Reviews for DmC: Devil May Cry dns

90

Hack 'n Slash Reboot

ZestyTS | June 18, 2013 | See all ZestyTS's reviews »

DmC: Devil May Cry is a reboot to the Devil May Cry series. The game does throw in subtle references to the previous games though. As with reboots, you do not need to have played the other four games to understand anything in this story since everyone's backgrounds are different. Since the game was developed by a different studio (Ninja Theory), every core aspect of the game changes. The game play is vastly different, and more streamlined overall. The story telling is much more westernized, and feels different because of it.

The game features dlc called Vergil's Downfall which takes place directly after the game, and features the playable character being Vergil who plays differently to Dante. The DLC is somewhat short, five levels and a boss fight. Personally, not a big fan of the DLC, but at least there was some. Also, the cutscenes became similar to comic books (like the game Infamous) so that was rather odd overall.

The game uses Directx 9.0, and surprisingly the visuals are splendid. Voice acting is very good, much better than the previous games. And the game takes about the average time for any of the other games, about 8 hours. Overall, I'd give this game a 9/10.

74

It was ok

LDM | June 13, 2013 | See all LDM's reviews »

Im a big fan when it comes to DMC and when I head that they were making this I was crazy happy but I have to say i think I was hoping for more I don't no if it just I'm a old DMC or what if your new to DMC I think you will like this a lot but if you played the old ones not so much if you have the cash get it but if there is something else you might be want I would say buy the other thing.

90

The Most Accessible Devil May Cry Yet

Pr1mus | June 8, 2013 | See all Pr1mus's reviews »

DmC: Devil May Cry serves as a reboot for the long running franchise and the perfect way for newcomers to jump in.

DmC is a gorgeous game that runs beautifully at the highest settings even on a relatively modest gaming PC and with a toned down difficulty and simpler yet extremely satisfying combat system it has never been easier to really appreciate a Devil May Cry game.

You can expect to spend 8 to 10 hours on your first playthrough of the game and additional playthroughs will be necessary to unlock everything the game has to offer. Add to this remixed enemy composition on the higher difficulty levels as well as the addition of the Bloody Palace that was released for free and you have a game that is not lacking in content and will keep you occupied for a while.

98

The pinnacle of hack and slash combat

Pitchdown | June 2, 2013 | See all Pitchdown's reviews »

The combat in this game is the industry-leader at the moment. The timing, fluidity, and just raw artistic nature of the combos have to be played to be believed.

It could have ended there and the game would be worth it, but in addition you actually get a nicely crafted story with voice acting to match. The world they build is very bizarre but they try to hook it into reality in bits and pieces. It can be strange trying to figure out if they're being literal or figurative in parts, but not anywhere enough to detract from the experience.

I simply haven't played a better game in this genre.

97

If you enjoy a good game style hack 'n slash and / or even a fan

cristiano171 | May 28, 2013 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Charts and other details The game's graphics are also very beautiful, and we note here that an abandonment Gothic style of the previous titles in the franchise. This type of design decision seems to be fully in accordance with the proposal of the new game, with new Dante himself and modernity, or currency, which, from the beginning, to be realized in the plans of Ninja Theory. After all, Dante refurbished and most current, dark-haired and rebellious would be somewhat strange in a game with those graphics with darker tones. There are moments, too, when we realize some framerate drops, but this does not hinder the fun.

Another element very cool and worth to be highlighted with respect to messages that are displayed at key moments. Text messages, written in their own scenarios very flashy, always using white and bright sources, and always directed at Dante and / or their actions. Everything always in context, of course, and always calling the attention of the player. DmC is a great game, a great hack 'n slash with an interesting story, a protagonist who did not stop in time and a lot, a lot of beating. conclusion DmC: Devil May Cry is an excellent choice if you are looking for a dynamic, beautiful and endowed with plenty of space to blows chained, combos, hideous creatures being smashed and a soundtrack so good and so perfectly fitted that works like a real fuel during the fighting. Here is a Western retelling of a series famous. A rereading it, however, has everything to please different types of players, even to longtime fans. The new Dante, the storyline and art direction can captivate us since the beginning of the story, and get to your end is very easy, because the game is extremely addictive.

