Reviews for Dead Space 3 (NA)

76

Pretty fun, first game played in the trilogy.

QWOPPAH | Oct. 2, 2014 | See all QWOPPAH's reviews »

This is my first game in the trilogy and I loved it. For a person who gets scared outta his pants from the sight of mutated dead bodies jumping out of vents, Co-Op is pretty handy. It's fun blowing off limbs only to then decapitate another fellow necromorph with their brethren's own limbs. It sucks that you can't pick up as many things as I've heard you could in previous games though. The graphics are crisp and my PC could handle it. Not to mention, what's cooler than having the MOON as the last boss?

86

Tried too Hard to Improve

yngdr | Aug. 15, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

DS3 brings co-op and massive weapon modding to the game. The atmosphere has shifted from scarey to sigh. In that the monsters are bothersome but not the true enemies, as emotions amongst the survivors now lead to more problems then solutions. graphics are great as usual and sounds emphasize the games action themes. In co-op the visions are mostly enjoyed by playing Carver. Grab the game on sale and it'll give you a few hours of fun solo and then replay co-op as Carver to get the full story.

70

Worse in the series

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

Don't get me wrong, DS3 isn't a bad game. However, they completely gave up on what made Dead Space great. The first game had the atmosphere, the second had the story, this one has you fighting a freaking moon. I was so disappointed when I finished this game. The necromorphs became more of a chore to deal with, even in the new pretty sets. The game is pretty, certainly. You even get to explore the ruins of an ancient alien civilization. But pretty doesn't make up for the shortcomings. They did a cash grab with DLC and in game purchases. You collect resources with a bot, but you can gather so much more after purchasing the extra stuff. They were cool enough to leave a known exploit for gathering resources, but it takes quite a bit of effort to benefit from it very much. It's an enjoyable game, but far less so than the previous two. They left the ending open enough for the possibility of a fourth title, and that worries me. We already fought a moon, so how will they top that?

78

Sacrificing Scares for Action

Jamfrost | April 1, 2014 | See all Jamfrost's reviews »

In comparison to it's predecessors, Dead Space 3 really lacks in the horror department. That's especially true if you play the game with a friend. I also didn't like the story. I'm not sure the writers really knew where to go after 2. Or after 1. Dead Space 1 still seems be the creepiest of the franchise (I played it soon after 3 to be sure).

Now if you play with a friend, you'll be looking at a very silly and fun 15 hour experience depending on how hard you loot. You'll mostly end up shooting and stomping zombies while opening everything in sight. Yup, the necromorphs are merely monsters that are in the way of shiny power nodes and weapon recipes.

The controls felt fine. The graphics seemed nice. The game did have the problem of not enough viable weapon combinations.

Nothing felt as strong as the shotgun. This was the primary weapon for both my friend and me as we pummeled necromorphs into oblivion. It's not that the shotgun was too strong, but the rest of the weapons didn't quite have enough strength. The Line Cutter came sort of close as did some of the rapid fire weapons, but the shotgun had both power and ammo efficiency, making it impossible to replace. They failed to balance the weapons appropriately which hindered our desire to experiment since anything we crafted turned out only okay instead of better or equal.

I would recommend experimenting to really check out the nice crafting system they have in the game which can involve a shotgun attachment for a shotgun. There are some opportunities for friend shenanigans in the game.

Dead Space 3 is a good choice for a co-op game. Just know what you're purchasing. (I do hear some stories about Origin giving people grief for pairing up, but my friend and I had little to no problems connecting to each other.)

83

Less horror and more action

InsaneHien | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all InsaneHien's reviews »

Dead Space 3 is not a bad game, but it isn't the best in the series. For a series known for it's survival horror elements, I thought this one was disappointing to the fans, but I did find this one as fun as the first two games. If this is your first time playing the Dead Space games, you will most likely enjoy this one.

The gameplay hasn't changed much, but it adds crafting and scavenging for parts. These part are used to create new weapons. I thought this was well done by Visceral, so good job on that. They also added co-op which is also a nice addition, although I've never tried it yet. The graphics look great as usual although it doesn't look like it hasn't improved.

