Reviews for Dead Pixels

34

Retro Design Not Always = Good

Dodec1 | May 5, 2014 | See all Dodec1's reviews »

First things first, the art style. This is one of the only things that I like about this game, I find that the way it shows it characters and enemies very cool and appealing. But playing to nostalgia won't alone make a game good. I have played this game for about 5 hours or so about 3 on the XBOX and 2 on the PC. I find that this game lacks variety and it gets stale very quickly, it does however have quite a few weapons and weapon types. But I found that it din't matter they all fell the same! When I shoot a shotgun in a game I want to fell that it would do more damage and sound much more devastating, than the default pistol! But they just feel like re textures, one of its only 2 redeeming qualities is its price 3$. Only buy this if you have some money left over to burn or just want a laugh for a bit, otherwise. Don't buy this game!

80

Fun coffee-break game

Skeride | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all Skeride's reviews »

This game doesn't have much lasting power, but the price point is just right for what it is.

It's a fun little diversion that never outstays its welcome. The game plays well, and the art, though pixellated, is nicely done and likely to bring a smile to your face.

A good value at the asking price.

100

ONE OF THE BEST SCROLLING-RETRO-KIND ZOMBIE GAMES OUT THERE

Unbenannte | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

I bought another game and spent quite some money, so I had only 2.99 left and I started searching for a good co-op game (I have brothers) and we like to kill zombies, suddenly I find this title “Dead Pixels” and I start reading about it, I see it has co-op and the price is good so I decide to buy it. The game looked kind of old and I wasn’t expecting much of it, for my surprise we start playing and a few hours later we couldn’t stop it was just so nice, fun and smooth. I think the price is way too low for what it should be, I would pay 10$ for it definitely. I say if you like zombies and have little brothers, this title is a must buy, and paying 2.99 is not making justice to the game but its fine.

BTW Dead Pixels 2 is on its way, the developer is expecting to release the beta this year (2014), there is some exiting futures coming, like online multiplayer and up to 4 local co-op, plus another ton of stuff. So buy it and support DP2. Hope this review helps you.

85

Surprisingly enjoyable and very affordable

Jokin93 | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

I got this game for free with the purchase of another and I must say that had it not been for that promotion I wouldn't have purchased it and I would have missed a ton of fun.

On one hand, this game looks like one that you would play in the 80s and its name isn't trying to hide that in any way, it's the pixels that make the game unique and enjoyable after all.

On the other hand, this game manages to surprise by adding the use of the mouse and combining it perfectly with the pixelated zombie survival 2D gameplay. Other great additions include upgrades, an inventory and the possibility of entering houses, for the rest you will have to see for yourself and considering the price, you won't regret it.

96

Zombie Massacre

lunarei919 | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all lunarei919's reviews »

I originally gained Dead Pixels through a promotion on this site that gave me the game with the purchase of another. Normally, I am not a big fan of pixelated games, but this one had me addicted from the start. With fast pace action and somewhat limited ammo (depending on the level of difficulty you choose), Dead Pixels drags you straight into the zombie apocalypse. If you're looking for an epic storyline, you won't find it here. However, you will find your pulse racing as you run past zombie hordes in a desperate attempt to escape with little to no ammo and only a melee weapon to help you bash through the few stragglers in your way. Hordes can form suddenly and without warning, causing you to keep on your toes for fear of being devoured. This game is, without a doubt, worth the purchase.

90

Love it

Cheeseburgermaf | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all Cheeseburgermaf's reviews »

Reminds me of River City Ransom + Left 4 Dead. This game has you fighting what amounts to a losing battle until you figure out when you should run and when you should stand and fight. It's 8-bit survival fun-horror like Left 4 Dead with less 'first time seeing a witch' scariness.

You'll find yourself shooting zombies for cash to spend on ammo and supplies, and optionally scavenging in abandoned buildings for more.

There are multiple zombie types, each with different strengths, weaknesses, and tactics. There are several boss types and rare spawns to be found. Many of these are tied to Steam achievements.

The game is very easy at its easiest, which serves as an effective tutorial.

Try beating it on the hardest setting without searching any buildings. It's rough that way. This extra self-imposed challenge makes the game "Nintendo Hard" if that means anything to you. Run out of ammo and you may as well just start over.

