Reviews for Resident Evil 5

72

Great co-op game, not so great Resident Evil game.

Snotnarok | Nov. 4, 2014 | See all Snotnarok's reviews »

Let's get this out of the way, no it's not a good Resident Evil, yes there's a bit of inventory managing an rationing but by no means like 1-3. Now that that's out of the way, I'm going to talk about the games merits by itself, okay? Okay.

Resident Evil 5 is a co-op game, yes you can play it alone but doing that I've heard nothing but anger and frustration- which may have spawned many of the negative reviews out there. You play as Chris & Sheva and you're trying to survive an trip to Infected Africa, where many of the civilians are infected by some parasite that is not zombie related. The theme of the game is being overwhelmed, constantly. You and your partner will be trying to fend off a lot of people trying to club your face in or run a chainsaw across your face. You'll have to fight and manage your resources on the fly as the game does not pause when you bring up your inventory! You can trade items between you and your friend, so there's not too much worry about someone hogging all the ammo.

The game varies it up and you'll find yourself doing ...some what silly things, such as riding on the back of a Humvee with a HMG and minigun trying to keep the locals from destroying your truck, while randomly having to hold a button to make sure you don't get whip lash around a corner, or something.

There's a variety of locations, the story is not worth mentioning, but the events in the game are fun. I just cannot stress enough that you bring a friend to this game or it could be a lot less amusing.

Back is mercenary mode where you and a friend fight against time in maps to survive and get as many points and combos as possible. Though in the PC version you get a unique mode where they spawn FAR more enemies making it even more wild! ...That said, you cannot play that one co-op without a mod for some reason. Yeah, I know it's ...stupid.

The only other downside to this game is, it doesn't include the DLC that was on the console, infact you simply cannot get any of it as far as I've seen. On steam, GMG, or otherwise...so that's a bit lame, but the game that is there is fun! ...Just bring a friend :|

85

I Punch Boulders With My Friends

rahnborshko | Oct. 26, 2014 | See all rahnborshko's reviews »

This game has its flaws. Don't bother playing it solo because you won't have as much fun. If you play solo be prepared to manage both yours and your partner's inventory on the fly even while in the heat of battle, and also be prepared to deal the the not-so-good buddy AI. The game was clearly made for CO-OP and that's not a bad thing. Playing with a friend is very fun and I would say well worth getting just to have a fun CO-OP session with a friend. The game takes heavy influences from Resident Evil 4 that some people like and dislike. People say it isn't a Resident Evil game because it focuses more on action rather than survival horror as the beginning previous games did. I say that it is a Resident Evil game because it covers the same themes as all Resident Evil games have done in the past: you fight menacing creatures effected by some man-made virus in interesting settings and try to uncover a conspiracy while fighting bosses that don't seem to die the first time round. That is pretty much a Resident Evil game and Resident Evil 5 follows the same themes albeit in a different way. Yes there is more action, yes there isn't much traditional survival horror, and yes it isn't as good as 4, but it is still a good game just for the CO-OP. Also, they are going to get rid of the GFWL very soon and start using Steamworks, so that is always a good thing.

75

Hakuna Matta.... Wait what?

KingTed | Oct. 16, 2014 | See all KingTed's reviews »

There are two type of games in the Resident Evil main series. There are the survival horror ones, like Code Veronica, the Gamecube Remake or Revelations and there are the shooter ones like RE4.

Resident Evil 5 is from the latter category. You play Chris Redfield, member of the BSAA, and are sent to Kijuju in Africa. Your objective is to capture the BOW seller Ricardo Irving. But, as expected, everything goes wrong the second you enter Kijuju.

RE5 is an action game with tight controls and precise gameplay. The character might seem a bit heavy to move but once you've mastered it, the mechanics are cristal clear.

You can also buy and upgrade weapons to enhanced your chance of survival.

The campaign is really fun, especially when played in coop with a friend.

And when you get to the end credits, the fun is not over. There are lots of unlockable things and the best game in any RE Game : The Mercenaries.

The graphics are not that awesome but it's clean and fluid. The art direction and the soundtrack are pretty good too.

The game has two problems :

First, the story gets really silly by the end. RE always had an "over the top" tone but this episode goes a little too far in that direction.

Second, the partner AI is not as efficient as it should be. When you're playing the campaign in Single Player Mode, the AI controls your partner, Sheva Alomar. The thing is that Sheva might use all the ammo you gave her or, worse, put herself in great danger. And it's game over when she dies. (Fortunately, the next games got rid of that. In RE6 or Revelations the AI has no inventory and is invincible)

RE5 is not a survival horror and it's not a easy game. But it's a really good action game.

90

One Of The Best Action Game Of This Generation

DDEMOLITOR | Oct. 9, 2014 | See all DDEMOLITOR's reviews »

Resident evil 5 is a game like updated graphics and coop added version of resident evil 4.Also shorter than resident evil 4.But resident Evil 5 is an incredible enjoyable game with old resident evil 4 magic.You will play all levels over and over again.its co-op really makes this game shine.And of course game offers tons of unlockables and some customization options to chose depend of you like.Also the mercenaries mode is deep enough and has new no mercy mode to play for hours.Game also look and sounds great without having high-end pc to play on.As a resident evil game game is short also not make you keep on the edges of your seat and controls a bit hard but what you see is an outstanding action game with great replay value

81

Not horrifying, but fun

Ryukrieger | Sept. 15, 2014 | See all Ryukrieger's reviews »

Let's get the first thing out of the way. Survival Horror? No Action "Horror"? Yes, very. On the horror aspect, RE5 has the least horror factor. But as a game overall. The game is fun The mechanics is absolutely unique to normal third person shooter. You can shoot, but melee is a very lovely aspect of the game, with precise shooting, you can knock the enemies out of balance then close in for a strong hard-hitting melee attack. It also has an RPG-like mechanics where you can upgrade your weapons, which has been around, and it still works marvellously. Compared to RE4, the buying-mechanics is much easier, no longer you'd need to find the Mysterious Merchant (I really miss the man), you buy/sell/upgrade stuffs after each mission. I think they should bring a merchant back, but I don't think it'd work with the episodic style of the game. Admittedly, the game is fairly linear, but fun it absolute is. You feel good and powerful if you play right, but if your reaction isn't good, you'll feel vulnerable. The worst part of the game is (for me) the quick-time events, some of them are too fast and too hard. But it doesn't impact the ability to enjoy the game. To enjoy this game to its fullest, bring a friend, since RE5, Resident Evil is one of those series that make co-op really enjoyable. This game gets 81 from me because no game is perfect and it's just a personal recommendation.

