Reviews for Dungeonland

76

Very good unique game

ruttenmurf | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all ruttenmurf's reviews »

Dungeonland is one of the most original games i have ever played. It just has so much variety, if you are tired of your normal rpg mode you can switch it up for being the evil lord. This evil lord will control the minions to bring doom to the heroes you were playing with just a second ago. I also love the simple but great graphics, the game doesn’t need to have these super graphics because it wouldn’t fit in to it. This is the perfect game to play with a couple of your friends and try to stick together to make it out alive or (my favorite) try to kill your friends with the evil minions .

65

"Evil Mastermind" sim

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all magusonline's reviews »

If you've got friends that have this game from here, or the recent indie bundle. I'd suggest giving it a spin. For once you are able to play as both sides of the game, both evil and the plucky heros.

When I had initially saw the trailer and finally got the game, my impressions were that you would have such a wide arsenal at your fingertips for just solely dishing out unfair punishment.

Something along the lines of, as the longer the game went on. The more resources unlocked for you, as the "DM" (evil mastermind) so you could help try to kill them faster (like all endless wave games with increasing difficulty).

However there was a lack of minion options to choose from. That and coupled with a dead-like online lobby. Cripple the potential the game has.

70

Fills a niche, sort of.

Wiesler | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all Wiesler's reviews »

Dungeonland almost craves to be ignored in its opening moments: atrocious color choice, character design, and presentation. The actual game suffers from some poor optimization, but is that enough to turn you away?

Given how many other great brawlers are on the market, new or old, it is tough to recommend Dungeonland. I have played it with a couple of different friends, and it overstayed its welcome in a short amount of time. It felt repetitive in the first few levels, and the mechanics seemed in need of fine tuning. The overall pacing was rather slow. Even though there is a healthy challenge, what good is a challenge in a game if the game is not that fun? If you can find a few friends and you are all prepared to not be wowed, you could do worse.

80

Fun with Friends

CoillyZ | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all CoillyZ's reviews »

I had a lot of fun with this game... sometimes. When I played co-op, this was a very fun game, but when I played alone, it was average at best. There wasn't much motive to keep playing after a few hours, because all of the items you can buy are for cosmetic purposes only. They don't upgrade your character. The only character upgrades are different versions of your character, of which there are only 2. I had fun, but get it on sale.

91

Cool idea, decent delivery.

borgiswa | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all borgiswa's reviews »

I haven't seen a game this neat in a while.

The main mode plays out a lot like Gauntlet or any other dungeon crawler, with you attempting to make your way through levels while defeating enemies. The real attraction here, however, is the Dungeon Maestro mode. In this mode, you take control of the evil side, and the game plays a little more like a tower defence. You are able to set enemies, spawners, and traps down along the path of the heroes. As well, at any time you are able to take control of a minion (or even a boss) and fight the heroes in combat.

I haven't had the chance to play it with friends yet, but it has shown itself already to be quite the good game.

75

great little multiplayer game

ncorbin | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all ncorbin's reviews »

Got this game as part of a bundle and im glad I did, the combat can be quite basic at first glance but the difficulty levels can make this appealing to a group of gamers or just a casual friend get-together. This must be played with a Xbox 360 controller as for pc the controls are somewhat...not finished. But provides great fun and worth having for when you have some friends or even family over.

77

Play it with a partner!

cremvursti | July 12, 2013 | See all cremvursti's reviews »

Dungeonland is a wacky dungeon crawler that focuses on co-op mechanics and funny one-liners. Basically, on one side there's this team of three heroes that want to break in the castle and loot dem gold chests, and on the other side there's this evil mastermind that tries to stop them at all costs. The world has a certain charm to it that will make you come back time and time again, alongside your buddies, even though the game gets repetitive after a while. Also, the dungeon maestro mode, where one player gets to be that evil mastermind is a lot of fun, especially when played with friends. All in all, I played this with my girlfriend, played it with my metal-fan friend that studies Viking culture and with my 4th grade brother and we had fun.

85

Great Challenge and Fun with Friends!

Matthew4194 | July 8, 2013 | See all Matthew4194's reviews »

Dungeonland is a very fun co op experience attempting to slay the Dungeon Master's minions and to kill the boss, which is controlled by the DM. This game has a great sense of humor and is a steal for the price. My only gripe is that there aren't very many minion cards you can buy as the DM, and it's hard to get into a game with very few people online.

80

A funny co-op game for a while

d3ighty | July 8, 2013 | See all d3ighty's reviews »

I played this game for several days, and i have to admit, thats its a nice coop game, if you have friends to play with. With Randoms it could be funny, but like always in team its much more!

And for this price its a must-have. Funny-Comic Graphics and some RPG-elements included.

