Reviews for Scribblenauts Unlimited

90

Genuinely fun

MafuMafu | June 23, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

I wasn't expecting much when I got this game. I mean, it's a game for little kids. But, I LOVED IT! As a fellow user said in the title of his review, "The only limit is your imagination". Can you imagine it? Then, you can create it! Besides, with the Steam Workshop, the fun is infinite. Do not let this bad boy go away and buy it ASAP.

100

Best NDS game now on PC!

Furrek | June 14, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

I remember when Scribblenauts was out on Nintendo DS. This was something awesome. There was a level where you needed to take cat down from the tree. What could you do? Whatever you want! Using a notepad you could write "axe" to get axe and chop down the tree. You could also spawn a firefighter, so he could take down cat. You could also bring yourself a helicopter and just grab the kitty by yourself. And there are more ways to bring cat down on ground. Now there are much more levels and Scribblenauts Unlimited have much more complex levels. That means you have more objectives to do on single level and there really are unlimited ways to do so. The only thing that can't stop you from doing that is your own imagination. This game also can be played by your children, if you have one. It have cute cartoon design but trust me, no matter if you are adult or looking for game for younger gamer, everyone will have fun playing Scribblenauts Unlimited.

80

a simple puzzle game with complex solutions

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

Very easy and straightforward puzzle game. You encounter quests and have to figure out what item does the quest giver want. Now here comes in the part that will decide how much fun you'll have with this game. How good is your imagination? for example if you would find a depressed clown how many ways would there be to cheer it up and still keep it hilarious for you yourself? In this game you can spawn absolutely anything. Therefore every single quest has multiple solutions. However how many you can think of will depend on your imagination.

Having that in mind this game can be very fun for you to play hundreds of times, or you can feel bored after one playtrough. It is up to you. If you think that you're up for a challenge go ahead and buy!

70

How unlimited?

Neonberry | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

I first met Scribblenauts on the DS and I was very impressed by the freedom the game gives you. It reminded me of a cartoon I watched in my childhood: two kids with a magic pencil, whatever they drew coming to life... and that's pretty much what the game is all about. You are facing a problem, you open your magic notebook, type in something and the item/person/animal appears so that you can use it to solve the problem. A few years later I bought Scribblenauts: Unlimited. I have to admit they did make some improvements in the game. Now there is a story (well, kind of), and ... well, that's about it. Besides that it is pretty much the same old Scribblenauts. Yea, I'm sure they put in EVEN more items into the dictionary, tweaked how different things react with each other and so on, but in the end it is pretty much exactly the same game. Not a bad one by any means, mind you, but if you wanna see how the franchise evolved, you might want to sit this one out and wait for the next sequel. If this is your first Scribblenaut game (or you are enthusiastic about the superhero DLC which is extremely tempting I have to say) and/or you want to do it on the PC then by all means buy this game.

90

Fun is unlimited

kwadracik | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all kwadracik's reviews »

There is our hero Maxwell, with his magic notepad, which spawns everything on the screen. He jmust help people to get stars, because it can help his dying sister. Blah blah, rainbows unicorns. Scribblenauts Unlimited looks like a game for kids.

But it isn't.

You will realise it, when you feed cannibal with (sic!) other cannibal. Or when you use big gun to kill grandma,w ho is stealing other kids' ball. It can be very strange sometimes.

Thinking about the most strange ways to solve anything (there is a car in bad place? Let's spawn the police!) can give us a lot of fun. It is integrated with Steam Workshop, so you can download almost everything.Chuck Norris? Yup. Average COD Player? Yup. And many, many other.

All in all, Scriblenauts Unlimited is very enjoyful game. Go and buy it.

81

The only limit is your imagination

Sibbo94 | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Sibbo94's reviews »

If you are solely a PC gamer, you might have missed the previous 2 DS iterations and in the transition to PC, they have been able to create much bigger worlds, but some of the magic has been lost. While there is a lot more content, even more if you use Steam Workshop, some early puzzles seem a little toned down, but they still are fun with a dictionary of words to choose from. Hub worlds are vibrant and full of charm and also allow you to ride a purple cthulhu, you know if you want to.

80

It may apper for Kids only..

simodeso | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

But this game is fantastic! It has a nice idea behind, and there are a lot of of jokes about people that actually exist. (If you create the item "your mom" appears an ugly female zombie for example) It has a very nice longevity and you can create almost everything! There are also Andriod games from the same producer, but they are nothing compared to this little piece of art.

87

A creative game

zonzon | July 29, 2013 | See all zonzon's reviews »

This game is an absolute blast. But this is better is you're trying to find creative solutions.

You can almost create everything (staying a game suitable for children) And the missions will keep you busy for a long time.

Nothing else to say, this is a must buy.