82

An excellent cooperative game

eduardXD | Aug. 27, 2014 | See all eduardXD's reviews »

Resident Evil 5 is a fun game to play together. It is true that the game lost direction since resident evil 4, but it still being a good game. First of all do not consider it an oldschool Resident Evil, because in that way you wont enjoy it. The game offers lots of stages and duration. will have many alternative modes that increase replayability and graphics are quite acceptable. It has a huge variety of weapons, the designs of the enemies are fairly original and there will be collectibles that will reward us if we find them. I recommend you buy it together with a friend, because co-op is the best part of the game.

88

The evil army is chasing you.

hateah | July 25, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

So, you are in a town where slowly by slowly all the people are getting infected by a virus and turning into a human - eating zombies. The movement system is very,very bad IMO only, but you might get used to it with teh time. The shooting system si very good, can't say anything bad about it. At the begining you are with a girl and runing from the zombies, they are catching you in some kind of a bunker where you have to find a exit and run away from them. This is not just an infection this is a pure evil which has been unleashed. In every corner there are zombies lerking to infect more people to join the army of the evilness. Your pulse will be raising as you run and shoot the zombies runing towards you, trying to eat your flesh and then bury you. It's most a horror than an action, so you might wanna play it at midnight if you are an horror fan, if not better don't do that. The graphics are very good, but as i said the movement is a no-no for me. That's why I didn't finished the game. Otherwise everything else is excelent.

61

Pretty fun, but terrible mechanics

kevin6040 | July 15, 2014 | See all kevin6040's reviews »

The game is actually quite fun when playing with a friend, because it not only offers a bit of horror but also an RPG element where you can lvl up your weapons. One of my main objections is to the forced camera view. The camera view looks terrible in my opinion, and makes me unable to attack monsters from point blank range on certain occasions. The quick-time events are fun, but also repetitive because if you fail to press one of the buttons in time, then you will be forced to redo the entire thing, cut scene and all.

85

Great co-op game.

Furrek | July 1, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

So this is, if I'm not mistaken, first Resident Evil game that can be played with two players. I haven't played this alone, so I can say how this game is for lone players, but if you have a friend or family member to play with - DO IT. It's amazing - this is kind of games that I want to play with others. Much fun, great action, even more fun on harder difficult setting. There is even MERCENARIES FOR TWO PLAYERS. I think I spent around 250 hours in both - ending the game on every possible difficult setting and trying to be the best in mercenaries. As for the story... well... it have Chris... and... oh yeah, there is a Jill... Wesker trying to destroy the world... I'm happy to see my favorite characters once again but not like that. If you are fan of old RE series then you know what I mean. I can't think of this game as part of Resident Evil series, so let's just say that it's great action game for two players - nothing more.

75

No longer survival horror, but still fun

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

I can only comment on the co-op part of the game. Single player part didn't even seem interesting enough to try.

Downside: this game in the franchise can no longer call itself survival horror. Sure there are still lots of powerful enemies to fight, however you don't exactly have to save your ammo and bright environments make it not scary at all.

Upside: still fun to mess around with friends. There are voice commands, so if you feel like it you can spam your friend by yelling the same phrase over and over again. There are quick events in the cutscenes where your character can splat in very creative ways making your friend laugh.

Small warning to those with slow reactions: some button mashing parts almost made me cry. I failed over and over and over again. In some cutscenes you need to press a button fast, in others mash it with a very equal, but rushed pace. If you, like me, have problems with that kind of quick events this game might be not for you.

88

Really fun co-op game!

crisman | April 5, 2014 | See all crisman's reviews »

First of all: forget the old resident evil's games. This is not a survival game, but an action, like Resident Evil 4. I personally preferred the old survival style, but I must say this game is not bad at all, instead I really enjoyed it!

As it's prequel, you must travel across the levels fighting against infected people and monsters, looting ammo and money for the shop (for buying armor or guns, or upgrading them) and healing plants. In the main story you control Chris Redfield, but this time he will have a partner, Sheva, which can be controlled by CPU or a friend. Of course, the friendly AI is a bit messy and a lot of time it will depletes ammo really quickly, so a friend is highly suggested.

The levels have a really good variety, you begin the game in a town, then you find yourself in a mine, caves, hidden labs and stuff like that. The story of course involves Umbrella and Las Plagas, with some interesting background stories, although the story is nothing special and a bit cliché. There are very little puzzles inside the game, so most of the time you just shoot and run. It has no cover system, but who cares?

The length of the game is really good actually, and has a really good replay value thanks for scoring system and higher difficulties, and mercenaries mode. Overall is a really good action game, but should be played with a friend.

Oh and remember, it uses GFWL!

76

Great experience, but doesn't stay true

WolfeClawz | Feb. 16, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

I'd be lying if I said that I didn't have fun while playing through this game with my friend, but at the same time, I feel as though it lacked in terms of being a true Resident Evil game.

Comparing this to it's predecessors, it isn't very scary at all. Sure, it has it's tense moments, but nothing really SHOCKS you as you'd expect it to. Resident Evil 4 felt like a great balance between gunplay and horror. Resident Evil 5 on the other hand feels as though they focused more on refining the gunplay in comparison to wanting to scare the player.

