Reviews for Tomb Raider IV: The Last Revelation


Weakest of Tomb Raider's golden age, but that's no bad thing.

zzzonkers42 | Nov. 11, 2015 | See all zzzonkers42's reviews »

The 4th game in the original series, and not a bad entry at all. Like most of the original games the controls are extremely frustrating, and controller support is there, but not worth taking advantage of since it's so frustrating that using the keyboard is far handier. The story is probably the weakest aspect of the game, but the gameplay is like that of any older Tomb Raider game, and when you get into it it's a lot of fun. If you're a fan of the series it's worth checking out.


Starting to go downhill

sycomantis1991 | May 28, 2015 | See all sycomantis1991's reviews »

This is still a worthwhile entry for fans of the series, but it;s a marked dip in quality. it's obviously graphically superior, though not by enough to really matter much. The levels are far more bland than in the previous entries, the controls might be the worst in the series to that point, and the story is substandard. It's still fun and worth playing, but not over the first three at all.


Last in the title was a premonition

Obsessor | May 27, 2015 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

After Tomb Raider IV... I don't want to remember what was after that game. Series changed for worse, and the first good game that came afterwards was Legend. But, this is about TR4. The Last revelation is even better than TR3. Has better story, graphics are improved. And of course, completely new set of puzzles to solve, and mind-boggling enemies to defeat. Tomb Raider IV is by far my favourite game in the series, and I recommend it to anyone.


What Tomb Raider was meant to be

KingTed | Feb. 21, 2015 | See all KingTed's reviews »

Fourth game in the Tomb Raider series, The Last Revelation is probably the best game among the classic episodes. Better puzzles, better action, vehicles phases. The game does everything the series is known for but it does it better. Sure, the traditional flaws of the series are all here but we can forget them since the adventure is so good.


this is the worst control game i have ever played

eljoseex | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all eljoseex's reviews »

First off let me say I am not saying that I do not like the story or gameplay of the game, but honest to god i just HAD to write a review on how the horrible and atrocious the controls work for THIS game, it is THE WORST I have EVER experienced with. First, I know that this is an old game, but wow seriously I feel like the flow is so slow its like I am playing an Atari game. Second, if you are playing with a keyboard you are going to get grey hairs because of how LIMITED and HORRIBLE RESPONSE TIME the controls are. Third, if you think you are sneaky and then try to play the game with a controller (xbox) IT IS EVEN WORSE!, the lag from the button key to the game is UNBEARABLE! i am uninstalling this game not because of the level of difficulty, but because i know the controls are going to give me a headache or heart attack. But if you want to be my guest then by all means go ahead and try, God knows I did. Game/Story = 9 Graphics = 5 Controls = 1


Probably the best Tomb Raider

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

Everything in this game is at the best it could be. The graphics were very good for their time, the gameplay is very good and continues the same Tomb Raider formula which makes you want to explore the bigger and bigger caves you will come across in the game and the increased graphics really help to make you feel immersed in the world of Lara Croft and her tomb raider activities. The game is the probably the best Tomb Raider game in the whole franchise and it continues to impress me even to this day. In short if you like the older Tomb Raider games go get this!


A Spike in Quality

ConorEngelb | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Unlike Tomb Raider III, which felt like a somewhat underdone clone of its predecessors, The Last Revelation manages to provide the series with some degree of fresh air. While much of the formula remains the same, enough changes were made to the inventory and weapons to make it feel new, and more exciting.


Same formula as its predecessors

lok0812 | July 26, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

The 4th installment still keeps its basic formula of exploring tombs in different place in the world while transverse through obstacles and traps that will kill you as well as monsters and wildlifes that serves as obstacles on your adventures. It also maintain the puzzle aspect from the 3rd in a bigger and better scale. Sadly, nothing else new was introduced in this installment so therefore it really felt like a rehash of the previous game rather than a new game with new directions. Even though nothing new is introduced, the storyline still continues and that alone make it worth while to be a great entry in the franchise.


The best TR of the saga

abelfs | Feb. 19, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

This game is not a Tomb Raider, it IS Tomb Raider. It pick all the elements that made the first Tomb Raider famous 1996, but with improvements. TR IV is settled mainly in Egypt, and the sense of wonder from level to level is astounding. Puzzles must be solved in a different way (even with action integrated), and there some memorables like "dice game". There are not "traditional" boss fights, but you will use your guns a lot. What about the story?? Just amazing and epic as the perfect Tomb Raider should be. Buy it without hesitating.


The last good Tomb Raider

Cavalieroscuro | Feb. 19, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This is the last good Tomb Raider, with a nice story, a twisting ending and a very good gameplay. This chapter focus on the past of Lara Croft and her mentor, with a gameplay very similar to the first Tomb Raider. This is maybe one of the best TR title.