Reviews for Alice: Madness Returns (NA)

94

A great dark platformer

nightassassin1 | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This game is great. It is a dark/demented view on the children's Alice in Wonderland (do not get this for kids!) and it is just amazing. It can be considered a part platformer, part action/adventure RPG game. I played the first one back when I was pretty young and then I picked this one up about a year after it released. It follows the story of the original very well and improves on basically everything. The graphics are improved ten-fold compared to the last and on top of that it has support for Nvidia Physx. This was one of the earlier games that supported Physx so there was not a very large amount of Physx integrated into the game, but the small amount of particle and fluid areas that did use the Physx looked great.

The only real problem is that there were a few bugs where you can get stuck on rocks or in an endless fall, but reloading a save can fix this. It was a very big hassle to have to redo some things due to a bug glitch, but the game play was so great that even with those bugs, the game comes out with a pretty high rating.

If you enjoyed the first you will love this one. This game is also great for anyone who enjoys the darker side of children's stories. I loved this game and it is one of my more favorite recent games. I give it a 94 simply because those bugs are very annoying.

81

Often overlooked and fun

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

For starters, the art style of the game is excellent. It has a kind of creepy cartoonish style that fits well with the developer's take on the classic tale. As many others have stated, the controls can be a little iffy but there has been worse out there. The story is pretty neat regardless though. This is not a game of the year by any means but there is a lot here that can still be enjoyed.

87

Better than the first one by far!!!!!!!!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

I loved the first Alice game so much. The idea was great but the game was far from flawless. I still clocked it though. Now, the new one comes along and it is much, much better than the first game and yet somehow scored so low! I don't understand how it is worse than any other AAA game. Okay, maybe I do. It can get a bit repetitive sure, but that doesn't mean the game deserves 6! It easily deserves 8 out of 10 imo because of its amazing atmosphere, music, very good gfx, art style, nice dialogue, and reasonable action gameplay. I personally was expecting gameplay to be worse and as minimal as the first game but it actually surpassed my expectations. Though, I would like to be more puzzles like the first game. I am 3 hours or so into it and so far no serious or fun puzzles. But this game is a great action/platformer with art style that is unmatched. The amount of imagination put into this just is mind boggling and that is exactly what you expect from an Alice game. A bizarre world! Don't believe in the critics. Especially if you have played the first game and liked it.

89

Wonderfully Macabre!

DocNuka | July 5, 2013 | See all DocNuka's reviews »

Man, I love this game. Criminally underrated by many, this is one of my favorite platformers ever. Forget Super Mario Galaxy, Alice Madness Returns improves on its predecessor in almost every single way. There’s better platforming, better graphics (obviously), and a better story. You start off as Alice after the events of the first game, and you must go back into Wonderland. The combat is immensely improved from the first, and the cutscenes are very good-looking, using parchment-and-ink storyboards to tell story segments, which look great. The platforming is much better now, as I can actually find it bearable to go through platforming segments now. So much in this game has improved, and I can hardly go into detail about how much better it is over the first game. American McGee’s Alice was a mediocre game, but Madness Returns is a great game you should definitely play if you get the chance.

84

Great Platformer

TCass29 | June 7, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

Alice: Madness Returns offered a much more in-depth experience than I was prepared for as far as the story goes. That being said, that story occurs mainly out of the chunks of "real" gameplay. There are sections that take place in real life and sections that take place in a fantasy world that some would say are Alice's imagination. The imagination sections are beautiful, well crafted, and themed brilliantly. The real life sections exist pretty much solely to move the game along.

It's a very fun game that should only take about 14-17 hours to beat. If you're considering buying and playing this game, I'd say go for it.

93

Fun for Macabre/Platform Lovers

crazygrouptrio | May 28, 2013 | See all crazygrouptrio's reviews »

If you like 3D platform games or the American McGee games in general, you will love this game. The story is pretty well crafted, but nothing you probably haven't heard before. Alice's goal is revealed pretty early in the story and you find yourself traversing many different worlds to accomplish that goal.

The game itself isn't that challenging, but I think it works in this case. The game is built so that you focus on progressing rather than mindless hacking and slashing. If you're looking for that, look somewhere else. Alice has a story to tell, and wants you to unfold it.