There's honestly nothing wrong with this, however as a long-term player of the original games, it's disappointing seeing this entry lack what was truly unique to the franchise.

63

Survival Horror? No. Fun? Yes!

mgold07 | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all mgold07's reviews »

Resident Evil 5 follows two agents of an organisation known as the BSAA, whose job is in essence to kill Bio-Organic Weapons (B.O.W.) and generally save the world from impending doom. The 5th numbered title in the series, Resident Evil 5 follows the same mechanics as Resident Evil 4 with the addition of a few features. One of the biggest of these features for me was the co-operative play. Being a big fan of co-operative experiences this was a big plus as there is nothing quite like blasting the living hell out of Majini with a friend. This is certainly where most of my review score can be brought up from, however that's not to say it doesn't have other reasons to be considered for purchase. The storyline, whilst tired and rehashed is still standard Resident Evil. Big evil guy wants to do big evil things, heroes stop him. There's nothing particularly new here, but who really enjoys Resident Evil for the story? STORY: 4/10 In terms of horror, fans looking for a good scare are going to be disappointed. Resident Evil 5 strayed far enough away from its survival horror roots to now be called an action game. Does it suffer for it? I'll have to say no, whilst I do prefer the original games a survival horror featuring Chris now working for the BSAA would feel awkward and detrimental to the game itself. There has been much complaining about the controls found in the game, however I felt that they were fairly good with only minor problems such as reduced turning speed as you move, despite this I had no troubles with the controls, but maybe that's just me. Gameplay is very much similar to RE4 in that it is much more action oriented than previous games in the series. The game offers an over the shoulder, third person experience complete with a repertoire of guns. Replacing the completely unhelpful Ashley from RE4 is Sheva Alomar, complete with the ability to shoot enemies too. Sheva is both a playable character and an AI, though it is preferred to play through the game co-operatively as the AI is fairly poor. The gameplay however is not perfect. The inability to move whilst shooting can feel problematic and the game is littered with QTEs with the PC controls being difficult to adapt to for many. GAMEPLAY: 7/10 Now the question of the hour is, is this game fun? Well, yes it is. I've managed to play over 30 hours on the PC version alone and I'm still looking forward to my next session, both co-op and solo. FUN: 8/10

Final Score: 6.3/10

80

It's not RE4, but it's still a very solid 3rd person shooter.

TomWeise62305 | Jan. 26, 2014 | See all TomWeise62305's reviews »

As a follow up to RE4, Resident Evil 5 disappoints. When judged on its own merits it's a very solid 3rd person action game. In my personal opinion, RE4 is one of the best games ever created. It has fantastic shooting, audio, visuals (for 2005 Gamecube standards), incredible pacing, great set pieces and also plenty of great meat n' potatoes gameplay. Resident Evil 5 doesn't stray too far from what made RE4 so great, but unfortunately just about every change that was made was for the worst. Visually it's a large step up from RE4; I'd say it looks quite a bit better than RE6 that came out years later. The basic controls are virtually unchanged besides the addition of strafing. You can't move and shoot which I never saw as an issue in RE4. It means that you have to think on your feet and watch your back as well as practice crowd control. The addition of coop is a huge plus for some people, but I'd much rather have a great single player experience which RE5 sacrifices for its coop ability. Coop also means you now have a real time inventory which is extremely annoying to navigate while in the middle of a battle. Your AI partner is also an imbecile. Any remnants of horror from past RE's are gone in RE5. Save rooms with typewriters are replaced by checkpoints. The merchant is gone and you now buy supplies in between missions. There are a lot more guns this time around but there's little incentive to use them all because most are rendered useless when a higher specced one becomes available. In RE4 there's a reason why you might want to use any of the 5 handguns because of their different attributes and special abilities. Now piercing and critical headshot percentage are general attributes that most guns can have. The attributes of the guns in RE4 made you think about what was best for the scenario and your own play style rather than just picking the one with the highest damage. The story goes off the deep end in RE5 as well, I'll just leave it at that. Most enemies from RE4 have been carried over into RE5 yet some like the sewer bugs and regenerators are gone now which were probably some of the tensest parts from RE4. Overall RE5 feels very familiar to RE4 yet has nowhere near the same impact RE4 had in 2005. It's still a solid action shooter because of its similarities but I would never regard it as a modern classic like RE4.

85

on par with Resident Evil 4

gwynplaine | Dec. 4, 2013 | See all gwynplaine's reviews »

RE4 gets a lot of praise for inventing the over the shoulder third person shooter and its great design and RE5 gets slagged for not doing the same. But it's very enjoyable as its own game and its own merits. It's not as bad as critics have said it is and is very fun in co op with a friend (there's a split screen mod too).

The storyline and cutscenes as with 4 too is full of b movie zombie cliches, ham fisted dialogue and hilarity - just the way it should be.

The guns and tank controls are great in this game. it's one of the few games where the guns pack a kick, recoil and punch to it - heads are popped and limbs are downed. This is one of things which they got wrong in RE6, in my opinion at least.

Good game for two players, and Sheva is great eye candy too.

88

Rather fun despite the departure

commanderhavoc | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

While this entry in the series may not feature any walking undead at all, it still is a fun action survival game where you can play online with a friend and fight against the Majin and other more horrific monsters that await you in the deepest and darkest parts of Africa. You can also buy weapons and items in this one as well as upgrade weapons to do more damage, hold more ammo and such, but alas there's not mysterious merchant waiting at certain intervals like in Resident Evil 4 and that is something that RE5 could have had instead of just a simple shop screen inbetween chapters. There are also quite a few quicktime events here and there in the game, but thankfully not filled to the brim as Resident Evil 6 was. Another thing is that the AI of Sheva while playing single player is not the best in the world, she wastes ammo quite a lot and can be slow to come to your rescue incase you get caught by a freak, so it is best played with a friend online. Another interesting thing is that the game also provides you the backstory to how Umbrella started making all those horrific viruses as well as biological weapons, but I am not gonna spoil anything here at all. Other then these issues, it is still a fairly solid entry in the series and it is among the two last good canon Resident Evil games before it went absolute nuts with RE6.

