Reviews for Virtua Tennis 4

78

Not quite an Ace, but worthwhile

vipe_1 | Dec. 4, 2014 | See all vipe_1's reviews »

Virtua Tennis 4 is reasonably fun tennis game in the long line of Virtua Tennis games. The series has certainly endured, and has a few new features in this version.

Virtua Tennis has always been a little more "arcade" than something like Topspin. Controls are easy to pick up, and doesn't take a lot of work to figure out. Graphics here are fine, with ok character models and details. The addition of several top players and courts is a plus.

The new features, such as World Tour and the online component work well enough, but don't necessarily hold your attention any longer than previous games. As a tennis game (or any sports game for that matter), gameplay is a bit repetitive and best in moderation. Mini games are once again a focal point of this game, like past VT versions.

Virtua Tennis 4 is a worthy successor in the series, and worth it for tennis fans that are looking for a fun and easy to use game.

84

A very realistic tennis game!

adrianching7 | July 8, 2014 | See all adrianching7's reviews »

For those of you that just love to play tennis and want to play it at home as well because you're just that into the game, then this is the game you're looking for! Virtua Tennis has a very realistic tennis gameplay allowing almost anyone to get engrossed into it and the graphics are actually really good for a sports game. If you don't want to play online tennis games with extremely bad graphics and unrealistic gameplay then buy this game and you'll never get out of your seat!

69

An alright game

jackyboi1014 | Oct. 3, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

A reasonable game overall. The exhibition mode is good however the World Tour gets monotonous towards the end. The career should have included the opportunity to play with the tennis stars over a calender year (or more) and making them win the tournaments. The drop shot is probably the worst thing in the game, getting a point with the drop shot is very difficult as a drop shot is performed with a lob as opposed to slice. Overall an enjoyable game if you want to play the exhibition mode but not for too long.

76

Best tennis game

roman9441 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all roman9441's reviews »

I don't found any game like this one. May be because there is no new tennis game this game i use to play it with my sister and i found out that it really fun when i beat her. I'm Such a bad person. But I'm found out that many time when you in tournament AI even in Easy mode turn into Brutal and very difficult to win. And sometime your team mate ai do something strange. But over all this game is still good :) for me

68

Not bad but not great

Simao20 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

Its not a terrible game , can be fun but not a game that I'd recommend playing for a couple hours. It can get old fast, its fun to play a match maybe even 2 but it doesn't hold your attention for too long. The visuals are nice but not stunning by any means. The game itself is arcady, thats basically what you can expect from a Virtua Tennis game but pretty much this is your only choice if you want to play a tennis game on PC. There is of course the career mode where you can take your created player on the world tour which can be a cool experience trying to see how high up you can rank yourself. Theres also plenty of mini games to keep your occupied as well

75

Funny tennis game, more with a friend.

Warning_origina | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all Warning_origina's reviews »

This game is a good diversion. The carrer is presented to you in a different way compared to the predecessors, it lasts only a season, and if you want to unlock all that the game can offer, you have to play at least twice or more. The minigames are very nice, but the biggest limit to the game is the weakness of the AI. A multiplayer mode is avaliable, but is very hard to find someone online. So the funniest way to get pleasure from the game is playing against or together some friends. In this mode the game is very entertaining, and the matchs may became long, hard and finally engaging!

80

Pretty fun tennis game

rianankaa | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all rianankaa's reviews »

It's simply a straight-forward game with relatively simple control. I must admit however, that it is indeed one of the best tennis game for PC currently. While the arcade playing is straight to the action, the most interesting part is the career mode where you can create your custom player, "train" them to master tennis skills and techniques, and boost their career progress.... from nobody to the number one tennis player in the "game world". Granted, you will have the opportunity to face real life professional tennis player too. Buy this game if you want to have a quick, simple and fun tennis game for PC!