Although it's not the best in the series, I would say Dead Space 3 is worth playing.

76

Not as great but still fun!

Xillion | Sept. 29, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

After finishing the whole game, I found Dead Space 3 to be a disappointment.The horror was not as it used to be. I still found this game to be somewhat fun. I'm glad they added a co-op option to the game so you can play with your friends but i wish they just fixed the story and horror. Players who are new to the dead space series will definitely enjoy this but on the other hand this proves to be a disappointment to players who have played Dead Space 1 & 2. Honestly, Dead Space 3 is still worth trying out.

85

Horror is gone, but you can bring a friend!

Zilly01 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Zilly01's reviews »

Dead Space 3 brings a new weapon crafting system and coop to the franchise. Most of the horror of the game is gone, but that is partially expected since the character has experienced necromorphs several times now. While the weapon crafting system is neat, most of the weapons are useless. A machine gun and rocket launcher will carry you through almost anything, which goes against the story saying normal weapons are not as effective as plasma tools since they excel at severing limbs. The coop is a lot of fun, but I don't understand why they put all of the hallucinations scenes onto Carver. I get that Isaac has accepted Nicole's death, but he seems almost immune to them now except for when he has visions on what the markers do. The game is fun, but I don't think it compares to the 2nd game.

75

Good but a little disappointing

crazywink | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all crazywink's reviews »

This game was honestly a little disappointing. I had played both Dead Space and Dead Space 2 and was looking forward to this new one in the series, but something wasn't all there. The graphics however have improved quite a bit and by the end of the game some of the scenes are absolutely beautiful! Good game, especially if you haven't played the other two.

85

Great game, but kind of ditches Horror for more Action

UndeadAura | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all UndeadAura's reviews »

I loved this game, but the horror is nowhere near as scary as Dead Space 1. It took the action route with some horror thrown in. The game plays really great and the story is amazing. They left the ending with a major cliffhanger though, so hopefully we'll see another installment!

Some parts of the story are pretty scary and demented, you can definently tell this is a Dead Space game! The co-op is very interesting too! While the host is Isaac, the second player is another man Isaac meets. They did something really interesting too, in certain parts of the co-op campaign you get different experiences based on which character you are playing. The base story is there, but it gives more background to the characters.

All in all, I highly recommend this game to a fan of the series, even if you've never played a Dead Space game, you might feel left out for the first while of the game, but anything important eventually gets covered further in.

80

Solid game but not scary anymore

lok0812 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Hopefully by this time, you have played the first 2 Dead Space or at least the second one which was the best in the series. In this installment, the game is no longer scary and more of an action game. The story continues from where it ended in Dead Space 2. Gameplay is still similar to the series with its TPS as well as scavenging materials and items throughout the game. Some of the new things this installment have is the ability to craft weapons and upgrade them with different types of part you found throughout your adventure. Another big thing is the ability to Co-Op with a friend to take on the story mode. While the game is no longer a scary experience as a single player game, the game is really enhanced by playing it with a friend. Definitely a must get to understand the story of Dead Space.

77

Great game! Falls short but gets back up a winner.

Arkveveen | July 3, 2013 | See all Arkveveen's reviews »

Ah yes, the Dead Space series, now that's a game franchise that makes us think of suspense, horror, and grotesque monstrosities hiding in the dark!

Dead Space 3 is a good sequel that hits the nail on the head, albeit a near miss. Even if it rehashes the same gameplay of the previous titles, it remedies this with a highly addictive resource scavenging and weapon crafting system. I can't tell you how big of a grin I got when I combined a SMG WITH a Plasma Cutter, which is the kind of weapons you can expect from Dead Space 3. Also, the little scavenging robots you use to search for these resources are adorable and fun to deploy!