I'm still trying to finish it just on the most difficult setting, allowing myself to scavenge and farm each screen. And I still haven't earned every achievement.

It's easy to learn, but very hard at its best. And it stays fun for a long time.

I recommend a gamepad. Your wrists will hurt from spamming that spacebar.

93

Best played with a friend!

Wiesler | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all Wiesler's reviews »

Dead Pixels is a side scrolling shooter with ample challenge, some neat looting and light RPG elements. Though the pixels and grindhouse intro give an old school vibe, Dead Pixels takes a modern approach. As you (and hopefully a friend) make your way through hordes of undead in a city, you will come across all manners of items. These items can then be exchanged for money or other items in order to level up your character, buy essential supplies or a new weapon. This light RPG mechanic is really what keeps the game interesting. Their are multiple modes to play, and tons of achievements to offer replay value.

At a very generous price, this is a healthy challenge and a great game to play with a friend.

83

A fun way to kill hordes of zombies

donkeytime | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all donkeytime's reviews »

Good for a few hours of side-scrolling fun. Lots of guns and lots of dead to eviscerate, what else do you need? The one feature I wish this game had was online co-op, this would have added a lot of replay value for me. For what I paid, I absolutely got my money's worth.

82

Let's kill some pixels

SkyorZX | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all SkyorZX's reviews »

This game maybe can seem old by his graphics, but ... Certainly, are this graphics where is his grace. Dead Pixels are a survival horror with a touch of the games of the old-school. No autoregeneration, a great variety of guns. I miss certain details, like the variety of enemies or online mode, but if you want play with a friend, you can in the same PC.

This indie game is a great game, I recomend buy it if you are bored and have little bit of money.

80

L4D2D?

Sibbo94 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Sibbo94's reviews »

Looking at screenshots and a trailer for this game may make it seem like another zombie game, but this game makes each dash for survival fun. You spawn with a basic handgun and a distance to reach the chopper depending on your difficulty, it is then up to you to make yuo way down the streets looting houses managing your inventory - containing nods to Resident Evil characters and killing zombies.

As a game with slight rougelike elements sometimes you might get lucky with ammo and have enough for each weapons other times you may be forced to run, making each run different in the sense of how you tackle it, as you may prefer to just run past hordes or take them on.

For this price this is a fantastic game to pick up and you won't regret your purchase.

65

Old School Side Scrolling Shooting Madness

rusticclaw | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all rusticclaw's reviews »

A fun and entertaining game that's a bang for your buck. Definitely a game to be played with your friends (as it's a little difficult for hard mode alone). Sadly the game only comes with local co-op meaning you have to hook up your pc to another controller to get it working. However the game does have good support for controllers. Also, the game modes get repetitive after a while but still all in all a great game for a short break within your day. All I can say is get ready to spam the spacebar when you run out of bullets.

75

Good for a few hours

Roob82 | July 27, 2013 | See all Roob82's reviews »

What to say?, this game is cute, very enjoyable, very 80s, good game with a pal to get like 4 hours of fun, not very replayable , but good buy for the bucks.

86

Good Indie Zombie Shooter with Rougelike Elements

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

This indie game is worth 3 dollars. The fact that the game will randomly generate different type of city, this means that every playthrough can be different each time you play it. It also has a survival element that works quite well: do you take out zombies now and use up your ammo, or do you save up your ammo to take out a larger group of zombies later?

Overall, this game is great fun and is worth your time and money.

85

Nice indie, random fun zombie killing game

slayer10s | July 7, 2013 | See all slayer10s's reviews »

Don't let the pixel scared you away, the game is quite fun especially with a playing with a friend. With randomly generated city, guns and zombie on each new game, this game easily worth the money

85

great for killing zombies with friends

thecocou | July 3, 2013 | See all thecocou's reviews »

A side-scrolling game with a lot of retro references that looks like a mix between an old "B" movie and an old videogame.

Dead Pixels is a cool and cheap game for single player or local coop. (i highly recommend that last one for more fun) There is not much more than what you can see in the screenshots, but it has a lot of different enemies and a lot of weapons.

If you liked castle crushers, and you love zombies and B movies, im sure you will love this game.

