Reviews for Bob Came in Pieces CAP

70

Decent puzzle and platformer

lok0812 | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This game is similar to other types of puzzle platformer like Braid. One unique aspect of this game is the ability to craft your space ship any way you want through parts and pieces that are collected during your platforming adventure as well as use them to solve puzzles. The gameplay is pretty average as in side scrolling from point A to B with the physic based puzzles that can be solved easily. Very interesting game indeed as a platformer with cool ship building.

65

Decent indie physics puzzle game

Scorpy | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Bob Came in Pieces is about the millionth indie physics-based puzzle game to come out in the last few years. What sets it apart from the herd? Not much.

Graphically, it doesnt have much going for it, which is understandable for an indie game. Still, its visual style is still somewhat appealing and certainly won't detract from your gaming experience.

What will is your reason to play this game. No plot, no reason to play, no real progression. It feels almost mind-numbingly average. The puzzles are fun for a while, but they are extremely repetitious and will bore just about anybody.

Regardless, the asking price is what bumps the game up a few points. It's cheap fun, and that's always a good thing.

25

Performance issues ruin this game

sweetcuppincake | June 13, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

I had been pretty interested in this game from the moment I heard about it. Collecting ship pieces that allow you to solve physics-based puzzles seemed like a fun concept. The plot is a bit reminiscent of Pikmin (in that you're a tiny rocket pilot trying to fix your ship) in a charming way. However, an engaging plot and fun gameplay mean nothing when the game repeatedly crashes. I am unable to progress past a certain point rather early in the game because of these crashes. I have researched this problem and have found that I am not the only person by far to experience this game-crippling problem. There have been no updates, so it remains unplayable for me. I liked what I played, but I would strongly caution anyone interested to read up on the problems people have had with this game. If I purchase a product, I should be able to enjoy it.

60

Reasonably puzzling

Endyo | Aug. 23, 2011 | See all Endyo's reviews »

I have to say straight away I wasn't a fan of the game. I have to admire the premise, but the physics puzzles weren't that involving or quite intuitive enough to make the game truly enjoyable. The aspect of adding parts to your ship to adapt to certain puzzle situations is innovative, it didn't strike me as all that magical after the first few additions. Ultimately you just end up trying to accomplish a task with a ship that's not ideal for the situation simply because you don't want to deal with the hassle of changing your ship setup. Being a fan of innovative puzzle games as well as building random things, I thought this might be a perfect blend for me, however it comes up short at every turn leaving me with a game in which I've invested a small amount of time and have no intentions to continue. Some may enjoy it as there aren't any glaring functional issues, but it's not for me.

75

Bob the spaceship builder.

GAMERamble | Aug. 8, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

Despite the gruesome name Bob Came In Pieces is actually a nice little Indie game. You have to travel around collecting parts for Bob's spaceship but the way in which you assemble them will determine how you solve the puzzles. The whole thing is physics based but the 25 levels are over before you know it. At this price however its a steal.

50

I like physics

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

I love this game! For an indie title, it sure is beyond just average. Visuals are cute and lovely. Puzzles at times can be very hard but some are just outright easy. More so on the funny side. The goal is simple, find your parts and go. There is almost zero plot. The game is focused on puzzles while entertaining you: the gamer. The game does stump on some parts where it gets boring though! But the audio is fun and easy to keep up with. The price is a little higher than it should be though.

67

a decent indie puzzle game

liquidsnake78 | June 27, 2011 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

Bob Came In Pieces is a decent indie puzzle game,reminds me a lot of trine.The concept is simple, help bob get to the portal as fast as possible, the graphics are average but the music is good as expected of a indie game. the game does feel a lot short,the replay factor depends on whether you want to beat the times to get gold or just finish the levels.The times are challenging and you can get stuck a lot of times, lucky that there are lots of videos on youtube to show, how to get the fastest times, its worth playing it for once at least and the price is decent too, although not much of a epic story.

79

Short Game

drakaenae | June 4, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

This is a pretty unique game. It has a decent story, okay music, okay graphics and okay puzzles. You play as the protagonist, Bob, who must find all the parts of the spaceship and go back home.

There are many physic puzzles in this game. In order to solve these puzzles, you have to attach the parts that you find on to your space ship. You can probably beat the game in about 2-4 hours and you could always replay the game and beat the time trials.

If you want to play a short and funny puzzle game, I'll recommend this one.

77

Great looking and unusual platform puzzle game.

hisnameisrob | April 11, 2011 | See all hisnameisrob's reviews »

In this game you control a robot as he flies around the levels. To solve each level you must redesign your robot using a collection of parts in order to make possible the solution to a puzzle. As you progress through the game you gain access to more robot parts.

The graphics are very well done and the control of the robot feels natural.

55

Yet another physics-based indie game

steamisbetter | April 7, 2011 | See all steamisbetter's reviews »

Figuring out the puzzles isn't the hard part. The hard part is building your ship in a way that it can solve the puzzle and can take off the construction pad without instantly flipping over. The game is physics-based, so putting too many parts on either side of the ship makes it unbalanced and hard to control. Trying to balance it out by putting more parts to the other side makes it heavy and unable to get through narrow passages. Even if you do get stuck, you can return to the previous construction pad by pressing enter, although this also resets whatever progress you managed to make.

Collecting all parts across every level took me about 5 hours. Once you're done with that, you can try beating the time trials in adventure mode levels, or try out the new VR levels. Overall, it's a fairly standard indie puzzle game. Nothing remarkable about it. Get it when it goes on sale.

40

Nothing Special

Balon | April 7, 2011 | See all Balon's reviews »

Bob Came In Pieces is a very simple platformer. Puzzles aren't difficult, sometimes even silly. Graphics is nice, but nothing special. For a long time, this game can be boring. The price is 6 times bigger than it should be. I don't recommend it.

70

Funny and entertaining

keeveek | April 7, 2011 | See all keeveek's reviews »

If you're bored at work or at schoold and you have notebook nearby - this would be a game for you. The story is funny, graphics are simple but still looking nice. You're playing as a space robot, whos spaceship have crashed and you need to find all the parts needed to fly back home. The storyline looks simple and is just an excuse to more and more difficult puzzles! You can upgrade your robot by attaching new engines, mechanic limbs etc. It;s up to you, if your robot will be faster, stronger etc. But sometimes, using your upgrades will be necessary to go further, so do it wisely. This is one of the games which you play 30 minutes a day, and you're still coming back to it.