Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dragonborn DNS

99

1000 hours plus!

Anach | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all Anach's reviews »

The previous incarnation of the Elderscrolls series kept me entertained for 6 years of game-play, and this time around it's been no different; Steam now shows my game time with Skyrim as 1000+ hours and yet I still feel there is more content within the game world that is unexplored. With the great community support and modifications available, Skyrim has the potential to become whatever you want it to be.

92

Unparalleled

Snucleus | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Snucleus's reviews »

Dragonborn was a fantastic expansion to an already incredible game, Dawngaurd was good but not to the calibur or Dragonborn. Adding an entirely new map, maybe realistically a tenth the size of Skyrim, with all new story, side quests, and plenty more exploring to do for you adventurers out there that still have taken that arrow to the knee. This expansion gives The Shivering Isles, In my opinion the greatest DLC to be published, a run for its money. Taking the player all the way through the province of Solstheim in Morrowind, into Hermaeus Mora's daedric realm, and back again. This add on is garunteed to impress and entertain.

78

Best DLC

poik12 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all poik12's reviews »

After Dawnguard, I did feel a little apprehensive buying Dragonborn, but then I remembered that it's very unlike Bethesda to screw up twice-and they didn't. At the heart of Dragonborn is the island of Solstheim, and the mysterious Miraak. The DLC adds another very good main quest (albeit a disappointingly short one) and some interesting side quests that add to your exploration of Solstheim. I did feel at times that there could have been more added in terms of new weapons, amours and shouts, but it makes up for it with the addition of new races and in my opinion, improved dungeons. Overall, this game is worth the price tag, but maybe best to wait until it's on sale.

95

Beyond Incredible.

tyrrin | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all tyrrin's reviews »

Skyrim was recently given the "best game of all time" award by PC gamer. I believe this to be an understatement. Skyrim is beyond imagining, and this piece of DLC sets the standard even higher. Not only are you able to return to and explore a setting originally seen in Morrowind, but you are able to experience a vast new set of enemies and challenges. My favorite part of this was a Dwarf fortress that served as a massive puzzle box. You had to collect keys from other dungeons on the island to open up a vast store of items. This is not one to be missed!

88

Very Nice Expansion

hajalie24 | July 16, 2013 | See all hajalie24's reviews »

A very good expansion that adds a lot to the game. Much better than what "DLC" others will buy. Definitely recommend!

96

Packed DLC

wjames199 | July 4, 2013 | See all wjames199's reviews »

Even though this is just DLC it adds so much to the game. New mechanics, skills, and lands. It is worth the money to see how Bethesda wants to go out on a bang.

100

Dragonborn is the best expansion out there

reuben4boston | June 26, 2013 | See all reuben4boston's reviews »

I felt it was actually an extremely well done DLC. It was well worth my money and I love playing it. Adding in all the little features they did were a nice touch. Overall, amazing game and great DLC!

78

Good expansion

SeverinMK | June 2, 2013 | See all SeverinMK's reviews »

Dragonborn is a good expansion though story-wise not quite as good as Dawnguard in my opinion. It adds a whole new island to Skyrim called Solstheim inhabited by the Dunmer. The island itself is quite big and there is much to explore and much to do, the new items like Stahlrim weapons are quite nice aswell. The story is ok but nothing too special. Overall though it's worth the price though.

90

3rd time's the charm

whvice | May 11, 2013 | See all whvice's reviews »

A definite must for any Skyrim player.

If you're a die-hard fan of the Elder Scrolls series (or if you especially love Morrowind, Oblivion & vanilla Skyrim) then you'd wish Bethesda had released this DLC for Skyrim sooner instead of the lackluster Dawnguard & Hearthfire DLCs.

Where Skyrim is ridden with shallowness and brevity of its quests, Dragonborn offers much more than any fans of the series can hope for in the entry. Dragonborn brings back all the epic feeling of the previous entries with its amazing content - satisfying quest, dungeon & exploration rewards, unique interiors, challenging quests and a whole bunch of lore (yippey!).

Fans of Bloodmoon will be surprised and left in awe on how much Solstheim and the people of Dunmer from nearby Vvardenfel has changed since their previous visit. Some old areas are revisited with brand new layout & invigorating feel that makes the journey in and around the island that much more epic on its own. Whereas Bloodmoon's Solstheim's snowy landscape may turn out a little repetitive and a tad lifeless for some players, Dragonborn changes this perception completely and leaves you yearn for more adventure in this brand new DLC. Leave no stone unturned this time!

Wished vanilla Skyrim had all these cool amazing features from the start!