90

A Side-Scrolling Survival

thegaminglyfe | June 20, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Dead Pixels is a zombie survival game that is very addicting to play. And by zombie survival I mean that there are times where you have to figure out what to do because you barely have any ammo left to kill the remaining zombies. The first time I played this game I failed horribly. I just sped through it and ran out of ammo. So it does require some thinking. The game looks and sounds and controls like a game you would play at an arcade. Except not any arcade game, the game everyone lines up to play because it's the best machine. The game really shines though when you're playing co-op with a friend because then if one person hogs all the ammo it's certain death. Highly recommended, great game, great price.

90

A pixely challenge

Bynn | June 12, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

Ye classic old-school pixely shooter, zombie blaster all the way kind of game. Fun, hard sometimes, with many zombie game's references, Dead Pixels is a great game for those who like a quick and fun challenge.

90

BEST INDIE ACCION ZOMBIE SHOOTER

KellinCore | June 9, 2013 | See all KellinCore's reviews »

i love this game, for 2D survival shooter zombie game, containment every action and fight, surprise for dead

75

Fun zombie killing game

FuzzyMcFluffens | June 7, 2013 | See all FuzzyMcFluffens's reviews »

Dead Pixel is a fun and cheap 2D zombie killing game. With over 100 weapons, a random generated city, a different modes and difficulities to play and 2 player coop makes this game easily worth £2!

95

Great Game

LoudeRZz | June 4, 2013 | See all LoudeRZz's reviews »

Cool idea and very 2D game ! For 3$ i think its a it's more than worth, very cool game and the pixels idea makes it nicer, in the game itself you have to survive as much as you can and pass more and more levels, and with the level you see more types of zombies with different abilities and that's also a nice thing. I liked it, i think its worth to buy it !

79

A modern game with the spirit of the Old School

mutsuriini | May 27, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

The first time I played it but I'm ashamed to say, was pirated: ( now that I can buy original games, I did not hesitate a second to buy it. the first thing I liked was that difficulty unsettling, a good representative of the survival horror, if 8-bit 2D but who cares, it gives a special magic to the game and makes only we add the limited ammunition that increases the realism to survival, why not come and shoot like crazy, measure the bullets so they do not run out and end up being zombie food. I can only say buy it and Play it with friends, I swear I will not be disappointed.

90

River City Ransom with Zombies!

habsvision | May 13, 2013 | See all habsvision's reviews »

If you were a fan of the NES classic River City Ransom, then this is undoubtedly the game for you. It's a Double Dragon style beat 'em up, mixed with RPG elements, and of course zombies, which makes for a great experience. The 2 player local co-op is also a great feature, and makes for hours of good times with friends.

I'd highly recommend this game, whether you're into zombies or not.

76

Dead pixels

francisco6007 | April 23, 2013 | See all francisco6007's reviews »

this game is an 2D survival game with plenty to offer. it has plenty of guns, many different zombies as well as many difficulty levels. it is not only fun but very challenging as you try to fight your way to escape the city while trying to manage supplies and ammo. very good game especially if you want a funny little game that will also challenge you.

73

Simply 2D Madness

Damuel | April 13, 2013 | See all Damuel's reviews »

The game is alright, it's a simply 2D zombie shooter, it feels like something you might play for free in a flash game website. It has the simple retro graphics and it has simple gameplay which is easy to learn. There's a bit of strategy and planning with the way weight and shops work, but for the most part the game is pretty easy and just a good way to spend mindless grindy hours of killing zombies. If the game had proper online multiplayer support it could be a lot better, but as is, it's an okay but lonely single player survival game.

70

An enjoyable zombie killer on the cheap

DeltaBladeX | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all DeltaBladeX's reviews »

While not some high profile release with an impressive story and hundreds of hours of gameplay, I enjoyed my time with this game.

Story The game has three scenarios, each with a different story. Dead Pixels is the first one, this is rather basic. The dead are returning from the grave, you must reach the airport to escape the town. The second is The Solution in which you are a convict sent to the town to attempt to do something about the zombies. The final one is Last Stand where you are a survivor who was unable to reach the airport, and must survive for as long as possible.

Presentation This is pretty good. Some basic blocky graphics, similar to the kind of images you would expect from a Sega Genesis / Mega Drive or Super Nintendo. They certainly work, you won't have any trouble noticing a zombie against the background. Each zombie type is different enough that you know what to expect from themm when you get close.

As for music and sound effcts, these are good enough. The music isn't memorable, but at least gets you in the mode for dealing with zombies. As for the groans, gun shots and other effects, they are fine.

