Reviews for Sonic the Hedgehog

94

Still One of Sonic's Best Outings

13th | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all 13th's reviews »

Even though this is Sonic's very 1st outing, it still to me remains as one of his best games. it's hard to pick a single moment that really stands out in this game. Though the fights against Dr. Eggman (who at that time was called Dr. Robotnik) are the moments in this game that I do enjoy. Not to mention the Special Stages which can only be accessed by having 50 rings as you cross the finish line in the 1st two acts of each stage. The music has also stood the test of time, I find myself sometimes humming out the tune to Green Hill Zone or Marble Zone every now and again.

It may not have all the bells and whistles of other Sonic games, but that is why I like this game so much as well. And it's has stood the test of time very well

95

A timeless classic

mugaro | July 25, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

A great game to play on Genesis, the emulator works just fine for getting your nostalgia on. The controls are simple and fluid. If you're a fan of 2D sidescrolling platformers, this is a must have. The big bonus of the emulators is being able to save your progress at any time instead of having to beat the game in one single playthrough. The controls synchronize with the XBox 360 gamepad or any controller you have.

The charm is still there, this game is just as much fun 20 years later. Not everything stands the test of time, but this 1991 classic has.

Starting with the tried and true green hill zone, all of the levels in this game has stood the test of time 20+ years later. The classic music has been remixed hundreds of times.

Definitely worth your time to play through again or for the first time if you missed out back in the day.

96

The first of the series

jazzelmejor | June 9, 2013 | See all jazzelmejor's reviews »

Making a great success in 1991, sonic is one of the best platformers ever. This game is a classic that a lot of people will remember, with colorful graphics, an intense and fast gameplay and a lot of boss fights that makes this game the best of its genre.

96

A new old experience

EddyGaming | June 6, 2013 | See all EddyGaming's reviews »

So I am a retro fan. And I wanted Mario, but had no Nintendo platform. So I chose Sonic. And now that I know the game I prefer it.

In Sonic the Hedgehog you have like 6 hours of fun if you are playing with savestates. These saves are given to you by the virtual console you play this on by just tiping F5. So I found it realistic to save at every save point in the game.

And now to why I love this game: You are running through a lovely made world with many secrets and different ways to get to your target ( Dr Eggman). After every 3 chapters in a world you complete the world by having a Boss fight with Eggman. And after this you enter a new fast-paced world where you can run like a sonic. And the best thing: It has no "block system" as in mario- so you can do more and have more fun and speed while playing it. The better you know the level the faster you can run.

This is - with Super Meat Boy - the best platformer I ever played. just 96/100 because you just have 6 hours of gameplay if you use saves. And if you do not use saves I would give 96/100 because it is too hard.

So my tip: Buy this game and save at every savepoint or level start :)

77

A great start

DeweyDTruman | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all DeweyDTruman's reviews »

Many franchises are dead in the water before their first title even gets released. Many others bomb and never get a second title. However, there's always a few that manage to break out and become big name stars for decades to come. Sonic the Hedgehog, designed solely to compete with Mario, is one of those. The genesis didn't have a leg up on its competition, the SNES, in most areas, but it did run faster. Sega knew this, and used it to their advantage, basing almost all their marketing on "blast processing," mostly involving games of a blue hedgehog that occasionally went so fast he either flew off the screen or no-clipped into a death.

The first title in this series still stands tall to this day, but without the famous spin dash or super sonic abilities, it tends to feel weaker overall. Regardless, everybody should play it at least once.

90

One of the best platformers ever

nigel_t_e | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all nigel_t_e's reviews »

I always loved the original Sonic on the Megadrive, and this is a great way to play it on a PC. The game is emulated very faithfully, plus you can save your progress which is a nice addition. Xbox controller is fully supported. Obviously the graphics look blocky today but the gameplay is still great.

86

A great classic

panz3r88 | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Sonic The Hedgehog represents the beginning of the saga of the blue Hedgehog. The game is quite simple and contains all the classic elements of Sonic like bumpers, spring and loops. There are also the classic bonus stages where you can collect all the seven chaos emeralds: these stages are quite good but repetitive. Sonic the Hedgehog is a good game but it's quite short and you will finish it in a few hours

93

The first Sonic game!

DukePaul | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

This game made history in 1991, colorful graphics, fast paced platforming action where the main character is fast like a bullet, explosive gameplay with original bosses, this is a classic and the first Sonic the Hedgehog game will be always one of the best games from SEGA.

90

A great classic

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

The first Sonic the Hedgehog was the Sega response to the best selling Nintendo Platform, Super Mario Brothers. In this game all is about speed: you must collect several rings to gain one life, and you must always have at least one ring with you to avoid to lose a life if you take one hit from enemies. Boss battle are great and hard, and you can also collect the chaos emeralds in bonus stage to see an alternate ending...and much more. This is one of the best platformer, even today, for PC and console players.