Reviews for Crysis 2: Maximum Edition (NA)

71

Beautiful But Flawed

bwrussell | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

True to the CryEngine legacy Crysis 2 is visually a triumph but as a deep and immersive game it falls a little short. Not to say there isn't any enjoyment or fun to be had, it's just doesn't do anything that you could say was better than just good. For me this was due mostly to two main issues. A sparse/generic/confusing plot and mechanics that are at odds with each other.

As far as the plot goes some of my qualms could come from not playing the original game. It's possible that the plethora of characters, that are used without much introduction, featured in the first installment. Most of your time is spent going to places to meet people who have to move for various reasons, forcing you to go to a different place to meet them in the next level. It just felt a little padded at times and a limited weapon set (or little incentive to use most of them) and not a lot of enemy variation fail to add any spice. Speaking in generalizations the plot is pretty typical alien invasion fare, with the biggest twist being your super suit which brings up my next issue.

The main mechanical difference between the Crysis series and other FPS's is the super suit your character wears. The suit allows you to either cloak (invisibility) or armor (huge damage reduction) among other things like jumping higher, kicking large objects, and throwing most objects. The issue is that the two main suit modes are at odds which is really hard to design and balance as a dev. If you've played stealth games and military shooters then you'll know that level designs between the two are completely different. Things like enemy placement, difficulty and, numbers need to be different to deliver a great experience for either style. If you rush the suits stealth upgrade it almost completely breaks the game. With the fairly open levels, great for running and gunning in armor mode, you can essentially sneak past the rest of the game with ease which is pretty boring. Before the stealth upgrade I did have some tense stealth moments, an unaware enemy closing in on me in the open with just enough power to get to my next hiding spot but for the most part a silenced sniper rifle + cloaking = cake walk.

After all that it may seem like you should avoid Crysis 2 at all costs but that really isn't the case. At full price it's a little hard to swallow but on sale it probably provides enough enjoyment and it certainly is good to look at. I have only played a little multiplayer but, with the exception of playing against over-leveled opponents, it was enjoyable and had variety.

85

Pretty fun game

rahulkc | Jan. 14, 2014 | See all rahulkc's reviews »

Crysis 2 is a fun and fast paced game which puts you in the middle of a war vs an alien species. You are the last remaining hope for the human race as the only force able to stand up against these destructive outsiders. The controls are easy to learn and the game-play is intense, with only a few minor set-backs.

81

Ok, but not as good as the hype made it

Kalmado | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all Kalmado's reviews »

A few hours in I see this game being a decent fps and action game. It's graphics are lush and there seems to be a lot going on. Unfortunately at the end of the day it's another FPS. I found the intro and how you wear the suit somewhat annoying and bland. The intro CS was your typical "something is happening and the armed forces are called in" blah blah. nothing unique or interesting. I found myself not caring about the character or why some doctor was blabbing in my ear to go this way and that. This title left me with zero interest to pick up Crysis 3. I have not tried multi player, but I'm sure it's Crytek's version of CoD.

82

Better than Expected

nico7 | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all nico7's reviews »

I bought Crysis 2 in a bundle and did not think it was going to be that good. I had always hear of the Crysis series but I figured it was more about graphics than gameplay or story.

The story was good, but also follows the same basic alien invasion story formula that's been popular since Halo Combat Evolved. Nothing revolutionary here. I haven't played the first game but I assume it picks up where Crysis left off. You are a soldier wearing an advanced nanosuit with varying abilities. For the story, the suit evolves to incorporate alien DNA into the system, but for the gameplay its contributes nothing. As you fight your way through human and alien foes, you come to discover over time what this war is all about.

Graphics are superb. If you have a decent gaming rig and turn everything on ultra you'll experience some very nice visuals. I run a fx6100, 8gig corsair 1333, amd 7950, 120gig ssd, and get 55-60 fps on the regular, with occasional drops under heavy particles or vegetation.

Gameplay is fun. You have the option to play it stealth are frontal assault style. The suit will give you strategical options in every circumstance. I wasn't that impressed with the weapons. Most of them are too weak. I used 2 for basically the whole game.

I would recommend a solid playthrough. I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

89

Much better than the first one

alfrodo22 | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all alfrodo22's reviews »

The first Crysis was monumental in terms of graphics. That is, if your PC could handle them and if they didn't crap out. I had tons of issues with the first one to the point where the game became unplayable. Couple that with the frustration of not knowing how to destroy tanks for a long time and I pretty much despised the first one.

Thankfully, Crysis 2 is far more stable and doesn't have so much guesswork involved. The basic game mechanics are the same, you have mission objectives and follow the mini map which advances the story. You still have the cryosuit that gives you different abilities like jumping high, cloaking, or having extra armor. Cloaking is the most useful and entertaining. I felt like it didn't work that great in the first one but in this one the A.I. is more forgiving (which also makes it a little easier). Of course, you have the flexibility to go guns-a-blazing if you want, or you can go stealthy. There are more weapons and even a new skill set that you can unlock as the campaign advances.