70

Fun for a very short period of time

hasib11m | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all hasib11m's reviews »

Positives: A Fun tennis arcade game

Negatives: No game pad support (at least for me), boring after 3-4 hours once it starts to become repetitive, and controls are some what clunky

50

Pure Arcade

fortytwoeyes | July 8, 2013 | See all fortytwoeyes's reviews »

Got bored within about two hours, and the main reason is the frankly bizarre career mode. It's set up like a board game, where you have a certain number of moves that you have to take. The result of that is that early on you never get to play in any of the tournaments you could enter, because you can't construct your schedule in a way to fulfill the requirements. In my opinion, the career mode in a tennis game should first and foremost allow me to play tennis, and that doesn't happen here. Also, when you finally get to play, the matches are massively shortened, usually only over two games. Presumably to make it easier for casual players who don't want to spend a lot of time, but it has the unintended consequence of making it much harder to win - if you make a mistake you hardly get a chance to make up for it because the matches are so quickly over.

The actual gameplay is fine, which accounts for the 50% I'm giving the game, but I didn't buy this game just to play exhibition matches. I wanted a career mode that actually motivates me to keep playing, and this doesn't fulfill its promise.

82

Best tennis game around

andrealbu | July 3, 2013 | See all andrealbu's reviews »

Though it lacks some proper ajustments there isn't simply better a game of tennis to play in your pc.Gameplay is solid and fluid, the graphics are outstanding and it's career mode easily drains you for a while. The mini-games presented are fun to play particularly with some friends around. The main problem of this game is that it gets boring quite easily after you spent some time on it.

92

A Good Tennis Game For PC?

Tabbo7 | June 25, 2013 | See all Tabbo7's reviews »

I never thought I would actually play a good tennis game for the pc at all but obviously I have now with this wonderful addition to the Virtua Tennis franchise. The fluidity of the controls along with your characters movements is fantastic. The graphics look amazing even by today's standards you can see the expression on your character's faces and sweat pouring down their faces as the game goes on. This is a good game and I recommend it to all who enjoy tennis games.

85

Best Tennis game released for PC

spycid | June 19, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

It's a very easy game and arguably the best game ever released on PC platform. It's very easy to adapt, learn controls and story mode is fun. To avoid redundancy and mundaneness, the game added various fun mini-games. It's a must play for all Tennis Lovers.

78

Fun game of tennis

kalil | June 8, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Virtua Tennis 4 is a game that almost no one will get tired of playing. I recommend it for different things, some things good, some of which do not really agree. Gameplay: The game's controls are well done and to play for the first time, it may be that the blows do not go very well but it takes practice. After two or three days the control should be completely mastered. The difficulty is snug, no matter if you choose "easy" or "very difficult", the four difficulties that own the game are well placed. The game itself is fun and addictive. The duration, more than anything, I would go to the World Tour, which is not really agree with the length that gives this mode, only allow you to play four seasons (from Asia to North America) and play about three, four or five days, the way he would be overcome. Graphics: The game's graphics are not anything special. They are well made, resemble reality and pre-game animations are well done. Sound: The sound of the game is not a strong point, but not important. It depends on where you play will have a different sound, and there are a few others that are, in all, good. On-Line: This section really is something wrong with the game, from my point of view. In every game you play, for every point made ​​will repeat, which also can not be skipped, due to be on-line. Furthermore, on-line mode are too many lags, they do stop playing. One of the most original things Virtua Tennis 4 is the way "moving game", in which you must use the Move. One has to do the actual movements of tennis (as real as possible) using the motion control, something very original to me. In short, Virtua Tennis 4 is not all bad, good graphics, world tour within all good, well armed and jugadorazos courts to use for a long time.

81

Good tennis game

Mavromatis | June 5, 2013 | See all Mavromatis's reviews »

This is a really good tennis game and it has great graphics. But I have to say that its career mode is a bit lame. I think that part could have been better. One final note, this game is best played with a gamepad, I recommend a Dualshock clone.

70

game is weak for move

cy25 | May 28, 2013 | See all cy25's reviews »

i bought this because i am a tennis freak but with the move this is not a very realistic game. you can swing any way and you will hit the ball back. gets boring quick no challenge. If you want a sports tennis game for the move get sports champions 2. the tennis in that beats this game by 100%

76

Sweeeet game

Shykon | May 24, 2013 | See all Shykon's reviews »

Well animated, nice sound effects and it's super-playable! It was really fun.

