Reviews for Borderlands 2: Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt

80

Hammerlock and Monsters

TCass29 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt is the most disappointing DLC of the 4 story-based DLCs for Borderlands 2. The story is bland and not very memorable, the enemies are forgettable (except for the Witch Doctors, but that's because they're RIDICULOUSLY difficult for no good reason), and the guns specific to this DLC don't compare to the awesomeness of the guns from the other 3. There are too many 'kill X number of Y monsters' quests and that's really where this DLC falls flat for me. It's still good and worth picking up if you want more BL2 witty dialogue and fantastic environments (the best part of this DLC), but play the other 3 first.

66

It fell flat.

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

Compared to other DLC, this one is just plain bad. The story is short and really, REALLY simple, and the humor is not that great either. There are new enemies and a few new areas, and its strong point are the secondary quests, which are the different "hunts" you can go for in the different areas to get yourself new gear and stuff. However, if you're looking for a great experience, I'd recommend getting the other DLC (unless, of course, you're getting the Season Pass).

80

Hunting, the Gentlemanly Sport of Stuffing Others with Lead

CrimsonWizard | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Borderlands next DLC takes us to the thick swamps of Pandora to hunt some savage wildlife and lost Hyperion loot...until the natives and a demented mad scientist decide to interfere. This time Sir Hammerlock gets to headline and while I got some more laughs out of him than Captain Scarlet, he doesn't quite hold up as well as Mr. Torgue over a whole campaign. That said, the vaguely Johnny Quest style setting and huge swamp and dark jungle maps are nice to journey through.

Of note, this campaign is a bit harder than Mr. Torgue's or Capt. Scarlet's areas, be sure to stock up well or you'll get torn apart. As per Capt. Scarlet's campaign, you'll get a new vehicle and new kinds of weapons to play around with. Nothing particularly noteworthy and the quests are a bit blander than the previous two DLCs, but more places to get Seraph crystals is appreciated, and the new raid bosses are a good challenge. It will last a decent amount of time, but once again, I really recommend getting this with the other DLC in the Season Pass so that you can get all the nice extra areas in one convenient bundle.

86

A solid expansion for a decent price

nightassassin1 | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This expansion is a hunting trip with Sir Hammerlock. I liked Hammerlock's character quite a bit so I was pretty intrigued when this pack was announced. After finally getting it, again I was not too super impressed by yet another expansion from Gearbox. I felt that they have lost their amazing expansion themes that were seen in Borderlands 1 like Clap Trap's Robot Revolution. As I played more of the game it seemed to get better however. There was more humor, better antics from Hammerlock, and some neat new monsters. The Swamp Boat was not too amazing compared to normal vehicles, but still a neat thing to use.

The graphics are a little more dark than most of the normal game due to it being in a toxic wooded swamp type area, but it is still an interesting imaginative feel and look.

Over all the expansion is decent, but not quite Gearbox best. I enjoyed parts of it, but there is that feeling that something is missing.

There was not really any glitches or crashes that I experienced from this DLC.

I will give this one a rating of 86 due to not being what I would have expected from a Hammerlock DLC. This is a playable game extender and is worth the price mark as a DLC piece and will probably be enjoyed by a large amount of people, but I just can't shake that feeling of something missing.

70

Weakest DLC at the moment

lok0812 | March 22, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This DLC by far is the weakest DLC compared to Scarlett and Torque. The gameplay is still fun and the combat is still exciting. New additions like raid bosses and new enemies are a welcoming addition to the already awesome game. The part that made this DLC the weakest is the storyline, it is mostly comprise of grind quests and the dialogues are very generic. Regardless, even though it is the weakest DLC out of the three, the DLC itself is still very solid just not as strong as the other two previous DLC. Must get if you do not own the season pass.

50

Not bad, but far from the other DLC's fun.

zhack075 | Feb. 26, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

I love borderlands 2, I had a lot of fun playing it mostly with my friend. We achieved the scarlett and torgue DLC and they are probably the best DLC I've ever paid for. Long enough, very funny, well, great DLCs.

Hammerlock's DLC isn't that great. In fact, it is quite boring. The new area and monster are really nice, but the quests are BOOORING. Go kill X insert monster name. On the other hand, New Tribal bandits are a real challenge are they are very hard to kill even with the best lvl 50's loot. The DLC is less funny than the previous one too.

