Reviews for Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver 2

85

A good sequel (and a critic to rabidchihuahua's review).

MauroR | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all MauroR's reviews »

Every successful game (almost) has a sequel. If fact few years later here it comes, Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver 2. The WoW factor (at least for me) it isn't like the first Soul Reaver, but I've really enjoyed this game, I found it a good sequel with nice gameplay additions, and improved graphics. Do yourself a favor (yeah another one, hehe), don't miss this game, or buy the bundle here on greenmangaming, you won't regret a single penny spent on them counting the hours you'll play this franchise even without buying them on sales. Now about the rabidchihuahua's review critic:

Dear rabidchihuahua you can't complain about graphics in a game that it's 10/11 years old, really, it's just stupid (not yourself). You pretend that a 11 years old game has Crysis 3 graphics? You see the point I want to make? Every time I read a review of a old game criticizing the graphics I want to beat my head against the wall, really, it's completely unfair. You review a gold game for other reasons, you can't criticize the graphics since OF COURSE it's dated due to the age, even people, you can't compare a 70 years old woman to 20 years girl because it's unfair and undelicate at the start. Sure that a 20 years old girl is more beautiful, a nice body, and so on, but a 70 years old woman can't have the beauty of a 20 years old (well if you see Sophia Loren, a famous italian actress, this comparison it's not right in this case, there are exception in every thing) and the freshness, but she has other things that a 20 years old in any way can't have, for example the experience, the sapience and many other things. So don't treat wrongly a game just because the only "guilt" it has it's being old.

84

Wow

Oblaque | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

The graphics and music are haunting and deep. It was the story that compelled me to finish the game. I am enamoured by the whole medival story, the drama, torment and romance each character brings. At the end, it leaves you thristing for more.

81

One of my favorite games

iamkyo90 | July 26, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

At the time was the best, now is a classic that should not miss. Has nice story, the fights are entertaining, and has that dark that we like to gamers. Raziel is a great character endowed with personality. Very good in every way.

86

Good, but not as good as Soul Reaver 1

brandoshido | July 5, 2013 | See all brandoshido's reviews »

I bought the entire LoK series last month because I had just purchased Blood Omen: LoK on ebay and the sales coincided. This game is large , and very good graphics for back in the day. There's lots to explore, and the story is genuinely good time. This means a lot coming from me, I skip everything story related, even in RPG's. Many of the mechanics are unchanged from the first game, so the game does get a little boring at times with the combat. I did run into an issue of the game asking for a disc to be inserted when I tried to install it.

89

Living at the shadow of a masterpiece

abelfs | July 1, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

Soul Reaver 2 revealed itself as a wonderful game that continues the story of Raziel in an unbelievable way, and that's the main purpose why you should play it. This is the perfect case of a literal sequel, it just improves what it is expected from a game that continues the tradition of its ancestor. It has the same spirit, but it hasn't the originality that the first Soul Reaver provided, and that's the main fault of this sequel. The only thing (in my opinion) is that, with the excuse that Raziel travels through time, you'll visit the same places more than once (with a different appearance). In that sense, the world of the first Soul Reaver was much bigger. However, the wonderful storytelling will make you forget about that minor imperfection. Highly recommendable if you love the first one!!

61

Mediocre, try the Original First

rabidchihuahua | June 9, 2013 | See all rabidchihuahua's reviews »

Unfortunately Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver 2 is not the game for me. The graphics are definitely dated and graphical glitches happened a few times. The story continues the Legacy of Kain mythology which I am not privy to at all. The gameplay also strikes me as being basic in nature and nothing that really stands out in a positive way. I had a bad first experience with Legacy of Kain. The graphics displayed weird colors during the first cut scene. I was worried this would persist but, to the game’s credit, this only happened for the first scene. This I could forgive, but the voice acting also struck me as annoying. It made me unmotivated to follow the story. The story itself seemed overly dramatic. Even with my limited understanding of it, or perhaps because of that, I ended up disliking it immensely. Overall the PC port did not seem to be the greatest. I had to fight against the game to get the controller to be recognized. Even after that there were problems with the controls. The controls were hard to figure out. Even if I wanted to change anything, the game did not explain the actions thoroughly enough. At the beginning of the game I spent plenty of time wandering around wondering what was happening. If there was some sort of tutorial I would have been much better off. The lack of description was pretty frustrating. The game definitely works on the assumption that you have played a previous game in the series. The gameplay is hack and slash based. I can’t exactly explain why coherently but it failed to capture my attention because normally I can at least tolerate hack and slash gameplay. Killing enemies ended up boring me after a short while. However, there are a few neat aspects to this. One weapon Raziel uses, the wraith-blade, can work against him. In other words it decreases his health if overused. Another interesting aspect was the two dimensions. There was a spectral counterpart to the material world in which his energy regenerated.

85

Beautiful game

Koyote | June 7, 2013 | See all Koyote's reviews »

One of the greatest story ever told in video games medium. It's a fantastic take on ethics, moral and nihilism. Gameplay is a little rough but it's never a chore, you'll encounter a few great puzzles that are unfortunately totally excluded from recent action adventures in favor of more shooting.

But gameplay is secondary, this title boasts with phenomenal voice acting, complex characters and already mentioned storyline. It's an unique experience and definitely worth your time.

74

I really appreciate

cristiano171 | May 28, 2013 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

The unique play mechanics of Soul Reaver 2, as well as its impressive graphics and excellent story, make it easy to recommend to fans of action or adventure games. It's also easy to recommend to pretty much anybody looking for a change of pace from all the other PC games released this year. The fact is that the PC can really use more games like Soul Reaver 2. It's true that Soul Reaver 2 has a number of shortcomings--it's not particularly long, it has no real replay value, and it has a somewhat slow pace. Its story isn't as satisfying as it could have been, thanks to its sudden conclusion. But overall, Soul Reaver 2 is a great game. Its premise and its main character are so unusual that, more than anything, you'll likely feel comfort at the thought that another sequel is in store once you finally finish the game. At any rate, fans of the original Soul Reaver will find the sequel to be a similarly satisfying experience. And if you haven't played the original, then it'd be worth your while to hunt it down and play it as a primer for Soul Reaver 2.