80

Virtua Tennis 4 is easy to play for anyone!

milktea | April 26, 2013 | See all milktea's reviews »

Extremely easy Tennis game to get into. Simple controls, and gameplay. There's several modes to try out. I've only played online, and World Tour. The World Tour was very enjoyable at first but gets tiring quickly in later stages. Although, it was fun unlocking goofy items for your player.

87

A great tennis game - bring a gamepad!

Crazee | Feb. 20, 2013 | See all Crazee's reviews »

Virtua Tennis 4 is the best tennis game currently available for PC.

Unfortunately this isn't much of a claim since there are not many options. Fortunately there doesn't need to be other options because this game is great.

The game boasts a great roster of today's stars who are represented well in game.

The gameplay is slick and fun. It has full gamepad support, which is necessary - this can't be played without one, I bow down to anyone who can play this with kb/m.

Bottom Line: The best option on PC for tennis fans. A fun game, with a strong roster!

78

Fun, but not very innovative

MarkDeejay | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

I first started playing Virtua Tennis on the Dreamcast. And it quickly became one of my favorite games because of its casual, arcade-style gameplay. I didn't want to play a sports sim, I wanted to unwind and have fun. Virtua Tennis gave me that exact experience. Since then several 'sequels' have been released and, while they do improve upon certain aspects, they mostly haven't become any better; in fact, if you ask me the brand has stagnated. More celebrity tennis players, wacky minigames/training missions, realistic graphics, create-a-player and things like that are small additions that definitely should've been added, but they should've added more to make it stand out again. The game feels like Virtua Tennis+ as it is; it's still fun, but brings nothing new to the table. The World Tour mode now even plays like a boardgame, where you use tickets to take a certain amount of steps. It actually gave me a Mario Party vibe. Note that that's not necessarily a bad thing, because the World Tour is really fun to play, but it could've used a little more work. It should've been deeper, maybe with an experience system even. I'll shut up now. If you're new to Virtua Tennis, start with this game. It's the most complete version to date and if you like tennis even a little bit I'm sure you'll have a good time.

70

Good game overall, but it has it's flaws.

fable2 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

A reasonable game overall. The exhibition mode is good however the World Tour gets monotonous towards the end. The career should have included the opportunity to play with the tennis stars over a calender year (or more) and making them win the tournaments. The drop shot is probably the worst thing in the game, getting a point with the drop shot is very difficult as a drop shot is performed with a lob as opposed to slice. Overall an enjoyable game if you want to play the exhibition mode but not for too long.

70

Tennis

xydanus | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

Tennis games are not usually what i'm looking for, but i must admit that Virtua Tennis 4 is good game. Of course Tennis games are hard to make too addictive, because the nature of the sport. There could be more micro managing things and minigames, but Virtua Tennis 4 is pretty much just tennis game. Is fun to play sometimes but not for hours. Controller is must for this game.

82

Great Game, Great experience and Great Roster.

DonVercetti | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

To start off this Tennis game from Sega has some of my favorite professional tennis players, eg. Murray, Federer and Nadal. On top of that the game looks great and plays very well. For those who don't enjoy playing PC games with keyboard, theres also support for Xbox 360 support! Steam support for this game is very useful, on the downside there's G4WL peeking around the corner when you start up, however this does not affect any game experience! Which is great, great game!

93

One of the most entertaining sports, perfectly simulated

MalekTaktak | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all MalekTaktak's reviews »

I absolutely love the Virtua Tennis series, it's almost interacting with the tennis you see on T.V, with adrenaline-raising soundtrack and challenging opponents. The visuals are extremely appealing and realistic, plus the game is very fast paced and the controls pretty easy to get the hang of.

Complete with Career, World Championship, Exhibition and Practice modes, symbolic characters and living legends such as Murray, Federer, Nadal or Djokovic, the game has a durable replayability and is pretty much a steal at the current price (-75% = $3.74) As if it weren't enough, there's a 360 controller support and local/online multiplayer mode.

Virtua Tennis 4 is the glorious, unmatched and most complete Tennis Simulator ever made.

90

One of the best tennis simulation

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Virtua Tennis 4 is one of the most brilliant tennis simulations. The new feature of this release is a sorta of role-playing game campaign, where you can make decision making your own campaign. When you will be bothered from the single-player, you can always try the multiplayer, a very good one. Also this games comes with XBox 360 pad support, so enjoy it is very easy now.