88

Walking off the yellow road?

DeaD | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all DeaD's reviews »

I won't say that. Resident Evil 5 definitely differs from its predeseccors, therefore received pretty much critics, but walking another path shouldn’t mean anything bad. Even though I understand the point in that, simply can't accept it. Not completely at least. This game may not be that scary, but entertaining.

Even if you've played through the campaign in singleplayer, you'll start over and over again, because of the coop. The idea of upgrading weapons adds even more to the feeling. Playing hardcore with a simple pistol? Love it. :) The visuals are pretty, can't say anything wrong about that. If you don't beleive me, just look at Sheva...I, I meanthe game presents stunning effects here and there, and covers quite some fascinating scenes. If you wanna play a good game, I can just recommend this one, even if you're not that much into "horror titles".

77

Fun game for what it is

CyberspyXD | Oct. 21, 2013 | See all CyberspyXD's reviews »

I remember first playing this. The shooting felt really good and the Coop was great. It has a creepy feeling to it and had some good elements of horror but not as much as the previous Resident evil games. Overall the game is great with a friend and its fun to just shoot up some zombies once in a while. Make sure you try the mercenaries mode too!

86

Zombie!!!?????Not!

aznsnsn | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all aznsnsn's reviews »

This game is rather a lot like the 4th game. The weapon upgrading system is one of the most rewarding parts of the game. The coop mode makes the game a lot easier as you have a partner to help you with taking out enemies and reviving. This game differs a lot from most shooters because of the inability to walk when shooting, but also adds a bit of an intriguing challenge. Overall very fun, This is a must have for online multiplayer whether it be the story mode or mercenaries.

99

Fun to play online!

Darkyoshi1935 | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all Darkyoshi1935's reviews »

It's a really great game , And I loved to have it and play it with my friends 4 players in versus mode , it was so much fun to kill each other just like a Half Life game. Also the story it's great , the part where Jill is still alive , and you have to fight her , It's everything awesome , except the part where Wesker dies.. , I loved wesker a lot and I did not wanted him to die , but okay , The AI plays ok in this RE , and everything is fine for me , I don't find this game scary anymore , I find it fun to play it with friends. And that's ok too. But I wish they would make another one but a survival horror one , not a fun shooter game...

Anyways. If you like killing zombies and having a lot of fun with your friends , you should try this game now! :D

82

Not bad!

kenji86 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all kenji86's reviews »

Don't compare this with the original trilogy but when you go for a fresh Re experience you may find this not so bad after all. Yes it is action than horror, yes Sheva is only b**bs with no brains. But it is actually a good co op game if you have a friend to play with. And this might turn to be a very good and fun game to play!

81

Action game

lok0812 | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Beginning from this installment of Resident Evil have a shift in the gameplay. The game is no longer a survival horror adventure instead it is more toward action adventure. The horror elements that existed in the older Resident Evil series are no where to be found. As an action adventure game, this installment is a welcoming entry to the series as it deliver the action and the pace of the game is excellent. The game also support online coop story campaign so 2 friends can join together and get through with the story. If you are looking for an action in Resident Evil then this is a must get but if you are a long time fans of the horror version of Resident Evil you might be slightly disappointed.

89

Why does all RE fans hate this?

OmittingCoder | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all OmittingCoder's reviews »

I'm somewhat biased since this is the first RE gave I have played but it is really fun! Especially in coop mode. This game isn't too scary and from what I know it has a decent story. I shall now play the other Resident Evil games!

82

Zombie means horror? Not this time.

Warning_origina | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Warning_origina's reviews »

I never played a previous Resident Evil game, all that I knew it was an horror saga. Well that game isn’t an horror,at least for me. Instead, this is a great action game, I really enjoyed it from the beginning until the end, In fact the action and the involvement reaches its climax in the second half of the game. The story is very well narrated,and with a lot of surprises, so there’s no time to be bored, if you want to stay alive!

93

Fun game, made better by co-op

MoizMansoorV | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all MoizMansoorV's reviews »

RE5 is a very fun Resident Evil game that feels like a natural progression of RE4 in terms of quality of story and gameplay. Fun, violent and a good engine that allows for fine-tuning graphics options make this a great buy.

The fantastic co-op is just the icing on the cake.

90

Awesome co-op Resident Evil fun!

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all PeppaJ6's reviews »

This is the first co-op console game I've had the pleasure of playing alongside my girlfriend - we both loved it! This time, the player is fighting against another offshoot of "la plaga" in Africa, which makes for some pretty vicious enemies. I still think the executioner scene is by far my favorite combat scenario to play within, which is probably the first major encounter in the game. There are just so many different ways to go about playing it, and I wish that there were more situations that were akin to this one in later parts of the game. Don't let that make it sound like the rest of the game isn't worth playing through, because it definitely is. As a survival horror, this game keeps you going as fast as your heart can beat. I really appreciate the amount of time that has gone into the most recent titles in the series since the implementation of the three-dimensional combat in Resident Evil 4. It's brought a lot of potential into the games through tactical combat situations, and I really appreciate having to think when it comes to my gameplay.

85

A fun Resident Evil title.

xXObyzouthXx | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all xXObyzouthXx's reviews »

While not being as "scary" as the games before it, resident evil still has its fair share of creepiness/scariness. The enemies are mutated and can burst open showing grotesque creatures which may jump scare you. The gameplay is fun, but definitely done better by dead space. You are stuck in the same spot when you aim and cannot move, however, this also makes for a more intense game because you have to coordinate and take up different positions to take out the enemies without you being killed in the process. The game is extremely fun to play through and even more fun with a coop partner.

