyZ33 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all FairladyZ33's reviews »

BF3 is truly one of the greatest FPS. 10 x better than COD. Huge maps and very interactive. 32 on 32 is great. Fly helicopters, planes, ATVs, tanks, everything. Great game if you play with many friends and use teamwork you can dominate. All about teamwork. Will be buying BF4.

97

If you love shooters, this is for you

nightassassin1 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This is the best deal out of every Battlefield 3 prospect. You get the base game, every DLC, special premium only weapons such as the ACB knife, and priority que. You save a large amount of money if you buy the game and all of the DLC packs individually compared to if you buy this premium version of the game and you do not get the benefits of being a premium member. Each DLC pack in this premium version of the game gives the exact same thing as the individual packs such as the weapons, maps, and vehicles so you lose nothing by buying this version of the game and it is cheaper.

I have been an FPS gamer since the old days of the Delta Force franchise and was a bit hesitant to get into BF2 and BF3 due to the high use of vehicles, but the game is well balanced and there are no-vehicle maps as well. I enjoyed this game and all of the DLC packs very much. The biggest reason I enjoyed the game is that my roommate has the game as well and we always play together, making things more fun and we tend to dominate everything. If you love shooters or want to get into them, this game is a great one to start or continue in. I loved it very much and can not wait for the next installation of the franchise. DICE did a great job on this game and all of the unbalanced weapons have been fixed now so you will have a fighting chance against anyone no matter what weapon you have.

90

Better than Call of Duty

photochrisj87 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all photochrisj87's reviews »

For a small price you get a good campaign, good music and great multiplayer that has a lot of depth, customization and larger and insane battles that makes you wonder if you'll make it through the battle.

A great deal you can't pass up on!

80

Solid Game.

K_ralz | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all K_ralz's reviews »

Recently purchased from GMG for 20$, and I'd say it was worth the money!

The only real problem is that it requires Origin, and not Steam, (but you can adapt to that easily) and the browser is stupid. I don't understand why they can't do an in game server browser like Call of Duty or Counter-Strike.

Great visuals, amazing sound effects, and lots of great maps. If you're looking for a FPS with more required teamwork, check this out.

93

Action Packed Game... Awesome

cteeman14 | July 7, 2013 | See all cteeman14's reviews »

Practically stole this game from GMG with all of the extras. Lots of different servers and game modes to suit your style. Gameplay is really great (although there are still some hackers that get through). I love that you can destroy buildings and different parts of the environments to kill your enemies, destroy their hiding places, or force them to come out. This game does require EA's Origin client to be able to play, but it is not such a big deal. Enjoy!

85

Great deal for a nice game.

Jiubatha | June 14, 2013 | See all Jiubatha's reviews »

This bundle is an absolute steal. For everything you get with it, it is well worth the money (on sale especially).

Battlefield 3 is more than I expected it to be. I was slow on buying it, not sure if it was really worth it (being a little burned out on shooters). But I found a nice surprise. Amazing graphics, solid gameplay, responsive controls, and an overall good time. Single player is nice. It certainly has its 'wow' and dull moments, but its not worth the price tag alone. Multiplayer is where this game shines. Plenty of active servers and players, cool maps, vehicles and weapons. Destructibility is nice, but I did notice that it was toned down compared to Bad Company 2. Its certainly a fun time, and bringing some friends into mix will certainly keep you playing until the next battlefield.

92

Has What You Need To Enjoy The Game

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Battlefield 3's Multiplayer was pretty limited on its own and it felt like the advantage was to the people who bought the DLC. But with this you have the full game and the DLC so your Battlefield 3 experience is the best it can be. The game still has it's problems in the other game modes that the DLC can't fix but what this DLC can fix is the multiplayer. If you want Battlefield 3, get this edition.

80

Fantastic Package

Pr1mus | June 10, 2013 | See all Pr1mus's reviews »

Battlefield 3 Premium Edition comes with the base game and all 5 DLC expansions. Combined together these DLCs more than double the amount of multiplayer content. Not only that but each DLCs also have their own theme for some unique map designs and modes that you wouldn't find in the original game.

