Reviews for The Last of Us

100

An absolute masterpiece

muddykumb | Aug. 13, 2014 | See all muddykumb's reviews »

This is something special. You feel like you've been dropped into 28 weeks later. The last of us is a genuine masterpiece, atmospheric, beautiful, addictive. Let me start by saying the levels in The Last Of Us are absolutely stunning, they have been brilliantly crafted down to the smallest detail such as a cobweb under a rusty old van. You really feel like you're in an apocalyptic world. The last of us reminds me of half life 2, and that's a very good thing. The combat is fantastic, it feels real, you feel like just another vulnerable human trying to survive and that's why it's so much fun. You have to think while you fight, you can't just go around killing rambo style. The story is great, if you enjoyed the film 28 days later you'll love this. I wont say too much for fear of spoiling it. Graphically the game is still beautiful, the world feels so real and alive, coupled with a soundtrack that can send tingles up your spine it really makes for something special. The voice acting is superb, and i mean it. The actors bring the characters and the world in general alive, it's oscar worthy stuff. All in all, you have to play this game. PS3's are pretty cheap nowadays, so it's worth buying one just for this game. Superb

100

A truly wonderful masterpiece.

SNAC0B_ | April 15, 2014 | See all SNAC0B_'s reviews »

The Last Of Us is most certainly the best game of the last generation if not one of the best games ever made.

I will keep this short and to the point as I do not wish to repeat what others have said or spoil the story in any way. The graphics, gameplay, and mechanics are all perfectly executed by naughty dog. The story is definitely the best to date told in gaming and could even rival many top notch films.

Overall if you haven't played this game yet then you should, I would even go as far to say even if you don't have a PlayStation 3 then go out and buy one if only to play the masterpiece of a game that The Last Of Us is.

100

Masterpiece

gizmoch | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all gizmoch's reviews »

The Last of Us hooked me in instantly and I ended up completing it in a couple of days (because I was playing it so much not because it was short). I have never been so emotionally invested in a video game in my entire life. The characters aren't just likeable, they are loveable. The graphics are some of the best I've ever seen. The gameplay is fantastic and never gets boring. The story has a bunch of twists and turns and it is great. If there is one problem I have, it's that it's ending just didn't have the emotional payoff that I wanted it to have. But it was still a fantastic game. It's one of the best entertainment products I've ever seen. The Last of Us is the Breaking Bad of video games.

100

An incredible, emotional journey through a unique world

Roryyyyyyyyyy | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Roryyyyyyyyyy's reviews »

When I got this game I could not put it down. You take the role of Joel, a survivor in a small settlement who finds himself embarking on a journey through dangerous, abandoned areas with a girl who he was given to look after.

The character progression is great, as you really feel like you get to know each character personally, making every event even more gripping and truly immersing you into the game.

The story takes many unexpected turns, leaving you horrified, relieved and in awe as they come and go.

The gameplay is so natural, I have never felt quite so comfortable playing a game as it is so responsive and reacts to the environment in so many different ways. It has that unmistakable feeling of a naughty dog game in both gameplay and visuals. You can really tell how much effort has been put into this game.

100

Atmospheric!!

iBoom3RxX | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all iBoom3RxX's reviews »

The game's atmosphere is amazing, the characters are great. The story is typical but still good, and the gameplay mechanics are easy to get used to. And from visuals point of view its one of the best games graphically on the ps3.

100

Storytelling Masterpiece

BEEFSTEW | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all BEEFSTEW's reviews »

After playing Naughty Dog's Uncharted series, I was confident that this game would live up to their proven high standards but in no way was I prepared for the brilliance of this experience. Playing on Hard with no hints I finished the game in around 18 hours. This is not a game to be rushed, finding scrap, ammo and items to craft and upgrade weapons is essential. But also things like collecting artifacts that uncover narratives about characters, listening to all of Ellie's observations of the environments you pass through to the amazing AI animations and beautiful cut scenes that give you an unparalleled sense of immersion. The story takes inspiration from many places such as Cormac McCarthy's 'The Road' to Richard Matheson's 'I am Legend' but this is in no way treading old ground and truly has an excellent unique story. The game play is not sacrificed for the story one bit with controls that make you feel the way middle aged man would and not a bullet proof super hero, where every kill needs to be well thought out and an urgency brought about by having no pausing screens to heal or craft. From the brutal, satisfying melee combat to the sneaky stealth of the bow you can choose to act on however your playing style desires. If you have a PS3 you need this game, if you don't have a PS3, this is top of the list why you should!

99

A Breathtaking Masterpiece 100/100

KittyPingo | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all KittyPingo's reviews »

(The rating meter won't go to 100!!) I got this game a few weeks ago and hadn't really gotten round to playing it till 3 days ago. In those 3 days I have spent 12h 30mins on it and am 97% through. It has really sucked me into it. Not too scary either :) Get this game NOW!!!

100

Mindblowing.

JetShredz | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all JetShredz's reviews »

The Last of Us. One of the final games on the PS3, and what a game. Being a huge fan of the Uncharted series, I was excited when I heard Naughty Dog were working on this game.

You play survivor Joel after a viral outbreak has destroyed the United States and society has collapsed. You team up with Ellie, a young girl that looks a lot like Ellen Page.

The characters are likeable, something that games these days cannot grasp. The graphics are astonishingly beautiful, the game world is stunning.

Naughty Dog have created one of the greatest games I have ever played, the only flaw to this game is that it ends. Well done Naughty Dog.

90

A great way to send off the PS3

ahusba | July 8, 2013 | See all ahusba's reviews »

With the PS4 Just around the corner this game is a part of the PS3's farewell. and what a farewell it is! The last of us combines a compelling narrative with mechanics that have both fun and consistency. leading to a game with the whole package. I came to know and care about these well written and portrayed characters as i played through this game. I was also surprised at the games length as at one point I thought I was near the end when in fact I was only about half-way through, so its got good value for money. The online is ok and works well enough but it wasn't what i got the game for so I didn't spend much of my time there.

Overall a really compelling experience that earns its place in any PS3 game collection.

99

Unbeatable

mooreo1 | July 6, 2013 | See all mooreo1's reviews »

This is one of the best games I have ever played, with the best and most attachable characters ever. Also the multiplayer is very good and extremely tense. The only faults I have is that the loading screens are extremely long.

100

Phenomenal.

Humz92 | June 26, 2013 | See all Humz92's reviews »

This is without a doubt the best game that I have ever played. And I've played quite a few. I don't really want to go into the details regarding the game as I think it's best for you to just play it and experience how amazing it is. Although I'll warn you that you'll experience a diverse array of emotions.

99

Must play game of the generation

slun16 | June 25, 2013 | See all slun16's reviews »

This game has raised the bar for gaming. It has an amazing story, voice acting and gameplay. This is a heavy favourite for being the game of the generation. The story is amazing and you get to experience the brutality of human nature. Furthermore the story in conjunction with the setting gives you an unbelievable level of immersion into the game, its unbelievable how the game immerses you into believing you are actually there. The gameplay is realistic from the little things such as having to make your own medikits to the scarcity of resources making you think tactically. The only flaw I can see in this game is the companion AI, most of the time they are perfectly fine but on the odd occasions they aren't which breaks the immersion.