Reviews for Resident Evil 6

75

Better than expected

reginleifx | July 5, 2014 | See all reginleifx's reviews »

I have to admit, that I really wasn't expecting Resident Evil 6 to be good. I'd stopped liking the franchise ever since 4 came out. But after getting RE6, I think I am into it again. Gameplay is good, every single action is fluid, and you can pull off different moves which makes the game a bit easier if done correctly. The game is challenging, since, even though there are loads of guns for every character in each campaign, finding ammunition for them can be quite difficult and you're highly likely to be surrounded by enemies most of the time. However, the lack of hard puzzles are the reason I stopped being a fan of the franchise, and puzzles are pretty much the only thing you will not find in this game. Visually, the game is beautiful. The soundtrack could be better, but still good. About the game's length, it took me 23 hours to beat, but I was not even near to 100% completion, so, I guess it should take completionists around 50 hours to beat, which makes this probably the longest entry in the series.

90

Another great co-op, another sad game in series.

Furrek | July 5, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

Starting from bad things, Jake Muller is a biggest mistake Capcom ever made. Why? Well, you will probably need to play this game to know this, and I'm sure that you can agree with me. Another is that once again we see same characters. Resident Evil universum have many interesting characters - why use always same? I wouldn't mind seeing Claire, Barry, Billy (from RE Zero) or Rebecca. Why it is once again Leon and Chris? The next thing that RE6 is missing any puzzles. I don't really remember any, and I did completed this game few times playing each scenario. So starting with good things, you can play 3 main scenarios and 1 mini one in RE6. That means, even if you didn't liked one, you might like another. Each scenario is different from another. Cooperation is great as always, and it is probably the only way to enjoy this game. Story is decent, but bosses are great. Well, I find them great, they remind me of some other big mutant that were in past RE series. If I'm not mistaken, this Resident Evil game is also the first one where you can shoot and run. I didn't liked it. You should play Resident Evil 6 if you have a partner to coop games. If you don't have one, maybe you are looking for good action game? But only, if you are looking for pure action, not for some nice story etc. At least, try it if you are a fan of new RE series.

60

Worst RE since years

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

This must be one of the most boring games I've played in years. Where Resident Evil 1-3 were all about horror, 4 more about action/horror and 5 more action than horror, 6 has finally come to the point where there's no more horror at all, and it's all about the action. Granted, it's campaigns are long and to complete them all will take you well over 20 hours (1-1,5 hours per mission). But I couldn't even finish the journey. So far I've finished Leon's campaign and am near the end of Chris', but it's mostly shooting, with an awkward co-op partner at your side. The animations of Leon were wooden and there will tons of QTEs, yet Chris' animations were fine and his campaign had practically no QTEs. It's like they were made by entirely different teams. The Japanese influences can be seen in all of the campaigns and maybe that's what makes the game so boring. Instead of moving forward it looks like they went backwards when compared with Western developers. I can't really explain, it's just a feeling, and the fact that it's absolutely not scary at all, when, well, it should be. I heard good things about the Mercenaries mode so I'll be sure to give that a try, and I might finish the campaign over the next couple of weeks/months, but for now it's just too damn boring.

68

Way better that RE5!

Nexxolae | Jan. 14, 2014 | See all Nexxolae's reviews »

Resident Evil 6 = Way better than it predecessor! It is creepier and really scares you a lot of times. Graphically better than RE5 and the story has more action and plot-twists in it. The story-mode has 4 different stories which, in time, intertwine with each other. Also, co-op is a lot of fun and I will recommend to do co-op if you have the chance!

52

Worst Main Entry In The Resident Evil Series

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 6, 2014 | See all TomWeise62305's reviews »

I've been a fan of the series since RE2 on the PS1 and have played every main entry and nearly all of the spin-offs too. For me personally this is by far the worst main entry in the series; I even enjoyed quite a few of the spin-offs far more than this. I'm a primarily single player focused gamer, so the main thing I was looking forward to were the campaigns. Unfortunately all 4 of them range from terrible to simply mediocre. Contrary to most people, I actually enjoyed Chris' campaign the most because it actually seemed to embrace the action focused gameplay mechanics. Generally speaking, his campaign had the largest levels and most room to manoeuvre. Leon's campaign was pretty bad. Very linear with tight corridors and annoying scripted zombie encounters. Jake's campaign is sort of like Chris' and Leon's combined and also has some larger levels with at least some amount of exploration. Ada's would probably be my least favorite. Generally speaking though, all of the campaigns are heavily scripted and linear with generous amounts of QTEs and absolutely no horror. I actually like the controls and the advanced dodges you can perform, but they're virtually useless during the campaigns. I enjoyed the Mercenaries much more than the campaigns as I felt that the controls were more set up for that type of play experience. I hope Capcom do a 180 with the next entry in the series.

90

New Direction

Mscigniew | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

RE6 is different than the older titles,but is it bad?Hell no!It`s more of an action game,than puzzle but still a survival horror.We gonna meet a lot of familiar faces in 6th Resident Evil,which is nice and adds to the game.I liked the mechanics,Narration style,story is decent,what I didnt like were some enemies,"overdone" lets call em,like a overgrown fly...not really scary but just in a bad taste.Overall I find RE6 a very good game and I do recomend it.

87

A good one

gforcesa | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I really enjoyed RE5 and when Capcom announced RE6 i was so excited.I really like how they made different chapters for the main characters.My favorite character is Leon ever since RE4 and his campaign is one of my favorite mainly because its more interesting and has more zombies than the others.The graphics are pretty great and the optimization is good compared to RE5.Each chapter is around 5-7 hours depending on how you play it.If you are a hardcore fan that has been playing Resident Evil games since the first one you have probably played this already but if not give it a try.

60

Now with 50% more explosions

DeltaBladeX | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all DeltaBladeX's reviews »

The newest game in the Resident Evil series, this game covers a number of characters from earlier titles, including Chris Redfield, Leon Kennedy and Ada Wong, as well as newly introduced characters like Jake Muller, as they deal with the newest virus outbreak. Sadly, the game isn't perfect, with a number of flaws that can drive off fans, but it can still be a fun title to play through.

Story A new terrorist organization calling itself Neo-Umbrella has managed to release their newest virus, and you will get to play through four different campaigns to find out exactly what is happening. There are a few surprises through the story, and I recommend leaving Ada for last as her campaign will spoil quite a bit otherwise.

