Reviews for Tomb Raider II

85

Better than the first, and probably the best originals

Gmen | March 22, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Not much is different from the first game here, apart from more varied environments, and perhaps slightly enhanced graphics – though still inferior to other games of its time like Quake II. There are some new weapons and lots of new enemies to go up against.

But having been released only a year at most after the first game, it isn't that much different and the things that were wrong with the first Tomb Raider are still present here: awkward camera angles and sluggish controls that make the game unnecessarily difficult. The early Tomb Raider games were not made with the PC in mind. They were rather designed to appeal to the console audience.

Having said that, this in my opinion was the height of the Tomb Raider series, particularly the original games, and it would be another decade before anything else worthwhile in the franchise came along. The sound and music are two of the highlights here, as Lara's voiceovers not only give the character some personality but in some cases also help the story move along, and this is especially pertinent in the game's cutscenes and FMV sequences. And the music featured, including the theme tune, are simply unforgettable.

85

Improves and enhance's everything from the first game

ficha13 | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all ficha13's reviews »

Before I start the review, I have to admit that this is a game from my childhood but that I'll try the look at it as objectively as possible.

First, the graphics: This is not a pretty game nowadays, It's not horrible looking or anything but modern gamers might not like it. For the time it had really good graphics with realistic lighting and huge detailed levels. Again I repeat, for the time. Aesthetically it's pretty amazing, it has various environment's that have their own charm that are accompanied by a minimalist soundtrack that heavily relies on ambient noises. This really adds to the atmosphere, and really pulls you in.

The gameplay also might turn off gamers. Lara controls a bit tank like, kind of like older resident evil games, but it is a bit maneuverable and easier to control and the 3rd person camera helps as well. The jumps can be tricky at times, especially if you're a first timer, but thankfully you can save anytime, and there's no checkpoint bull like in the PS1 version of the first game or even modern games. Also, everything from the previous game returns and whole lot more. More enemies, weapons, moves and they also added vehicles you can actually drive like boats and snowmobiles. Thanks to the added dynamic lighting in the game they also added flares that you use in dark environments which, in my opinion, increases the immersion. Also, don't expect regenerative health. Battles must be planed out and searching for medkits is a must if you don't want to make it harder on yourself and die a lot later in the level. Weapons are fun to use, but watch your bullets when getting other better ones. The pistols have unlimited ammo but are the weakest weapons in the game, but the rest can be really powerful but have limited ammo. Puzzles and key items are back and sometimes it might be a chore figuring what to do next, but is never too complicated and is always gratifying when you do find out what to do.

In conclusion, the game is fun but challenging but certainly isn't for everyone. If you want a more streamlined and easier adventure/platforming game in the series, try the modern ones like TR: Legend, Anniversary and Underworld.
If you ever played an old Tomb Raider game, you'll know what to expect, but if you're a newcomer, check out the demo of the game so that you know if it's for you/

93

The same kind of stuff

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

Tomb Raider 1 was a huge success and I loved the game. Tomb Raider 2 is an even better version of the first core gameplay ideas. Running, jumping, shooting and many other gameplay ideas have been improved vastly and it creates a more complete experience. The tombs you have to raid are much more expansive than in the first game and this gives a sense of space that fleshes out the raiding of the tombs and makes it more interesting. All in all the second version of the Tomb Raider is a sequel that improves on everything the first game did right.

83

More of The Same

phool | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

Building on the success of the original, Tomb Raider II adds some additional features to the general gameplay, including more weapons and new moves. The sequel introduces many more human enemies when compared to the original game, which sometimes feels odd when you think about it too deeply (is Lara an archaeologist or a mass murderer?).

The puzzle-solving and jumping from the first game are all back from the original, only bigger and better. The range of environments is also wider, when compared to the first game and includes tombs, a Tibetan monastery, an opera houses and the canals of Venice.

The graphics were tweaked slightly from the original and have therefore dated somewhat (hmmm pixels). The game itself is not necessarily better than the first, it is however a solid game and certainly remains a classic for most Tomb Raider fans.

