Reviews for Need for Speed Most Wanted (NA)

84

Need for Speed: Most Wanted

mrminecrafter1 | Feb. 16, 2014 | See all mrminecrafter1's reviews »

This review is going to be hated by most NFS veterans for several reasons: 1. It likes Burnout Paradise but with a more serious approach. 2. Not a true sequel to the original Most Wanted. But for newcomers to the arcade racing and NFS series, this game is really good. The driving is nice and is not too hard to learn. Your way of unlocking new cars is by exploring the world which I think is pretty unique. The police A.I. and chases feel action-packed without going too dull too fast. The missions and activities get repetitive as you start to pass them. The graphics are superb and the sound design is fantastic. Looking for a racing game to start with? Pick this up.

71

Fun but could be better

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I enjoyed this game quite a bit but its not without its faults. A beautifully visual game , big map but the problem is that it feels like the map is small or maybe I wasn't playing the game right. It felt as if I was always driving in the same locations. I do love that you can drive around without having to do any races however. That part of the game is fun but it can get bored after a while. The one thing that at least keeps you involved with the game is that you can search for cars and drive them without having to unlock them.The driving mechanics themself aren't that bad but it felt like i wasn't in total control of every car, felt as if there was some sort of lag. This game has a ton of potential which makes me excited for any future releases

70

Okay Game

Kevduit | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

I got this game for a gift, hoping that it could somewhat match it's extremely popular Most Wanted game. It did not. It was still a fun and open world, free roaming car game, but it just didn't feel like I was doing anything that productive in this game. The cutscenes were that strangest things, with complete fantasy police flying around the city and stuff, although I admit, it DID look pretty funny. The gameplay was quite easy to get used too, so smashing your way down the streets turned into ducking and weaving down roads to avoid any contact. The Multiplayer would've been a lot of fun, but there was always someone that would get lost in the city, and then everyone would start swearing, so it wasn't too much fun. Overall, it was an okay game, If you're looking for a better racing game, I would recommend waiting until the new Need For Speed Rivals game comes out.

60

Not Really a Need for Speed Series

CounterAgent | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all CounterAgent's reviews »

Much like the other reviews, I got this game hoping to revisit the earlier glory of this franchise. But rather than staying true to the Need for Speed name, it does feel much more like a Burnout sequel. (as some other reviews have pointed out)

No more racing against the clock trying to earn cash to upgrade your ride, instead just cruise around until you find the car just sitting there and presto you can drive it. That is, unless it belongs to one of many of EA's notorious DLC packages. While this sounds innovative and like it might be fun cruising around trying to find your ride, there is no sense of earning a vehicle and making it your own.

The game lacks the style of its predecessor namesake and the customization is completely gone, basically everything that you came to love about the series is either changed or gone entirely.

With that said, the game itself isn't a horrid game. It lets you cut loose and cruise through a pretty impressive city or across the back country trying to stay one step in front of the police. But it isn't the same caliber that should from this series and it doesn't have a high replay value.

Keep that in mind and pick it up cheap.

72

Burnout Paradise with a slight Need for Speed treatment.

danthemus88 | July 8, 2013 | See all danthemus88's reviews »

If you liked Burnout Paradise, you might like this game, but hardcore Need for Speed fans might be disappointed, as this game is more generic, repetitive arcade and is less rewarding and satisfying than previous franchise games. The fact that you have access to most of the cars right at the start make for a less fulfilling game, and it lacks the engaging quality that made previous Need for Speed games so good. It's still a fun game and graphics are decent, but if you are a hardcore racing fan, this game probably wouldn't satisfy.

77

Feels Like a Serious Burnout Paradise

thegaminglyfe | June 12, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

In my opinion NFSMW feels too much like a serious Burnout Paradise. Which is a problem because the light-hearted vibrant setting is what makes Burnout Paradise so good. The gameplay and mechanics are still here from Burnout Paradise. The drifting is easy as long as you balance the accelerator and the brake. The races and activities get extremely repetitive after a while and by the end of the game you're not in the mood to do them. The cop chases aren't as action packed as the original Most Wanted and don't have the same feeling. If you're looking for a true sequel to the original Most Wanted, this isn't it. But if you're looking for a racer similar to Burnout Paradise, this is the game you're looking for.