As for everything else, Dead Space 3 has some interesting moments. You can actually choose to do optional objectives or explore optional locations, which adds a bit of open ended flavor to a rather fun game already. Enemy variety is solid, but it just feels like the same baddies Dead Space fans have faced before, and the game seems to love throwing health items and ammo at you with no regard for balance (mostly because the resources you use to craft these items are too plentiful). Making encounters a bit too easy, and I often found myself getting surrounded in close range which is annoying since I prefer to use finesse and style to dispatch my enemies from range. This is, however, remedied by awesome melee weapons that you CAN attach to other weapons! Also, Stasis which is used to slow enemies is now a regenerating resource, which helps with the enemies that love to quickly throw themselves at your face in tight corridors.

As for the story, it has all the atmosphere of the previous titles, with this distinct sense of hopelessness and drama that comes with humanity's fall to extinction. With the tide of the Necromorphs and uncontrolled Marker creation, humanity is quickly thrown into a seemingly unbeatable situation. But, the game does a good job making you feel like you are the last hope for humanity, so the story definitely is a hit in terms of mystery, action, and drama!

Dead Space 3, despite its flaws, is a great game for any fan of third person action/horror games! For Dead Space fans, however, I am not entirely sure.

82

Good Game but Doesn't Live up to the First Two

thegaminglyfe | June 20, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Dead Space 3 is a good game, no doubt about it but it still isn't as good as the first two games. There are some features brought back like the multiple suits. A new really cool feature is the ability to build guns. But they didn't really put much effort into it and there aren't many guns to build. The co-op is surprisingly fun, but only with a friend not someone you got paired up with online. If you are looking for the same thing as the first two Dead Space games you won't find it here but if you are looking for something scary and fun in coop, this is your game.

92

Action!

kalil | June 18, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Simply action, which asked both times in this case is to spare, have incorporated new things that make it fun and a good game, but this is not what was expected, or rather if, but not what it is wanted, we see how slowly the big franchises are falling from the hand of the action, you already play Resident Evil and when we think that a worthy successor had appeared, now makes it another 3rd-person shooter, too bad, the 2 previous deliveries were very good, this it is, but in his own way, always judging the survival horror, if you turn away from the story and call it Dark Space is such a great game! In short, Dead Space 3 introduces interesting elements that fans will find a different and fresh compared to previous titles. Even so, the focus for action is increasingly apparent clear and I must say that with this we can say that virtually delivers the series has lost most terrifying element. Clearly the campaign in cooperative mode is not intended to make us feel fear, but to play it solo not feel the anguish to which we had used this franchise in the past.

65

Does not live up to it's predecessors

onewinged90 | June 7, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

After the success of Dead Space 1 and 2, fans have been waiting for the third installment from Viseral. The weapon crafting system is very much welcomed, as players could craft whatever weapon of their choice in primary and secondary fires. I got a mixed feeling about the one type of ammo for all weapons, yes it could free up inventory spaces but somehow it cheapens the experience. The game can be too easy on normal mode, so I recommend playing it on hard if you played the first two games before. It is not too linear compared to it's predecessor as explorations and side quests can be made outside of the main story. Co-operative play of this game is a mixed bag too, while playing as Carver can develop a whole new perspective but having two players at once are quite over-powered. Get it on sale.

73

Solid sequel, but underwhelms compared to its predecessors

Xiphora | Feb. 28, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Yes, Dead Space 3 is a good game. There is more customization in this entry of the Dead Space series, and Dead Space 3 is a lot more action oriented than its predecessors. However, I felt like Dead Space 3 gave up a lot of the scares and tension that the first two Dead Space games proudly showcased. With such a focus on action this time around, it's easy to brush off a scare by simply spraying your weapons at the enemies. Dead Space 3 is a good game on its own, but don't expect the horror that the Dead Space franchise boasts.

85

Amazing Sequel

rstokes | Feb. 18, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

Everything done well with dead space one and two has been brought back, the things wrong with the game were fixed and the game now is just about as amazing as it could be. They brought back multiple suits like in dead space 1, and thankfully all your upgrades apply to all of the suits. You can build guns from a slew of parts and mods allowing you to customize your weapons with up to two different attachments.

The scares are mostly the same surprise scares, but still skillfully executed. Just about everything was done perfectly here resulting in one of the best survival horror games in recent memory