Reviews for Sleeping Dogs: Zodiac Tournament

74

Man, you come right out of a comic book

taigatsu | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

Zodiac Tournament is an unabashed tribute to the classic film "Enter the Dragon". From the beginning setup and title card sequence, the tone is set for a DLC the doesn't take itself seriously and revels in a aesthetic that calls back to 1970's Hong Kong chop socky films.

The focus in the missions is on the melee combat, which is definitely one of Sleeping Dogs' greatest strengths. Each of the missions has a mechanic or an enemy that provides a twist on what you've seen before, either with new environmental hazards to consider, or a move set that requires a different approach. It's not particularly deep, and you'll find that it's all over fairly shortly, but it's a fun, breezy add on that plays around with what you've seen before.

One of the biggest advantages of this pack is that you can access it at any time from the main game, unlike the other two larger expansions. This allows you to somewhat adjust the difficult, depending on your progress in the main game. The biggest flaw however? You can't change your outfit on the island itself, which means you can't wear the classic yellow jumpsuit you can find in the main game. A missed opportunity for sure.

67

A short but good DLC

Sganotak | Jan. 21, 2014 | See all Sganotak's reviews »

This DLC pays tribute to the various Martial Arts flicks of the Chinese cinema. It is even presented as a film, which is pretty cool.

It focuses almost entirely on the melee part of Sleeping Dogs, which is a great thing and offers various challenges. There are new enemy types with different fighting styles, new death traps and a lot more. If you think that you mastered combat in the main game this DLC will give you a good challenge. There are also unlockables that transfer to the main game after you're done with the DLC

However it is pretty short (less than 2 hours if you avoid the collectible finding) and hasn't got much replay value. Still it's an enjoyable experience and if you enjoyed Sleeping Dogs , you're gonna have a blast with Zodiac Tournament. United Front Games deserves all of our support for this awesome game

80

Enter the Dragon

Mscigniew | Jan. 21, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

Zodiac tournament is a DLC for Sleeping Dogs,its based on the movie with Bruce Lee titled Enter The Dragon.Dlc is fun theres mostly fighting in it,like in the movie you take part in a martial arts tournament taking place on an island.this DLC also includes new clothing set,and new fighting moves.Its fun DLC and worth the price.

77

Another brilliant ode to Chinese cinema

Nivear | July 26, 2013 | See all Nivear's reviews »

For Sleeping Dogs second DLC, Zodiac Tournament has you take a ferry to a nearby island and go through a series of trials in a martial arts tournament. It only takes about an hour or so to complete but it is extremely fun and the visual homage to old kung-fu movies is superbly done. The DLC also offers new grappling moves once completed and the diverse new enemies on the island are challenging even for veterans.

78

Short but fun

bradysam | May 13, 2013 | See all bradysam's reviews »

This is another good expansion to Sleeping Dogs which is highly focused on the melee combat. It adds a few new moves and costumes, which are fun to play around with. However, it doesn't take very long to go through. You can replay any of the missions at any time after beating it (just over an hour for me), which is a nice touch and adds to some of the replay value. If you enjoyed Sleeping Dogs and especially if you enjoy old Kung Fu films it's worth it. It's almost a little too expensive as it's very short, but easily worth it when it's on sale.

75

Nice expansion, but a little short

jrod7405 | Feb. 20, 2013 | See all jrod7405's reviews »

I finished this tournament after I finished the main storyline. Overall, it felt like a moderately long main storyline mission. The island story was okay, and a few parts were challenging like the spiked room. Other than that, i breezed through the combat because I had unlocked all the special moves and had a face level of 10 already. It was over a lot sooner than I expected. Finished in a little over an hour. Not really worth $5 considering I bought the main game from GMG on sale , but if you catch this DLC for a few dollars, it's a fun expansion. Just don't expect a ton of gameplay. I replayed it again, but not quite as much fun - I did unlock all the bonus hidden statues and I'll see if that comes in handy when more DLC is released as it gives you special melee moves. And really, melee is the best part of SDogs.

76

An Ode to Kung Fu,

Colt2911 | Jan. 16, 2013 | See all Colt2911's reviews »

The Zodiac tournament can basically summed up as a progession based street fighter game. You start out fighting easy to defeat opponents and work your way up to the big bad boss (Think Game of Death). Once finished the island is still accessible to your character with a couple of side missions and you also get some new outfits to boot:)

The best feature is the variety of guys you fight, you even meet a drunk boxer who takes a very different approach to fighting:) It will be over quickly and isn't very meaty, but at GMG's reduced price of $4.99 I'd say it is worth it, Use a voucher and it's even more so worth it:P

86

Short yet enjoyable ride.

Coolicy | Jan. 15, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Sleeping Dogs has always drew inspiration from Hong Kong action movies, and this one is no different. You'll continue to see nods to movies if you're a HK Kung fu movie fan, most notably: Jet Li's Fearless. The story follows a similar arc and throws in its own twists and turns, so be prepared for the ride.

The combat is fun as always, adding new opponents into the fray so you can't just right click your way through. The new moves look brutal and really badass. Story wise, the main casing impresses me more, but this adds so much to your existing fighting moves I gladly paid full price for it.

84

Kung fu tournament

rstokes | Jan. 15, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

Something about the active melee combat system of this game makes arena fighting less repetitive and far more fun. Also it adds tons of content in addition to a new tournament to fight in. Worth a buy