60

Very Repetitive

FluffyNuggets | May 11, 2013 | See all FluffyNuggets's reviews »

This is the best Need for Speed game that's been released recently but still not very good. The races are fun for the most part but you end up doing to same races over and over again for every single car to unlock stuff. For this reason alone the game is not very fun after a few hours of playing.

Also, beating the most wanted drivers is pretty simple. I don't feel there's any challenge when going up against them because you'll most likely win if you don't crash a lot.

The online is absolutely terrible! You get disconnected constantly and it takes multiple tries to even connect in the first place. This also affects the single player because if you're trying to beat a friends time you end up getting disconnected or can't connect in the first place.

Need for Speed: Most Wanted is a fun throwaway game but there's very little reason in my opinion to continue playing it. EA needs to abandon the series in my opinion because they have obviously lost the desire to make a racing game they used to.

94

Burnout Paradise 2

mossiprose | April 8, 2013 | See all mossiprose's reviews »

This game is amazing if you are a true fan of Burnout Paradise. Think Burnout with real cars, and cop chases and you pretty much know what this game is. It is mad by the guys from Criterion who made Burnout. Personally, I spent hours playing paradise and totally love this game. Graphics are amazing, at least on max settings. The shadows get pretty jaggie otherwise. Cars are unlocked by finding them on the map. They are parked in various places. Some good cars like the Veyron to Ford Focus. Even the F150 Raptor makes an appearance.

All in all, I recommend this game to racing fans who enjoyed Burnout. It doesnt fit with the Need for Speed name, but it is not a bad game.
Sounds is good, car sounds are realistic. Controls are great with a 360 controller Gameplay is exactly what Burnout was like, with one small exception, tracks are available by car. So only certain cars can race in certain courses. Not a bad thing, but there is the odd time you will want to do a race with a car that wont do the course. Its rare, but be aware of it. The only reason this does not get a solid 100 is the DLC. The game is new and already has 3 new car packs available for ten bucks each. Its a little pricey.
But try the game, its worth it, at 50 bucks, but I have seen it go on sale many times.

64

Its just not the same

draculrosu12 | March 31, 2013 | See all draculrosu12's reviews »

I bought this game thinking they would try to go back to how the original Most Wanted game was but I was wrong. There is no story line at all except to beat ten "most wanted" cars. There is no modifying your car beyond a couple mods and different colors. The thing that made the first Most Wanted great was the ability to make your car your own, that is to say modify everything about it from the rims up to custom paint jobs. There was also the feature of owning your cars in the first Most Wanted. You had to race to earn money in order to purchase the next car you wanted. It was a little time consuming but satisfying when you finally bought a new car and test drove it. But in the new Most Wanted game you wonder around the world and stumble upon the cars. It destroys the excitement of acquiring new cars. For example, you start out with a Porsche 911 and I started to drive around the city to check it out. Well I just happened upon the Ford GT (one of my favorite cars and one that in the past was a tier 3 or so car which took a while to get). So right at the get go I had one of the fastest cars in the game. It was disappointing to lose the ability to purchase and modify cars. Next is the whole "crash sequence." This is by far the worst thing about the game. Lets say youre strolling along at 50mph. In real life you'd be dead if you hit another car head on, but this is a video game and isn't supposed to be real life (hints why its a video game). So if you hit a person going anywhere between 40mph and 240mph, this cut scene comes on and shows your car tumbling through the air only to land, broken, on the pavement. The camera just sits there, focused on your broken car. All the while racers are speeding past you. Its annoying and any little bump will make you crash. That takes the joy out of driving recklessly and ramming into cop cars because youre afraid to hit them. That brings me to the next part: cop chases. They mean absolutely nothing. If you get away, nothing happens. If you get busted, nothing happens. No consequences, no impounding, nothing. So what's the point of it? There isnt one.

All in all this game is okay. I wouldnt buy it new. The graphics are fantastic and the online play is the best part of the game. But not worth $50, more like $20. So just wait for a good used deal to come by.