90

The end? Don't bet on it.

jinkarasu | May 5, 2013 | See all jinkarasu's reviews »

There's some subtle throw backs to the previous DmC games. Awesome soundtrack (in my opinion), great gameplay, great visuals. Worth playing, even if you haven't played the original quadrilogy, as this is a retelling of Dante's origins. However, this is definitely not a game for kids, which you can find that out rather quickly within the intro. Wasn't too thrilled with Vergil's Downfall, especially not for the price. They skimped on the "cut scenes", and it was extremely short. Definitely loved all the sarcastic comments and humor thrown in for good measure to keep Dante's old personality at least somewhat intact. I'm hoping they add something further to the game, or they continue with the series after this.

94

Emo Dante

espeditow | May 1, 2013 | See all espeditow's reviews »

Much will be discussed about the reboot that Capcom made ​​the series, and lo and behold the game is wonderful, great gameplay (common grade) great story (or great as could say: P) the game can hold you in almost 10hrs of gameplay, with lots of electronic music and rock and a hard fuck, then, as usual, the game has several difficulties that opens only when you go finishing the game, I personally really enjoy the game, I recommend it to everyone who want a good hack'n'slash for fun

93

As good as DMC 3, if not better

Vahgrant | April 29, 2013 | See all Vahgrant's reviews »

First of all, DmC: Devil May Cry is the best hack n' slash since Bayonetta and offers an excellent opportunity to make the series shine again. Beautiful, fun, with an interesting story and most of all thrilling thanks to its gameplay and its level design, DmC: Devil May Cry is THE reboot the series needed. From the beginning to the end, the game stays impressive thanks to its originality and its freshness with some memorable levels such as Lilith's Club. The deep gameplay, allowing you to switch between Demon, Angel and Human weapons and skills, makes the player feel powerful. The level design, based on an organic world always moving, always surprises you. And the graphics and design of the enemies and bosses is as disturbing as it's great. Overall, DmC: Devil May Cry is a unique and crazy experience that every action player must try.

80

Did not expect this game to be this good!

Sakatta | April 28, 2013 | See all Sakatta's reviews »

As the title says, I definitely did not expect the game to be this good! The game is very fun to play because of the smooth combat! I have not been a fan of the DmC series so i cannot compare it to previous entries in the series but this game is highly recommended!

89

great alternate DMC

tassadarforaiur | April 26, 2013 | See all tassadarforaiur's reviews »

To address the elephant in the room, this game is easy compared to classic dmc games, and feels more like nero than classic dante to me. the mechanics are extremely fluid, you carry all your weapons instead of "banking" them, and can quickly switch between weapon classes using the triggers, with only 5 melee weapons total, and a maximum of 2 to cycle between with the dpad per direction. Getting massive Aerial is Still insanely fun though, and a great way to spend time. my preferred method of playing is to connect my computer to a tv and hook up a 360 controller, which is natively recognized, and it feels as though that's the way the game's meant to be played. If you enjoy hack'n'slash games, I would enthusiastically recommend.

90

Fun and good developed reboot

TriDark | April 23, 2013 | See all TriDark's reviews »

This game has everything you love about the previous one mechanics, but improved... however is so improved it makes you feel the game is too easy, but for that while you complete the game you unlock more difficult modes that add lot of replay value.

The story is a lot more coherent than the japanese previous versions, and the new Dante is more interesting, as he has a evolution in his personality during the game. Not like the default white haired japanese characters. [personal opinion lol]

95

Best Devil May Cry Ever!!