Presentation Graphically, the game is beautiful. Capcom didn't skimp on the visuals, with enemy models showing damage as you take them down, and the human characters looking pretty great as well. Locations are nice, and blurry textures were pretty rare during my time with the game.

On to the sound, and most of it is good here. For the music, it rarely did much to get me scared, but it never got irritating. The sound effects are a lot better, and the voice acting is well down, with the growls and moans from the zombies being just what I want to hear in a horror game.

Controls Break out that 360 gamepad. Dealing with quick time events on the keyboard was a pain, and this game has a fair number of them. Its a lot easier to pull that stuff off with the gamepad. Once you are using one, controls shouldn't be a problem, the mapping for it is just fine.

Gameplay And now for the most important part of any review, how the game plays. Sadly, this section is where it starts to get disappointing. Resident Evil 4 and 5 were shifting the series away from survival horror to an action game, and it seems as if this is finally done. Helicopters attempting to gun you down in the streets, running for your life as everything explodes behind you, gun fights everywhere you look, the series has changed a lot since the release of the original Resident Evil.

While there are still a lot of zombies, mostly in the Leon campaign, most of your fights will instead be with the J'avo, mutated humans who still have access to all sorts of guns and other weapons. Would will be spending a fair chunk of battles taking cover from your enemies and popping out to let off your own bursts of fire. Damage their body and they may mutate further to deal with it, such as growing new limbs to replace the damaged ones or becoming beast like creatures which require more work to bring down.

Between chapters, you can purchase bonus skills to help your character, ranging from higher damage against certain enemy types and getting more item drops, to infinite ammo for your weapons once you have beaten all the campaigns.

Lifespan Here the game isn't too bad. As well as a campaign that can last about 20 hours, there are a few extra modes like the classic Mercenaries mode, the multiplayer Agent Hunt mode, and a few others which can be purchased as DLC. I don't have any of the DLC, so can't tell you how they play, unfortunately.

Mercenaries has you against a large number of zombies and dealing with a timer. Rush to take them down, with each kill granting you more time, but trying to stay alive won't be easy. There is also the No Mercy mode for Mercenaries, which allows co-op and includes content from the Left 4 Dead series from Valve.

Agent Hunt is an interesting idea. In this mode, you will take control of a random enemy and connect to a game of another user. You will then get the chance to attempt to kill the user yourself. Should he manage to take you down, you will simply become yet another creature in that map. The monster you become can range from the standard zombie or J'avo to some of the more powerful infected creatures.

As well as the bonus modes, there are a number of collectables to find and destroy during the campaign, which unlock profiles and character models.

Glitches One rather annoying problem I had with this game was a glitch that causes the game to take a fair bit of time to start up. This doesn't effect everyone, but if you do get it, you can be left waiting a while just to play the game. I only need to wait on a blank screen for three minutes, but while looking on forums for help, I found others who were waiting up to fifteen minutes. That this is still a problem nine months after release makes me doubt it will get patched any time soon.

Closing Despite the shift in focus for the series, this isn't a horrible game. It can be incredibly fun if you just want to mow down hundreds of enemies. Sadly, it isn't anything impressive, and with the glitch I mentioned above, I honestly can't give this a higher score.

82

Hard one...

DeaD | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all DeaD's reviews »

This game has it, not a question. Even so I wouldn't say that it's perfect. Yeah it offers four different stories, that's a plus. It looks good, here's another one. Offers coop, for me that's at least two more.

Now it's time for the "but" part. Yup you have Leon there, but those infected ones are not zombies, at least not the one he is used to. It may be not that big of a problem, still in the long run, it isn't so nice killing everything but zombies. For example there is a "nemesis" (no, not in that way), who transforms quite a lot into, well...pretty much everything. For the first time it's ok, in the end annoying.

Despite the different stories, they all have the same problem. You have to walk through pretty scenes, killing everything on your way, but sooner or later you find your pretty one, who just can't die. So you run. It seems like it has lost your trail, but... uhm. nope. Another try and another and...be off with it! Yup for me that was the worst part. Apart from that, the game is nice. Keeps you entertaining, sometime it seems a bit too linear, but it's more than ok. Definitely worth it's price.

76

Decent Action Game

Bulletter | Oct. 3, 2013 | See all Bulletter's reviews »

The truth is this is a decent action game with several interwoven stories that barely sync up in any meaningful way but it's NOT a Resident Evil game per se or even a "survival horror" game. If this game were called something else and not associated with Resident Evil it probably would have done a lot better and would have been looked at differently. There are mode outside of the story that are basically survive until time runs out and you can now buy the skills you want in your load out including infinite ammo after you have beaten all the chapters. Ada Wong's story is the only story mode I still play. Her story is the closest, and I use that liberally, to a Resident Evil story. She's solo and has 2 or 3 actual puzzles to solve. Overall. if it's on sale and you're bored pick it up. Other than that - meh.

82

They could have done better

Zullivan1987 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Zullivan1987's reviews »

Gameplay: 8.5 / Technology: 7 / Graphics: 8 / Sound: 9.5 / Innovation: 7

Gameplay The game itself is good I liked the character movements make the gameplay itself I really liked, but something that annoyed me was the camera is terrible from my point of view, I think this horrible could have improved Graphics We could have exploited that here what a pc gives this aspect you could have improved a lot, but anyway I liked the graphics Sound It's what I liked most I found very good The game could have improved a lot by adding some options for controls

90

Great Game

aznsnsn | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all aznsnsn's reviews »

A lot of people have been saying that this game sucks. I honestly disagree. One of the annoying things about resident evil was the inability to shoot and move at the same time. The melee attacks have been revamped, making killing zombies even funner with various counter attacks and coup-de-grace. I like the creepiness that leon's campaign brings back into the series. Overall, a great buy.

91

Loving it

Morgerella | Sept. 7, 2013 | See all Morgerella's reviews »

I am thoroughly enjoying this game. It did feel like horror to me when I was playing Leons campaign, There are some pretty horrific area's, enemies and tense moments. The voice acting is great and Leon is as cheesy and awesome as ever. In the PC version so far I haven't encountered loads of quicktime events at all. I've been a fan of Resident Evil since the days of the PS1 and also enjoy the CGI movies such as RE: Damnation. So far the only thing annoying me about this game is the awful textures of the environment even with everything turned up to its highest. The character models look great however.