Buy this game as soon as you can, it's well worth the money!

80

Very Fun

simodeso | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

I never played Resident Evil 4, because a lot of people says it is better than this, but i found this very funny to play and to enjoy. Even if there are a lot of people that complain to choose the idea to fight Black Zombie guys.. that it sound racist ecc. ecc. i think that a zombie is a zombie, nobody is immune so no reason to complain. I played the first resident evil and this is something not too much different, with a nice story. It doesn't cost a lot so it deserve a try.

75

Solid sequel to Resident Evil 4

lucaswrite | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

This is an alright game when compared to Resident Evil 4. At points I wish it was more survival then action, but zombies are still definitely present. It's definitely fun blowing the zombies brains apart, but a couple things hold this game back. The AI's annoying, and if you don't have a friend to play with, the game's rating drops a bit. There's more action than survival, as I've stated, and I like the horror aspect of the Resident Evil series. This game is still fun to play, since there's a lot of weapons to use, and it's simply fun to annihilate zombies. A couple bosses are present throughout the game, and some of them are just plain annoying. Especially the last boss. The quick time events are just awful. The first time I played through them it was extremely hard. I think it was because my partner wasn't doing it fast enough, but still it took us hours.

Any zombie or resident evil fan will really enjoy this game, and I put it ahead of Dead Island, but behind Left 4 Dead 1 and 2.

87

Resident Evil 5 - review

Neapolis47 | July 22, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

The story of Resident Evil 5 takes place 10 years later, and is set in the African region ... the protagonist Chris Redfield, protagonist in the past in the Resident Evil series, has as a companion Sheva Alomar are members of the BSAA The inhabitants of this region have been infected with a deadly virus that turns them into various beings. The gameplay is inspired by Resident Evil 4 but partially renovated compared to its predecessor. The view, in third person, has a wide vision of the game, and the movements also add the ability to move laterally. The novelty lies in the presence of his partner, who will fight alongside the protagonist throughout the game. There is the possibility of exchanging weapons and items at any time, but be careful in the determination of resources between the two. The longevity of the game is only 7-8 hours of play just for those accustomed to this wonderful saga of success. Even the puzzles, which were very important in older versions, have been reduced, replaced by sequences of game much more dynamic and action . In conclusion Resident Evil 5 still has inside a soul of horror that leads him to be a mixture of genres

70

Worth a look.

Gamereaper95 | July 8, 2013 | See all Gamereaper95's reviews »

Resident evil 5 while some may view it as a weak entry to the series it is defiantly worth your time, the combination of the game play with the cutting edge graphics and over all charm of the game will leave anyone wanting to play through it a second time. As an avid player of the resident evil series i would recommend playing this game before dismissing it i had lots of fun with it and that was increased with the help of the multiplayer.

74

Could have been better, but fun.

nucture | July 4, 2013 | See all nucture's reviews »

Awesome game if you have a friend to play it through with. It really shines when you play co-op. If you play alone it can be fun but you may need to take breaks as it can get a bit boring and stale.

80

Co-op Resident Evil.

milktea | July 3, 2013 | See all milktea's reviews »

Despite some people's complains over the controls which in my opinion have never been a huge problem. You will love the co-op, and the variety of challenges and intense moments. It's not really a horror game. There's some gruesome looking monsters but nothing that horrify players back in the early days of Resident Evil. Also, do check out the mods for this game!

85

Better than expected.

CrysisX | July 2, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

After finishing RE4, I decided to give Resident Evil 5 a try since I enjoyed it a lot. The graphics in this game have improved greatly from RE4 though the controls are still not that great. The bot in this game is pretty horrible as it usually wastes most of the ammo available if there's an enemy in front so if you plan on getting this game, make sure you have someone that's willing to play with you. The story of the game is not as interesting as RE4 for me but that doesn't stop me from having fun killing zombies!

92

Amazing action game with a blend of horror

spycid | July 2, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

The series took a turn towards more of an action than horror from this game. Despite the game having less horror and more gore, the game still gathers enough to keep players interested and the co-op revolutionises how a horror game should be played. It's a must play title for all horror and Resident Evil fans.

80

Just like RE4 with coop

medvesajt1989 | June 25, 2013 | See all medvesajt1989's reviews »

I loved all of the Resident Evil games, but RE4 for me is the best. This game also good, but the AI partner is annoying some times. Comparison of the previous games, that game is not any of horror elements, just a TPS shooter with a simple story, combat system is same from RE4. Technically side the graphics very good, system reqs low. I don't even try in coop, but other friends told me this mod is fun. Anyway if you liked RE4, than you like this.

90

Great game if you don't like scary things

bartlec2 | June 14, 2013 | See all bartlec2's reviews »

This is a great game. I absolutely love it! The graphics are good, quite realistic. The plot is interesting, while still being the silliness that Resident Evil does so well. One thing that may be a drawback to some is that this was when Resident Evil started becoming much more action oriented than horror based. That's great for someone who doesn't like to be scared, but still likes the Resident Evil world.

75

Co-op shooting fun

Bynn | June 10, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

Such controversy with RE5 and RE6, going from ye old beloved horro survival to a full action packed game style, being RE4 a transition between them. I loved how thew co-op actually pulled out quite good in this one, even though of the "rasist" controversy of the enemies and the actual location of the story, the game was good, with a variety of weapons and enemies, but what killed my mood was SPOILERS the ending, with certain character dying.

78

Great Action Co-op Game.

Ishakuro | June 6, 2013 | See all Ishakuro's reviews »

This game really doesn't feel like the older Resident Evil games.Fans of the slower pace and ambient terror of the first few games won't find much to enjoy here. If you're a fan of shooter gameplay with a strong co-op focus, this is a game you must try.