Brenski47 | April 13, 2013 | See all Brenski47's reviews »

Note before you keep reading I only played DMC 3 and 4, so if you are just saying to yourself, that the original was better, stop whining and leave. Now, DmC Devil May Cry is a great game, there are way more combos and weapons than DMC 4, and the story is a lot more interesting, the style of the game and of Dante is amazing. The only problem is it is a little short, I was able to beat it on Devil Hunter difficulty in about 7 hours, but with 7 difficulty levels and tons of collectibles and now with the vergils downfall dlc out, it has given me well over 60 hours of gameplay. If you're a fan of DMC, play this game, so what if its not your old precious Dante, just play it and stop whining. If you've never played a DMC game, then definitely play this, you won't regret it!!

89

One of the Better DMCs

Damuel | April 13, 2013 | See all Damuel's reviews »

It's not bad at all, the combat is pretty fun and improves a lot on 4. The game still has some of the old humor despite it adding in cursing. The new Dante isn't that bad, unlike the other games he actually has some character progression throughout this one. As someone who would say DMC 1 was his favorite, I would rank this about equal to 3 if not a hair worse where as the 4th was a huge let down and 2 was terrible. The game really isn't longer/shorter than the other DMC games and has moderate replayability. It's also a lot better as far as optimization goes since it's on UE3, the game has a consistent 60fps and plays like butter even on lower end machines. Of course you'll still want a controller for a game like this.

45

Nice Aesthetics, everything else is mediocre at best

Midwaywuzzupman | March 12, 2013 | See all Midwaywuzzupman's reviews »

The Aesthetics of the game was a nice change of pace compared to the other titles and the platforming and combat is okay; however, the combat is also much more simplistic then previous entries in the series, the story and writing is horrendous, there's quite an over use of color and light, and the overall game is not only easy, but short. As a new IP it's mediocre, but as a Devil May Cry game, it's horrible. I would not recommend this game to anyone and instead recommend anything in the series other then Devil May Cry 2.

95

Best hack'n slash I've played in 2012

youknowwho77 | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all youknowwho77's reviews »

DmC: Devil May Cry for a reboot is a very good game. It's all you could want in the hack and slash genre. The gameplay is similar to its predecessors'. You start with a blade named Rebellion and two pistols - Ebony and Ivory. As you progress throughout the game, you take possession of other weapons and tools, such as the demoninc and angelic weapons and hooks. As you kill enemies you collect their souls, and you are able, later to purchase new moves and upgrade your life etc. There are also different keys ranging from copper to ivory, which you can find in game, and open challenge doors. If you complete the challenge there, you will be rewarded. Graphically the game is very beautiful, and it is clear that the developers took their time to optimize it well enough. I highly recommend it to every gamer.

72

Decent reboot for a decent series

PhyxionUS1 | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all PhyxionUS1's reviews »

DmC: Devil May Cry is a fantastic game and resulted in a very successful reboot of the series that it had become. The new Dante convinces eventually completely, as with the immersive world and the promised accessible gameplay. That accessibility makes sure that the old-school DmC fans will not be fully satisfied with the new game, but also for them there remains plenty of beauty to completely immerse yourself in. My main concern is how easy it is to keep combo's going. So, DmC is absolutely not perfect in all aspects, but there is still plenty of action and Capcom did a great job with this new reboot.

57

This? A Devil May Cry game? That's Crazy Talk.

DeweyDTruman | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all DeweyDTruman's reviews »

DmC: Devil May Cry is not a good Devil May Cry game. While it admittedly is a pretty standard game of its genre, that isn't a good thing. About all it truly has going for it are the nice background aesthetics, in my opinion. Devil May Cry is known for being the best in its genre, so going from something as beloved as Devil May Cry 3 or 4, to something as woefully generic (gameplay speaking) as DmC is extremely disheartening.