70

A proper successor to the masterpiece

Speed4Runs | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all Speed4Runs's reviews »

Tomb Raider II brings out all awesomeness of Tomb Raider (I) and improves them all, making an amazing and hard game. This is probably the hardest Tomb Raider, and it's just very fun. You will have tons of weapons, including all those which were featured in the first game, you will have some innovations such as flares and new costumes, areas and traps. Sounds are classic, and graphics are very good.

Graphics + performance: 6.75

*Graphics: 6.5 - Amazingly good, they feature good polygons and effects. Texutres aren't the best.

*Performance: 7 - This game will be playable (stable and locked 30FPS) on most computers (even old ones).

Plot: 6.75

It's very good and it contains some twists. A pure fantastic plot which will make you want to know how will it "end"

Gameplay: 7.5

Amazing. It's just almost perfect. There are only some missing movements (which got added on TR3 & TR4), but it's near perfection. Very funny and competitive!

Longevity: 7

This game features MANY missions which are VERY long! It just lasts very much!

Sound: 7

Dubbing is amazing and soundtracks are unforgettable. I love it!

Final score: 70

AWESOME GAME! I recommend it to anyone!

100

Classic Sequel

ConorEngelb | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

The sequel to the first Tomb Raider, this entry in the franchise was just as enjoyable as its predecessor. Defined by its long lasting levels and brilliant adventure gameplay, this Tomb Raider game is a true classic.

86

Good ol

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

What nostalgia! Let's face it, Lara Croft is an animal-hating, wealthy English treasure hunter who "acquires" artifacts for no reason other than hoarding them. As Indiana Jones' battlecry was always "That belongs in a museum!" Lara's battlecry must be "That belongs in my curio cabinet!" And for all the actual archaeological emphasis in the game series (i.e. none), Lara might just as well be running all over the world searching for distinctive Hummel figurines. However, in terms of gaming, Lara is the Harriet Tubman of 3D adventurers, the Albert Schweitzer of the polygonal world. Aside from a criminal sense of fashion and a bad head-to-body ratio, her worst sin has been appearing in a series of lackluster games.

85

Some games are unforgettable

tayfuntuna | May 10, 2013 | See all tayfuntuna's reviews »

I remember like it happened yesterday: There I was, unboxing my first PlayStation and with it I had the Tomb Raider II. I didn't even know what it was about, and I was just 10 years old. After the short intro, I saw Lara for the first time. She could swim, dive, jump, climb and that first level was an unforgettable experience for me.

This second game of the series has a great loneliness and danger feeling weaved into it. Level design was (and still is) among the most clever and beautiful designs I've ever seen. Basicly it was all cubic landscape and buildings, yet each and every level had a soul that you could feel.

The Tomb Raider series are notorious for their bad camera angles and poor controls, still it's among the most thrilling adventures ever made. At this price, you can't just ignore it.

80

A good sequel

Cavalieroscuro | April 30, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This sequel was so good compared to the first title. Graphis is better then the original, there are a lot of new weapon, and you can shoot even underwater. The game is HUGE, it required me two weeks to complete it without a guide. The plot is nothing special, but it is entertaining at the same time.

90

Mindblowing retro experience

barniman | March 28, 2013 | See all barniman's reviews »

This game is obviously quite old, so there's no point in talking about the graphics or the sound effect, however this is no reason to disregard this game, it's still amazing. If you're like me and actually played this game when it came out, you already know what i'm talking about and even today it's worth coming back for a replay. What really surprised me at first was that how hard this game is and how hard games used to be. Just when you though you managed to escape from a trap, boom, the walls start to close in, you jump out, the chains in the wall instantly start to spin, you manage to get away from that and you find yourself in front of a tiger. So you get my picture, really fast paces game, where one mistake will cost you your life (you can save whenever you like luckily). Of course it's a Tomb Raider game, it's not just about fighting, there are also puzzles and naturally these are really challenging too, without a walkthrough you can be stuck for hours at some places, but i really don't recommend using one, this just makes the experience much more rewarding. So overall, this is a great gem from the golden age of pc gaming, one that noone shoud miss.