All this adds up to a great multiplayer experience. It may not be revolutionary, we are talking about another modern military shooter after all, but the larger maps and vehicular combat still makes the Battlefield multiplayer distinctive enough from other shooters out there.

The single player campaign however is entirely forgettable. Short, boring, frustrating in spots and quite buggy. It seems that Dice chose to focus its attention exclusively on the multiplayer for its patches leaving the single player in the same sorry state it was at launch. It is worth nothing that before BF3 and the Bad Company games the Battlefield games didn't even have a proper single player mode to begin with and thus most people are coming to it for the multiplayer alone.

If this is the case for you then don't be afraid to jump in. If you are interested only in the single player campaign however i would advised against buying this game.

90

Best Battlefield 3 Experience

onewinged90 | June 6, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

The premium includes ALL the expansions of Battlefield 3 with much lower price. There are a lot of maps and game mode available to the game where you will invest hundreds of hours into it. Play with four classes available with tonnes of weapins to choose! As a warning this game uses EA's Origin client, but so far it is a pleasant experience. Recommended.

95

Maybe...the best war game of all.

kalil | June 6, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

A game that understands well the concept of the "Art of War". The real war involves strategy and cooperation, and in this game is difficult to succeed if you ignore them. Teamwork is essential, individualism does not have much place in this game. Here is the purpose of the various soldier classes (medic, engineer, support and recognition), with their special abilities. The scenarios are generally large, detailed, and offer some destruction in the environment. The amount of weapons is great, and their designs are perfect. The sound is beautiful. But best of all, since their large maps (almost all) would not be the same without them-are military vehicles (tanks, cars, quads, helicopters, planes, amphibians, boats, and motorcycles, forthcoming). It has several game modes to suit all tastes: the frantic action if you prefer the classic team deathmatch, the squad deathmatch (although the latter is not won without a squad to work together), the conquest domination of close quarters, the gun master, and scavenger, then there are ways that require some more tactics and strategy: the usual rush, the rush squad, the Normal conquest, the conquest attack, and the tank superiority (the latter is war tanks). In summary, the most comprehensive war game exists, it has almost everything.

80

A Battlefield 3 Dream

Sam0316 | April 27, 2013 | See all Sam0316's reviews »

For those of you that are Battlefield fans, this game will either be a hit or a miss with you. A lot of the game mechanics, such as surpression, sun glare, etc. will either add to your realism feel or really break the game.

However, for value, this is unbeatable, as this was on sale for $35, and included the DLC , Premium Service, and the base game! Considering I have friends who paid over $120 for Premium and the Game, even at full price of $60 this is a real steal.

If you don't like EA's online server policies, walk away now. All servers are owned and operated through EA, and if you are looking to host your own server, it must be through EA and follow all their rules. In addition, many people consider those without Premium to be at a disadvantage because of all the premium weapons and perks. However, seeing as this package includes premium that won't make much of a different.

All in all though, this game gives you constant multiplayer action, allowing you to roll out in tanks, fly jets, or rock out as 4 different infantry classes (Assault, Engineer, Support, and Recon). Whether you play alone, or as a team, this game is fun, and having spent over 200 hours on it, I can say it was worth the time and money.

95

The ultimate package in one!

Coolicy | Feb. 5, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

In practice, this is actually a great deal. A typical full price for a game but this one includes all DLCs, right now it's on sale for 50% off too! I bought BF3 when it released and subscribed to the premium edition when it was available, and I didn't regret it one bit.

This package includes a full length campaign and multiple coop missions, but those who know BF3 knows that its true value lies in multiplayer. Which is why this package has superb value, and even more so when on sale.

There are modes that is more tailored to the CoD crowd, and vehicle focused for the hardcore BF3 crowd, and maps that features the perfect balance between the two ala BFBC2. You will get all the DLC as said earlier, and each of them are all of great value. I loved all of the map pack EXCEPT the Armored Kill one, that one is slightly too big and too vehicular focused for my taste. Those who love the BF3 vehicular combat would feel right at home.

All in all, this package is a great deal, even when it's full priced at $59.99. It's on sale now, and GMG frequently has vouchers that you can apply. Definitely pick up this game to scratch your FPS itch.