Reviews for Mass Effect 3 (NA)

94

Amazing!

dalbelo | April 1, 2014 | See all dalbelo's reviews »

This is a must buy trilogy! You will want to play all 3 ME games to get the full story. The story is VERY well written and the character development is done very well. I enjoy RPG/Adventures that have a lot of character building and encourage you to become attached to the characters so your reaction to events are more realistic and give a more immersive experience. This game also looks fantastic in 3D! This trilogy is a must buy for any platform!

92

Better Than People Say

chataolauj | Jan. 19, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

The only reason why people hate it this part so much is because of the ending, but I actually liked the 3 endings. I tried all three and they actually made sense. There's always the DLC if you don't like the 3 endings. This is game is quite sad, as you have to make choices on your crew. If you didn't make the right choices earlier in the SERIES, as in part 1, then it'll be hard to keep some players alive. The only person that you can't save is Mordin because he chooses to sacrifice, and you don't get the option to help him out. Overall, this was a great ending to the series. Also, the last mission was a pain in the ass, but one of the best challenges I've had in awhile; or maybe I just sucked cause I died more than 20 times.

95

Fantastic trilogy, best of the series

hotaru33432 | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all hotaru33432's reviews »

The Mass Effect trilogy was one that will be remembered for years. The third installment in said trilogy was a worthy ending to such a fantastic series. Bioware upped the ante on this game through improved visuals, content, gameplay, and mechanics. The story, as to be expected of bioware and mass effect, was fantastic, the different aliens and weapons you could unlock or work besides turned me into a completionist. The multiplayer teases you with the item packs so much that it's addicting and you'll find yourself playing for hours. Genuinely a great game, and a great buy.

96

Amazing 3rd installment and ending to an amazing trilogy.

eXileris | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eXileris's reviews »

Gameplay: Very fluid, there are even more things that can be done that has been implemented from Mass Effect 2.

Plot: The story is just amazing and epic. Take the ending with a grain of salt however and interpret it the way you think.

This game is a must-buy and core experience to an once in a life trilogy! DLCs are not required to truly experience the game.

97

Take Earth Back

CoillyZ | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all CoillyZ's reviews »

Greatness shines through in Bioware's Epic of a game. Play as Shepard and take Earth back from the Reapers. You recruit the toughest armies from around the galaxies and fight the Reapers. The gameplay isn't improved much from Mass Effect 2, but that's okay because Mass Effect 2 was near perfect. The story is well crafted, the characters are developed even more, and the final battle is the most emotional thing I've ever seen in a game. Play this now.

97

Great game

Xillion | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

I never played ME 1 or 2 and since there was all the hype for Mass Effect 3 i decided to try it out. Honestly, this was a great shooter. Bioware did a great job developing this game. The music was fantastic and the graphics are beautiful. The only letdown was the ending. I didn't know what they were doing but it was a joke. Other than that it was fine. It's a must-buy, even on PC.

80

That Ending

romenjack | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all romenjack's reviews »

It is so hard to write a review for this game. on the one hand it was awesome and i enjoyed playing it immensely. the problem is that it is by far the weakest of the trilogy. there are bugs and glitches in this game that none of the other games have had and while i know they were going for a tone and the like but they cut out most of the dialog options. there were several times that i went several minutes and never chose what i wanted to say, it is now you get one choice at the start of a conversation and then one at the end and that is about it. in fact there is an option to take the dialog options out of the game completely. while this game did a good job of tying up the over all story arcs of the game at the same time it makes almost all of your previous choices worthless, as no matter what you chose the same thing happens anyway. and that brings us to the ending. and boy is it terrible. even after the extended cut dlc there are still a lot of problems with it. it comes out of left field and does not fit in the game at all. and the problem is not that it is sad but that it doesnt make any since. is the ending a deal breaker? no. does it drag down the rest of the game? yes. i know that they are probably trying to set it up for another game but i wish they had done it another way. play the game have lots of fun just know that the ending is forced contrived and in many ways stupid.

82

A good conclusion but a sloppy ending

Simao20 | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

Mass Effect 3, the final game in Bioware's epic space trilogy. Bioware was really on their game when they made this. You can really see the difference and feel how much better the game is overall in comparison to the previous 2 Mass Effect games. The story takes roughly 30 hours of course and its very good, up until the end where the game takes out your choices and makes a choice for you. Unfortunately Bioware felt the need to undermine every choice you made and made you feel as if the choices you made in the end didn't matter at all. The gameplay of course is the best in the series. The gun play is superb and the addition of running and rolling makes avoiding enemy fire that much better and more satisfying . A problem with the game though is the mission structure. It was a bit confusing, sometimes you would listen to a conversation and had no idea that you're possibly missing out on good information and even a side mission itself. They took out the need for actual interaction which breaks part of what made the game so great.