The story is ridiculous. Story has never been a strong point of the series admittedly, but this one is not only worse than the originals, but also gives it much more focus than it needs. The characters are childish at best and generally horrible people at worst. "Dante" is at the forefront, with his previous personality all but gone in favor of a cocky, arrogant boy who insults people without any of the cleverness of the original. It's also much, much easier than the previous titles. While making a game more accessible to new audiences isn't an inherently horrible thing, you should never be able to get the maximum ranking, SSS, by just mashing buttons. Devil May Cry 3 and 4 required you to be original, think on your toes, and keep switching up between attacks in order to be rewarded such a rank. It feels much more shallow and less engaging here.

Do yourself a favor and pick up Devil May Cry 4 instead.

90

The Best In Years

omariswatching | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all omariswatching's reviews »

Having been a huge fan of the original, quite liking the third, but being severely disappointed by 2 and 4, I was not at all opposed to the idea of a reboot. The franchise had gotten quite stale and lackluster with time so a change in direction seemed like a very good idea. Thankfully, Ninja Theory did not disappoint. I can honestly say that this is my favorite Devil May Cry since the original. The new combo system replaces the strangely unintuitive style system from the 3rd and 4th games with a free flowing ability to switch between different weapons and styles on the fly. While the combat is certainly not as punishing as in the original games, I think it finds a good balance between the various difficulties so as to welcome newcomers whilst still having plenty to offer those looking for a greater challenge. This PC release in particular boasts much greater visuals and runs incredibly smooth at higher framerates even with the settings maxed. Needless to say I am extremely happy with this one and am definitely looking forward to where the series goes from here. Definitely give it out if you're a fan of character action titles or are willing to try something new in your Devil May Cry.

85

Devilishly enjoyable

gtammen | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all gtammen's reviews »

The Devil May Cry series has always felt unwelcoming to new comers, and after a stale fourth game, a sequel felt unnecessary. Fortunately, DmC, a reboot of sorts, is loads of fun to play and is likely to be one of the best games released this year.

Pros:

-Combat is frantic and controls are tight, despite naysayers. -Levels are visually creative and spectacular, where the limbo version playfully mirrors the real world version. -Controls can be remapped. -Lots of graphics options. -Game runs smooth and is dazzling on ultra settings. -Right amount of "dumb" in its story line to keep things fun and light. -Weapons are fun to use and combo. -Creative difficulty settings can be unlocked, such as one hit player-enemy options. -Harder difficulties don't just increase enemy health and numbers. Instead, tougher enemies are introduced earlier and in different pairings, and enemies have new attacks. -New ideas are introduced into the series such as demon/angel weapons only working on certain enemy types and new story threads. -Pokes fun at complaints of this new looking Dante.

Cons:

-Some of the rendered videos look a little low-res and washed out, especially at a 2560x1440 resolution and compared to the gameplay graphics. -Replay value may be low for some once the main story is completed. -Metal-ish dub-step music gets old. To be fair I hated the metal music of the original series. -Auto lock-on is usually smart, but when there are lots of enemies it can target the wrong ones and mess up combos.

Other thoughts:

-More Westernized than DMC 1-4. Whether that's good or bad is up to you. -With tons of combos, it's difficult to remember all of them and instead you'll find yourself relying on a quarter of them. Not a fault of the game, just reality.

96

Best hack'n slash title on the PC.

MichiGen1200 | Feb. 6, 2013 | See all MichiGen1200's reviews »

This, together with DMC 4 is the best hack'n slash action game on PC ever released. I was sceptical about this game at first, but it's really great. It offers adrenaline pumped soundtrack, crazy level design, and hundreds of possible combos. The combat system is better and more complex than combat system with Nero in DMC4, although probably not as complex as combat with Dante in DMC4. I recommend playing it with a Xbox360 controller, but it's also relatively fine playable with keyboard and mouse. The PC port is very well done and well optimized, without any annoying DRM. If you like action games you won't be disappointed :).

90

A very worthy reboot

Hotspud | Feb. 1, 2013 | See all Hotspud's reviews »

DmC is an excellent action game - probably one of the best released this gen. However, fans of the original series might find it a little less true to its DMC roots. Hence, it is perhaps only a "good" DMC game.

