Reviews for Burnout Paradise: Ultimate Box (NA)

80

the best burnout yet

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

criterion made the burnout series even better. it has an open world feel so you can cruise around for hours without racing anyone, and this allows you to practice tricks or track times on your own without a ton of loading screens. it uses the traffic lights as starting points of the races and then picks one of 8 directions for you to go in. first one there wins... that's it. go any way you want, no boundaries.

i loved the cars as well. they are all based off of real cars, but given their own names and fake model manufacturers. there is also a nice selection of muscle, trick, speed, and just plain weird and crazy cars. the dlc also adds quite a lot of fun with bikes, micro cars,and even some movie cars that are defiantly worth the money.

the game runs good... although it can be a little laggy at times for me (that may just be my pc though)

90

A Fun Game With Tons Of Content

cricketlenny | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all cricketlenny's reviews »

Burnout Paradise is a great racing game. This game is open world, taking place in the eponymous Paradise City, where you are free to roam the streets and crash into things... a lot of things. The cars and motorcycles you have access to are a blast to drive, and even the starting car is fast enough to get a kick out of just driving around, which leads to my earlier point about crashing into things. However, this is a non issue, as the crash physics on the cars are superb, and it has well directed slow motion shots to help glorify the wrecks you create, making something that previously could have been a serious halt to momentum, something fun to watch. This game is pouring with content. You unlock vehicles upon beating various amounts of races, and you can unlock special hidden cars by destroying marked cars driving as crazy as you will be on the road. The amount of missions, events, and races is staggering. Every single intersection in Paradise City has its own event that can be triggered by stopping at the light, and revving your engine. I do not have the current number on hand, but this is a very large town. Now thing about this. Every single intersection has something new or different for you to do. It will take you days just to experience everything this game has to offer, and that is if you can beat it all on the first try. The gameplay is focused on being reckless, destructive, and precise. As contradictory as that sounds, it takes a steady hand to get a good amount of destruction to anything besides your car. Various secret routes, destructible objects, and bill boards can be driven through for extra content, points, or just shortcuts to your next destination. The reason I am not going to give this game a 100 is that the handling on vehicles, while fun, isn't precise enough to me to call them tight controls. It gets the job done, but when the more fun parts of the game need a lot of speed and precision turning, it can be a pain to turn around and go back when the turn was missed. The other issue I have is the lack of fast travel or instantaneous vehicle switching. In a game as fast paced as this, it can be a little tedious to have to drive half way across the map just to pick out a different vehicle. Small gripes aside, this game is a ton of high octane fun, looks great, and is worth every penny when considering how much content is packed into it.

63

Not that good

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

There's just something about burnout i just didn't really like. To me, it wasn't very fun at all. I didn't hate it by any means, I just didn't "love" it. The graphics were ok but the arcady feel to the game didn't appeal to me . I'm not a big driving game fan but I can enjoy sometimes but Burnout Paradise just was too boring for my taste. The world was decent but felt very empty. The customization felt a little weak . I will say that driving off certain jumps can be fun from time to time. The driving mechanics felt a little off to me, just something about it.This game just wasn't for me.

80

Great Game, but beware sharp curves

mike12724 | Sept. 2, 2013 | See all mike12724's reviews »

Having never played a racing game before, I didn't know what to expect. What I got was a lot of fun, marred by some weird difficulty curves.

Gameplay was great for the first 8-10 hours. Completing all the different events kept the game fresh and interesting, and chasing down free-roaming cars to destroy and collect them was nerve-wreckingly awesome. Also, the cars got progressively sexier as I went along, which was cool. It always kept me on my toes, as I wondered which car I would unlock next.

However, after getting an A-rank license, the events got MUCH harder, for no particular reason. More traffic and more agressive AI made the game significantly harder without any warning. Before, where I could complete an event without crashing once, I crashed 2-3 times at least. But perhaps this is just a lack of skill on my part, rather than the game's difficulty curve.

All-in-all, it's a fun game to pick up and play, but may leave you frustrated after a few hours. The nice thing is, you can always put it down, and pick it right back up the next day.

74

A good racer

nightassassin1 | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This racer was good, but not great. I was not too impressed with it compared to games like Need for Speed Underground 1&2 which came out before and after this game did. The game is solid and has some unique features over other racers such as the smashing through gates and billboards, but over all I favored other racers.

The graphics in this game were good and the car destruction was interesting. It was always fun to watch your car crunch up as you smashed into things.

