Reviews for Medieval II: Total War Collection

93

All around fun

romenjack | Nov. 14, 2014 | See all romenjack's reviews »

This game had everything that i loved about Rome Total war with all the fun of the first Medieval Total war. The combat is expansive and enjoyable. It challenging enough to be fun but not punishingly so. The economy can be a little frustrating at times and just make you want to put in a cheat code to get lots of money just so you can get to the actual fighting but the struggle to maintain a large army and also have money in the bank can be part of the fun. The separate story campaigns are not only fun but can give you a little more perspective on History and why things happened the way that they did. You can understand the fear when the Mongols are nearing and just tearing through everything that they make contact with. All and all a fun time that you will waste way to many hours of your life palying.

95

GREAT STRATEGY GAME

HitManHunt | April 16, 2014 | See all HitManHunt's reviews »

If you are familiar with any of the other titles in the Total War franchise, then you will be familiar with this one! The main thing that changes between these titles are which empires are at war and the colonies in which they rule...

This particular title is great because it truly does capture just what the series is meant to be all about. I have personally always found the Medieval time period fascinating and the factions / units involved are great for a series such as this. Very fitting indeed!

The gameplay and mechanics are going to be very similar to the other titles in this franchise. You will have the option to do a full campaign, allowing you to oversee your settlements, while creating and dispersing your armies across vast reaches of land, then battling to eliminate your opposition and conquer your foes. The cool thing is that you can also just do the battles if you don't want to go that in depth or maybe want to change / participate in actual historic battles!

It has the option of being very simplistic or going very in depth. With that being said, there is a slight learning curve to the series, however nothing extremely difficult for one to grasp within one sitting.

The graphics are great for when the game was released, however compared to the more recent titles, may leave you wanting. I find the graphics to be quite sufficient and adequate enough for every aspect of the game. There are many options to be tweaked, allowing a wide range of customizations. Any modern computer build should be able to run this title at max settings with great FPS.

Overall this is a great purchase, especially with all of the DLC, including a huge amount of content and replay value. Having all the DLC included allows one to jump into a huge number of battles, or play the campaign with so many factions that every new campaign should feel like a brand new experience.

Total War games are totally worth every penny! This game is very enjoyable and the franchise has brought years of entertainment that is difficult not to come back to!

90

A good game

mcofdiablo | Feb. 9, 2014 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

I have been a great fan of Total War games since the first time I played Rome Total War. But somehow I managed to skip Medieval II: Total War, and when it was on sale I decided to correct this mistake.

For the fans of Total War games everything will be familiar - it is the best turn-based strategy game ever created (together with Civilization series). You choose the nation and then rule it. You decide who to ally with, who to fight with. You can conquer the whole world (as I did in Rome installment).

The gameplay has two variations: on global map in turn-based way you choose the destination of your armies, when they arrive the real time battle starts. There are lots of different formations and units. The strategy is very important as well. You can flank the opponent!

The graphics still look pretty good, though, for me it was never a crucial point. I can still play the games released ten years ago.

The expansion which was sold together with the game adds a few interesting things such as discovery of America and Crusades. So it isn't a cheap DLC that adds a unit, it is new campaign.

All in all I am glad I have bought this game and I wonder how I could have missed it!

87

Very good game

mcofdiablo | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

I have been a great fan of Total War games since the first time I played Rome Total War. But somehow I managed to skip Medieval II: Total War, and when it was on sale I decided to correct this mistake.

For the fans of Total War games everything will be familiar - it is the best turn-based strategy game ever created (together with Civilization series). You choose the nation and then rule it. You decide who to ally with, who to fight with. You can conquer the whole world (as I did in Rome installment).

The gameplay has two variations: on global map in turn-based way you choose the destination of your armies, when they arrive the real time battle starts. There are lots of different formations and units. The strategy is very important as well. You can flank the opponent!

The graphics still look pretty good, though, for me it was never a crucial point. I can still play the games released ten years ago.

The expansion which was sold together with the game adds a few interesting things such as discovery of America and Crusades. So it isn't a cheap DLC that adds a unit, it is new campaign.

All in all I am glad I have bought this game and I wonder how I could have missed it!