It's worth noting, the game can be played solo, but I would not recommend it. The co-op AI is below average even for the time. At least once I recall the AI picking up the mines I was placing on the road behind me. If you get this game, get a friend to tag along.

90

Simply awesome

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

Resident Evil 5 was my second RE game after 4. RE4 is one-of-a-kind and can never be duplicated in my eyes, but man, RE5 brought out the big guns in this one. I was impressed with the graphics and I played the whole game in co-op, which I think is the only way to play this. If you play it by yourself, it won't be as great. The AI is awful and will definitely give you a bad opinion. If you have a friend to play with, you are in for a ride and will experience what I believe is one of the best co-op experiences I've had in the last few years. Get a friend, play this and love it.

85

A classic action experience

acloggedtoaster | May 10, 2013 | See all acloggedtoaster's reviews »

Resident evil 5 stays true to classic resident evil games, forcing players to move or shoot, but not both at the same time. The difficulty has been toned down in comparison to RE4 and the horror aspect is lighter. The game features various enemies, great graphics, and great coop. The game feels like it drags on a bit and gets tedious towards the end. Running this game on any mid range pc should bring high-max settings with a good frame rate. You probably wont feel like replaying it when you finish it.

75

Fun game, but not scary

Ooboo215 | May 7, 2013 | See all Ooboo215's reviews »

this game is good, same gameplay as resident evil 4 but feels more action than anything else, the addition of co-op makes this game fun with a friend but throws every horror aspect that old resident evils had, the pc port is not the best, the graphics are great but if played with mouse and keyboard be prepared for mouse acceleration on everything, fast camera but while aiming it slows down way too much, lots of content main campaing plus the mercenaries mode but no DLC that the consoles received.

85

Really fun game but play it with a friend

Profoundly_Mad | May 2, 2013 | See all Profoundly_Mad's reviews »

Resident Evil 5 continues the gameplay style of Resident Evil 4's more actionized setpiece driven narrative. While old school fans may not be happy about that, everything else is done very well and the story is as nonsensical and silly as Resident Evil has ever been (in a good way).

But play with a friend. The partner AI is about as dumb as a sack of bricks and can be frustrating to manage in single player.

76

Resident Evil Returns

magicrat80 | April 30, 2013 | See all magicrat80's reviews »

With Resident Evil 6 just released, I thought it was time to give number five a go. Compared to Resident Evil 4, the graphics look fantastic. Definitely not as long as the fourth game but still extremely enjoyable. The series has really moved forward to an action game rather than a survival horror game, so those looking for that horror fix will need to look elsewhere.

80

Great Fun Even with Flaws

Brumbek | April 16, 2013 | See all Brumbek's reviews »

RE5 is presented tremendously well. It features expert art design, well-built locations, fluid animations, detailed characters, precise motion capture, superb facial animations, good voice acting, and strong sound effects. On the PC it runs, looks, and sounds great. It also is very much a RE game in setting and lore.

However, RE5 is obviously a big shift away from survival-horror toward run-n-gun, but in its defense it does manage to retain most of its dignity while trying to appeal to the action crowd.

There’s the inevitable comparison of RE5 to RE4. RE4 was twice as long, and most agree Leon is a more interesting character than Chris. The moody eastern European cult setting was also more interesting than a fairly stereotypical African tribal setting. RE4 is less linear, allowing for more exploration and sense of place. RE5 also borrows quite heavily from RE4’s enemy roster and scenarios, which feels a bit like the easy way out. RE5 is much more like an arcade game, which makes it easy to play but hard to remember.

Then there’s your AI partner, Shiva. She’s quite bright in general, but there’s no doubt she’ll use items stupidly at times and sometimes get killed over and over. Still, she’s about as good as a semi-aware human once you learn to manage her quirks. Still, you will lose many times because your AI partner makes a bad move.

All in all, RE5 has only three major faults. First, pervasive quick-time events are just downright obnoxious, resulting in many cheap deaths. Second, several boss fights are nearly impossible until you learn the gimmick, also resulting in many cheap deaths. Third, residual clunky controls such as being locked in place while reloading and the lack or a proper quick dodge or jump ability also result in many cheap deaths.

Overall, RE5 is a guilty pleasure. I enjoyed it enough to complete it three times and unlock all the fun extra stuff. RE5 isn’t perfect, but it is worthy.

81

Different, but in a good way.

kaj100 | April 5, 2013 | See all kaj100's reviews »

Remember the first few scenes from Resident Evil? You enter the mansion? You go to the room on the left and see Barry checking out the blood? The room to the North where you turn left and BOOM. CGI of zombie?

Terrifying right?

It's not here. It does try to instill fear in you early on, but as you gain more weapons and become accustomed to the controls, you'll just blast through it. Even the developers feel this, it becomes more and more action orientated.

Graphics? This is a pretty game. Seriously, past the zomb- excuse me, majini faces and tentacle monsters, the actual graphics looks very polished and detailed.

The audio? It's okay, not something you're drawn too. Fits the theme/tone though.

Gameplay. People are divided on this. I personally like it. Yes, not moving while shooting feels so archaic but it works. The controls apart from that, feel smooth and responsive. Guns do feel like guns in most cases and the mowing down of zombi- majini is quite fun. Friendly AI is very average. Dumb but won't be killing you. Enemy AI? Again, dumb but can be a challenge at times.

Story. It's back to Chris and Wesker. It's not really interesting, mostly bland and filler till you get to the confrontations with Wesker. Then it's interesting and the fanboy in me just squeals.

Get a friend. Play this game. Enjoy this unique shooter (not horror), and I assure you, when you get to unlock Mercenaries, you'll play it again and again. Mercenaries that is. Not the campaign.