If you're like me, and not particularly hardcore, you will enjoy this title. The replay ability is quite high, and the main campaign will last approximately 8.5 hours. After that, there is increased difficulty levels, unlockables, and the pending release of Virgil DLC (~$9) and bloody palace (Free) will add more value and length to the game.

The most important part of this game is the swordplay, which is handled exceptionally well. With lots of different weapons to choose from (5 combat arms, and 3 guns), and switching between them on the fly, the combinations are endless. The PC version runs well over 60 FPS, and is a much superior version of the game to the console counterparts. Graphically, the game is beautiful, and the art is just phenometal. The voice acting and characters are of high quality, making this game easy to take seriously (though it doesn't take things too seriously itself).

Overall, highly recommended to all action fans!

75

A return to form

Scorpy | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

DmC: Devil May Cry could not be more polarizing. On one hand, it's loved for its revamp of a series that has been stale for 4 iterations. Developed by British studio Ninja Theory, DmC feels a lot more western than its heavily asian-influenced brethren. If that's good or not depends on your preferences. DmC's gameplay is the same at heart. A hack and slash through and through, it's only momentarily varied in its boss fights, which are one of the game's disappointing aspects. Boss fights are few and far between, but those that are there are extremely fun to play.

DmC provides some attitude perhaps to cover its stale and rehashed gameplay. It's an extremely polarizing game in that you will either hate or love its style, which is in-your-face and most of the time cringe-worthy. Still, the asking price is steep. This is a budget title at best, and a pretty good one at that.

88

Action packed !

MarkDeejay | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

I actually dislike most of the action (adventure) games like God Of War and Devil May Cry. They're usually all about the combat, which becomes a boring aspect for me a few hours into the game. And yes, they have great visuals most of the times, but visuals isn't a key aspect for me. Then again; they do help to pull the player into the game world. Anyway, DmC managed to surprise me because of it's environments, fluent combat and, maybe even more important for me; short campaign. You read correctly, a short campaign. It will take a player somewhere between 7,5-12 hours to fully complete one playthrough, which is a decent length and for me long enough to not become boring or overstay its welcome. The new Dante starts off as an annoying, run-of-the-mill character. But along the way I started caring for him. He grew more mature it seemed. Dante will start the game with some basic weaponry and will get new moves and weapons until late in the game, which keeps the combat fresh. Obviously, all weapons and moves can be upgraded. And there really are some amazing moves in there. Using a controller I was able to pull off some of the hardest combos. I'll admit, there was some button mashing involved, but most of the times I actually knew what I was doing. The environments steal the show though. Rarely have I seen environments this brilliant. The TV show (including boss fight) and nightclub levels are some of the best levels I've ever seen in a game. DmC uses a variety of bright colors, while still having a certain gothic feel to it. It's exceptional. You can tell they put some real love into the PC version since it will never dip below 60FPS. On Ultra settings things look (mostly) sharp and seeing the game in motion is a real treat, especially during the acrobatic (non-)combat sequences. The voice acting is top notch, but, unfortunately, the story is a bit on the light side. Time to wrap things up: I had a great time with this game and I would gladly recommend it to all serious gamers out there.

90

Keepin it Stylish! Yahoo!

aevanilla | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all aevanilla's reviews »

From the moment you start this game you can tell that it oozes style. Yea sure Dante is now sporting some sort of emo hairstyle and a less playful attitude but don't be fooled because this is the exact same Dante that we have all come to know and love.

Graphics/Sound: The graphics in this game are amazing! Lots of bright colors and stylized visuals really bring the world of DmC to life. Even when running the game on high settings using an old Radeon HD5770 card, the game still looks great. Makes me want to get a newer card to see what I'm really missing. The sound is pretty great as well. Using a Triton AX720, the sounds come out crisp and clear. The soundtrack is awesome and greatly compliments the gameplay.