The worlds themselves are incredible, and the graphics are stunning. (Just watch Alice's hair flow in the wind, it's magical). The game has some problems, though these have been tweaked since the games release. I HIGHLY recommend playing with a controller. I played this game with a keyboard and gaming mouse, and it was a bit frustrating.

If you like the "dark" style or platformers, get this game. You will not be disappointed. Whether its the story, presentation or the graphics, you'll fall in love with Alice.

65

A maddening and not so wonderous experience

gtammen | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all gtammen's reviews »

Alice: Madness Returns is not enjoyable. That's unfortunate because the original game, Alice, was a cult hit and one of my personal favorites for years after it was released in 2000.

The problem is that as a game, A:MR is not fun to play. The controls feel stiff and are often unresponsive during blocking and double jumps. Idea-wise the game hasn't evolved much from its 2000 predecessor. Here's the game in short: Get a fetch quest; venture into a new area and fight waves of enemies; fight with the controls and camera for some platforming; fight more enemy waves; backtrack and return item; repeat. This drags on for an unmerciful 15 hours minimum. I felt like after the first 2 hours I had seen everything the game had to offer.

Mechanics are also a big issue.

The ability to lock onto a target is great, especially when you're fighting a large group, but it's done very poorly here. Where other games will keep your character in fame so you have a sense of space, A:MR says 'nuts to that' and often removes Alice from the frame. That's problematic because it often leads to death either from falling off of the platform/battle arena because you can't see where the edges are and the holes in the floor, or death from enemies who sneak up beside or behind Alice when things are out of frame. Each enemy type requires a different combo/weapon to kill it, so swinging your knife wildly while Alice is out of frame and hoping to kill any unseen enemies won't work.

The autosaves/checkpoint system (there's not a save anywhere option) is infuriating. On many occasions it would not save before a huge fight, which after struggling with the camera and usually falling to my death, meant having to slog through an unskippable cutscene and 10-15 minutes of awkward platforming time and time again.

A:MR says its controller supported… but that's only when it feels like it. Despite having a 360 controller plugged in, many of the first-time prompts for important actions like blocking showed up as keyboard controls rather than 360 controls. That's a problem when you're expected to perform that action several times before advancing the game and but also figure out what two buttons need to be pressed on the controller to progress things. Combine this guesswork with a glitch where Alice doesn't block (no patch yet) and I was ready to rip my hair out the first time I was expected to do several blocks before proceeding.

The story also makes no sense. Yes, it's Wonderland and things aren't supposed to make sense, but now suddenly enemies are friends; bosses who were killed in the 2000 game are now alive; and some things are steampunk.

All this said, A:MR is a game modeled on more than decade-old mechanics with a fresh coat of paint. Save your money and your sanity.

83

A fun trek through Wonderland, but beware of several annoyances

DaiMonPaul | Feb. 4, 2013 | See all DaiMonPaul's reviews »

Alice: Madness Returns is a good, but not great action/adventure game that is more than worth picking up. This is the sequel to American McGee's Alice, which unfortunately is not included here -- only in the "complete" collection. You don't have to play the original game from a decade ago to appreciate its sequel, though. The atmosphere and setting are where this game truly shines. The levels look fantastic, and whether you're familiar with the Alice in Wonderland story or not, the game's story is a unique and creative one that will entertain. The game also runs pretty well on lower end systems; I'm on a laptop with Intel HD Graphics, and it will run the game relatively smoothly if the settings are turned down a bit.

The major problem with this game -- and the primary reason why it is not as highly rated as it should be -- is that it contains a large number of bugs. There are a couple of patches out there, but they don't fix everything. One of the most annoying bugs prevents you from opening your umbrella to block enemy attacks, which is required by the game to advance in the story. Not everyone gets this bug, and those that do can work around it by either messing around with .ini files outside of the game or by playing with a controller (which I would recommend anyway for this game). Either way, though, the bugs are annoying and do require some patience.

While flawed and in need of some further QA, this game is worth any annoyance it may cause. When they work correctly, the controls are tight, and this game offers a unique and twisted adventure that one will not soon forget. Just bring some patience with you when you play it.