The enemies are fun to fight and the landscapes are quite varied. The storyline starts off pretty slow but does get better. Some of the battles are quite epic and the multiplayer has a lot to offer as well. Overall this is a great title that I feel is even better than the first.

80

Kinda different from the first one, but good.

oliveretsitty | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all oliveretsitty's reviews »

After finishing the first Crysis, I wanted more! Thus leading me the buy Crysis 2. The graphics in this game are impressive. There are moments in the game where I just sit back and admire the scenery. The music for this game is great too. One thing I did not like was how the levels were so linear and small compared to the first game. Also I didn't like how the armor/cloak controls were set up. They changed those controls from Crysis 1, possibly to accommodate the console players??? Anyway, it took some time to adjust. Other than those flaws, I liked the story and I am looking forward to the next one.

82

Impressive second effort

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

Crysis 2 expands on the fantastic formula that Crysis built upon and turned out a fantastic game. Crytek once again made another beautifully stunning game , this time set in New York. Its certainly a change from the island of the first game but Crytek pulled it off rather nicely. The story is rather long, takes about 15 or so hours but it can get tedius and makes you want to just finish the game as quickly as possible. Twists and turns do happen and its not a bad story but the problem is it does feel like it drags on longer than it should. Crysis 2 introduced a much better online multiplayer portion to the game and it worked rather well in the small( yet fairly big) cramped levels mixed in with fast paced action of the nano suits. I'd recommend getting all 3 games for sure , its fun to see the progression each game made upon the last, you certainly wont be disappointed

92

Intense Action Thriller

aznsnsn | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all aznsnsn's reviews »

A great and challenging game. The graphics are very nice. The combat system is very well developed. The different suit modes combined with the various weapon upgrades makes fighting very fun. Since the character is pretty much created to be a one man army, you will have lots of fun blasting through hordes of enemies. The plot is very intriguing and draws in the player, making you want to spend more hours trying to finish each level. Sneaking or tanking are both very great viable options that are both challenging and rewarding. I think the whole suit scenario is what makes the game so great. Any gamer should definitely try it out.

85

Favorites of all time

Chemuhk | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all Chemuhk's reviews »

This was a fantastic experience for me. The game, yes, is more linear than its predecessor. However, the story it's able to tell through the campaign is one of the best in a game I've ever played. It's got enough re-playability to give me an enjoyable second play-through, and the voice acting is a amazing as well. The graphics are exceptional even in 2013, and the fun and balanced multiplayer is the cherry on top.

89

Rockets, Fists, and Aliens, oh my!

mike12724 | Sept. 2, 2013 | See all mike12724's reviews »

Story: The story is interesting enough. This game is built around kicking ass and taking names, so the story isn't an A-rank melodrama, but it does set an interesting backdrop to the action. Nothing to complain about here. 7/10 Visuals: The game is gorgeous. Watch a YouTube video. 'nuff said. But seriously, explosions look cool, the aliens look great, foliage is nice, even the smoke from the aforementioned explosions looks fantastic. Other than some blocky textures (bushes, I'm looking at you), it's perfect. 9/10 Gameplay: Here's where the game shines. The guns are fairly standard until lategame: assault rifles, LMGs, rocket launchers, etc litter the environment. Where the game stands out, is in the use of the suit. Balls-to-the-wall, or never-saw-you-coming, or anything in between. The suit caters to your playstyle (which I'm pretty sure I accidentally stole from the game description, but it's an apt description). I had a lot of fun mixing and matching abilities to take out all of the enemies. 9/10 Overall: Very fun game to play. Almost no complaints. Don't play for the story, play for the BOOOM!

90

Best FPS in the franchise.

Xillion | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

With it's rich graphics, Crysis 2 is a fun game to play. You can customize your weapons to how you want them to be and the story is just great. The multiplayer makes the game even better. This game is far greater than any game in the call of duty franchise. This is a must-buy!

90

An Experience of its Own

Dimbark | July 21, 2013 | See all Dimbark's reviews »

Crysis 2 is a rather well-made game. The gameplay is buggy at times, but so what? Gunplay is pretty fun, there's a nice amount of different weapons to spice things up, and working with the suit's modes is more fun than in Crysis 1.

Crysis 2's strongpoint is actually more of the story than the gameplay. It manages to have an unstoppable, badass character who also comes across as helpless and tragic. It's a very nice experience unlike any other in games I've played. It's a worthy purchase.

85

Crysis 2

Farva_SCW | July 7, 2013 | See all Farva_SCW's reviews »

If you enjoyed the first you will enjoy this one as well. Not as linear as the call of duty series but not very open either.