95

I don't understand all the criticism

mcofdiablo | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

As the title says, I don't get it - why don't the people love this game?

The game looks gorgeous, especially, cutscenes (you have a lot of them) look great. Character models look pretty, light effects help create the necessary atmosphere. The only problem is the terrain textures - they are pretty weak, but that doesn't spoil the fun.

The gameplay is varied. You have four different campaigns with four different characters to play for. And they all have different gameplay style: with Chris you get third-person shooter, with Leon you get familiar Resident Evil with scares and a little shooting, playing as Jake you get a little bit of stealth and fighting, and the best one is for Ada (the only campaign that can't be played in Co-op). All campaigns tell one big story that can be uncovered only after finishing all of them.

All in all, I want to say that the game offers different gameplay style great visuals and interesting story. Basically, buying one game, you get four instead!!

75

PC version has some improvements

CeeBee | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all CeeBee's reviews »

The campaign mode is incredibly disappointing. It's more an exercise in frustration than a game. The third person perspective, which I thought was done very well in RE4 and RE5, can be very problematic at times in this game. However, the Mercenaries mode is awesome and much improved over the console versions. All 7 levels are unlockable without purchasing more DLC and the addition of Left 4 Dead characters and enemies is a cool option.

85

Mixed thoughts

08woodh1 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

This game was the hyped comeback in the Resident Evil franchise, and of course, people got this game in a hurry, eager to play and finish it. I have this game, and I like the new graphics, gameplay, characters, zombies and the list goes on, but I've noticed that this game can be a drag without friends. I'd recommend only getting this if a friend will play all of it with you. There's something about this game I can't quite put my finger on. Just playing it, makes me reminiscent of RE4, and of course even number 5, but this game had a far better feel to it as you welcome back all your favourite characters once again. So, if you are going to play this alone, that's fine but try not to do it in large chunks, and if you are going to play with a friend, stop playing before it gets annoying; this game is a masterpiece and it'd be a shame for it to be ruined. I would encourage you to get this game due to it's near-perfectness, so what are you waiting for?

72

Mix Feelings

darkbreaker3200 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all darkbreaker3200's reviews »

I have mix feelings about this game. As it is, it's an okay game. Co-op is cool, but I'll echo what a lot of folks are saying; it does not feel like an RE game at all. But then again the franchise has/is changing, for better or worse depends on who you ask. The atmosphere isn't what I remember. Leon's arc starts with zombies, but the creatures/foe you face become less scary and more obnoxious and annoying as you go. The game is divided into different arcs that revolves around a central plot. I can safely say I'm not a fan of the mission-esque levels.

My personal preference aside, the graphics are great. I've also notice dialog has greatly improved. 7/10, it's worth a buy, it just might not be a home run for everyone.

70

Why ?

doubttom | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all doubttom's reviews »

This game could have been great. I'm not one of those purists, I think a little action in the RE universe is great and the QTE's don't bother me as much. I had a great time with RE5 but this game just didn't do it for me. The story cutting back and forth is cool and playing as so many different characters with different weapons / move sets is also fun but the story is bad, even by RE standards, and it just isn't memorable.

78

Good, but not without flaws.

zackwho | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all zackwho's reviews »

Whilst Campaign mode is flexible in that it allows players to progress the game through the eyes of different characters, it tends to get fairly redundant because of how they intersect at certain intervals.

Combat is solid, with melee attacks made available freely during combat (at the cost of stamina depletion, which regenerates slowly over time).

Not so much Horror as an Action shooter, however it is bound to appeal to fans of the series regardless.

61

New direction

lok0812 | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Resident Evil 6 tries to follow what Resident Evil 5 did and tried to moved on to a newer direction by trying to satisfy action fans and horror fans at the same time. The result of that made the game lost its focus and failed to demonstrate what the game really wants to be. The game itself contains 4 mini stories that hosts with 2 characters each with the exception to Ada. The story unfold as you play through each of these story. The atmosphere in the game is superb the only thing that can be complaint are the gameplay and the rest of the game. Give Revelation a try instead.

81

A good game with some problems

photochrisj87 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all photochrisj87's reviews »

The next installment of this game is always looked forward to by many in the community. As such, it has a lot to live up to. The 6th game attempts at that and does well, but does encounter its share of problems.

The game has you play four different story lines and all of them converge at the end in China. The characters must stop a mad villian who is attempting to destroy the world. The good parts of the game are the visuals, music, gameplay and difficulty. Everything flows very well. The bad part is the story and characters. When completing all the story and gaining the full picture of it, it seems like filler. Yes, a town is turned into zombies, a small unknown war is going on and a city in China is being descimated but it completely feels like filler - a side story that doesn't connect with the rest. The characters dont really shine much in the story, and they feel like they have went passed their time and glory but yet, they are thrown into the situations that they clearly feel tired of doing. The whole over the top personalities that Chris and Leon had are just down.

Overall, the game is good and fun but it has its problems.

54

Why ?

xghosts | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all xghosts's reviews »

I thought Resident Evil 5 was bad, i changed my mind when I played to this one. The game can be generous, with 4 campaigns and a huge adventure, the basis of RE have left the game. Everyhting fills weird when you play this sixth episode, not bas but strange. I disagree with a lot of choices of gameplay the developpers made turning the game into a bad TPS. I would rather advice you to get interessted in Resident Evil Revelations

70

Another not so horror continued.

y1985 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all y1985's reviews »

This game is a complete mix for RE fans and action game fans but it is not so well...

The action base seems to be pretty nice, many moves and dodges. Now you can't spam melee move that's clever. But the game try to throw you an action game with low ammunition as a survival horror theme this is bad.

Another biggest worst thing is they throw away co-op elements such as sharing ammo, give item and rescue dying sequence.

Inventories stick with awkward system which doesn't do any good for an action co-op game, you can't rearrange how to select your guns.

The game should been more co-op or at least have an option to choose what suits player most.

Boss fight is cool but too easy(Especially, the one that fight with 4 ppl). Some of the story has reuse the boss too many times, they just lazy.

Upgrade and ability to store weapon are now gone that's mean the game lose one biggest replay value and they instead gives you a ability which Capcom might make it work but it didn't. Even with these fails, the game still fun and challenge, only they could done this better.

Story is pretty messed up, they don't tell you who the hell they are, what's happen but throw you right into the game.

Overall, it's an okay game.

