Reviews for Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver

75

It's a slow burn.

T2RMunchen99 | Nov. 6, 2014 | See all T2RMunchen99's reviews »

I bought this having had no experience with the game (or the others in the series) before, and I must say I was quite impressed. The opening cutscene was quite breathtaking and really engaged me with the story. However, I think that the game is really, really slow in the beginning but as you progress it's quite spectacular. Combat is okay, there are really good ideas in there (such as having different methods of killing different enemies) but I think that on a keyboard it is a bit finincky. Also, the block puzzles for me really slowed it down, but thank goodness they were few and far between. Overall the experience was quite good, if you can hang in there.

85

You are weak, you must feed

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

Raziel, Kain, Nosgoth. If those doesn't tell you anything... Get this game ASAP! If you already know this soul sucking vampire, the more you should get acquainted with this title. This here is more than decent 3D platformer/beat 'em up. Quite like Tomb Raider, but with vampires, and gloomy dark fantasy settings. With some sick monsters lurking about.

I must mention the awesome music which is so good, always going in tune with what you see on the screen.

On the cons side - badly working camera. If you play with a keyboard like me, be prepared to hit 0 on the keypad, next to the arrows, to right the cam. But that's the only con of this game I can think of. Once again - amazing title.

90

So much Nostalgia

Jericho417 | July 26, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

I played this game years ago and recently replayed it. While it shows its age, I still loved it. The story and background are rich and dark. The game uses puzzles that often involve moving and flipping blocks, but they're not particularly difficult. You often have to shift from the material world to the spectral, which alters the environment and enemies. Flat areas might turn jagged and sections of the wall might pop out and become a platform. Boss fights all require specific actions, such as pulling levers or shooting windows. Each boss you defeat, you devour their soul and claim their special ability as your own. You'll have to keep the games age in mind when looking at the graphics. It was released around 1999, but it has a nice aesthetic design. Possibly the best part of the entire game was the great voice acting and dialogue.

69

Maybe not as good as you remember

taigatsu | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

At the time of its original release, Soul Reaver stood out for its unique setting, tragic plot and well crafted gameplay. Disappointingly, its age has really started to show, and several hard to overlook aspects can make it hard to appreciate why it is remembered as a well regarded game. Its most obvious strength is the plot, an almost Shakespearan tale of betrayal and revenge, superbly brought to life by a brilliant cast. The world of Nosgoth is a bleak and strange one, and the possibilities of what lies beyond the game's borders evokes all manner of imagery.

Solving environmental puzzles by switching back and forth from the spectral realm is a clever mechanic, and unlocking new abilities lets you go back and explore previously unaccessible areas. Playing it today, many of these puzzles are still well done, if a bit unintuitive at times. The clunky movement and poor camera control do a considerable job detracting from enjoying the game, unfortunately. Time has not been kind to the graphics either; whereas some of its contemporaries managed an aesthetic that still hold up today, Soul Reaver's graphics do a poor job conveying the imaginative world that was envisioned for it.

It's easy to look back and remember Soul Reaver as a brilliant game, and truthfully, for its time, it was. It's a shame that I can't wholeheartedly recommend it any more.

95

A classic of a game. Definitely!

MauroR | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all MauroR's reviews »

When I've played for the first time Soul Reaver I was blown away by the atmosphere it gives you, the creepy environment, the fact you can travel between two realms to solve the puzzles, the great story, in short this game it's a masterpiece in every way, and the graphics (for the time) was considered very good also. The game features a lot of hours of gameplay, you won't be disappointed by the longevity of this gem, as happened most of the times with modern games. Less that €7 for countless hours of fun, you can't be wrong by buying this game. Do yourself a favor, if you didn't buy it yet just buy it right now, you won't regret it.

86

Great game

odren | July 27, 2013 | See all odren's reviews »

The voice acting in this game is incredible. this alone is enough reason to give it a try. the gameplay is good and still holds up well today, combat is interesting and the variation in the types of enemies is certainly interesting.

100

A classic that will never die!!

abelfs | July 1, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

One of the best games I ever played!! I don't know what to say about this jewel: Its story, its gameplay, its puzzles, the way you travel between the world of the living and the dead, the soundtrack, the graphics that (for that time) were incredible... but above all that, the artistic design... what an artistic design... Nosgoth is one of the best worlds ever created in a videogame. The way you surround yourself (no matter the years) in the remains of a dead civilization, imagining that it could have been adn with Raziel becoming a tourist guide with his first person considerations. A true masterpiece that must be played at least one during a mortal life.

96

Amazing game

kalil | June 27, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Hands down the only series I will happily say I am now a fanboy of. The story is deep and will keep you playing though the (lets face it) tedious combat (but then again you are armed with the SOUL REAVER!), The platforming is just purely amazing and the ability to switch between realms just adds to the story and the gameplay. Puzzles are challenging but rewarding. overall one of the best games of the year....... But could of shined even more. I want to see a HD remake.

89

Immortal classic

Demilisz | June 25, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

This may not look like it now, but in its times this was one of the better looking game on the market. Outside that this was a very good third person perspective action-adventure game with great story, large levels and innovative mechanic that allows to travel between two realms. Each realm affects character himself and design of levels, so it was required to switch between them in order to progress through levels. And while graphics may look ugly now, the gameplay is not. It is still challenging like on the day of release and story still keeps you playing till the end. Too bad there are no subtitles during cut scenes so if someone aren't good with hearing (or doesn't know english very well) may have a problem to understand the plot.

Still, this is game worth recommendation, a truly great classic.

95

Great Story Great Game!

captxbox | May 28, 2013 | See all captxbox's reviews »

I really really love this game. I remember playing this through back in the dreamcast days. I fell in love with the story, which starts off simple with revenge and quickly gets crazier and crazier! This game is totally worth getting, and you will want to continue the story and play through all of the Legacy Of Kain games!!

90

Still awesome

Jusoni | May 28, 2013 | See all Jusoni's reviews »

This game is every bit as good as it was back when it was released. Brutal combat, challenging puzzels and a little bit of platforming too. All who enjoy third person games like Tomb Raider should definetly check this one out!

67

Warning for deaf gamers

graspee | May 28, 2013 | See all graspee's reviews »

If you are deaf like me then be aware that there are "45 minutes of voice over" and no subtitles. If you can't hear the voice then you will still get basic prompts on screen to do with keys, e.g. press space to jump, but you will absolutely nothing of the plot or what is going on and you will be confused about what to do at several points.

Also if you have problems running the game in the first place, try the software rendering mode in the start up box. That fixed it for me.

93

Good memories

Infiltrator | May 20, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

Amazing game, Hands down one of the few series I will happily say I am now a fanboy of. The story is deep and will keep you playing though the (lets face it) tedious combat (but then again you are armed with the SOUL REAVER!), The platforming is just purely amazing and the ability to switch between realms just adds to the story and the gameplay. Puzzles are challenging but rewarding. overall one of the best games of the year....... But could of shined even more. I want to see a HD remake.