73

It's got action and a fear aspect down, nothing else.

blackrose | March 28, 2013 | See all blackrose's reviews »

Resident Evil has always been among my favorite franchises. Survival and horror go hand in hand in the series. Resident Evil 5 follows the events of Resident Evil 4, and the Las Plagas parasite has entered the bio-weapons black market. Resident Evil 4 was a good game with a good way to handle your inventory. Resident Evil 5 is a step backwards. You can't do that anymore. Now instead of being able to re-arrange your inventory, you're restricted to 9 inventory slots per character. It also doesn't have the same feel of urgency as its predecessors. None-the-less, withstanding its flaws (and yes, there are many), I played through it. It's still crafted well. There are still moments where you are surprised, but others that seem like a cop-out. Even still, I enjoyed this game. Best played in multi-player, by far.

77

Fun if you have a friend.

bradleeh | March 25, 2013 | See all bradleeh's reviews »

This is the first Resident Evil I have really played. I have to say it is very fun. Especially if you have a friend with you. I will admit though, playing alone can get boring really fast. Me and my friend had some really good laughs playing this game. The gameplay is really fun. You can formulate a strategy if you have a friend with you. One have long range weapons while the other gets up close and personal. There are also puzzles in the game that require you to really use your brain. We were stuck for a couple of hours on one puzzle. The graphics are really good. The game pays good attention to detail. It is also pretty gory. Blood will be everywhere when you get a headshot. The game will take alot of time to complete. It won't be a short campaign like Call of Duty or games like that. All in all it is a good game and even better if you have a friend playing with you.

67

It's no RE4

Jray264 | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all Jray264's reviews »

If you've played Resident Evil 4, then you are going to be disappointed with the latest game in the series. RE5 doesn't want to be a survival horror game. Instead, it wants to be an action game. Problem is that RE5 still has the clunky controls from RE4 and a terrible new inventory system. Gunplay is still fun but the puzzles are easy and boring. The game does well in the graphics and sound department but the story and dialogue in this are laughably bad. If you have someone to play with then by all means try it.

87

Great but not the RE you once knew

backslashio | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all backslashio's reviews »

Firstly, this is a much more action orientated game than the previous entries which had far more scare factor. The game will make you jump or frighten you but purely in tension only. Its a shame that because of one friendly NPC's AI it almost wrecks the whole game! Sheva, your partner (which you can't get rid of!) will do stupid things and get herself into trouble at nearly every turn, forcing you to babysit her for the entire game unless you get a friend to jump in and take control. With a friend, the game is much more enjoyable, without a friend you can still have fun but you'll be playing the game for longer for the wrong reasons

The storyline is pretty enjoyable for RE and there's an awesome showdown at the end with a few compelling characters. If you get the GOTY edition there's plenty of additional content that's definitely worth playing! Recommended

75

Good, Not as good as 4 though

owned2260 | Jan. 18, 2013 | See all owned2260's reviews »

It's a decent enough game, they improved the shooting, but the inventory ui is too clunky, and you're still not able to move, this came out after games like Dead Space so there was no excuse not to be able to move.

The coop partner is dumb and will only follow basic commands, and the only use she has is carrying all your stuff. Would recommend playing with an actual human being.

If you want a good third person horror shooter, play Dead Space or RE4, if you want a good third person shooter with coop, you won't do much by playing this.

85

Very nice game...but it is not Resident Evil

abelfs | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

When Capcom released Resident Evil 4, the public was splitted in two: The ones who crucified the saga and the ones that gave it a chance. I am from the second group. This fifth part continues the tradition initiated by RE4, improving many of its elements, but sacrificing even more the horror component, which was the main essence of the saga. However, the game that we have here is pretty amazing. Many people complained about the PC port of this game. I just ended it on my computer, and I'll tell you: after 1-2 hours you get used to movements and shooting. If you're discouraged at first, you'll soon manage to enjoy this beautiful gaming experience. Great story, great graphics, good game mechanics. The only negative thing I have to complan about is Sheva. God. She wastes tons of ammo, walks around like an idiot (during one of the final fights this becomes VERY annoying) and, appearently, can't shoot at alligators. Play this game with a friend of yours, and it'll be even better.

84

Very good co-op game

Lippe1989 | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

This game is a little bit different from some of the previous Resident Evil. It seems to be like Resident Evil 4, with more action and the kind of camera and movements that it uses. But as a lot of fans of the franchise complain, it is different from the other games that has another proposal. Well, but it still Resident Evil. It also has something interesting with we compare to Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 5 gives the opportunity to play with a partner, in cooperation mode. It is very nice, really nice. It is not a easy game and sometimes you will need to be sincronized with your partner. And it is different from Operation Racoon City that is focused on squad. In Resident Evil 5 you will have the atmosphere from Resident Evil and it is very good to people who like the franchise. I recommend the game for Resident Evil franchise fans and for people who like action game with a good story and also who like to play with a partner.

85

It changed but continues to be good

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

All of we that played the oldschool Resident Evil know the difference between all of these and Resident Evil 4. Now we have more space to action following the tendency of the current games. So, as we expect, Resident Evil 4 follows this line. It's a very good action game with the horror signature from the series. People who liked the previous one will like this for sure. But know we have one additional thing: the possibility of co-op game. For me it became amazing. It has a lot of tense moments and we have to communicate and make a quick decision with our partner. It's a good atmosphere that match with the game. I recommend a lot the game. Buy and play!

75

Resident Evil 5 is nice

Angeluzian | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

Resident evil 5.. A good game, but I wouldn't call it a horror game. It's more of an action game. I wish the resident evil games where more like the old resident evil, those are the good ones. But this isn't a bad action game, it's good. But it's not a horror. I like it, and if you like action games, try it out. but if your after horror, try the first resident evil or something like early silent hill.