65

Too much action, Not enough evil

Luckyshot | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all Luckyshot's reviews »

I think the game can be summed up as trying to do too many things at once and not succeeding at any of them. Resident evil 6 follows three (and a secret extra one) separate storylines during the span of a few weeks of different characters in the resident evil series.

Each story has it's theme, one is much more toned down and tries to have a creepy atmosphere, the other one is action packed with a rush of never ending monsters, or one where it's a mix of both. Unfortunately, they don't push those themes enough and it ends up being a miss-mash of bland gameplay and story.

The added melee combat takes away from the horror as you can flip all around without needing a weapon, you never really feel in danger in the game. Capcom took out the survival and the horror from these games and made it a generic action game. However, you can co-op with a friend to make things more enjoyable.

In the end, it's a forgetful game in a dying genre, if you're looking for something simple and with over the top action scenes, try it out you might enjoy it.

75

Good

Bolo | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

This is a good game although not as good as some of the other Resident Evil games. The game is more action paced rather than horror although there are a couple of hairy moments. I like how the stories all mix in with each other which is a nice touch. The graphics and music are impressive. An enjoyable game for those that want more action than horror.

80

Fun as a cooperative game...

ZoraLink | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all ZoraLink's reviews »

But not so much a Resident Evil game anymore. I'm sure you've heard this sentiment before, and it stands true. It has a lot of issues with quick time events being abundant, and as someone who truly hates quick times, it was a pain to deal with. I also had problems with my keyboard, where it does not register a certain number of key presses if I continually hit it too fast, making button mashing moments a huge headache. Thankfully I had a controller I could keep plugged in and just switch to that every time I saw a cutscene. Still, a very annoying issue to have.

That said, it was a pretty fun game to mess with. Played through all the campaigns on veteran with a friend, we enjoyed it for the most part. Had a few infuriating moments, generally involving the aforementioned QTEs, but overall it was smooth sailing. Co op play can seem forced at times, with forced separation, but whether or not you like this is up to your judgement. We started to go through again on the hardest difficulty, but just couldn't force ourselves through it, as between the annoying QTEs and the stupid amounts of damage enemies did if they got even a single hit on you, it went from fun to infuriating very quickly.

Overall, a decent cooperative experience if you're looking for a third person shooter with some QTEs thrown in. I would not recommend it if playing alone, however.

90

If you're like me, you will like that game !

iTouchTheSky | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all iTouchTheSky's reviews »

I'm not really a person that like playing horror games. But as this one was most action then horror, It was easy to play it.

I didn't play a Resident Evil in the past. Some fans of the old games didn't liked that one. But if you're are new to the resident evil series. I totally recommend it to you. Multiple cool story lines + a nice coop, that's what you can expect !

88

Much better than initial console reviews

jrcbandit | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all jrcbandit's reviews »

The game is loads of fun to play Co-op with a friend. It is much more an action game with very little horror, though. Also, the PC version has been fixed compared to the initial console release - after the intro is finished, select camera settings to 15 and select Auto Action Button to on, which makes completing the QTEs less of a chore. Both of those choices make the game play MUCH better. Another plus to the game is that it is quite lengthy with 3 Co-op and 1 single player campaign and lots of multiplayer options.

92

Best in the series

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

This is the best in the series. I love the way Capcom released a horror and action version of Resident Evil. Revelations and this. The new melee system is loads of fun and moving while shooting with a co-op partner is sensational especially with the DLC addons. The onslaught mode is a unique twist on the survival genre making it co-op and competetive at the same time. You have to launch enemies into your partners face as they fend for themselves.

84

It's more of an action tps plagued with QTEs

spycid | July 8, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Resident Evil 6 might not be true to its roots, still if you love cinematic moments and QTEs, then this is your type of game. This game is full of QTEs which one might complain and another might enjoy. Good thing about this game is you can play the game with various characters which increases replay value and co-op mode saves the game from being a disaster.

65

Meh

theunknowned | July 8, 2013 | See all theunknowned's reviews »

its bland. They apparently had no clue what RE4 was. it was the perfect blend of suspense and action....then they just blew up and made it all out action...its not bad per se but its not living up to the AAA pedigree

96

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

I think this is the best game ever on Resident Evil series this far. Graphics are awesome and the gameplay is fun and addicting. Also you can play the story mode with friends or by yourself. If you like zombie shooting games, i highly recommend this game for you

80

Not really a survival horror game

Xiphora | July 1, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

If you played several Resident Evil games, it's evident that the franchise has changed greatly. Originally the definitive survival horror game franchise, the Resident Evil series has become a shooter and action-oriented game, not a slow paced horror adventure. This is especially demonstrated with Resident Evil 6. Resident Evil 6 is by no means a bad game, but it is no longer a survival horror game. I can recommend Resident Evil 6 to any fan of shooters and action games, but many old survivial horror fans may dislike the direction in which Resident Evil 6 headed in. Resident Evil 6 has a beefy single player which put players in control of multiple characters with different campaigns and different playstyles. Almost all of Resident Evil 6's gameplay is very good, and its story isn't bad either. Resident Evil 6 is a great action game, but may not be for hardcore survival horror fans or the original fans of the Resident Evil series.

64

Good third person shooter, but not a truly Resident Evil

DunkerGZ | June 10, 2013 | See all DunkerGZ's reviews »

The game is fun as a shooter and sometimes even it still hold some survival-horrol elements, but don't espect a classic RE feel to the game, the saga is gone for good. Still, is an inprovement in comparison to RE5, and gives four diferents campaings with different caracters, so it provides a quite a lot of fun despite of the changes to the franchise.

70

Action Games, go!

Bynn | June 10, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

Such controversy with RE5 and RE6, going from ye old beloved horro survival to a full action packed game style, being RE4 a transition between them. The story is quite interesting, with the cross-story thing that intertwines al 4 stories between them in some points, the work on the melee system also felt good. As an action shooting game s quite good, I enjoyed it even though some of the controls were wibbly wobbly and a bit hard to learn at first.

80

Resident Evil? No this must be Resident Actiom?!

AlbusDlx | June 1, 2013 | See all AlbusDlx's reviews »

I have been a true fan since the first creepy adventure in the Raccoon Forest mansion. From there we got to meet Leon for the first time in Resident Evil 2. This game was awesome as well. The third was Nemesis, it was here the changes started, Developers must have been thinking of ways to keep it fresh. Because when nr 4 came out, the fixed camera angles were gone and so where the zombies. Instead we had Las Plagas. Leon was back as the presidents own henchman. There to find the presidents daughter. Bare with me, there is a point.