90

Similar, yet different!

ctp94wakko | June 24, 2013 | See all ctp94wakko's reviews »

Not on an island? No problem! Crysis 2 is just as awesome as the first, but with a nice change of scenery. Taking place in New York, the protagonist still has the amazing nano-suit with all of its capabilities and is introduced into a totally new and different playground to stretch his muscles and target practice in. The shooting is still satisfying as ever and when combined with the nano-suit, a world (city) of possibilities opens up to the player. While graphically the game may look the same, mountains are replaced with buildings, rocks are replaced with cars and rubble as the aliens infest the once peaceful city. The story of Crysis 2 is more focused than the first, and as a result may also seem more linear. Crysis 2 is much like its predecessor, but with a nice and refreshing change in scenery. This game is certainly worth a buy for any fan of the original or to first-person shooter fans who seek a change of pace!

80

Linear But Fun

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

In my opinion Crysis is a step back from the original but there's no doubt about it, it's still a very fun game. The graphics are amazing, but I still miss the lush jungles of the first Crysis, the gameplay is fun and fast paced and there are multiple ways to complete your objective. Your suit has plenty of abilities that are fun to use and help you in the game. The game sounds amazing. If you're looking for a large sandbox game like the first Crysis, you won't be happy. But if you loved the action and the general feel of the first, you'l like this.

84

Slight step back from the original

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | See all mostnatebe66's reviews »

Make no mistake, Crysis 2 is an incredible game. The graphics are stunning. The level design is great (linear, but great). The nanosuit adds an exciting new dimension to the FPS. Controls are tight and responsive. Overall, I would have to say that Crysis 2 could be the best FPS of the year (beating Halo: Reach and CoD:Black Ops). Could be the best FPS of the year.

Sadly though, some minor AI bugs reduce the experience from "astounding" to "great". You will notice AI walking into cars, getting stuck in the environment, not noticing car alarms, etc. With a package as tight as Crysis 2, it is really surprising that the AI suffers from these issues. While people new to FPS games may not notice the buggy AI, FPS patrons may become frustrated as big budget games usually do not contain these issues.

The buggy AI drops the score down a bit, but otherwise great. This is still a contender for game of the year status and should be considered by any fan of the FPS genre.

87

Sandwiched in Between Two Great Games, it's Still Good

Onefatcow | May 3, 2013 | See all Onefatcow's reviews »

There is no way this game can hold up to either Crysis 1 or Crysis 3, and you're going to have to accept that. That doesn't mean it's not good though. The single player is excellent, with a good engaging story, and the most important thing, really good gunplay. The guns in this game are just satisfying to use, and the attachments add even more variation into the bunch, and allow you to really look for a gun that suits your tastes. This game is definitely worth a buy if you like a good shooter, though you may want to wait for a sale, this game has a pretty high pricetag.

80

Crysis 2 is amazing!

murgo23 | March 25, 2013 | See all murgo23's reviews »

Crytek has outdone themselves with this game and the CryEngine 3. If you have a high end gaming PC you owe it to yourself to buy this game! First and foremost this is a great FPS. The controls are crisp and tight. Your suit has multiple abilities that can be upgraded and when mastered, you become a walking tank or silent stealth assasin cloaked Predator style. There is a huge amount of weapons to use also and they can be outfitted with any attachments you like, peronalizing your style of use. The variety of environments in New York are great and the detail and destruction is stunning! The city crumbles around you and battles have real time destruction. It is also a rather long game for the single player campaign. The story of an alien invasion is not new by any means, but is done extremely well. You have human and alien enemies throughout the game and the alien models are nicely varied and some incredibly tough to beat. You will be on the edge of your seat the entire time!

This game simply looks photo real and will blow you and anyone watching it away! There are no frame rate issues and the detail is in every single object in the game, no matter how simple. You just have to see this game for yourself if you have a gaming PC! The closest in graphical comparison I have seen is Battlefield 3 with the Frostbite 2 engine. Both are great games and have the best next-gen graphics out right now in my opinion.

70

Get it for the Single Player, not the Multiplayer

Coolicy | Feb. 6, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

The single player campaign is great, full of action of twists. Some may complain that it's too linear compared to the open-world Crysis 1, but I find it to strike the perfect balance. The map design still allows for different play styles, even if it's not as free as its predecessor. The action is fun, as you can expect from a Crytek shooter, and the nano-suit simply is the funnest thing I've used in a shooter for the longest time.

My main criticism is the story, the main character feels more like a puppet following orders from various people and less of a Hero saving the day. It's fortunate that the aliens are interesting and creates very intense fights, that makes up for the weakness in the story.

The Maximum Edition simply means it has all the multiplayer content included... which is nice but there simply isn't a large enough player-base to justify the content anymore. There are still people playing, but definitely not in the area that I live in. I usually have to join servers with higher ping to have more people in the battle. The gun play is fun as usual, but feels a little like CoD which it is obviously trying to compete with.

Compared to the Crysis 3 beta (which is available now), Crytek has made obvious improvements to the formula that makes Crysis unique. Which makes me much more excited for the Crysis 3 release.

As my title says: get this only for the story and the single player, skip the multiplayer.