Reviews for Dead Space 2 (NA)

90

What Dead Space was ment to be

yngdr | Aug. 15, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

The game has been vastly improved over the first DeadSpace. With the controls first being revamped and optimized, no more lag in the controls. The graphics has been overhauled and look great and the voices have meaning now that Isaac speaks. Weapons have evolved with mods to stasis and damage. Story is continued and deepened by the fact that survivors have been introduced. The horror has been increased in my opinion with the need to escape and protect others now during a mass necromorph outbreak. Id recommend buying DS2 and watching the movie for the beginning story.

80

A step back

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

Dead Space 2 took a step away from horror and a step towards action. I was hooked on the story, so I didn't mind as much. There's a part of the game where you revisit the Ishimura, which might be my favorite part of the entire game. I'd argue that the action in Dead Space 2 might be the best in the series, with dead space 1 being the better atmosphere. Still, what's amazing about Dead Space 2s story is that you're there as the necromorphs rampage through Titan Station. You're present when things go down the toilet and get caught in the middle of it.

88

Not Horror

chataolauj | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

I bought this game when it first came out expecting it to be scarier than the first one, but they changed it up. It's more of an action game then horror this time around. It's still a good game though.

I just that one monster that you can't kill, and you can only stop his movements momentarily. Such a pain when I did my first play through. I haven't touch this game in a long time because I don't play my XBOX 360 that much anymore. I kind of want to replay this but I guess I'll just wait when I go back home from college. Great sequel to the franchise so take a try on it.

88

Best in the series

mugaro | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

Dead Space 2 maintains all of the basic gameplay tenets of of DS1 and makes some big improvements from the first game. Zero gravity sequences and puzzles are far more intuitive and less frustrating. More guns to play with, a more character driven story with a talking protagonist, instead of the silent Isaac from DS1. Some plot twists, some interesting themes of space religion and self induced insanity from the events in DS1.

The game is more linear than DS1. Instead of finishing a hub & hopping on a train, you just move forward and it changes chapters right there. One of the biggest improvements made was the bread crumb system. You can find the nearest save station, upgrade station, weapon table or current objective which is most helpful in these games. The game can be legitimately scary at some points and was a lot more fun than DS1.

The best part is that it's a lot more open ended that DS1 and takes you into different environments. Toward the end of the game, you return to the spaceship that you spent all of DS1 on and it felt like a really cool blast form the past, but it also reminded me of how repetitive DS1 could get and how different DS2 felt.

Summary: great game, much improved from the original. Horror survival in 3rd person shooter. Highly recommended.

90

Action horror

CyberspyXD | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all CyberspyXD's reviews »

Take Deadspace and its creepiness but not as solid shooting add in solid shooting and some clever mechanics plus a interesting story. I would consider this a direct improvement over Deadspace in every way. Deadspace 2 is more actioney then the previous Deadspace but this is a good thing. The enemies are still creepy and they are also fun to fight. And the new death animations are pretty cool. All in all I think this is a great game and I highly recommend it

98

Dead Space at its best!

Zilly01 | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Zilly01's reviews »

Dead Space 2 is vastly superior to the first game. The graphics, controls, action, and horror sequences have been improved. While some people say they moved this game away from horror and more towards action, I feel the horror was improved, but the feeling of isolation was removed. Now you are on a space station and run into several survivors. Isaac also has a voice now. So it's not that the horror is gone, but the isolated fight for survival has evolved into an aided escape from the space station. Most of the weapons from the first game have returned, but now most of them have a special node in their upgrades that add effects. Like adding stasis to the secondary fire of the contact beam, or adding fire damage to the plasma cutter. I feel the zero gravity experience was what improved the most. Instead of getting a weird angle and jumping, you now has tiny boosters on your suit that allow you to actually navigate around. If you enjoyed the first Dead Space, you will love the second!

85

Bad horror game, great action game.

zachoines | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all zachoines's reviews »

The first game is the series did a good job at atmosphere, building tension, and at eliciting fear in the player. However, its strong suit was not that of action. But, that is OK because its focus was not placed towards action at all. However, in Dead Space 2, there was a complete revision of this focus, one which relies very heavily on action. Combat, suits, weapons, and the shear amount of enemies were revamped with action in mind. Heck, I remember in the original Dead Space walking through a series of corridors, for what felt like forever, without seeing a single enemy and finding hardly any ammo at all. But, this was intentionally done in order to aid In the horror experience. In Dead Space 2, however, enemies jump out from every corner and ammo is plentiful. This of course comes at the cost of a truly immersive horror experience. However, I will not hold this against Dead Space 2. In fact, I think that this change in philosophy is a benefit to the series because, honestly, although the original Dead Space did horror well, it wasn't that great at it at the same time. In all reality, the horror was mostly jump scares and gore, a far cry from the truly great horror games which rely (such as Amnesia and the Condemned series) more on psychological elements to create fear. So, I think this refocus in Dead Space 2 is a refreshing take on an already great premise of a game, and is an easy recommend for action junkies who like just a touch of horror.

85

Atmospheric

Sivisx | June 20, 2013 | See all Sivisx's reviews »

Dead Space 2 picks up several years after the events of the original, taking control of a plot convenient amnesiac Issac Clarke on Saturn's Moon Titan during a plot convenient Necromorph outbreak.