Controls I played this with a wired XBox 360 gamepad, as the game was originally released for the XBox Live Indie library and had the controller in mind when released. Because of this, I can't confirm how good other control methods may be. What I can confirm is that it works great with the gamepad, using the triggers and bumpers to fire you current weapon and throw grenades in either direction. The left analog stick will move your character and the face buttons will perform actions like a basic melee attack and using doors.

Gameplay Now for the important part of the review. In this game, you will play a character who will keep going right past groups of zombies, traveling several blocks in order to reach his goal and escape, unless you are playing the Last Stand scenario, where you simply try to survive as long as you can. Obviously, the rotting corpses will do their best to prevent you from doing this, by attacking you using any method they can, some even spitting at you. Now, you do start with a weapon and some ammo, but firing madly into the groups will expend your limited bullets quickly. However, by entering buildings along the way, you will find various items left behind by the previous inhabitants. You can take weapons, ammo and other items from these buildings, but be sure to not overload yourself if you wish to continue escaping. In two of the scenarios, Dead Pixels and Last Stand, some buildings will also contain survivors willing to purchase items from you, as well as selling some of their own. They will also allow you to exchange cash in order to upgrade skills, like weapon damage, inventory size and movement speed. When playing The Solution, these survivors are no longer around, but you do have a choice of characters, each with their own skills already for you to survive.

Lifespan Provided you enjoy the game enough to continue playing, there is a good amount to do. The game has 4 difficulty settings, each of which extends the number of blocks you must travel to escape. It also supports co-op if you have a friend willing to play with you. It also has 30 achievements to earn if you are interested in collecting those.

In the end, while I admit this game isn't perfect, at the price of $3, you easily get what you paid for in terms of fun.

70

An old school beat-em-up style zombie survival game.

actionjohnson | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all actionjohnson's reviews »

Dead Pixels is a combination of several different styles of game, it's a shooter crossed with beat-em-up controls and spiced up with hordes of zombies. There are multiple game modes ranging from an adventure type mode to a survive as long as possible one. The main mode of the game has your character trying to make it along the zombie filled roads to reach a safe haven. Along the way you will fend off zombies, collect increasingly powerful weapons, upgrade your character, and attempt to survive as the concentration of zombies steadily grows. The gameplay is a lot of fun, it creates a nice sense of tension as you stock up on supplies and straggle hopelessly trying to find a shop to fill up your empty gun with ammo. At the cheap price of three dollars it's well worth a purchase.

80

Amazing and highly enjoyable!

DonVercetti | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

Firstly, you have to admire these guys for their amazing price-quality ratio. This little indie title came in at the very low price and really was a big bunch of fun hours in gaming. The game comes with a single player and co-op mode, which attracted me to the title at first as I was looking for a nice Co-op gaming experience for when a friend came over. The bit graphics are very charming and fun to look at. I absolutely love the upgrade and sort of leveling idea to it. There are merchants to which you can sell and buy items. Further more, it's just blasting down Zombies. Which ofcourse is highly enjoyable!

82

A pleasant surprise!

alphalegion | Feb. 8, 2013 | See all alphalegion's reviews »

Dead Pixels is basically a side-scrolling 8-bit zombie shooter. I honestly didn’t have high expectations for this game, after seeing various video reviews on it, but for the price I just thought “what the heck” and got it anyway.

And I was pleasantly surprised. The game’s 8-bit theme was criticised by some, but I felt it offered a charming and unique retro style to it, and is exactly the kind of game I was hoping it would be. Great fun to play, could have been expanded on a little more, but definitely worth the price! Absolutely loved it!

80

Light Hearted Fun

Colt2911 | Feb. 7, 2013 | See all Colt2911's reviews »

This game is very similar to a tonne of mobile phone games on the market right now. but easily bests them on many levels.

Firstly, u aren't limited to a straight line, u can move and fight all over the streets

Good barter system and quests that don't rely on u spending real money to get the items you want.

Controls are WAY more suited than the push push push controls of a mobile phone game.

People will see the gfx and simple premise and go...wtf..no. but it is very much worth the small price of $2.99 that's for sure.

If ur over zombie games, this wont bring u back in line. If you can't get a enough, then this is the diamond in the rough you have been waiting for:)