71

nice

infernos13 | May 4, 2013 | See all infernos13's reviews »

Dragonborn is a robust package, which is more of an expansion than an add-on. The main quest, chasing after Miraak, is lengthy, but there are also plenty of other sidequests to undertake, new armour and weapons to forge, a host of new enemies, a few Shouts, as well as the ability to ride dragons for the very first time (which is, unfortunately, not as fun as it sounds). Oh, there are also a couple of extremely tough boss fights to endure if you think you're tough enough. All in all Dragonborn offers at least six hours of fun, but it can be much more than that if you take your time and enjoy all it has to offer.

86

Very nice DLC

IamAWESOME17 | May 3, 2013 | See all IamAWESOME17's reviews »

I loved this DLC way better then the previous Cave DLC. There were a few issues I had though and the briefness of the main story was one of them. I know it is becoming harder and hard to release DLCs with sizable content these days given the level of detail needed in them but I felt that was no excuse in this case. The issue I had was with the dungeons, there simply aren't enough of them on the island and the ones that are are mostly quest based or too short to be of significance. That being said what Dragonborn doesn't deliver on quantity it does on quality, I didn't find one bug in my play through of the main quest or otherwise. Nostalgia brings me back to those Morrowind roots and reminds me how good that game was but at the same time is unique enough to not feel like a ripped off consumer. If there was any one issue that annoyed me for being overlooked it was the actual physical size of the island itself and the excessive mountains. The island is about half the physical size it was back in Morrowind and I don't remember it being quite so overrun with mountains (over half the island which makes for fairly tedious travel). Overall I think the DLC is great but not fantastic much like Morrowind itself I felt like it was missing so many pointless quests (I know this is something most people like but it bugs me that there are almost no "I want this guy dead" or "there's rats in my basement" quests.) that you just sort of do the main story and then never have to visit the place again which makes me a little sad because the island it self it really nice. In summary the DLC is worth a play through but at the same time once you are done, You're done. Don't expect more then five or six side quests.

73

Decent but kind of underwhelming considering it's the last DLC

Profoundly_Mad | May 2, 2013 | See all Profoundly_Mad's reviews »

Dragonborn provides a whole new area for players of Skyrim to explore with plenty of side quests. But despite that, the DLC still comes across as somewhat underwhelming. The ability to ride dragons, while awesome on paper isn't as exciting as you would think.

Worth buying but I personally expected more.

70

Reasonable

Wasted | April 29, 2013 | See all Wasted's reviews »

Dragonborn offers those who played through Morrowind a chance to feel some nostalgia as you visit Dunmer architecture on Solstheim and see guards in their chitin armour. After the nostalgia fades you have a pretty good main mission to engage in and a nice sized island to explore with some pretty fun side quests. One multi-stage quest has you excavating an old tomb that I really enjoyed.

The main quest is only marred by the repetitive trips to a twisted daedra library realm, though the book rewards are great. Some more fleshing out of your main enemies history and motivations would have been a great too, he never really progresses past generic "I will return and rule everything"

The added Dragon-riding which sounded exciting is horrible, don't buy this expansion for that reason.

80

A Good DLC

JerryK | April 27, 2013 | See all JerryK's reviews »

The best DLC for Skyrim (although the choices are limited, really you could call it the better of the two). The story is interesting and well done, the characters and environment are beautifully done. The new armor and weapons look fantastic. You really can't go wrong with this DLC, while it may not be another Shivering Isles, it's still worth the price tag. If you're a Skyrim fan then you need this DLC.

82

A whole new Experience

ThirdMonkey | April 26, 2013 | See all ThirdMonkey's reviews »

This DLC for Skyrim adds an all new level of playing. In addition to the land of Skyrim you get access to an island with all new quests and an interesting storyline. The game takes a different turn in terms of design. There is a lot of "Lovecraftian" stuff, enemies and environments. The new enemies really feel like a fresh breeze in your all-day Draugr killing as they are presented with tentacles and strange looking accessories. Overall the environment feels a lot like the one we got to see in Oblivion which is a nice change from the icy tundra of Skyrim. In terms of length this DLC is at least average. Trained TES and RPG fans will complete the main quest in about 5 hours but as always there is a whole lot more to discover on the new island such as numerous sidequests and a whole lot of new people and dialogues. Also there is a lot of new Armor and Weapons to be found to pump up your character some more. The promised dragon riding was a total bummer, instead of flying in the ego-perspective you just kind of direct your dragon to a certain direction which doesn't work all that great. But all in all this DLC adds a whole set of new and fresh things to the game and I would totally recommend it to everyone who loved the main game.

83

Skyrim DLC Done Better

Endyo | March 4, 2013 | See all Endyo's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim hasn’t been brimming with the highest quality DLC thus far in its track record. Even though the game has been on the market almost a year and a half, only two previous DLCs have been released and neither could really live up to the standard set by the original game. However, Dragonborn seems to have finally broken through the glass ceiling and reached for something that gives you the feeling that you’re playing something as good as the base game, if not a bit better at times.