The game's beginning has a very 'Bioshock' feel, taking place inside a massive city.. unlike it's predecessor.. and I really enjoyed that.. it felt different, though I was annoyed with what seemed like always passing through either a nursery, child's bedroom or a school for most of the city sections.

The rest of the game has an amazing atmosphere and knows how to kick you down and make you strive for each save point.

The end literally blew my mind, finally bringing all questions to an end, definitely worth the cheap price and extremely long game storyline. Though I recommend playing the original first.. for story purposes.

91

Best Dead Space

lok0812 | June 13, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is by far the best Dead Space out of the 3 installments. Especially the gameplay and sound really give you the feeling of keep on moving forward as something must be behind stalking you just to walk right into a trap of a monster lying in wait to scare you. Storyline continues from the first installment and I would say a big improvement in terms of everything from the first, a truly scary experience. The game also sports a multiplayer mode that allow team deathmatch, players can choose from human or monster to play from. The ability to play as the monsters is really rewarding as you too can have the chance to ambush the human players. Must get game if you enjoy scary action games or get the entire franchise if you want to know the story.

95

Improvement and Terror

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | See all mostnatebe66's reviews »

Dead space 2 is a giant leap forward from its predecessor in every possible way, so if you were among one of the lucky ones who had the pleasure of playing the original Dead Space, chances are you will find yourself enjoying Dead Space 2 even more. That being said, if you had your mind blown by the original like I did you can stop reading right now and buy this game, you won't regret it!

For those of you new to the Dead Space games you're in for a treat if you decide to get this game. Words can't describe how cool everything looks, graphics have never been very important to me but I have to say that Dead Space 2 has the best graphics of any game I've ever played, hands down. The amount of detail that they put into everything from the enemies to the environment around you is staggering. I caught myself just staring off at things around me for minutes at a time just absorbing all the incredible details.

In the original Isaac was the voiceless hero of the game who you take the role of playing, there was nothing particularly wrong with him not speaking. It worked for that game. In Dead Space 2 they equipped Isaac with a voice done by a great voice actor and I personally feel that it added a lot in terms of how much more you're able to empathize with him and it just makes it a more interesting gaming experience overall. The other characters in the game like Eli and Strauss also had very solid voice actors.

This game plays out like a blockbuster movie and there are literally no dull moments to be found the entire way through. It's a perfect example of what edge of your seat action should feel like. This is a quality that was passed down from the original. Personally I found the game more suspenseful than actually scary or terrifying or anything, but I could definitely see it frightening people who scare easily.

One really cool feature of the game is the hardcore mode. It was probably the hardest video game challenge I've ever had and took me months of on and off playing to finally beat it. The reason it's so difficult is because you're only allowed 3 saves the entire game and if you die you have to start from your last save. It can be frustrating at times but it's incredibly rewarding when you finally hear the achievement ding. I thought it was very cool of them to add such a great challenge to the game, it helped give it even more replay value than it already has.

Speaking of replay value, this game has tons! If you're like me you'll want to go back and play it as many times as it takes to collect all the achievements and to take advantage of the "new game +" option.

In closing, I can't really compare this game to anything else out there besides the original Dead Space so I can't really use any other games as a point of reference. This is a good thing though as it's a very unique and interactive gaming experience. It's really in a league of its own as far as FPS's go. I usually stick to RPG's but this is one of the rare instances where I break out of that genre, pick up my plasma cutter, and go in guns blazing! If you're a fan of horror, sci fi, action, FPS's, or if you like movies like Event Horizon ect... I think you'll definitely find you thoroughly enjoy this title. Do yourself a favor and play this game!

90

A Great Game

JimRory | April 26, 2013 | See all JimRory's reviews »

A lot of people complain that DS2 isn't as scary as DS1. The problem with that complaint was that DS1 wasn't scary at all and the horror and scare moments felt forced and ineffective. The game was also extremely repetitive. However, DS2 fixes in my eyes all of these problems. Absolutely perfect pacing. The game stopped focusing on horror and instead focused on being a thriller and insane. A well polished and absolutely enjoyable game, and I hated DS1.

87

An excellent game

Xiphora | Feb. 28, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Dead Space 2 does the horror genre so much good. It has genuine scares and is one of the most immersive experiences that you'll find in the past couple of years. The creepy soundtrack and better graphics help add to one of the best examples of the horror genre in recent times.

96

Amazing!

Lekes | Feb. 7, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Absolutely insane! the first Dead Space was so new and had touched on a new era of sci-fi horror gaming which i personally thought was unbeatable....until Dead Space 2 arrived! Its safe to say that Dead Space is one of the few games that actually makes you jump and makes you weary about what kind of hideous monstrosity will be around the next bend. The plot is full in its entirety and really puts you into the mind frame of the returning lead character Isaac Clarke who along with new tech and weaponry will cut, slice and tear limb from limb the necromorph hordes. Couldn't stop playing at the end and delighted there will be more to come in the future. One of the best series' and games of this generation.

90

If you don't have this game, why?

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

I honestly expected Dead Space 2 to be just more of the same as in DS1, but while that may be somewhat true, it's not 100%. Like many modern sequels, it takes what the original was and builds on it. There's more terror, more adrenaline, more necromorph "WHAT DID I JUST SEE?!?!?!" situations and a whole lotta slayin' goin' on! This is Dead Space, do your best to stay alive!