Degradation!

In resident evil 6 we were told that they had listened to their fans, there would be no less then 4 campaigns, From horror to super packed action. Well, if you ask me there were no horror in this game, The scary one, they say, are the one with Leon. "Karate Kid Leon" I actually enjoyed this game. but when i started the third play-through, with Jake and Shelly. The fun had been lost along the way. Same cut scenes in all 3 main story lines. Different huds, one could shoot some cool weapon where one could do a karate kick. But still, nothing entirely new.

Nothing Evil about it!

The graphics on the PC is not stunning but the game looks good. I wish they had implemented DX11 lighting, it would have been a nice touch since the engine can handle it. The controls work really well, run ´n gun for the first time. About time! The acting is solid. The game is not bad. It is the direction this series has taken, toward mainstream action gaming. No riddles to solve, no chills down my spine, no real challenge. I remember when you actually had to think for yourself if you wanted that first shotgun and not get locked in a room.

I give this a solid 80. A pure DX11 remake of Resident Evil 1 & 2 in Cryengine 3. That is what I would call Resident Evil, not Resident Action 6,

Pros: Nice looking. Good acting. Length of the game in total (all 4 campaigns seen as one).

Cons: It nags the story. All Action, no Evil. No riddles. Even a small child would not frightened.

60

Not the greatest RE game, but enjoyable.

blackzr | May 11, 2013 | See all blackzr's reviews »

Resident Evil 6 has four campaigns: Leon, Chris, Jake, and Ada. They all provide different experiences that Leon provides more horror themes. As for Chris campaign, it's focused into military action. I wouldn't say they should not focus on military action, but they should have think if Resident Evil gameplay will suit well with average military action.

The basic of Resident Evil gameplay and feature are lacking ammo, herb to heal, and close combats. In Leon's campaign, those works well with its gameplay. However, Chris' campaign fails to blend in. To put it simply, Chris' campaign is not either action or horror - it's rather in vague position between action and horror, delivering us a dull experience. The developers should consider the balance of action and horror or rather, focus to one of them to avoid being in ambiguous position. It goes same to Jake's campaign as well in some moments.

Quick Time Event - QTE is a feature that we might expect to see in Resident Evil series. There were many QTEs in previous games and they were rather not too difficult and you just have to keep your eyes open. However, in Resident Evil 6, QTEs are exaggerated. It feels that the developers put many QTEs they can because it will provide fun experience to players, which it didn't. Many QTEs and button actions are difficult to pull it off due to more difficult time limit that you have to press buttons or wiggle sticks quickly and it leaves you exhausted and frustrated.

There are also some features that gives negative to this game: control of taking cover/evading, inventory system, upgrade system, and lack of herbs.

The control of taking cover may be new to you because unless games such as Gears of War where you press a button to take cover, you have to press and hold trigger to take cover and push stick to aim. The evading control is rather awkward because you can only evade while aiming. So when you have to evade right away, you aim then evade.

Inventory system is uncomfortable because you have to no options and upgrades to increase capacity and stuck with certain numbers of capacity through the whole game, and you may run into situation where you have to drop either ammo, grenades, and herbs because of lacking inventory system.

Upgrade system has changed. There is no more weapon upgrade and you get skill upgrades. You are give three skill slots to equip any 3 skills. Compared to previous games, especially Resident Evil 4, the skill system is rather boring and unsatisfying because they are very general (damage upgrade, defense upgrade, etc) and you can only equip three of them. As well, earning skill points to purchase skills can take time because there is no treasure system and there are not a lot skill treasures to find.

Overall, Resident Evil 6 is not a bad game. However, it is not a great game as successor game. If you enjoyed previous Resident Evil, then you may still enjoy in some aspects. In other hand, you may not so much.

60

Not the greatest RE game, but enjoyable.

blackzr | May 11, 2013 | See all blackzr's reviews »

Resident Evil 6 has four campaigns: Leon, Chris, Jake, and Ada. They all provide different experiences that Leon provides more horror themes. As for Chris campaign, it's focused into military action. I wouldn't say they should not focus on military action, but they should have think if Resident Evil gameplay will suit well with average military action.

The basic of Resident Evil gameplay and feature are lacking ammo, herb to heal, and close combats. In Leon's campaign, those works well with its gameplay. However, Chris' campaign fails to blend in. To put it simply, Chris' campaign is not either action or horror - it's rather in vague position between action and horror, delivering us a dull experience. The developers should consider the balance of action and horror or rather, focus to one of them to avoid being in ambiguous position. It goes same to Jake's campaign as well in some moments.

Quick Time Event - QTE is a feature that we might expect to see in Resident Evil series. There were many QTEs in previous games and they were rather not too difficult and you just have to keep your eyes open. However, in Resident Evil 6, QTEs are exaggerated. It feels that the developers put many QTEs they can because it will provide fun experience to players, which it didn't. Many QTEs and button actions are difficult to pull it off due to more difficult time limit that you have to press buttons or wiggle sticks quickly and it leaves you exhausted and frustrated.

There are also some features that gives negative to this game: control of taking cover/evading, inventory system, upgrade system, and lack of herbs.

The control of taking cover may be new to you because unless games such as Gears of War where you press a button to take cover, you have to press and hold trigger to take cover and push stick to aim. The evading control is rather awkward because you can only evade while aiming. So when you have to evade right away, you aim then evade.

Inventory system is uncomfortable because you have to no options and upgrades to increase capacity and stuck with certain numbers of capacity through the whole game, and you may run into situation where you have to drop either ammo, grenades, and herbs because of lacking inventory system.

Upgrade system has changed. There is no more weapon upgrade and you get skill upgrades. You are give three skill slots to equip any 3 skills. Compared to previous games, especially Resident Evil 4, the skill system is rather boring and unsatisfying because they are very general (damage upgrade, defense upgrade, etc) and you can only equip three of them. As well, earning skill points to purchase skills can take time because there is no treasure system and there are not a lot skill treasures to find.

Overall, Resident Evil 6 is not a bad game. However, it is not a great game as successor game. If you enjoyed previous Resident Evil, then you may still enjoy in some aspects. In other hand, you may not so much.