95

A great ending to an amazing trilogy

CosmicDashie | July 6, 2013 | See all CosmicDashie's reviews »

Mass effect 3 is a fantastic game that closes off the trilogy wonderfully. No doubt you will have heard some nonsense about the ending, however it is really not as bad as people made it out to be, and bioware has released a free DLC that fixes a lot of the problems that people had with the ending. Of course the ending was only a small part, the rest of the game was just as fantastic as the previous 2! Dont hesitate to buy this fantastic game!

90

Addicting and Fullfilling End of a Great Trilogy

xtremeg12 | June 24, 2013 | See all xtremeg12's reviews »

After playing the first and second part of Mass Effect, there is absolutely no reason to not buy this game. Following the whole series there will be dramatic situations where your decisions affects the life or death of a character you have known the whole time. You feel the devastation as you try to protect galaxies from destruction. The squad selection is a lot smaller than the previous two games with many characters making cameos. The story ends with your own decision regardless of your "reputation" that is newly implemented into the game to replace the morality system, however this different game mechanic isn't as important as the previous two games of the series and becomes redundant. The biggest and probably best change is the creating a multi-player coop based mission that affects your single player galactic readiness. This idea makes you feel you're in the shoes of the other characters not in the story who are fighting in an alliance to protect their galaxies. The multi-player adds countless hours of game play for people interested in surviving waves of enemies.

88

A great game for those who may not have even played the first 2

omfgkevin | June 13, 2013 | See all omfgkevin's reviews »

For me, I have never played the first or second mass effect, but the series always received much loved praise, so I decided, why not start on the third and see a little bit for myself? The story doesn't start you off extremely confused if you haven't played the game itself (like I haven't), and it's a lot of the "apocalypse" is coming, with you trying to save the world. Although the ending was not as great (even with the update), it serves as an all right stand point to the series. What's more, the co-op is also a welcome edition to the game, increasing it's longevity by much since it affects your single player experience and also allows you to play a more traditional, kill units and survive coop game. It's fun, requires a lot of team work, and has 4 difficulties (bronze to platinum). Overall the package itself is very good, especially since the game is already a year old, and the community is still decent if you are looking for matches, and the story itself serves as a great story with lovable characters (although some disappointments may be had with some reveals of how some characters are, I'm looking at you Tali.), it's definitely worth trying, even now, especially if you can get it on a sale at around $7-$6, it's a journey that can at least soak up 20 hours of your time, if not more!

85

The final conclusion of the trilogy

onewinged90 | June 13, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

This may be the best Bioware game of Mass Effect to date, but it is hampered by the somewhat lukewarm writing of the ending given the hype the has build up since the first game. I approve of this game nonetheless.

89

Best game yet

DeathGamer95 | June 12, 2013 | See all DeathGamer95's reviews »

Its a great game despite what people have said about the ending, the beginning is great the middle is great and the final hours are great. It has the best game play out of the three and it is defenitly worth getting if you haven't already. Also the multi player is sweet

84

A great game, that comes with some grief...

Kratzer | June 3, 2013 | See all Kratzer's reviews »

Obviously, everyone will be bearing you down with facts about the games ending and how it doesn't live up to the franchises expectations. We have all heard it and I will save you the headache of reading it once more. The things that people need to focus on are the steps involved in getting there. This game is still great in the ways that its predecessors were. There is plenty to do outside of the usual story line and several characters from the previous titles will be making a significant return in many aspects of the game. The dialogue system is still one of the best I've seen in games to date and the immersion factor is still something to be considered. You are still Commander Shepard (or Shepard Commander to some).

85

95 percent awesome

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | See all mostnatebe66's reviews »

The beginning of this game exceeded my expectations. The beautifully crafted takeover of the Earth was a brilliant thing to behold. I was able to port my saved games from each installment into this one and it really felt like it was my story. The mission to save the Krogan race was one of the most emotionally packed moments of the game.

Trying to collect enough assets to shift the tide of war was fun, until it became apparent that it meant basically nothing. The ending is based not a prior choices made, but on choice of doors... A, B, or C. This greatly upset me since BioWare touted that choice was one of the most important features of the series. Well, all the choices eventually culminate in the same thing...major disappoint. And following that choice the game just ends with a scene from another world ending the story of the Shepard.

20

The ending ruins this game FOR ME

ncisprobie | May 12, 2013 | See all ncisprobie's reviews »

Before any of you complain, let me tell you that this is my opinion. I LOVED the series, I put in so much time and money into it... I even bought a couple of the stupid sweaters (which I might add cost more than the stupid game, go figure) but in my defense, I bought them before this game came out so I didnt know I was going to hate it yet.

So, when you devote so many hours of your life, and this half-assed, out of nowhere, ending is what they give you, dont you expect me to get mad? And there is so much wrong with their practices here... they releases a lot of DLC that should have been included with the game... DAY 1 DLC!!! It explained so much from the first game, (Sheppards visions), yet they felt the need to make people pay for it. Again, the DLC Leviathan, that did a better job explaining the ending than the game itself...