Gameplay: Gameplay is what you would expect from a DMC game. No lock-on targeting here folks. It's a fast frenzied pace that will get you lost if you don't pay attention. The action can either be one giant cluster-f*ck of "what the hell is going on" OR be a graceful mixture of melee and ranged combat. You really have to pay attention to your enemies, movement, and combos if you want to even have a chance at the higher difficulty levels. I have yet to experience any slowdown even with a screen full of enemies.

Replayability: Many different upgrades and powerups for Dante and his weapons will make you come back for more. Although some will find it a bit "grindy" it is not necessary to continue the story/game. For the most hardcore DmC players, new difficulty levels open up as you beat previous difficulty levels. True to previous DmC games, the difficulty really spikes up with a mode that kills Dante in 1 hit while enemies are harder/smarter.

Story: The Dante story has been revamped for this game. You are now a half demon/half angel that is out for revenge. I don't want to say anything that spoils the game, but it is interesting. Not a very deep and complex story that you would get from an RPG, but good enough to keep the characters motivated and you playing.

Conclusion: I would recommend this game to anyone that is a fan of action games. For previous DMC players, try and get over the new look and just give it a try, you'll see how similar it is and love it. There's also a "classic Dante" skin you can use for nostalgia. For people new to the series, prepare yourselves because this is one crazy game!

87

The return of Devil May Cry

panz3r88 | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

If you are a fan of the Devil May Cry series you will be surely disappointed by the new look of Dante, but this is probably the only defect of the game. The combat system is similar to the one of the previous Devil May Cry and it's characterized by a good variety also because you can use many different melee weapons and guns. The game is quite challenging and if you look for some good challenge you can try some game modes when you and your opponent or only you can die with only one hit. In the game there are also some simple platforming section that increase the variety of the game. Devil May Cry is a fun game if you like actions with a good combat system.

87

New Dante, new mechanics

abelfs | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

This game was an entire surprise. Many people feared that the general change of the saga could have ruined everything. But it doesn't. The gameplay has changed (in my opinion for good), in this DMC you have two buttons to use your sword or other melee weapon, easing the way you chain the combos. However the mechanics are much more deeper because you will be forced to use the different weapons in the game depending on the type of enemy and, of course, in order to gain the classical stylish points. The visuals are stunning, with a scenery that reminds Dali's paintings. Perhaps the new Dante may not be pleasing for everyone (even for me, he looks like a Twilight vampire), but Ninja Theory did well to revitalize the saga.

84

A good game.

NiksBrotha | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all NiksBrotha's reviews »

This game is still very good. Regardless of what people say, I enjoyed it. I feel the game's new story isn't that bad but could have improved. The major problem I have is how they changed Dante's "classic witty" attitude to a new, teenager one.. I didn't enjoy that really but everything else about the game is great. Good graphics, good combos, new weapons, new enemies etc. Also their art and other concepts are nice to look at. The only good thing in the future would be to have the classic Dante character back or hopefully even include Nero. I would love to see those two again :)

If you are a heavy DMC fan then I suggest you to skip this one as it WILL NOT please you. Otherwise it's still a good game.

80

Fast paced and great fun.

fable2 | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

I was feeling a little skeptical initially as a result of the controversy surrounding its release. I am very glad that I gave into my curiosity and bought it. It was fast paced, and consistently exciting, the surroundings revolved around me and were great to look at. I absolutely love the vibrant colour palate used and I found myself playing for hours on end. I quite like Dante's new look and raw attitude and the combat is so fluent and fun. I found myself striving to pull off perfect combos and experimenting regularly in the training mode. one of the best and most addictive games I've played in a while. Thank you very much Ninja theory. Keep up the good work.