86

Not Resident Evil, but not a bad thing

acloggedtoaster | May 10, 2013 | See all acloggedtoaster's reviews »

RE 6 does not resemble any of the resident evil's before it. There is virtually no elements of survival horror. there are however, spectacular action and shooting sequences. This game is MASSIVE, there are literally 4 full length playable campaigns, each one varied and unique. The coop is very well implemented, and can be a blast. The visuals look above average, and the sounds were nailed. The character and creature design's are great, and the controls work well. Any die hard RE fan would be dissapointed, but if you have an open attitude, this game will be a blast.

90

Above Average Game!

Brenski47 | May 7, 2013 | See all Brenski47's reviews »

Most big reviewers have been saying that this is a horrible game, well, it's not!! It's not spectacular, yes its different from the other Resident Evil games, but that doesn't make it bad!! That just makes it appeal to different people! This game is mostly a big action game now, but the game mechanics are good, story is interesting, if a little discombobulated, game play and enemies are awesome and creepy, and the controls with a controller anyway, are awesome! In my opinion the only bad parts of the game, is the over reliance on quick time events, and the cover system. Quick time events are used throughout the game, including one that is in place of what could have been a cool boss fight, where (with a controller) you have to wiggle the left stick before time runs out, then press RT, and that pushes the boss a little, I had to do that 8 times, and I tried the fight 3 times, so I did it well over 10 times, and it was really annoying. If you've played the older Resident Evil games and thought they were kinda slow, this is the perfect game for you! If you prefer the old school survival horror, then this isn't the game for you, but just cause you don't like it, doesn't make it bad!!

83

Better than most people say but still has questionable design

Profoundly_Mad | May 2, 2013 | See all Profoundly_Mad's reviews »

Resident Evil 6 came out to generally poor reviews when it made a debut on the Xbox 360 and PS3. The PC version does a lot to fix the complaints levelled against the console version but there are still baffling design decisions which can hinder your enjoyment of the game.

The field of view is now adjustable, aiming feels much better on mouse and keyboard and there is even a QTE assist option now which aids you in the games numerous QTEs. But despite these improvements there are some parts of the game which just end up frustrating to the player. Despite this, the game is surprisingly long with four campaigns, online co-op and Mercenaries mode makes a return.

Worth buying but just be aware of some issues.

95

Probably one of the best coop experience

Vahgrant | April 29, 2013 | See all Vahgrant's reviews »

If you can only play the game in solo and that you don't like TPS that much, you can leave this page right away. The game isn't that appealing in solo, the AI, the graphics and the gameplay are okay though but that only leaves it to a medium quality game. However, if you have a friend to play with, take it right away, you'll have more than 25 hours of gameplay with the campaign only, much more when you add the multiplayer modes the game has to offer, such as The Mercenaries. The game is fun, has some strong moments, among them probably one of the best video game scene I've ever played, delivers quite an interesting story along with numerous and diversified places to visit and some great characters. The enemies also are really different and have unique designs which add some identity to the atmosphere of the game. The game also is full of references to its elder with old characters coming back and some enemies for instance. But the game also has bad points such as a classic gameplay which is not really balanced, physical attacks are way stronger than usual weapons, there also are some moments in the campaign that are slow or even boring due to the fact that the game is really long. Overall, Resident Evil is an awesome game despite its few flaws if you have a friend to play and will leave you some permanent memories, just like Resident Evil 4 did.

Really advised to players looking for Coop Experience

77

What a mixed bag...

WormMania | April 24, 2013 | See all WormMania's reviews »

Mixed bag. That seems to be the rule when you are playing Resident Evil 6. The amazing and the ridiculous take turns during the game, and sometimes they even appear simultaneously. It's just a matter of wether the latter manages to ruin your experience or not.

Gameplay - The limited controls that have been there for the whole series are gone. Their place is taken by more agile mechanics, with small good details such as being able to dodge and roll out of the way while aiming. New melee moves have been added as well, and they blend well enough with the rest of the combat, although some will find them a tad overpowered. The cover system is tricky at first, and merely serviceable once you understand it (you'll barely use it anyway). All of these are good additions, but they share the gameplay aspect with a ridiculous amount of QTE's and similars, and the option to ignore QTE's in the menu only works in some of them. The other black sheeps in the gameplay are the horrid menu systems and the way of managing the traditional healing herbs. You get used to them eventually, though. Gameplay wise, this one feels the less Resident Evil-ish of the main series, and considering the change of focus, genre and time of the series, the change is probably for the best, even if its execution isn't precisely great.

Graphics - You'll find good-looking models of good-looking people standing in front of ridiculously blurry textures a lot. That tells the story of the whole visual aspect in a nutshell: either it's been paid attention and looks good, or it looks like something they came up with at the last minute. Some of the lightning and visual effects are pretty decent, though, but don't expect to be blown away by anything in the visuals.

Coop Aspect - Capcom fixed many of the issues people had when playing RE5 online in coop. Instead of sharing the same objects and weapons, each player will handle their own items. Enemies and boxes will drop a different object for each player, and both players can pick the same weapons. This allows players to focus on the fun part of coop (i.e. blasting things), while maintaining some of the item management aspects. Offline game with the AI has been improved as well: you won't have to babysit and heal your AI partner now, because it's inmortal. No need to give it ammo or weapons, either. Offline coop in split screen is the only place where both characters will have to share items. Playing coop is obviously as satisfying as it's always been in any game. However, the length and flow of many of the chapters couldn't be worse for a coop game. Some chapters are more than 1 hour long, it's insane.

Content - One of the game's brightests spots. You have three main campaigns (Leon & Helena, Chris and Piers, Jake & Sherry), each of them being around 4-5 hours long, plus one secret campaign that offers another 4 hours of content, plus some additional game modes (Agent Hunt, Mercenaries, Mercenaries No Mercy), plus the DLC game modes. The campaigns can be enjoyed in 5 different difficulty levels. If hours of gameplay is your first priority, this game is a solid go.

Story - The main appeal here is the crossover of many of the series' iconic characters working together (which is kind of ironic, since the new style is shunned by most of the old fans who would appreciate many of the references to old events). They really carry the story, because otherwise the events offered wouldn't even get a pass. Dull and uninteresting story. But if you're and old fan like me, you'll be too busy enjoying the reunions to really pay attention to the ridiculous premise of the story. What's interesting about the story is that it can be played in two ways: playing the three main campaigns one after another, in any order, and then playing the secret one; or switching between different chapters of each main campaign (Leon Chapter 1 first, then Chris Chapter 1, etc) and then beating the secret campaign. It's a neat idea and you'll understand the whole story either way.