81

Resident Evil 5 is very enjoyable.

fable2 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

Capcom is famous for its Resident Evil series. Resident Evil has been known for its tense atmosphere. Capcom's latest iteration, Resident Evil 5, continues its survival horror tradition with some new features. The game is more action oriented than its predecessors. The graphics are very sharp as they show character animations very effectively. The lip synching is excellently rendered and the two characters move better than ever, although some may not like the slow movement of Chris Redfield. Chris does have the advantage of moving from side to side which can be effective in combat. Thus, the main mechanics of combat have not changed much in Resident Evil 5 and the third person perspective remains the same. Sheva Alomar is very good in cooperating with you and can hold her own in any battle. There are times when you have to stop her from firing too much because she can burn through ammo quite easily. The game does emphasize teamwork because you will have to work with Sheva in order to survive the battles with numerous Majini, bosses, and sub bosses. You will always feel like ammo is not plentiful so you will have to conserve it. The feeling of not having so much ammo adds to the tense atmosphere. There are many interactive cutscenes that require pressing a key to perform certain actions. They can be tricky and fun at the same time but all it takes is for you to be ready for the required actions. There are also contextual commands that pop up when you are near an enemy such as avoiding an attack or performing a melee attack. The keyboards work perfectly for contextual commands for the purpose of melee attacks but can be awkward when it comes to avoiding certain death attacks. The F+V keyboard combination is probably the worst for avoiding attacks. The mouse /keyboard combinations work very well throughout the game. The inventory management system is better than ever for Resident Evil 5. You can now use the mouse to exchange inventory items with Sheva. Sheva can also act as your mule so that your inventory is not overloaded with items. The use of the inventory presents a greater challenge in that the gameplay does not pause but I guess that's being realistic. There are nine slots available for each protagonist. In essence the inventory management is very flexible and there is nothing bad to say about it. The boss battles are quite challenging and require you to devise a strategy with your partner. One of the boss battles requires you to use two turrets on a ship and you will have to command Sheva to use one of them. She is quite good listening to commands in the heat of battle. The movements that Chris uses may be awkward for some players but it should be discourage anyone from playing this game. The game has enough tension, great gameplay, and a flexible inventory management system that will appeal to any gamer. It is probably the most action oriented game in the Resident Evil franchise. There is also a PC-exclusive mode called No-Limit. The No-Limit mode puts you against an enormous number of enemies and is similar to the Mercenaries mode.

88

Pure action, little fear

kalil | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

I find it difficult to decide where to focus on my analysis of Resident Evil 5, could analyze it as a game of action, but also as a game in the series, so I will talk about the two sides in trying to compare and balance the scales. I want to be clear from the outset, Resident Evil 5 is not scary at any time what does he do?, Just simply give us a scare from time to time, enemies that appear suddenly screaming and stuff, which come to be smoothly But horror anything, that is totally lost. Resident Evil 5 Is true to its name at some point? If, in some respects, is very unfair to say that no, we still have a brief inventory for weapons, ammunition and medicinal herbs, which forces us to leave things behind and make room as best we can to have our partner beside the holes for storing objects increases much more than in old Resident Evil, but you can forgive, we fucked like space, that's what matters. The story is coherent and accurate description because there are zombies, the virus is more complex, more developed, even so it does not seem reason enough to make a game like Resident Evil in a pure action game, those infected with "The Plague" also could be scary if you propose, are more concerned unfortunately run screaming into the spotlight, to say nothing of the last chapters, and at that point is that neither they hide. The duration has seemed more than acceptable, and their problems, every time I found a good balance, it is ridiculously easy, either absurdly difficult, we will make them spend hard time occasionally, but nothing that can not be solved with a little effort, on its duration, playing properly, without running as a Rambo, lasting more than 10 hours perfectly. His great strength and where I see more shine is when replay, giving you just enough incentive to have fun again and again and again until you get tired, the extras are collectible figurines, costumes, filters, also can improve a large arsenal of weapons with the money we get, after toil away a good amount of money on improving the maximum one still have to keep playing to get the definite improvement, infinite ammo for that weapon. Ultimately, as shooter gives us everything we want and not disappoint, as Resident Evil is another thing altogether, which does not give the name of the series promises. Unfortunately may not Resident Evil never again be what it was, but at least it seems that we will have good shooters, that's something, is not as good as the old, useless, but fun as I'll put one 9, but if you would otherwise be called, but I lack the terror that characterized this saga.

76

Only repetitive co-op action

panz3r88 | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Resident Evil 5 is probably one of the worst chapter of the Resident Evil main series because the horror component is practically absent. In Resident Evil 5 you can play the campaign alone or in co-op with a friend: this is the best option to have fun. There is also the classical Mercenary mode where you can choose a character and try to kill hordes of zombies trying to achieve a good score. Resident Evil 5 remains a good action game, but if you played for example Resident Evil 4 you will find this one really better: the story is not interesting and Chris is a boring character compared to Leon Kennedy, the main protagonist of RE4. An other bad thing of the game is that the zombies or other monsters that appear in the game are not scary like the one present in the previous Resident Evil. If you haven't played the previous Resident Evil you will find this game a good action, otherwise you will really be disappointed because you will compare it to the first Resident Evil and you will find it really inferior

88

Resident Evil 5 action!

DukePaul | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Maybe this game isn't a proper survival horror but It gives enough action and tension to be one of the best games from Capcom.

The best thing about this game is the Cooperative mode, you can beat the campaign with a friend that controls another character that fits the story.

Even if the game is a bit old, the graphics are awesome, the cutscenes have a choreography and facial expressions that you will never see in other games, Resident Evil 5 is still one of the best looking game of the generation.

The PC port is the best version so far and even if you have the game in consoles I highly reccomend buy it again for a best experience.

80

A very good action game

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

The only problem with Resident Evil 5 is....that isn't a survival horror, but an action game. On solo the game is nothing special, but play it with a friend is worth the price. The story, well, is nothing special, but on this chapter we finally see one storyline close itself. Graphic is really good and easy to run even on low spec computer, soundtrack is ok (the theme during the final escape is very good, for example), the game is about ten hours long and there is also a competitive mode.