90

Just awesome

Stebsis | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

I have to admit, I never actually played previous DMC games so this review is from newcomer's eyes. The game is, in a word, awesome. I didn't know at all what the previous Dante was like, but I still was worried they made the new Dante a bit too emo. That's just not the case. He's bit of a douche, but they still keep it to minimum and he becomes likeable character, and I think almost anyone living like him and with a past like him would get bit noncaring about stuff happening around you, it just makes him seem like more human character. Graphics are just awesome, everytime you go into combat you enter this "Limbo", like a demonic world filled with monsters and crazy stuff. When you enter it the ground shatters, building try to crush you, stuff flies around and everything bends in odd way. Even though they made this set in a modern times, with Limbo they got to go balls out with design choises, some of the setpieces are just crazy and they're really varied, you won't be running in same places from mission to next. Story is pretty ok and it also takes a bit more modern turn. The demon Mundus tries to control world through debt, he's got people like president wrapped around his finger and he controls almost everything, it's interesting take and isn't just using some demon magic. There's also this mind controlling, or something like that, drink called Virility which is the most popular soda in the world. Combat is definitely the best part of DmC. It flows naturally and feels really satisfying. You can chain together some really crazy combos later in the game and keep your enemies in the air with 2 grappling hooks(other pulls enemy to you and other pulls you to the enemy) and launch the enemy again and keep juggling it in the air. Pretty soon you get your hands on demonic and angelic weapons, and this is when the combat starts to shine. Using them isn't your typical choosing the weapon by switching to the next. You switch naturally between the 3 weapons you have, demonic, angelic and normal sword. I play on Xbox 360 pad on PC, and you choose demonic weapon just by pressing right trigger, and angelic by left trigger and when pressed, you just attack like you normally do and releasing trigger quickly goes to the normal sword. In combat it flows naturally and you can quickly pull off some crazy stuff because you can switch between them so naturally without the need to actually "switch" your weapon. DmC is a great game by Ninja Theory, it's a bit linear, but fun as hell. If you're not bothered by linearity, and of course Dante's new hair(which I don't mind at least) and want some crazy action, get DmC.

91

One of the top titles of 2013 has already arrived!

videopower77 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

Nevermind the nay-sayers, DmC is a perfect example of how to do a reboot of a franchise. This PC port was done perfectly. Controls can be rebinded, plenty of graphics options, HD Textures out of the box, and all the other features you expect in a port. I was honestly surprised that this game was done in the Unreal Engine and it looks fantastic. Ninja Theory went all out in their surreal and creepy level designs.

The combat is nearly perfect but I do find it strange that there isnt a way to lock on enemies as it does it on its own. Still, it doesn't hinder the gameplay at all.

If you like action games, then pick this game up ASAP.

94

The best Devil May Cry

kalil | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

With the complete game 2 times, in different difficulties I can say I was not expecting much from this facelift on this franchise. For starters I would stress that you forget to enjoy it all that you played in the past and your interest in this new story I intend to tell. There is no point criticizing this game because it is not what you played for years ... Ladies and Gentlemen ... times change and also DEVIL MAY CRY.

Playability: 9.5 I enjoy the Hack & Slash, to dominate the game and so I feel qualified to say that Ninja Theory has managed to evolve this system, the sensation of playing this game at a time and use many different weapons cushion their various movements not I have never seen in any other game. That's why I think they have managed to increase the gameplay at its finest. Do not give it a 10 because I lack more puzzles and mapped to lose yourself and move backward. TECHNOLOGY: 8.5 The unreal engine profited the most, that sentence than powerful enough to spare some loss of texture ... and some other things that can be overlooked because they are rare and do not affect the gameplay at any time. Graphics: 9. A brilliant artistic and photographic section that give us moments I will never forget, in some scenarios insane and extremely original. The fusion of chaos and color fits perfectly and all linked to the design of enemies and allies creates a molotov cocktail very devil may cry. SOUND: 10 The BSO is spectacular fit at all times, makes you feel more desire to move forward, to see another topic we expected. INNOVATION: Considering this is a franchise reboot, which have evolved the combat system and the entire design of the game is completely new 8.5 put him XD

THE GOOD: Its history, art section, the BSO and addictive combat system. All seasoned with touches of humor. THE BAD: Not for closed minded to keep saying that it is not dante ....