90

Amazing game, but you do want someone to play with you

zangfang | July 7, 2013 | See all zangfang's reviews »

This is an amazing game but I think you want to find someone to play with but with that in mind it is the best co-op game on the market. Pick it up immediately if you have a friend to play with or get someone to pick it up so you have someone to play with. Great graphics, great sound , great hard gameplay and it is an amazing game in general. I recomend you have 2-3 freinds to play it though.

90

Must buy game for co-op lovers!

redzrex | June 25, 2013 | See all redzrex's reviews »

This is a must buy game for co-op lovers, it includes tons of fun hours! I've been playing it non-stop with my mate until we didn't realize it already a few hour past our bed time. There is so much combinations of power and skills can be choose from and its really addicting! Two thumbs up for the developer! I will give FULL 100 if they remove the real cash for skins instead we use the in-game money to buy the skins.

79

Magicka sequel?

drafek | June 25, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

When I first saw this game I though is this a magicka sequel? No, Dungeonland is a classic co-op game, you can team up with 3 other players or maybe friends. The game is pretty hard, you'll die fast if you don't prepare yourself. The graphics are done well, the sound is really addictive. The controls are easy to learn, but the game itself isn't.

82

THE party games of party games.

auroros | June 22, 2013 | See all auroros's reviews »

It doesn't really matter if you're a bunch of friends or strangers on the internet, but it will help because you'd like to be noisy and laugh together.

In this 4-man game one of you will be the dungeonmaster, which preferably could be the host of the party. The "heroes" can play using controllers on a joint screen for a better party experience, while the dungeonmaster plays on a computer facing away from the victims. Fun is assured with Dungeonland!

85

A fun experience

Hetzau | May 7, 2013 | See all Hetzau's reviews »

This is one of those cute games you play with your friends, have a few laughs and then leave it just to come back to it after a while because no other games offers such a challenge and experience. It's a rather easy game to get into and I highly suggest it for people that are willing to play it with the younger members of their family. However don't mistake this game for a kiddy game. There are plenty of laughs to be had for any age range.

73

Good Coop Game

blacklightofday | April 27, 2013 | See all blacklightofday's reviews »

A coop centered dungeon crawler with some slight RPG elements (being able to choose some of your passives and abilities). Great humour, constantly making fun of the classics, starting with the premise of the game and ending with the ridiculousness of the bosses, very lighthearted, despite some "gore" (if you could even call it that). It's definitely not an easy game, requiring teamwork to survive the challenges. It's a blast to play with friends. You could still play it solo and it is still fun that way, but then it loses part of its charm.

75

Magicka 2... sort of

Scorpy | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Dungeonland will feel very familiar to players of Magicka. The game's focus on co-op and challenging gameplay is none too different, and the style and over-head view echoes Brazil-based Critical Studios' sleeper hit. It even has some of the same tongue-in-cheek humor Magicka sported. Now, is this all a good thing? I'd say so.

Magicka was a fun game, but it often lacked variety in its gameplay and engaging locations. Dungeonland, its spiritual successor, touches on all of these things and makes them SLIGHTLY better, but still not enough.

Graphically, it's somewhat decent for a $10 game, but it won't wow you. Where the charm is is the fun co-op experience, which is doubly fun if you have 4 players, where one acts as a "dungeon master" struggling to stop the 3 heroes' progress.

This is definitely not a game you want to play alone. Better with friends!

80

A COOP BLAST

Colt2911 | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Colt2911's reviews »

Been playing this for the last few hours and apart from gaining achievements for things I Haven't done. VERY HAPPY with the price i paid for this. Haven''t even got any new weapons yet and I'm already starting to see how you can work as a team to overcome the challenging gameplay.

This game is pretty damn hard tho, you can die very fast unless you prepare yourself to get out fast and heal. Bosses can one hit the Rouge class. Luckily you have 10 seconds (or so) to get revived and therefore saving you from using up one of your precious team lives.

So far the game comes with 3 randomised maps with DLC basically promised to bring more. Also some features are labeled coming soon, but these are unknown and were never held back JUST for sell more DLC.

Between the zany humour and simple gameplay, this game is a welcome blast of fresh air in a corridor shooter and MOBA dominated World.

8/10 Grafficorns.!

80

Amoral Magic Theme Park with lots of fun!!

abelfs | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

Dungeonland is a classic coop dungeon crawler mixed with elements of the original role table. However, besides the three heroes (warrior, rogue and mage), each one controlled by a player; a fourth player can enter in the game as the Dungeonland's Game Master. This character will be against the other 3 players using traps and monsters in order to stop the heroes progress, becoming a funny 3 against 1 funny game. Highly recommendable if you play it with another 3 friends!!