90

One of the Best Total Wars

brandonm87 | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all brandonm87's reviews »

This is easily one of the best Total War games in the series by far. The graphics still hold up even today, They aren't the best but they still have not become an eyesore by today's technology. When you get tired of the vanilla campaign there are also many great TWC (Total War Center) hosted mods to keep the game fresh, from fantastical mods such as Warhammer, Game of Thrones and even Lord of the Rings to historic expansions such as Stainless Steel and Deus Lo Vult.

90

Total WAHHHHHHHHH

nemesis44uk | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

Medieval Total War 2 is getting a little long in the tooth now. It's looks are fading when compared to it's younger siblings, Shogun 2 and Rome 2.

However, I guarantee that within ten minutes of playing, you won't be worried about the graphics. You WILL be worrying about grain, upgrades to your battlements and your French neighbour who keeps sending spies across your border.

That's before you even get into your first battle. There is something stirring about watching your formations of men wheeling around to flank the enemy and charging into battle at an opportune moment.

I can say without doubt, that £3.74 will buy you dozens, if not hundreds of hours of entertainment. Also, because it is a relatively old game, you don't have to have a Large Pixel Collider PC to run it.

Just buy it, even if you have little interest in the period.

95

One of the Best in the Total War Series

cybrxkhan | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all cybrxkhan's reviews »

Medieval II is starting to show its age, but I still find it an engrossing game, even more so than Rome Total War (the old one, not the new one) that many Total War fans seem to worship. Gameplay is ultimately very similar to the original Rome Total War, which is no surprise as Medieval II was made using the same game engine. However, improvements in both gameplay (new types of map characters like merchants, and the split between castles and cities) as well as cosmetics (the return of assassination mini-movies, and much improved graphics (which even nowadays is pretty impressive)). Unlike other later Total Wars like Empire and Rome II whose numerous additions and changes overwhelmed the player, and were perhaps too ambitious and complex for their own good, Medieval II had a decent balance between adding in new features while still retaining what made earlier Total Wars interesting. With a variety of factions, an expansion that adds in four new campaigns, and many mods available and still being developed, it has a high replay value. While I personally think Shogun II was more accomplished in its visuals and its streamlined, sensible gameplay, Medieval II isn’t too bad either. It is probably the Total War I’ve played the most alongside Shogun II, and I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a good, cinematically amazing strategy game.

90

A remake well done

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all bala1201's reviews »

Medieval Total War was my long time favourite game so I had very high expectations for this one. Well, I wasn't disappointed at all. The map is great, the units are plentyful, the battles are awesome. Maybe the power of diplomacy is a bit weak, but that era of the history was mainly written by the sword, sowho cares. :-)

90

Better than Shogun 2

thejoakim | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all thejoakim's reviews »

My honest opinion is that this game is better than Shogun 2 and even Rome. Sure the campaign map ai acts like a douche like in every Total War game. The Kingdoms expansion included in this is very good renewing the game making it seem new. I think I've played through this 3-4 times whereas I played Shogun 2 one and a two half times. I recommend this game. 4/5 vodka bottles

92

History is awesome

cobba767 | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all cobba767's reviews »

For all those who enjoy reading about fictional history of medieval Europe. The great stories of the historical war changing battles, then this is the game for you.

You choose your Country, take the reins and push forth trying to conquer all through the clever use of military tactics, religion and political manipulation.

Each decision has its consequences, with having to side with a certain ally when it butts head with another, completing the requests of the pope and enjoying rewards, or pulling away from the church feeling the consequences of excommunication.

Your units are evolving thought time with the advances of time, forcing you to adapt new battlefield tactics, and ensuring you manage your money effectively to build the greatest troops through Europe.

Threats from Genghis Khan, Crusades, Jihads and the unknown keeps you forever planning and plotting keeps you engaged in the game from the start till the end.

There is a significant more about this game I have not mentioned, however you will be fully immersed, playing for hours on end, conquering all.

80

Descent expansions

domenthechief | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all domenthechief's reviews »

Award-winning Medieval II Total War is a great game that gives player a chance to build on either economy or military, but all in all it is definetly not the best game in the TW franchise. Sure, the religion system was unique at the time and the crusades (or jihads) truly make the game more interesting, but it is still not superior to games such as Rome or Shogun II.

Medieval II Total War Collection will grant you access to the "Kingdoms" expansion, that will present you with new territories to explore (such as South America), new units and new factions to destroy or conquer.