First of all, you finally get a chance to step outside of Skyrim. We all love the frozen wastelands and driving snow and the bit of lush forests and swamplands we can explore in the base game, but it is nice to get away from the frost and highlands for something new. Sadly, there isn’t a huge level of variety in the potentially familiar island of Solsteim. You’ll land at a place that may seem a bit familiar to those of us who have played Morrowind and its expansions, but aside from the nostalgic familiarity, you are left to viewing an ash covered hazy land of broken down buildings and of course plenty more of those cheer snow driven mountains. While adventuring as one does in Skyrim, you’ll find yourself encountering architecture and story elements that will bring back some ancient memories of Morrowind. However, if you’re like me, that was so long ago that it can be quite difficult to recall. Had this expansion perhaps visited Cyrodil, the primary location for Oblivion’s story, I might have been able to recall more of what was happening. Yet, it was still a welcome gesture in the saga of Skyrim.

Much like the base game, you’ll be somewhat guided into doing the main quest, but it’s just as easy to completely skip out on it for as long as you wish while enjoying the entertaining side quests that Dragonborn has to offer. You won’t find the epic quest chains that you encountered with the Thieves’ guild or the Companions, but you’ll definitely find some engaging quest lines that are even better than those you blazed through in Dawnguard. The main quest, however is a bit disappointing. Traveling to the Apocrytha, a land of towering structures of literature and deadly liquids, may be visually impressive, but the actions you take there can be a bit boring and repetitive. Of all the aspects of this DLC, it is easily the least entertaining and often the most frustrating. I just found myself blazing through it as fast as possible. The worst part is, these areas comprise the bulk of the main quest. There is a bit more, particularly an interesting bit of puzzle solving in a Dwemer cavern/city, but those Apocrypha moments bring it all down. There is some reprieve in that the boss fight is fairly entertaining and of a reasonable difficulty.

Something that this DLC does better than even Skyrim itself is that it feels like it’s a challenge. Not only that, you’re rewarded with items that are actually of use to you in some cases. As with much of Skyrim, once you reach a certain level and have a well-tuned set of gear and skills, the game is a breeze. You find yourself challenged more by being able to carry all the junk you don’t want/need than defeating the people that are keeping you from it. Dragonborn offers up a handful of new enemies and gives them a bit of a boost in combat giving you a reason to at least pull out a potion or two.

Overall, I found this to be the best Skyrim DLC experience thus far. I don’t know if it’s the last attempt, but I guess after all this time I wouldn’t be too disappointed if Bethesda locked it down and left us with the already massive amount of content they’ve created. Dragonborn seems to be worth the price if only to see a new land and get a bit more of the story behind the Dragons and various good and bad fellows of Tamriel.

75

Decent but lacks some punch

PhyxionUS1 | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all PhyxionUS1's reviews »

For whom with dozens, if not hundreds of hours of Skyrim, Dragonborn provides an excellent outcome. The new area gives roughly fifteen to twenty hours of great entertainment of the same high quality as the original game. However, the lack of innovation with some disappointing moments are a real setback for this new DLC. Even though there is a lot to discover in the new area, with an amazing amount of new side quests, the main ingredient remains the same. It's more of the same and to be honest, flying with dragons feels like a bit of a disappointment. This doesn't take away the fact that it's a must have for people who love Skyrim.

80

Worth the effort.

fable2 | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

I loved it the first time the revamped music from ES III played as I was exploring Solstheim. The atmosphere of Vvardenfell was there, including the washed out colors, the background noises and slightly eccentric characters. Yes there are lots of caves and tombs, as well as Draugr, and yes there are dragons, (and oh, yea, and a lot of Dunmer - this is Morrowind after all) but the new enemies of teh ash wastes are tough and the boss fights challenging. I particularly like the lore twists, including an isolated band of Nords who worship nature in the old way, and also a different (evil) take and what it means to be Dragonborn. My favorite though has to be the mildly twisted Telvanni wizard and his set of side quests.

Lots of new gear to be found and, after an extensive set of missions, a new house complete with all the accessories - though a bit on the ugly side. Worth exploring every nook and cranny and losing yourself in the atmosphere. Don't let your mind wander though, as there are some things out in the ash wastes (and apocrypha) that will kill you quickly!

The dragon taming ability was not very useful, except the one thing you absolutely needed it for - a bit clumsy to manage though an interesting idea. What I found more useful is the abundance of skill books (and books in general) that are available in apocrypha In particular the Black Books offer some very useful abilities - including one that makes exploring hostile areas with your companions a lot less annoying. Don't forget to look in all the corners.