I think this is the kind of "middle" DLC, decent to make you wait the next one, but below the others. Remember if you really want the DLCs, buy the season pass, the previous DLCs trully worth it !

55

Looks like I'm the first to write a less than raving review.

Casm | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all Casm's reviews »

I'll preempt this by stating, it's not completely terrible. I do believe that of the currently available DLCs however, this one falls short.

So, I'll do this with a PROS and CONS list.

PROS:

Beautiful new areas to explore.

Lots of brand new monsters to fight.

New vehicle.

2 new raid bosses

Plenty of quests to keep you busy for hours.

CONS:

Many quests are nothing but busywork.

Some quests are buggy, confusing and just plain irritating, such as a quest that could only be done at nighttime.

In spite of the new vehicle, many of the zones are extremely large and much of it you are forced to traverse on foot, making excursions long and tedious.

The writing IMO falls short of the quality you'd expect from Borderlands. The dialog was bland and the humor was dry. It had it's moments, but compared to what we've come to expect, it didn't measure up to anything we've already seen.

Overall: It's a solid DLC. It's not overly terrible by any stretch. Many of my personal issues with it were with the bad quest design. When you have a quest that bugs out and fails, forcing you to travel all the way to the other side of a massive zone mostly on foot to pick it back up only to have you travel all the way back to the other side of the zone mostly on foot in an attempt to complete it; fail 3 times in a row, it leaves a bad taste in your mouth. When you have quests that put waypoints on your map and you go to where the quest leads you only to find out after 10 minutes of searching that you're actually supposed to go around a huge area that leads you to below where you were searching, all of which could easily have been avoided with the addition of a tiny down facing arrow on the waypoint, it leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

On top of that, coming from a phenomenal DLC such as Mr. Torgue's, where every line of dialogue has you rolling on the floor laughing, then walking into this DLC where the dialogue has you wondering when things are about to get funny, it ultimately just leaves this DLC wanting. It's one of the things that makes side missions so enjoyable to do and it just wasn't there.

The DLC does have it's finer points, as I pointed out in the PROS section, but in the long run it does little to offset the many problems plaguing the entirety of the DLC. When it comes to making the DLC fun and enjoyable to play, as opposed to tedious, irritating, bland and annoying, Gearbox really dropped the ball with this one.

82

An other good DLC for Borderlands 2

panz3r88 | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Borderlands 2: Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt is an other DLC for Borderlands 2 and it's good like the other additional content already released. For the third time you will get new maps , vehicles and weapons and some new missions with fun characters. An other good element of this DLC is the difficulty: the game is fun because the enemies are tough and powerful.

93

Another Borderlands 2 DLC, Not to Disappoint!

THE3DDUNK | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all THE3DDUNK's reviews »

The new Borderlands 2 DLC, Sir Hammerlocks Big Game Hunt, features you and one of the most beloved characters of Borderlands 2, Sir Hammerlock himself! He invites you with him on a hunting trip in the wild, you gladly accept of course! The 3rd DLC to come to Borderlands 2 has got to be one of the best, if not the best. It includes more missions for you play through, though there is no level cap increase to many's disappointment. It also includes a new vehicle, the fan boat, which includes more skins that you can unlock and use for it! The graphics are the same Borderlands 2 type graphics that we have came to expect, though these are really good looking. With all of the entertainment and extra play time you will receive for 10$, or included with your Borderlands 2 Season Pass. If you have enjoyed the past Borderlands 2 DLCs, this one is sure not to disappoint. So why are you still reading my review? Buy the game and hop on the Co-op with your friends!

90

The third DLC arrives

DukePaul | Jan. 16, 2013 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Finally We have another campaign for Borderlands 2 and this time our host is Sir Hammerlock and he will show us a new zone of Pandora with new dangerous enemies and a lot of new loot, the new weapons are amazing and powerful and the new boat is amazing, It adds a lot of variety hunting enemies on the Swamp.

This DLC is awesome and It shows that Gearbox makes worth it content after the release of their games.

80

One of the best DLC at the moment

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 15, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

I really loved Borderland 2, and developers continue to support it adding these expansion. This is, basically, a brand new little campaign based on hunt. There are new locations and vehicles, new enemies and so on. It is about 5 additional hours of gameplay, so if you like the base game, it is worth it for sure, even at full price.