Kingdoms expansion features the discovery of the Americas, the British isles in 13th century, the third and the fourth crusade and the Teutonic campaign. All campaigns are quite fun to play and are definetly worth buying.

The graphics of the game are really good for a 2007 real-time strategy game and the battles are very, very realistic!

90

Great Replayability

bigwigzig | July 7, 2013 | See all bigwigzig's reviews »

Medieval II offers an excellent hybrid of real time strategy mixed with turn based play.

+Replayability: While there is one main campaign, the sheer variety of potential outcomes and starting kingdoms allows for a lot of replayability. Even when I have started with the same kingdom and difficulty, I noticed that battles between two AI-controlled kingdoms have different results. Additionally, the ability to create a custom battle really maximizes the customization and replayability. Finally, the huge modding community has taken the number of potential hours you will spend on this game to a new level.

+Graphics: While the graphics are starting to become dated, they are still more than crisp and clear enough to not be bothered and enjoy the game. Frankly, seeing hundreds of individual units simultaneously battle still seems pretty epic compared to the 20 unit battles in Warcraft II.

+AI: The AI seemed fairly competent to me, however, I found that the AI rarely surprised me. I never felt like I was running circles around the AI though, and each kingdom I took over felt like a hard-earned campaign-within-a-campaign. Notably, the "tipping point" (like in Civilization games, when you know you are going to win, it's just a matter of time) came quite late into the campaign. The biggest AI problem comes with diplomacy, where, as seen in other games, the AI wants half your kingdom in exchange for one unit.

-Non-military units: The non-military units, such as assassins, spies, and princesses can be powerful, but they are relatively difficult to level-up to effective levels. Maintaining these extra units sometimes feels like a hassle when you want to focus on town building and military conquest, and the fact that they eventually grow old and die makes them more frustrating. Frustrating example, if a heretic shows up in your territory, and you build a priest to counter, and the priest dies trying to stop the heretic, the odds of the next priest succeeding drastically goes down. Thus, you cannot ignore these units, but they usually bring more frustration than joy to the game.

-Rebels: Your units, armies, and general will randomly rebel against you, and can be extremely frustrating. The easiest counter to this problem is to reload the previous turn, but more advanced people can download mods that reduce this issue. While some people have argued that this adds strategy and historical accuracy, I find it random and not-so-fun.

+Music: Excellent. Basically, it's great, but in the background so it is not distracting.

+/-Controls: Controls during turn based play are are great, except for a few time unit will take a long route before you can fix it. In battle, the camera controls take some getting used to, but are not insurmountable.

Overall: Excellent game! I highly recommend Medieval II, and still play it from time to time.

90

Fantastic game

Caesar_IRE | June 1, 2013 | See all Caesar_IRE's reviews »

I'm a huge Total War fan but had never played Medieval II or Kingdoms.

Medieval II (the base game): First, let me say that if you are a newcomer to the series, I would recommend buying one of the newer games (Shogun 2, Empire, Napoleon), but if you'd prefer the medieval time period, you will have no problem starting on this one. The graphics are still quite good considering this game's age, and the gameplay is fantastic. If you are a Total War veteran but haven't played this game yet for whatever reason like me, I strongly recommend you try this one. I had great fun playing through it and I can't find too many faults with it overall. One negative aspect of the game I will talk about though is the re-training of units. It is extremely tedious, but not exactly game-breaking. You get used to it fairly quickly but it is a horrible system (you have to bring the unit back to a city or castle that can retrain it).

Kingdoms: A brilliant expansion. This is the only time you can play as Ireland in a Total War game and seeing as I'm an Irish man, I couldn't help but do just that! There are 4 campaigns included and each one has unique units and a unit theatre to play in. I strongly recommend you buy the expansion along with the base game. It is not a small "DLC" pack that you might see today.

85

Best Mods

DukePaul | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

This game stills have the awesome gameplay of the Total War series but the great thing of this title is the the amount of mods you can find for it, you can use a Lord of the Rings mod and make epic battles in the Middle Earth.

This bundle includes the expansion Kingdons and this one is very good because adds a lot of content for the game.

If you want intense medieval battles, this game is for you.

95

Medieval II Total War Complete Pack

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This pack includes Medieval II: Total War and his expansion Kingdoms. For sure, one of the best strategic games on market at the moment. A thousand of units on screen at the same time, good graphic and 3D battles make this one probably the best game of the franchise. And the price, with 66% off, is very low.