So call me a conspiracy theorist, but in my opinion, one of two things happened. A. They didnt know what they were doing so they pulled an ending out of their asses, they made it up as they went (and only with the DLC are they back tracking to fill in the various plot holes the left) OR B. they are greedy jerks and they are selling is the REAL ending in bits and pieces for extra money.

Take your pick, they are both as bad (incompetence or greediness)

93

Great game

asting | April 23, 2013 | See all asting's reviews »

This game was pretty good. Having played through the first two, I had high expectations for the conclusion to this trilogy. The game delivered. The gameplay was fun, and it was a fantastic journey to be able to complete it. Choices made earlier affected this run through, and I highly recommend playing through the first two before starting this one. The ending got bashed by many, however who cares. The game is over, just because you don't see a canned cut scene showing your exact choices doesn't make this game bad. In fact, it kind of says something about the hopelessness of change, which is sort of deep.

94

An awesome finish to a beloved trilogy

Xiphora | Feb. 27, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Mass Effect 3 is the last chronicle of Commander Shepard's journey, and it was one awesome conclusion of the Bioware's critically acclaimed Mass Effect trilogy. Improving on the already polished shooting mechanics of Mass Effect 2, Mass Effect 3 takes the shooter element of the Mass Effect series further by continuing to polish the shooting mechanics, while also blending in the RPG elements of the Mass Effect series. The ending may be bashed upon, and to many it was a letdown, but don't let the ending be the reason you don't buy Mass Effect 3. Everything before it will be an absolutely engaging experience, which wraps up many plots that were established in the two previous Mass Effect games. If you've been on Commander Shepard's journey so far, conclude it with Mass Effect 3, which is an enjoyable game and a worthy ending to the Mass Effect trilogy.

83

A (somewhat) satisfying end to the journey

jbrown87 | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all jbrown87's reviews »

Ok, so the endingwasn't what everyone expected, and the expanded cut didn't do as much as they promised either, but no one can deny that ME3 is a great game. Yes, many plotholes and a few rewrites in the story/lore, but not enough to make it a terrible conclusion. The end chapter sees Shepherd and his galactic crew gathering forces to fight and defeat the ancient Reapers who are determined to destroy all advanced life in the galaxy. Along the journey, we get to see many familiar faces and even revisit some old locales from the other two games. Graphics for this installment are not much updated from ME2, though theshading is definitely an improvement from ME1. I did note one problem with the audio, though it might have just been my speakers, but at points when characters were talking the voices seemed to die down or get drowned out by music or ambience, even with music at half volume and voices at full. Gameplay is pretty solid, with no real issues on the controls. The new multiplayer mode is a great addition, letting players get together to fight off waves of enemies. And the fact that it adds to the single player campaign is a nice touch too, even if it doesn't seem to make much difference. Also, the ability to use points earned in matches to purchase "booster packs" rather that shelling out real money is a relief, especially in these days where almost all multiplayer content costs real money. Good job there, guys. Possibly the worst thing about ME3 is the fact that it is not available on Steam. So if you have ME1 and 2 for Steam and want to continue your characters, better be prepared to shell out extra bucks and hours because This one is Origin exclusive. All around though, very good game and worth the buy.

95

New Low Price for the awesome ME3

Coolicy | Feb. 1, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

ME3 has much controversies surrounding it, mostly surrounding Day 1 DLC, Multiplayer mode, and the ending. The other parts were mostly agreed to be awesome and epic. This review will focus on the criticisms you've probably heard of, and how this package ($20 for ME3!) is a great deal.

The Day 1 DLC stirred up a lot of trouble as it features a Prothean, a mysterious civilization that is mentioned throughout the entire trilogy. The DLC itself is integrated into the main campaign smoothly, and gives you a squadmate to bring around in your missions. Your new friend, like your existing crew, will provide unique insights at different points during missions fitting his background. It's $10 by itself, with the low price now, you should have lots to spare to purchase additional DLC.

Multiplayer mode is another criticism, but it's far from being just "tacked on" and lackluster. It is quite the opposite in fact. The 10 waves coop survival game mode + buying reinforcement packs with in-game credits is surprisingly addictive. There is a lot of support for the MP, Bioware released many free packs that add additional weapons, power-ups, and unlockable characters. Even today, it is still very easy to find a game online. Bioware also has weekly challenges where you can unlock exclusive N7 weapons (cannot be unlocked otherwise).

The ending has gotten the most hit since launch. The original one is ambiguous but allows imagination. Bioware has since released an free Extended Cut DLC that expands the ending. Showing more consequences of your actions and elaborating upon the original ending. I was satisfied with the original ending myself, and was even more pleased with this free DLC.

All in all, ME3 is an amazing game. You get to travel to many places previously only mentioned in ME2 and ME1. You get answers to questions raised in previous games. You get closure from your actions in the entire trilogy.

I loved ME3. I think you will too. Definitely get it now if you somehow missed it before. It's only $20 now!