I liked the game play and how everything handled in the game so I see it as a pretty decent racer, however compared to others during its time, I would not consider it the best.

It is worth getting when on sale, but I would suggest looking in to buying NFS Underground 1 or 2, 2 was better, but 1 was still pretty great.

I give this one a 74 due to not being as good as the others out there and a few issues with level glitching in some areas. The glitching is not frequent, but it is noticeable when it does happen.

85

extremely fun

Xillion | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

Burnout Paradise is really fast paced. You can drive with either a car or motorcycle. You can travel in high speeds and enjoy the music. The visuals are amazing and it's best played on PC. I highly recommend buying this game.

90

One of the Best Racing Games of the Generation

kebebasan | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all kebebasan's reviews »

This was my favorite racer on PS3, and it continues to be on PC. With an emphasis on arcadey, violent action, set in a vibrant and beautiful city, Burnout Paradise is a joy to race in; if not just drive.

The Ultimate Box is missing several of the car DLCs, Big Surf Island, and the Cops and Robbers mode from the console edition. A mod called the Vanity Pack restores much of that content, and is a must have if you get the game.

If you buy this game, you wont be disappointed with the game itself. Just don't buy the Ultimate Box thinking its the complete package. But definitely buy the game.

85

Open World Arcade Racer

hoyvechkin | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all hoyvechkin's reviews »

Burnout Paradise trades in the tight, well constructed tracks of the prior games, for a robust, sprawling open world. The city is filled with things to do, such as billboards to smash through and jumps to complete, as well as special races for each street. The main game features the race modes you would expect from burnout, with the same mix of unique autos. While the world is fun to drive around in, my biggest complaint is that due to the open nature of the races, the racing doesn't feel as tight as in prior games. While others may enjoy the plan your own route racing, it seems that with one wrong turn, it's race over. In the end I believe Criterion crafted an amazing open world, but the racing took a hit because of it. The game is still very much worth your time and money.

87

Great game and soundtrack!!!

Oblaque | July 24, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

This game is flat out great! My computer is not that great and this console-to-PC-port runs perfectly! Being able to go from offline play to online play in about three seconds is unheard of. Almost like the GTA IV cellphone. The city is so open and there are lots and lots of goodies to unlock. See you on the streets!

84

A great way to spend a few hours here and there.

whitefalcon684 | June 21, 2013 | See all whitefalcon684's reviews »

This game is a great way to spend a few hours here and there. Just like the rest of the Burnout franchise it is an arcade style racing game. It's great to sit down and play for a couple of hours by yourself, or even more fun if you play with friends, but it does get repetitive, which is why it's a good game for casual gamers.

The online play is pretty rewarding it's fun to just log on and try to smash other players cars, or team up with them to pull off some crazy stunts.

Overall this game offers hours of fun game play, that should be spread over several months.

90

An arcade, vibrant racing game

thegaminglyfe | June 8, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Burnout Paradise has taken out every bit of dark and serious racing that the Burnout series had. And they pulled it off extremely well. The graphics are amazing and the city is vibrant and feels alive. The gameplay has taken a more arcade style to it and is very enjoyable. I've never had more fun drifting around in a game. The handling is tight when you need it to be and loose when you want it to be in a drift. The open world aspect is amazing and there are so many different parts to the map. There's packed cities, long highways, industrial areas and open cultivated land. There are quite a few evens like road rage and races that let you take your own route. There's a highlighted route in races but you can go anyway to get to the finish line. And in the road rage, where you have to take out as many enemy cars as possible without taking too many hits yourself, you can go anyway. But be warned, the enemies will be chasing you. This game is highly recommended to any racing fan.

87

Very enjoyable racing game.

Bigshrimp | Feb. 7, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

I really thought that this racing game was well done. The graphics are nice, the racing is fast paced and exciting. It has lots of different sandbox style races that vary depending on how you want to race. Lots to do and lots to see in Paradise City.

Only issue is that they stopped a lot of the bonuses that you get online for completing certain parts of the game. The multiplayer still works last time I checked, which is quite fun too.

Welcome to Paradise City. I hope you enjoy your stay.

88

Welcome to Paradise!

Lekes | Feb. 7, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Graphically awesome, easy in-game menus, great crash physics and a completely open city to play with! All of this promises a fantastic platform to terrorize the roads and duel with friends on-line in unlimited urban vehicle assault. This game will keep you entertained for quite some time. Be aware that, though it is fun, it does get repetitive fairly quickly. Play this game in sessions, not all at once.