Design - Far from being more of the same, each campaign is (or at least tries to be) different from each other. Both Leon's and the secret one have generally a slower pace than the others. I thought they felt closer to RE4 than RE5, which for me is a good sign. Chris' feels a lot like the later levels of RE5, and fans of TPS's will no doubt enjoy it the most. Jake's is just... weird. It tries to do a lot of different stuff (like a strange... stealth? section), and fails at most of its attempts. It also delivers most of the game's "Yeah, right..." moments. All of them have your basic RE design, though, so expect to manage your ammo and health items carefully, have to find lots of keys, and fight in boss encounters (slightly less inspired than in previous REs) here and there. It's because of this variety that I would recommend playing one chapter of each campaign at a time in your first playthrough, so that you don't get burned out too quickly by one of them. There are small vehicle, turret, non-linear, and last stand-ish sections that add to the variety of the game, but some of these sections are blatantly repeated in two or three campaigns. As far as the normal enemies is concerned, there's mostly good stuff. Not only do zombies return for Leon's story, but the new type of enemies (J'avos) can mutate in a lot of different ways when defeated, so you'll have to change your approach on the fly in many of the encounters with them. The money system for buying and upgrading weapons of RE4 and RE5 has been changed for a system where you buy different skills (such as taking less damage). This change hasn't convinced me after 40 hours of gameplay. More like a step down to me.

Other Online Options - The story intersections between campaigns where up to four players can cooperate are a good idea, but they require another player that is playing online in your same difficulty level to reach the same moment of the story in their game, something that considering the current amount of players and online limitations (Steam will only look for games within your download area) is almost impossible. That's not to say the game's community is dead (there's a decent amount of players) but it's not nearly as big as it should to make a feature like this work. Agent Hunt is a mode where you connect to other people's games as one of the monsters trying to kill them (don't worry though, when you start a campaign, you can choose to enable or disable Agent Hunt, so you won't have interferences if you don't want them). Most of the creatures have remarkable controls, but the mode has a lot of flaws that you will hate after a couple of games. It's still fun though.

Fun Factor - The new gameplay mechanics and the intense moments, and the coop gameplay, make this game a lot of fun to play. Shame for some of the silly sections and QTE's, as they really ruin the flow of the game when they appear. Mercenaries mode never gets old. Together with the amount of content, this is RE6's main redeeming aspect.

Pc Port Quality - The keyboard and mouse controls are outstanding in my opinion, after playing the rest of the series with a Dualshock I didn't have any difficulties with the old K&M here. The game also received a bit of extra content in its PC version, and its a lot cheaper. It's also one of the few times where the Split Screen option is maintained in a PC Port. Shame for the graphics though. Some people have random framerate issues that should be polished in the next patch. I'd say they did a great job overall.

Conclussion - A lengthy action game with many small flaws, you will like it if you're a fan of the new RE's, TPS's or coop gaming, and specially if you're a long time RE fan who likes both the old style and the new one. Don't approach it if you're looking for anything more than a good dose of fun or if you're still expecting RE to return to its old roots.

Best at - Coop Experience - 83, Gameplay Mechanics - 78, Content - 85, Fun - 83, PC Quality - 85

Purgatory - Graphics - 67, Design - 72

Worst at - Story - 58

70

Mediocre

MarkDeejay | April 24, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

This must be one of the most boring games I've played in years. Where Resident Evil 1-3 were all about horror, 4 more about action/horror and 5 more action than horror, 6 has finally come to the point where there's no more horror at all, and it's all about the action. Granted, it's campaigns are long and to complete them all will take you well over 20 hours (1-1,5 hours per mission). But I couldn't even finish the journey. So far I've finished Leon's campaign and am near the end of Chris', but it's mostly shooting, with an awkward co-op partner at your side. The animations of Leon were wooden and there will tons of QTEs, yet Chris' animations were fine and his campaign had practically no QTEs. It's like they were made by entirely different teams. The Japanese influences can be seen in all of the campaigns and maybe that's what makes the game so boring. Instead of moving forward it looks like they went backwards when compared with Western developers. I can't really explain, it's just a feeling, and the fact that it's absolutely not scary at all, when, well, it should be. I heard good things about the Mercenaries mode so I'll be sure to give that a try, and I might finish the campaign over the next couple of weeks/months, but for now it's just too damn boring.

93

Highly recommended

Guardian412 | April 1, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Resident Evil 6 is an interesting game, because it gave me the worst first impression ever with it's Prelude and Tutorial level, which is almost all about QTEs, and what is worse, you don't get any main menu until you don't finish this 10-15 minutes long part. There I wanted to uninstall the game, mostly because I don't really like QTEs. But then I gave a second chance few days later and I didn't regret it.

After the very bad first impression, regardless I still haven't finished it, I have to say that Resident Evil 6 is a very good game and I'm glad I gave a second chance for it. The first three campaigns out of the four are very-very long, about 20-25 hours and the I haven't started the fourth yet. Each of them is very different, regardless the storyline of each of them is connecting here and there. The first campaign, Leon and Helena's is horror with many QTE elements and a challenging main enemy (And a great mini-boss, which was my favorite maybe from all the Resident Evil games.). The second campaign, Chris and Piers' is an action filled campaign with less QTE, but with one very hard segment close to the end (Namely the last chapter of this campaign, Chapter 5, one of the very few places where the camera handling goes insane. Here, let the mouse go, if you play with mouse and keyboard and use the mouse only when you have to slide and shoot, other than that release it and use the keyboard only so you may pass this part much easier. If you touch the mouse, the camera goes insane at key places and it's impossible to finish the level.). The main enemy is not that hard, regardless this one is a very challenging campaign, mostly because of the lack of ammo and the high number of enemies. And the third campaign, Jake and Sherry's is a good adventure, with a nice balance of the first two campaigns, with a well designed main enemy which reminded me for Nemesis from Resident Evil 3. Don't have a clue what the fourth campaign is as I haven't started Ada's campaign yet, but if I have to guess, knowing Ada's character, it will be a stealth campaign, which will connect all three campaign storylines together.

