Reviews for Tomb Raider IV: The Last Revelation

90

Lara should have travel here earlier!

Furrek | April 4, 2016 | See all Furrek's reviews »

Egypt! It is a place where you could do some artifact hunting! If I remember right, it was first Tomb Raider games which had rather decent scores in gaming magazines (at least in my country) but there was nothing more wrong, it's still good Tomb Raider game. We can finally travel back to earlier locations, there is also pretty new menu! And some varieties when it comes to moving forward, which means there are is not only one "right" way to follow. So far it's the TOmb Raider game with most levels and while some might be annoying, like tutorial one, that's pretty great number and will make many hours of playing to be great. And if you ask me, this is my second favorite Tomb Raider game due to locations it's set. Tomb Raider IV also looks a little better than previous games but now since it's quite old game, not that it really matters. Worth every price, that's how much fun this Tomb Raider game is.

93

a new tomb raiding experience

lconanl | Dec. 28, 2015 | See all lconanl's reviews »

Tomb Raider IV: The Last Revelation is perhaps the most suited game to try first for players not familiar with the classic Tomb Raider games. Compared to the previous three games, this game is fresh, innovative and engaging even today, more than the rest in the old series. This was the first time the story was a central element, presenting an actual important part of Lara's background by introducing her mentor, Verner von Croy, which set her on the path of tomb raiding. He can also be considered (spoiler) the main villain of the game, though this fact changes toward the later part, when we find out that the ancient Egyptian god Seth was pulling the strings all along by taking advantage of Von Croy's unjustified animosity towards Lara and possessing him to do his bidding. It is the conflict between Verner/Seth and Lara, along with the small details and presence of more humane characters (including Lara) that make the story so interesting and engaging. The gameplay is largely the same as in previous games, though there are, again, plenty of small differences that make it feel like a fresh experience (to name a few: Lara's house is replaced with a two-level tutorial in Cambodia, the inventory screen and items are slightly altered, the boss encounters are more realistic and challenging, there are some new mechanics present, like rope swinging, item combining and interconnected levels and the puzzles are much more prominent and nuanced). The sound design and music are excellent yet again, with Peter Connelly as the composer this time (apparently, one of his more recent works is the soundtracks for Watch Dogs). Even though the game takes place entirely in Egypt - with the exception of the first two tutorial levels, which are basically a flashback anyway -, there is plenty of diversity in the levels, even for the veterans used to multiple differing locations per game. This time, Lara will take on a lengthy journey across the entirety of Egypt - places to raid include: the (100% fictive) tomb of Seth; the tomb of Semerket, an ancient priest of Horus; the catacombs under the city of Alexandira, including the well-known Lost Library (apparently, it's pretty easy to access if you're a rich, gun-toting athlete with a penchant for puzzle-solving and wiping out entire species) and Cleopatra's palaces; a Cairo overrun by Seth's plagues and monstrosities and finally the Giza pyramids, including a not-so-hidden catacomb underneath the Sphinx (apparently real life archeologists are not too competent) and a similar location underneath the Great Pyramid - the temple of Horus. And I do mean lengthy- the game has over 30 levels, but overall is not as long as Tomb Raider III, considering that its levels are usually not as expansive. One not very well-known fact is that this game was at one point meant to be a conclusion to Lara's story arc - partially due to the fact that the developers put a new Tomb Raider game each year, kinda like Ubsioft does nowadays with the Assassin's Creed series; the difference being that Core Design wasn't nearly as wealthy a company as Ubisoft -, and thus had a pertaining ending that seemed definitive. Of course, history tells us otherwise, but it can be argued that this was the end of the classic series, seeing as the fifth game was merely a collection of previous unrelated and unshown adventures and the sixth (which was the last game made by Core Design) was ... well, let's not talk about now. In the end, Tomb Raider IV: The Last Revelation marks the end of an era (both literally and figuratively, look it up). It was one hell of a game back then, and it is one hell of a game now. Play it as soon as you can!

66

Weakest of Tomb Raider's golden age, but that's no bad thing.

zzzonkers42 | Nov. 11, 2015 | See all zzzonkers42's reviews »

The 4th game in the original series, and not a bad entry at all. Like most of the original games the controls are extremely frustrating, and controller support is there, but not worth taking advantage of since it's so frustrating that using the keyboard is far handier. The story is probably the weakest aspect of the game, but the gameplay is like that of any older Tomb Raider game, and when you get into it it's a lot of fun. If you're a fan of the series it's worth checking out.

