Reviews for Strike Suit Zero

85

Fun game!

Arp1033 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Arp1033's reviews »

You ever want to pilot a Gundam? Than this is the game for you! The story is rather nice and engaging, the graphics are nice, but that isn't what you are here, you are here to blow up stuff in space and boy howdy does this game satisfy. I play this game with a controller, and I can say the controls are pretty tight. I never have issues going where I want to go, and it lets you pull off some pretty rad maneuvers. Combat is fun, and you get to blow stuff up while feeling like a champ. What more could you want?

90

Fantastic come back of the '90s space shooter!

alphaprospector | July 8, 2013 | See all alphaprospector's reviews »

It took over a decade to see the glorious return of the genre and, while the game had some rough spots upon release, most of its problems have been patched since.

Strike Suit Zero brings the classic dogfighting of old and mixes it with some interesting lock-on and mecha combat to provide a nice and unique blend like I didn't play in years. This constant switching between fighter and Strike Mode is what makes the meat of the game, along with chasing high scores in the missions and experimenting with the multiple weapon loadouts.

At its heart, it's an arcade game with touches of sim rather than a full blown simulator but, well, this trade off allows for an extremely fast paced action where you can be tracking 1 fighter then shifting to mech form and take down 20 of them, all while blasting at a capital ship.

The backgrounds are extremely gorgeous and each screen looks like something you could almost frame and hang on your room. The Macross influences are extremely clear, just like the Homeworld feel thanks to its composer Paul Ruskay. All in all, while the game may not be for everyone due to its difficulty, it's a MUCH needed entry in the genre and a more than worthy comeback as a whole! I can only hope they'll keep doing this mixture of mecha and space shooting. Freaking love it!

75

Could be better

onewinged90 | June 11, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

If you played the Macross/Robotech games before and you loved it, this is definitely the game for you as it borrows elements from the Macross universe hence the transforming jet-to-robot warfighter. The game's storyline could be better as characters communicate via radio with portrait on the HUD and no cutscenes at all. The combat is highly enjoyable and the graphics are very good.

79

Space and robots

Hunork | June 9, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

Fast-paced combat feels new and exciting

The ability to transform injects much-needed creativity into the old formula

Captivating renderings of outer space draw you into the world

Hard to acquire upgrades and multiple endings extend the game's replayability.

82

Good and funny

kalil | June 7, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Strike Suit Zero do what he promised and stands as a great space shooter with which any fan of the genre will enjoy greatly. It is true that are missing more playing options and more variety in the development of the action, but the intensity and showmanship of most missions, and the freedom given to us at the time to address these objectives, make it a highly recommended title.

90

Highly Recommended

ninzerb | May 5, 2013 | See all ninzerb's reviews »

This game is one of the most fun I've played in a while. Flying and shooting through space while avoiding missiles and other ships is fantastic. The story is decent but doesn't stand out much. The game isn't too long but with the scoreboard and upgrades there are reasons to play the same level several times. This game is a shooter, so if you wanted to explore space this game probably wouldn't be the one. I play it with keyboard and mouse and it controls great. I didn't even decide to try it with my game-pad. The game is beautiful to look at. Unfortunately, for me at least, after flying and maneuvering for too long I start to feel dizzy. I've never been able to play for an extended period of time. Even with that I'm very happy I decided to purchase this game. I definitely thought it was worth my money.

75

Moments of brilliance.

Atwa | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all Atwa's reviews »

Strike Suit Zero is incredible at times. It has fast space action that outshines most other games in the genre. Its a feast for the senses and you will simply be in awe as you dodge and weave around missiles and send out swarms to destroy your foes. Unfortunately the game has missed some potential and isn't all what it could be. The biggest problem here is that some missions they try to switch things up by making you not control your suit, in the beginning it is for story reasons but I still think its a mistake, an earlier introduction of the suit would have been better when the game is named after said suit. Almost all screenshots you will see will also show this mech, which has incredibly cool design by the way. Later in the game there are stages where you are put in a regular fighter again, I understand they are in to offer some variety but at those missions I constantly wished to be back in the Strike Suit, cause that is the star of the show.

The game also has some problematic storytelling, much of it is in text between missions and otherwise radio chatter mid mission. In the end its hard to keep track of however that is alright since the game stands fine on gameplay alone. The music deserves mention as it is fabulous throughout.

The missions are often quite straight forward and can be repetitive as well, though the core of the gameplay is good enough to make you overlook this. And ultimately that is the bottom line here, Strike Suit Zero is good enough to hold your attention and to offer a full recommendation from me. Just except a few bumps along the road in an otherwise excellent space shooter.

75

Barebone game

zeroxxx | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all zeroxxx's reviews »

Although it's a decent space game, a great one of its kind, it's lacking multiplayer mode.