The story for the first three campaigns are great and diverse by the way and the setting, so as the visuals are all great. The old characters, Leon, Chris and Sherry are well developed, so as the story connecting to them, and the new characters, Helena, Piers and Jake are also very memorable as each of the characters has a very good character development throughout the chapters. And you may play with all six, which is also offering different gameplay. The weapons are great, so as the close combat which is very good if you master it, and the upgradeable skills are also very useful. The dialogues are a bit cheesy sometimes, but we're talking about a horror-action-adventure game hybrid after all, so it fits perfectly. The storytelling, the directing and the detailed cutscenes are the usual Resident Evil / Capcom quality. The soundtrack is great and different for each campaign. The OST is about 4CDs long by the way and it has some really nice tracks.

Resident Evil 6, while it's different than the previous episodes, it is a very long and quality "4 in 1", fine and highly entetaining game, emphasis on the word "entertaining" as this is what a game should do in the reality, entertain people. And if I should compare this game to the movies, THIS is Resident Evil and not those movies we can see in the theaters. And Resident Evil 6 is offering four, 7-9 hours long playable movies in one. The port is a quality port, if we don't count the camera handling in the fifth chapter of Chris and Piers' Campaign (See the solution above so you may pass that part easier instead of gathering 70+ deaths as I did during that one tiny scene.). This game is different than the previous episodes, but maybe it's not a problem at all. If you're open for the new things, you get a new, very long and twisted story, presented from four completely different perspectives and levesl, along with new environments, challenges and new characters and gameplay to discover. Resident Evil 6 is a highly recommended game. Give it a try!

65

Ok game, just not Resident Evil

Stebsis | March 30, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

I have same problem with this game as I have with Max Payne 3, this just isn't what the series is about, and it makes it particularly sad seeing that this still is Capcom making it, not Rockstar like with Max Payne 3 and Remedy with MP1 and 2. This definitely has been "CoDified". Capcom themselves have said that they need to bring this series to more action oriented direction because gamers like CoD, but Resident Evil isn't about that, and Capcom needs to realize this before they go to the point where there's not going back and tis series gets buried for good in the midst of other generic shooters with zombies.

So, you get to play as 3 different characters, Leon, Chris and Jake. Less said about Chris's and Jake's campaign the better. They're just third person action games. Nothing else, story isn't interesting, characters aren't interesting, shooting is done much better in many other games like Binary Domain. Leon's campaign is definitely the best, it has dark atmosphere, horror bits, zombies. It's entertaining to a point, but it also gets just ridiculous at times.

Capcom got way out of their way to make the quick time events in RE6. RE4 was great with QTE's, there were some but they weren't in your face and weren't at the most predictable places.

Graphics are nice, there's great lighting and some setpieces are really great.

The co-op makes this game just worse. The AI partner is stupid as hell, but if you play with friend, it just sucks every ounce of horror from this already not that scary game. The problem here is that this just is not Resident Evil. I wasn't scared the least on Chris' and Jake's campaign and that's already like 2/3 of the game! This isn't that pricey on PC so that's a plus, and if you can get it from sale I could recommend this if you want some ridiculous fun with friend, especially if you've played only RE5 or none of them. But if you're long time Resident Evil fan and want more of like the old times or even something like RE4, this isn't a game for you.

86

Time to kill some zombies!

CrysisX | March 28, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

I was surprised by how the good the cut scenes and the graphics are in this game. There are 4 campaigns to choose from which takes around 6 hours or more to finish each campaign. The difference between this and the previous Resident Evil games is that you can't upgrade your guns or buy ammo so you use skill points instead to upgrade all your weapon damage at once or buy other skills that are available. Overall, the storyline and the gameplay is nice and the port was quite good for me to be honest.

80

Good game with loads of content.

fable2 | March 26, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

I like this game a lot, and contrary to what some of the negative reviewers may say, I am a true fan of the series. I still have the old toys that came out sitting on my shelf with the comics. That said, this game isn't like the old ones, there aren't a ton of puzzles to search through and grab the key for or anything. It is a drastic departure from other members of the series, following much closer in line with Resident Evil 5. It is more action oriented, keeping up with the times and general populace of those who play games more predominately now. Bullets are more readily available, dropping from most enemies, but the enemies take a lot of bullets to put down. The melee system is pretty cool, nothing like spin kicking a zombie to finish them, and conserve some bullets. The game is more realistic, having you transverse buildings, and I do find Leon's campaign to be the most creepy of the bunch. I would as the negative reviewers to judge the game based on its own merit of what it tries to be, and not based on its predecessors, but that is not required here. The game has its negative aspects, like the quicktime events, lord I hate those. The story is pretty good, I wont spoil it here, but I thought it was interesting. So in closing the game isn't perfect, but it is good. You can listen to the "fanboys" I guess if you want, but I don't get some of their arguments. "Capcom just wants money", Well of course they do, they don't make games for sunshine and rainbows. This game is overall a quality game, worth the money, and If you have a good friend play the co-op.

82

A fairly decent game.

Darder | March 25, 2013 | See all Darder's reviews »

Let's all admit it, Resident Evil 5 was kind of a disappointment compared to the 4th opus of the game. Indeed, the 4th game was much better, with a much more in depth story, better gameplay mechanics, all which made a more pleasant experienced. However, the developers have come back to the basics with this game, Resident Evil 6. It is GOOD. Wow, I was impressed by the quality of the graphics as soon as I fired it up, and it hasn't let me down since! Amazing gameplay, pretty good story line with a lot of winks to the past games, and oh god the bestiary is so much fun!

Good game.

90

Everything the console version is... but improved!

tesseracti | March 24, 2013 | See all tesseracti's reviews »

This is a game for fans to play. Not saying you would have no fun in playing this, but many surely do criticize the RE world, and many might think this is not a good game. Love it or hate it, I would say.

Resident Evil 6, in my opinion, is the best installment since RE4 - that fourth title being a big disappointment to me, as I was a fan of the original style of survival, scariness and mystery that we could experience in the old console titles RE1, RE2, RE3, RE0, Code Veronica and others. RE4 changed all that feel, and replaced it with a new style of game, completely different, but still good - I am also a fan of this new "style".

If you played the console version of RE6, you already know what you are going to get with this. I wrote that the PC release is better because of slightly better graphics, that could still be improved a bit, but they should be enough for the fans. The plot is very creative and complex, and this game has an unique co-op system that transforms a 2-player campaign into a 4-player campaign at specific points in the game.

Not much else to say. A little better than the console version, and NOT a bad port like many are claiming out there. Non-fans should try, and for the fans it's a must!