71

Starting to go downhill

sycomantis1991 | May 28, 2015 | See all sycomantis1991's reviews »

This is still a worthwhile entry for fans of the series, but it;s a marked dip in quality. it's obviously graphically superior, though not by enough to really matter much. The levels are far more bland than in the previous entries, the controls might be the worst in the series to that point, and the story is substandard. It's still fun and worth playing, but not over the first three at all.

99

Last in the title was a premonition

Obsessor | May 27, 2015 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

After Tomb Raider IV... I don't want to remember what was after that game. Series changed for worse, and the first good game that came afterwards was Legend. But, this is about TR4. The Last revelation is even better than TR3. Has better story, graphics are improved. And of course, completely new set of puzzles to solve, and mind-boggling enemies to defeat. Tomb Raider IV is by far my favourite game in the series, and I recommend it to anyone.

85

What Tomb Raider was meant to be

KingTed | Feb. 21, 2015 | See all KingTed's reviews »

Fourth game in the Tomb Raider series, The Last Revelation is probably the best game among the classic episodes. Better puzzles, better action, vehicles phases. The game does everything the series is known for but it does it better. Sure, the traditional flaws of the series are all here but we can forget them since the adventure is so good.

48

this is the worst control game i have ever played

eljoseex | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all eljoseex's reviews »

First off let me say I am not saying that I do not like the story or gameplay of the game, but honest to god i just HAD to write a review on how the horrible and atrocious the controls work for THIS game, it is THE WORST I have EVER experienced with. First, I know that this is an old game, but wow seriously I feel like the flow is so slow its like I am playing an Atari game. Second, if you are playing with a keyboard you are going to get grey hairs because of how LIMITED and HORRIBLE RESPONSE TIME the controls are. Third, if you think you are sneaky and then try to play the game with a controller (xbox) IT IS EVEN WORSE!, the lag from the button key to the game is UNBEARABLE! i am uninstalling this game not because of the level of difficulty, but because i know the controls are going to give me a headache or heart attack. But if you want to be my guest then by all means go ahead and try, God knows I did. Game/Story = 9 Graphics = 5 Controls = 1

100

Probably the best Tomb Raider

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

Everything in this game is at the best it could be. The graphics were very good for their time, the gameplay is very good and continues the same Tomb Raider formula which makes you want to explore the bigger and bigger caves you will come across in the game and the increased graphics really help to make you feel immersed in the world of Lara Croft and her tomb raider activities. The game is the probably the best Tomb Raider game in the whole franchise and it continues to impress me even to this day. In short if you like the older Tomb Raider games go get this!

100

A Spike in Quality

ConorEngelb | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Unlike Tomb Raider III, which felt like a somewhat underdone clone of its predecessors, The Last Revelation manages to provide the series with some degree of fresh air. While much of the formula remains the same, enough changes were made to the inventory and weapons to make it feel new, and more exciting.

82

Same formula as its predecessors

lok0812 | July 26, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

The 4th installment still keeps its basic formula of exploring tombs in different place in the world while transverse through obstacles and traps that will kill you as well as monsters and wildlifes that serves as obstacles on your adventures. It also maintain the puzzle aspect from the 3rd in a bigger and better scale. Sadly, nothing else new was introduced in this installment so therefore it really felt like a rehash of the previous game rather than a new game with new directions. Even though nothing new is introduced, the storyline still continues and that alone make it worth while to be a great entry in the franchise.

92

The best TR of the saga

abelfs | Feb. 19, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

This game is not a Tomb Raider, it IS Tomb Raider. It pick all the elements that made the first Tomb Raider famous 1996, but with improvements. TR IV is settled mainly in Egypt, and the sense of wonder from level to level is astounding. Puzzles must be solved in a different way (even with action integrated), and there some memorables like "dice game". There are not "traditional" boss fights, but you will use your guns a lot. What about the story?? Just amazing and epic as the perfect Tomb Raider should be. Buy it without hesitating.

90

The last good Tomb Raider

Cavalieroscuro | Feb. 19, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This is the last good Tomb Raider, with a nice story, a twisting ending and a very good gameplay. This chapter focus on the past of Lara Croft and her mentor, with a gameplay very similar to the first Tomb Raider. This is maybe one of the best TR title.