75

Fantastic game

Astroph | July 7, 2013 | See all Astroph's reviews »

Well worth the price when on offer, otherwise it may be a bit questionable but if you can get it cheap it's a great game that offers a lot of freedom most puzzle games don't offer

80

Create and destroy (within limits)

Irraz | July 7, 2013 | See all Irraz's reviews »

Scribblenauts is a fantastic game at first one might be confused into thinking that it is a game made for children, but this game is made for anyone that want to challenge their creativity when it comes to puzzle solving. A majority of puzzles can be solved in nearly whatever bizarre way you see it. But from time to time you come across a puzzle that only seems to be solvable in the manner the game designer thought it should, that is the games biggest flaw in my honest opinion. A game so full of creativity only to be limited by its own design. The puzzle can be solved fairly quickly but there are a lot of them, if you aim to collect all the starites you will get a several hours of enjoyment, but if you rush the games story it will be over all to quickly, I managed to unlock all of the levels available in barely two hours so the biggest question is is you think the game is worth the price. If it is on sale and you looking for a fun way to spend several hours then I say go head and buy it right away!

76

Wonderful!

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Scribblenauts Unlimited is a wonderful game. The puzzles are well designed, the characters are funny, but the best thing here, is that you can create almost everything, by just writing a word. Even if I write "Super giant flying black ninja dragon" , and that will be spawned. But, this is not a game that is only for children. If you are an adult and you want more "war" stuff, don't worry, because you can equip a bazooka, machine gun, minigun, pistol etc. You can even have a tank and choose It's size. However, let's go to other things. Most of the puzzles are fun, but unfortunately, few of them, are just incredibly easy. And, the world of the game, isn't that big, even if you have unlocked all the places. However, Scribblenauts Unlimited is still a pretty fun game.

61

Create anything - So long as it is this thing.

FlyingGazzelle | June 10, 2013 | See all FlyingGazzelle's reviews »

Whilst this game is a fun way to pass time I often found myself being limited by the constraints of what the game desired of you. Whilst you are able to create a great deal of objects in the game itself the problem arises when you are trying to take part in missions.

You will find yourself limited as it demands the obvious thing it hints at whilst you try to find creative ways of getting around it. This was a major annoyance for me but I don't feel it would annoy everyone.

Beyond this major complaint the game works well and is passable.

85

A bit of causaually Fun, but...

zangfang | June 3, 2013 | See all zangfang's reviews »

This game is really fun and you will defenitely come back to but you should not pay the full price, you should really wait for it to go on sale. I would say that you should wait for it to go on sale but if you are really intrested in the game you I guess you could buy it for the full price. But it is fun and even more fun with freinds. You can create basically anything you want in this game and even more if you use the steam workshop.

So for a summary, good game, create anything you want, better with freinds and you should buy it if it is on sale.

91

fun puzzles

Lluvia4D | May 20, 2013 | See all Lluvia4D's reviews »

Scribblenauts Unlimited is a wonderful game. The puzzles are well designed, the characters are funny, but the best thing here, is that you can create almost everything, by just writing a word. Even if I write "Super giant flying black ninja dragon" , and that will be spawned. But, this is not a game that is only for children. If you are an adult and you want more "war" stuff, don't worry, because you can equip a bazooka, machine gun, minigun, pistol etc. You can even have a tank and choose It's size. However, let's go to other things. Most of the puzzles are fun, but unfortunately, few of them, are just incredibly easy. And, the world of the game, isn't that big, even if you have unlocked all the places. However, Scribblenauts Unlimited is still a pretty fun game.

75

Great game, although not worth the big asking price...

kurisusutoraiku | April 29, 2013 | See all kurisusutoraiku's reviews »

I really like this game, it's extremely imaginative with you being able to bring almost anything into the game (especially so with Steam workshop). The missions are simple and fun, (although they can sometimes be too simple, not even requiring you to think). The story is fine albeit a little cliche. But the game really falls short in length. It is 4-6 hours long depending on how much you mess around and what not. That short length is a bit too much considering the high price of the game. I totally recommend the game if it's on sale, but at over £20. It isn't all that worth it.

90

Create anything, make anything

Stebsis | Feb. 18, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Scribblenauts Unlimited is a game you definitely want to have friends with. Together you can think up just crazy stuff.

You play as Maxwell trying to save his sister from a curse that's turning her into stone. You need to find starites to save her. The story is there to just try and explain something and provide a clear end goal, but the reason to play the game is to have fun and create stuff.

You have this magical notebook that lets you make anything you write in it come to life. Want a zombie unicorn? Ok. Dinosaur on rollerscates? Ok. Carnivorous towel that spits fire and is ridable and has super fast butterfly wings? Why not. All your crazy ideas can come to life, and if not, then just make it with the awesome object creator that lets you mold these creations any way you want. It lets you create even your own things and give them names that you can then write to your notebook to bring to life.

Scribblenauts Unlimited can get a bit boring alone after a while, so definitely grab some friends with you and start doing the varied missions or to just have fun. Scribblenauts Unlimited is one of the funniest games ever if you just have the imagination for it and can take the little time and effort to figure out the object creator that is a bit confusing, but gets easy to use after a while.