Reviews for SSV8NC Superstar V8 Next Challenge

80

Great old game

Exodius132 | Oct. 13, 2014 | See all Exodius132's reviews »

One of the best racing games i've played, it's realism really was great for it's year, spent lots of time on it trying to learn it.

76

Enjoyable middle-ground between arcade and sim-racer

trjp | April 14, 2014 | See all trjp's reviews »

I was expecting something of a 'TOCA' but the car physics are some way above that - disable the TC and race in the wet at your peril!

The (optional) licence system also does a great job of showing you the ropes and it looks and sounds fine to my eyes and ears.

Downsides? The AI isn't the smartest cookie in the box and it's crashed more than once when saving my game (without saving it) which could get annoying...

89

Great Racing Game!

easeves | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all easeves's reviews »

As a racing game junkie, I fell in love with this one. It stands tall on its racing, but it also highlights a too-little-used genre of racing, namely the Aussie V8 Supercars. And really, who doesn't want to bang a burbly V8 race car around a racetrack?! Definitely try this one if you're looking for a man's man racing game, or are at all a fan of the series.

88

For newcomers of the racing genre, a decent game.

BubbaSquare | Oct. 1, 2013 | See all BubbaSquare's reviews »

Many cars to choose from, this game is a blast to play. Even the single player mode provides excellent gameplay with amazing graphics. That said, be sure your computer can run this, as it may not look as good as it could when playing with a lower-spec console. I recommend the game to any newcomers to the racing genre. I hope you have a blast with this game as I did!

75

Fun racing game

Erik108 | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all Erik108's reviews »

A very enjoyable driving game, lots of car and very detailled objects. It's somewhat worth the price, give it a try ;)

81

Enjoyable racing game.

yuppy | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all yuppy's reviews »

If you like racing game you can try SSV8NC Superstar V8 Next Challenge.You get new game model developed with the advices of race champion. The AI in game is really, really good. They battle with you, of course they can make mistakes, but don't get boneheaded either. It's fun and good old race game, but too niche for most to get in to.

72

Good Game

IHaveFangs | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all IHaveFangs's reviews »

Easily overlooked, this great racing game still lives up to modern day games, the physics are excellent- combine it with a wheel and you've got yourself an interesting and brilliant challenge.

Good combination of cars and tracks, sound is also top notch. A great contender against modern racing games.

75

Quite Enjoyable!!!!

kotaku1234 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all kotaku1234's reviews »

This a good driving game, it may not be a Gran Turismo or a Forza but you can have a lot of fun playing it :)

82

Really fun

dannymzi | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all dannymzi's reviews »

I played this game on single-player mode and multiplayer, I had lots of fun since the cars are driven pretty nice and lots to choose from!

80

Good racer.

kieronhunt | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all kieronhunt's reviews »

Good quality racer game, with quality graphics. Lots of cars/customisation.

60

Not enough

il_joe | July 3, 2013 | See all il_joe's reviews »

I like racing games. I like racing sports. I like Superstars Championship. I go to Monza when Superstars Race happens. But this video game is not what I need. First of all, graphics are not excellent. There are few polygons, there are some awful texture, and the engine is not so fast... The physic is "simul-arcade": some realism is present, but far from GTR o rFactor. The IA is quite good, some driver try to pass you, some driver pay more attention to not crash, some driver make plausible mistake . The races are enjoyable, and the possiblity to get the entire championship with the real tracks and cars is the most important and effective feature. If you like very much V8 superstars races, then you can buy this game, but if you are looking for a great driving game you have to look to other video games. In my opinion.

90

best racing

Utrereter | May 31, 2013 | See all Utrereter's reviews »

Best Racing. No Assists, manual, Legend A.I. I recommend this game to everyone.

73

Can't say no to a free game!

Shav | May 24, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Got this game for free, thanks to the promo on GMG. Played it for a while, and it is a solid racer, especially in such a low price.

This game reminded me a lot of a lite version of Forza Motorsport, or TOCA. If you are into racing simulators, but don't want to spend lots of money, then you should really try this game out. The graphics are nice, the racing model feel just as it should do, and the gameplay is solid.

75

Pretty Solid Racer

lachking | May 10, 2013 | See all lachking's reviews »

V8 Next Challenge as a racer is a pretty solid and complete package. There are a variety of different game modes such as quick race, race weekend and Championship and there are various cars to pick, although the actual differences between them are not that large aside from the embedded colours and logos. The graphical presentation is quite nice in terms of colour depth and your car will begin to look battered as you take damage. The game can be a bit easy as the AI is not really aggressive and will not really try to stop you overtaking them but you can increase the difficulty by disabling certain assists, enabling penalties and setting the transmission to manual. All said, an enjoyable racing experience can be had with this game.

86

One of the most Realistic racers to date!

Devil_Mish | Feb. 12, 2013 | See all Devil_Mish's reviews »

One of the most Realistic racers to date, it's an amazing experience and probably up there with the likes of Test Drive Unlimited 2, another amazing experience.

If you want the full experience, definately worth buying a steering wheel for the pc and the immersion for this game is absolutely incredible.

Graphics wise... It's second to none...

Could use abit more for the longevity but has about as much as your average racing game nowadays!

75

Nice alternative

lok0812 | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Definitely a nice alternative to other racing games within the market. On the downside, other types of racing game within the market also features other type of mode besides the traditional racing track while SSV8 doesn't. The car selections are also not as huge when compared to other racing games but it could be sufficient to other type of racing fans. All in all, this is a nice addition for racing fans if you are looking for pure track racing.

69

Racing brand name cars

Maniacal | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all Maniacal's reviews »

Now personally I'm not much of a car person, most of my knowledge about fancy cars comes from the BBC show 'Top Gear' so I cannot confirm the authenticity of SSV8NC Superstar V8 Next Challenge's claim about their faithful reproduction of the cars but they seem accurate to me. Same goes with the tracks, none of which I am familiar with, but they do indeed look a real racing track.

The graphics are pretty decent and the aesthetics captures a racing track fairly well. They really nailed putting advertisements everywhere too.

The controls seem okay on a keyboard and mouse, although not as nice as they are in Blur (which works fantastically with just a keyboard) and I imagine it would work better with a proper wheel set up or gamepad controller. It was still rather fun for the time I was playing it though.

75

Decent Racing Game

hellinperson | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all hellinperson's reviews »

SSV8NC Superstar V8 Next Challenge is a racing sim, that reminds me of the good ol' TOCA days. It is surprisingly quite good and the graphics aren't bad either. I would recommend it to Sim Racing fans and casual players alike. It's best to play this game using a steering wheel.

54

SSV8NC Superstar V8 Next Challenge

Sabika | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all Sabika's reviews »

Hear the tyres scream in the second edition of the 4 wheels racing game by Black Bean! Next challenge brings the Superstars V8 series to a new level of realism and fun: New and improved in-game physics and damage, the exclusive Evolving Track system and the cockpit view lets you enjoy speed and adrenaline like never before. Plus, top-class cars from 7 different manufacturers, living and breathing 3D environments and online multiplayer for up to 16 challengers on the track at the same time

65

Awful deadzone makes it unplayable on a joypad

oginer | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all oginer's reviews »

It's a shame because the game is nice. It has decent graphics, decent physics, and the AI is quite neat. It's a nice sim, but it has a very big deadzone making it unplayable (at least with a joypad, the problem may not be there with a wheel).

Note that, despite the store saying the game is only in English, it's actually multi5 (English, German, French, Italian and Spanish).