Also, lack of content. I have beaten this game easily. For 20 bucks, I expected more. Don't forget various issues this game had - despite the developer's effort to fix it.

Maybe if it's 10 dollars I'd have given this a better rating.

83

A Good Game in Need of Extra Polish

videopower77 | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

The game looks fantastic and the combat is engaging however there are a couple of faults that prevent this game from being a classic. The mission variety is lacking and the checkpoint system can cause a lot of frustration. The game is very challenging and having to replay a challenging portion of a mission has ticked off a lot of people. The missions lack variety and imagination and are the standard escort/kill everything but it wouldn't surprise me if we see better missions via DLC.

The game is good but don't set your expectations too high and you will enjoy Strike Suit Zero.

70

Fun and fast Paced.

fable2 | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Space? Check. Giant ships? Check. Transforming death-spitting robots? Got that too. Chances are that if you enjoyed any of the Ace Combat series or had fun watching mecha anime, you'll lap this up. The first thing that will strike you is the graphics; for an indie offering they are excellent and really lend themselves to the game and it's mechanics. The gameplay is generally good although the difficulty curve will be very sharp for players not used to flight games, but after you clear that initial fence you'll be having a whale of a time blasting down those darn colonists. The story is the usual objective based bibble, "Save /destroy the X to defeat/save the Y", but you can forgive it as the game would suffer if it were dialogue heavy That said the game otherwise is an excellent indie offering that deserves your consideration for being fun, challenging and the only one of it's kind for long time.

85

Arcade-y space shooter

Stebsis | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Strike Suit Zero isn't a game that you play for the story or because of the immersive mechanics of space simulator, if you want those Freespace 2 is your choise. Strike Suit Zero's idea is simple, go into space and shoot your enemies with space ship that also turns into powerful mecha. There isn't any complex weapon or shield management, just shoot stuff, and it works perfectly for what it is. Controls are perfect(playing on joystick) and the ship maneuvers great. It's so fulfilling to turn into mecha, mark some dozen enemies and see tens of rockets flying out of your ship and blast enemies to pieces. Battles can sometimes get really chaotic with tens of enemy and friendly ships flying around, explosions everywhere and then in comes big capital ships and chaos continues. One thing that bothers a bit is the length, there's only 13 stages and you can't pilot your strike suit in all of them. But leaderboards might make you come back if you're competetive type, and it's quite challenging to get best rank and all the upgrades for the ships, so you'll need multiple playthroughs. Don't go into this expecting a space-sim, it's not, it's arcade type space shooter and it does its job perfectly.

75

Don't expect too much

puppymang | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all puppymang's reviews »

I'd like to say that if this wasn't an indie game the score would probably be 5-10 points lower.

Maybe I expected too much from all the hype train but I'm fairly disappointed in many things this game lacks to the point where I feel like this should've been delayed a few months so it could have a bit more polish and maybe a few extra features. When they said "space sim" I was kind of expecting some kind of first person COCKPIT VIEW especially because they talk about supporting the ouya and all that good stuff but there is really no "cockpit" because first person view is just the same thing without your ship on the bottom center of the screen so theres really no point on using that view. Even though the game sounds neat with a joystick you're better off playing with a mouse because itll grant you way more precision and speed than a controller or flight stick will ever give you for a game like this The sound track has a few nice songs but overall they mostly feel similar and repetitive. Gameplay could be nice and it's not like some flying games where you circle and circle and circle until you manage to get on somethings tail and then shoot til you win but it also feels like the AI is a bit too dumb because most of the time they wont even attempt to dodge your missiles and sometimes they just fly straight as you're shooting them down. Visuals are nice and the game is colorful but something about it just makes the areas feel flat so maybe that could also use some work. Overall it's a nice game but don't expect too much because it feels like they rushed it so it could be released which is understandable seeing as it's one of the first kickstarter games to be released and they didn't have a budget THAT high but I hope that if they make more games they include more detail and polish it a bit more.

67

Ok

Mikagee | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all Mikagee's reviews »

The ships and suits in the games look very real as well as the planets or landscapes you are fighting over. Despite creating engaging battles, Strike Suit Zero could have benefited from more mission and enemy variety. There is not a lot of variety of missions as you are only either defending a ship, or attacking one. Within a few missions of Strike Suit Zero’s campaign you’ve basically seen all there is to see. There is really no story to the game or it is poorly told.

I wouldnt recommend buying this game unless it was 10 dollars or something.

80

Robots in the space

DukePaul | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Strike Suit Zero is a space shooter but this time the main characters are huge robots or mechs with a great design by Junji Okubo and they have two forms: first one is like a spaceship to get max speed and power and the second is the combat form where you have more control over your robot to destroy enemies and big structures easily

The graphics are very good and you can see a lot of characters and effects in your screen at the same time, It has a very powerful engine.

I think it is a very original game and if you like anime stories you will enjoy the plot and dialogues